New Jersey/Sponsor

Just seen it!.. not overly impressed!... Its too "Kildare-ish" ( for want of a better word/description)... Much prefer any of the old ones!

Monaghan Exile (Monaghan) - Posts: 442 - 23/10/2020 14:34:11    2300530

Replying To Monaghan Exile:  "Just seen it!.. not overly impressed!... Its too "Kildare-ish" ( for want of a better word/description)... Much prefer any of the old ones!"
Who's jersey are you on about? Could mods edit title to reflect who the OP is on about.

KillingFields (Limerick) - Posts: 3494 - 23/10/2020 16:26:40    2300571

Replying To Monaghan Exile:  "Just seen it!.. not overly impressed!... Its too "Kildare-ish" ( for want of a better word/description)... Much prefer any of the old ones!"
Nice pair of blue shorts and it won't be too bad I'd say.
And a bargain e70!

extranjero (Wexford) - Posts: 375 - 23/10/2020 17:45:06    2300584

I see where you're going with Kildareish but the Kildare Jersey looks good too. I like the new jersey, the blue and white look good together including the sponsor's logo. Not too fond of the grey diamonds on the bottom though, looks they tried too hard to make it a bit different. I think plain white would look better. Hopefully Exile it brings ye some luck.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7335 - 23/10/2020 17:58:10    2300587

Apologies?, meant to post in Monaghan forum...
Nothing against Kildare, its just our jersey traditionally had blue cuffs & collar, which was usually incorporated in some form in previous designs. The white jersey looks more like a Kildare jersey than a Monaghan one!

Anyway, prob " grow on me" after a whiie!... Of course, its " who's wearing it that counts"!

Monaghan Exile (Monaghan) - Posts: 442 - 23/10/2020 18:19:11    2300591

Replying To Monaghan Exile:  "Apologies?, meant to post in Monaghan forum...
Nothing against Kildare, its just our jersey traditionally had blue cuffs & collar, which was usually incorporated in some form in previous designs. The white jersey looks more like a Kildare jersey than a Monaghan one!

Anyway, prob " grow on me" after a whiie!... Of course, its " who's wearing it that counts"!"
I often thought it must be hard to keep Monaghan Tyrone kildare and Waterford Jerseys clean especially going out on the lash after a game.

Lovely Jersey all the same.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 23/10/2020 19:20:44    2300601

What are your opinions on this?

https://www.hartlepoolunited.co.uk/remembrance-day-shirt/

lilypad (Kildare) - Posts: 1363 - 25/10/2020 11:39:54    2301098

Replying To lilypad:  "What are your opinions on this?

https://www.hartlepoolunited.co.uk/remembrance-day-shirt/"
This is from the description of the shirt:

Acting Executive Director Martin Jesper added: "This is a tradition that deserves its continuation so we can show our respect to all service personnel. Our respect goes to those who made the ultimate sacrifice. After initial consultation with supporter group representatives it was agreed that this year the Club should recognise the 80th anniversary of the Battle of Britain and it seemed appropriate the representation of the RAF fighter jet was front and centre of this year's kit".

The so called "fighter jet" referred to, is not a jet. I think it is a Hurricane, possibly a Spitfire. Whatever, to describe either of those planes as jets shows great ignorance. I find it hard to believe no one at Hartlepool noticed this glaring error.

Cockney_Cat (UK) - Posts: 2446 - 25/10/2020 12:31:17    2301117

Replying To Cockney_Cat:  "This is from the description of the shirt:

Acting Executive Director Martin Jesper added: "This is a tradition that deserves its continuation so we can show our respect to all service personnel. Our respect goes to those who made the ultimate sacrifice. After initial consultation with supporter group representatives it was agreed that this year the Club should recognise the 80th anniversary of the Battle of Britain and it seemed appropriate the representation of the RAF fighter jet was front and centre of this year's kit".

The so called "fighter jet" referred to, is not a jet. I think it is a Hurricane, possibly a Spitfire. Whatever, to describe either of those planes as jets shows great ignorance. I find it hard to believe no one at Hartlepool noticed this glaring error."
I think its a spitfire too

lilypad (Kildare) - Posts: 1363 - 25/10/2020 13:14:07    2301131

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "I often thought it must be hard to keep Monaghan Tyrone kildare and Waterford Jerseys clean especially going out on the lash after a game.

Lovely Jersey all the same."
Luckily enough we don't get enough days out here in kildare.

Bon (Kildare) - Posts: 1898 - 25/10/2020 13:33:46    2301135

Replying To lilypad:  "What are your opinions on this?

https://www.hartlepoolunited.co.uk/remembrance-day-shirt/"
Hartlepool wanted a special kit and O'Neill's are their suppliers.

Why not just say what you think rather than trying to stir

Breezy (Limerick) - Posts: 1236 - 25/10/2020 16:35:38    2301206

I see Limerick are going retro without the sponsors today. Any reason why?

SaffronDon (Antrim) - Posts: 2385 - 25/10/2020 17:09:20    2301231

Replying To KillingFields:  "Who's jersey are you on about? Could mods edit title to reflect who the OP is on about."
Yeah Sherlock, I wonder who this could be about. You after a bit of attention again ?

catch22 (USA) - Posts: 2148 - 25/10/2020 17:41:42    2301250

Replying To SaffronDon:  "I see Limerick are going retro without the sponsors today. Any reason why?"
I thought the were going to have Adare Manor this year but maybe it fell by the wayside with what's going on. They did have an odd symbol on the back though which I don't recognize

Breezy (Limerick) - Posts: 1236 - 26/10/2020 12:02:53    2301562

Replying To Breezy:  "I thought the were going to have Adare Manor this year but maybe it fell by the wayside with what's going on. They did have an odd symbol on the back though which I don't recognize"
With everybody on house arrest and watching on TV it seemed like a good opportunity missed for somebody. It did take my eyes a bit of getting used to. In my lifetime there's always been a sponsor on the Jersey as far as I can remember, even at club level.

SaffronDon (Antrim) - Posts: 2385 - 26/10/2020 15:43:22    2301669

Replying To lilypad:  "
Replying To Cockney_Cat:  "This is from the description of the shirt:

The so called "fighter jet" referred to, is not a jet. I think it is a Hurricane, possibly a Spitfire. Whatever, to describe either of those planes as jets shows great ignorance. I find it hard to believe no one at Hartlepool noticed this glaring error."
I think its a spitfire too"
Yeah - me too.

And jets don't have those spinny things on the front.

Jaysus - you'd think they'd get their press releases checked out by somebody who knew what they're talking about.

lionofludesch (Down) - Posts: 475 - 26/10/2020 16:14:53    2301681

Replying To Breezy:  "Hartlepool wanted a special kit and O'Neill's are their suppliers.

Why not just say what you think rather than trying to stir"
I think its a great that O'Neills are branching out of Ireland, and you?

lilypad (Kildare) - Posts: 1363 - 26/10/2020 16:55:51    2301698

Replying To lilypad:  "I think its a great that O'Neills are branching out of Ireland, and you?"
They have been branching out for years. Sure they used do the Romania rugby jerseys. If Hartlepool want a special jersey with WW2 stuff on it I couldn't care less if it's made by an Irish company

Breezy (Limerick) - Posts: 1236 - 27/10/2020 08:39:25    2301852