This Weekends Football

Replying To theblackcard:  "Sean Powters expression as he received the MOTM award is what the GAA is all about. Delighted for him and Cork."
He was brilliant, really refreshing. Delighted for him personally, I have thought for a long time that he's one of the best players in Ireland. He's had horrible few years with injury, today I hope goes a little bit of a way to making up for list time. It seemed to mean so much to him, brilliant lad and credit to his county.

The end of the game was very dramatic, I'm not all that surprised to be honest. If I had to pick one team in the last few years who really had a go at Dublin and caused us problems, it was Cork in the S8s last year. If you have watched them closely they have been building slowly toward this for some time now, since the end of the 19 league. Cork are no mugs. I thought they were a year off a result like this, but they fought for their own luck today and got it.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 08/11/2020 19:05:47    2306290

I am delighted for Ronan mc carthy..he doesn't do bull in any interview..cork might want to be wary of tipp,in past few years nothing between the teams..tipp with Sweeney and Quinlan will be a hand full..I know we probably blew a chance yesterday but for both teams it was to get a result and teach the final..looking at the number of frees given away on both sides today between both 45s was appalling,very cynical from both..also thought ref was slightly harsher on Kerry..I think peter keane has serious questions to answer,picking a defender at half forward when some of players on bench would really have added attacking impetus..can't understand the other Clifford not getting more game time..what is problem with Spillane,any time he plays he's a handful and scored I think 4 points..David Clifford scored one super point but missed some very handy chances..now I'm really looking forward to rest of football championship..well done cork.

CTGAA10 (Limerick) - Posts: 2206 - 08/11/2020 19:07:16    2306293

Replying To realdub:  "My word, can you believe that? Don't get me wrong, conditions were unplayable but it was Kerrys game for the taking, mad stuff, congrats to Cork who never stopped plugging away, commiserations Kerry lads."
Thanks a lot realdub. Yeah conditions awful but same for both teams. Hard defeat to take but fair play to Cork.Most of us always wary of Cork but then we accused of yerra yerra. Anyway tomorrow another day and congrats to Cork.

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3673 - 08/11/2020 19:11:43    2306300

Replying To Fionn:  "Totally shocked Mick - really am - full sure your name was on it this year..!
Hard Luck, especially to you pal.."
Thank you Fionn. As Gloria gaynor sang I will survive.

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3673 - 08/11/2020 19:13:33    2306304

Replying To MesAmis:  "I live on the North Strand my friend."
Grand spot, I often worked on North Strand rd would you believe (nothing nefarious now!), met a few gas charaters in the bookies near the 5 lamps during Cheltenham.

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 08/11/2020 19:14:00    2306305

Shocking result, 2020 the year that keeps giving.

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4895 - 08/11/2020 19:16:29    2306312

Replying To arock:  "Shocking result, 2020 the year that keeps giving."
You aint seen nothing yet :)

bert09 (Meath) - Posts: 1790 - 08/11/2020 19:38:24    2306336

Replying To bert09:  "You aint seen nothing yet :)"
So so true.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 08/11/2020 19:43:18    2306346

Replying To CiarraiMick:  "Thank you Fionn. As Gloria gaynor sang I will survive."
The weather is a real leveller also. Winter football - anything can happen.

And playing games week after week - injuries will hold the key going forward this year.
Leinster semi's next Sunday, and a Final just 6 days later is a perfect example.

The shocks this year wont end today...!

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 3724 - 08/11/2020 19:53:08    2306361

Replying To Htaem:  "Grand spot, I often worked on North Strand rd would you believe (nothing nefarious now!), met a few gas charaters in the bookies near the 5 lamps during Cheltenham."
It's a great spot man, has its detractors but there's nowhere I'd rather live!

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13704 - 08/11/2020 19:56:06    2306365

Replying To royaldunne:  "I'll only post about Leinster this week.
Meath v Wicklow. Meath-7 at evs seems a bit much but I'll let the heart rule head. And included it.
Dublin v Westmeath, Westmeath -14 at evs is a good bet here. Dublin will win no doubt but Westmeath will cover handicap
Longford v Laois. Fancy Longford to pull off something of a shock here. 7/4 for the win.
Kildare v Offaly. Offaly 7/2 is very tempting they have momentum but surely jack O'Connor can produce Kildare??
Any 10 e accumulater might pay a dividend. Probably all will be wrong, but sure that's what makes it Fun."
Mine was
Westmeath +14
Meath -7
Offaly +5
Laois -2 ...(loss)
Cork +6
Down -2

katser (Galway) - Posts: 2192 - 08/11/2020 20:11:30    2306390

Replying To katser:  "Mine was
Westmeath +14
Meath -7
Offaly +5
Laois -2 ...(loss)
Cork +6
Down -2

."
And you're actually telling us about those predictions ! Wow !

catch22 (USA) - Posts: 2148 - 08/11/2020 20:23:49    2306411

Westmeath +14
Meath -7
Offaly +5
Laois -2 ...(loss)
Cork +6
Down -2

."
Mine is Tipp to win the 2019 McCarthy cup.

I just think they can do it.

carlovia (None) - Posts: 1517 - 08/11/2020 20:40:52    2306430

Ger (in relation to the terrible conditions) - "have you ever seen anything like it."
Kevin- "well I was in ballybofey last week"
That made me laugh.

Fair play to Peter Keane for doing the interview after the game. The knives will be out for him and it's not easy. They are a young team and only for a few poor decisions still would have won, moved on to the next day and sorted their issues out. Cork showed great fortitude to keep going as well.
Clifford will learn a huge amount from today. They maybe lacked a little bit of leadership and game management at the end. Anyhow hard luck and fair play to cork.

Ulsterchamps_32 (Donegal) - Posts: 687 - 08/11/2020 20:59:44    2306456

Westmeath +14
Meath -7
Offaly +5
Laois -2 ...(loss)
Cork +6
Down -2

."
Got 2 right myself. I'll try again next week. Only takes one to come up and a nice return for a small stake.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 08/11/2020 21:06:32    2306462

Westmeath +14
Meath -7
Offaly +5
Laois -2 ...(loss)
Cork +6
Down -2

."
You missed one - How did Project BaaBaa go?

timmyhogan (UK) - Posts: 290 - 09/11/2020 13:11:41    2306786

Ulster
Cavan
Donegal

Leinster
Meath
Laois

Connacht
Galway

MicktheMiller (Offaly) - Posts: 421 - 13/11/2020 18:57:54    2308461

Replying To MicktheMiller:  "Ulster
Cavan
Donegal

Leinster
Meath
Laois

Connacht
Galway"
Good man, great price for Laois at 18/1 !!!!!
I am going for Laois +15 (before the match starts Laois are winning by 15pts!!!)
P.S in the hurling Clare/Cork Double 10/1 (little tip for you)

katser (Galway) - Posts: 2192 - 13/11/2020 21:12:22    2308508

Ulster
Down
Donegal

Leinster
Meath
Laois + 14

Connacht
Mayo

Might be worth 10

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 13/11/2020 21:32:27    2308519

Replying To katser:  "Good man, great price for Laois at 18/1 !!!!!
I am going for Laois +15 (before the match starts Laois are winning by 15pts!!!)
P.S in the hurling Clare/Cork Double 10/1 (little tip for you)"
Don't bet, thanks for the offer.

MicktheMiller (Offaly) - Posts: 421 - 14/11/2020 11:28:32    2308636