Stepping Away And Retirements (Early)

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Ya Barney the Kerry team from 2010 on was in serious decline.

From 2009 after losing our goalie Diarmuid Murphy our full back Tommy Griffin our centreback Mike Mccarthy our midfielders Darragh O'sé and Séamus Scanlon Also Kennelly and Tommy Walsh had gone to Oz, David Moran who was breaking into the team was recovering from a cruciate.

A country team can't lose those kinda players and stay on top."
Still at the whinging -:)

superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2837 - 05/12/2021 15:46:47    2391737

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Ya Barney the Kerry team from 2010 on was in serious decline.

From 2009 after losing our goalie Diarmuid Murphy our full back Tommy Griffin our centreback Mike Mccarthy our midfielders Darragh O'sé and Séamus Scanlon Also Kennelly and Tommy Walsh had gone to Oz, David Moran who was breaking into the team was recovering from a cruciate.

A country team can't lose those kinda players and stay on top."
I was trying to be nice coming up to Christmas.

You have a great boost down there now with that full time professional centre of excellence, so it won't be too many years before you are back being competitive at the top level.

Football needs Kerry. I'd be the first one to stand over that.

Gaels in Tyrone and Mayo would all agree with that I am certain.

BarneyGrant (Dublin) - Posts: 2518 - 05/12/2021 16:20:53    2391745

Replying To superbluedub:  "Still at the whinging -:)"
And you still haven't added anything to hoganstand by way of a discussion or a debate, you just keeping pumping out the old same raiméis.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 05/12/2021 19:08:08    2391770

Replying To BarneyGrant:  "I was trying to be nice coming up to Christmas.

You have a great boost down there now with that full time professional centre of excellence, so it won't be too many years before you are back being competitive at the top level.

Gaels in Tyrone and Mayo would all agree with that I am certain."
Ya the centre of excellence is great Barney and the county board worked hard for it.

It's hard to believe now but its only 3-4 years ago we were renting pitches from UL in limerick an the Mallow gaa complex in Cork, but now we have the facility in Currans but that doesn't gaurentee success but it won't hurt.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 05/12/2021 19:15:46    2391772

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "And you still haven't added anything to hoganstand by way of a discussion or a debate, you just keeping pumping out the old same raiméis."
And all you have added is 10 years of whinging about Dublin -:)

superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2837 - 05/12/2021 21:05:17    2391797

Replying To superbluedub:  "And all you have added is 10 years of whinging about Dublin -:)"
You call it whinging and I call it honesty, you don't like people shining a light on yer advantages and the favouritism the gaa show ye, but home advantage Money and population has to be factored in when speaking about yer players of the last 10/12 years.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 06/12/2021 13:21:03    2391850

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "You call it whinging and I call it honesty, you don't like people shining a light on yer advantages and the favouritism the gaa show ye, but home advantage Money and population has to be factored in when speaking about yer players of the last 10/12 years."
And dont forget the home referees free dinners and cars -:) , now dry your eyes lad
sure with 37 all Irelands and 82 Munsters from a Hurling province your time will come again soon enough

superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2837 - 06/12/2021 15:48:19    2391877

Replying To superbluedub:  "And dont forget the home referees free dinners and cars -:) , now dry your eyes lad
sure with 37 all Irelands and 82 Munsters from a Hurling province your time will come again soon enough"
You said it but we can throw them in as well.

My eyes are grand not to worry :-)

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 06/12/2021 16:22:28    2391885

Replying To BarneyGrant:  "I was trying to be nice coming up to Christmas.

Gaels in Tyrone and Mayo would all agree with that I am certain."
Sure you'd prefer Innisfail, keep us honest and leave the Hair Gel, swanky haircuts, Lynx Africa, Inflatable Domes, COE's & Sports Campus's to others, its their way.

Its a simple game, complicated only by those who complicate it.

How can a fair chunk of your team of young fellas go down with cramp in your biggest game of the year, with a brand new center of excellence & sports campus, you can keep it. ;)

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 06/12/2021 17:24:36    2391893

No mention of Colm Boyle. Great servant to Mayo down the years. Always have it his all.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11227 - 06/12/2021 18:01:19    2391902

Replying To TheUsername:  "Sure you'd prefer Innisfail, keep us honest and leave the Hair Gel, swanky haircuts, Lynx Africa, Inflatable Domes, COE's & Sports Campus's to others, its their way.

Its a simple game, complicated only by those who complicate it.

How can a fair chunk of your team of young fellas go down with cramp in your biggest game of the year, with a brand new center of excellence & sports campus, you can keep it. ;)"
Hi remember when ye thought ye were getting the €12 million CÓÉ at abbots town and ye moved yer weights and gear into findye has to share it with other counties and ye took yer gear and moved out?

That was funny.

I was reading not so long ago that dublin are planning on building 2 COEs so maybe ye be getting twice as much cramp as the Kerry lads :-)

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 06/12/2021 19:02:51    2391918

Replying To yew_tree:  "No mention of Colm Boyle. Great servant to Mayo down the years. Always have it his all."
His retirement passed me by but what a player. Superb defender whose ability to nail a point, outside of the boot, from the 45 was uncanny. It nearly became his signature move.

The fact that he didn't complete the full game in 2017, for whatever reason, is as big a reason why Dublin won as anything else imo.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13704 - 07/12/2021 07:51:38    2391931

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Hi remember when ye thought ye were getting the €12 million CÓÉ at abbots town and ye moved yer weights and gear into findye has to share it with other counties and ye took yer gear and moved out?

That was funny.

I was reading not so long ago that dublin are planning on building 2 COEs so maybe ye be getting twice as much cramp as the Kerry lads :-)"
Since this is a farewell/retirement thread, can we way farewell to the tit-for-tat Dublin/Kerry stuff for a while (funding, weak hurling provinces etc.), at least until they're due to play each other again?
Boyle was a serious player. He was as tough as nails. Himself and Higgins especially are 2 players I'd love to have seen win an All-Ireland.

WanPintWin (Galway) - Posts: 2033 - 07/12/2021 09:58:11    2391943

Best of luck to Colm Boyle on his retirement.A brilliant player

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3673 - 07/12/2021 10:48:24    2391951

Replying To WanPintWin:  "Since this is a farewell/retirement thread, can we way farewell to the tit-for-tat Dublin/Kerry stuff for a while (funding, weak hurling provinces etc.), at least until they're due to play each other again?
Boyle was a serious player. He was as tough as nails. Himself and Higgins especially are 2 players I'd love to have seen win an All-Ireland."
You're correct wanpointwin but if you look back a page or 2 you'll see that I didn't start the tit for tat, but I did finish it, I probably shouldn't have reacted to them in fairness though .

Anyway back to the thread, and Colm Boyle was a fantastic warrior and a great footballer and he was a joy to watch, all the best to Colm in his retirement .

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 07/12/2021 12:33:27    2391975

Absolute nonsense , youve been whinging for 10 years

superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2837 - 07/12/2021 17:23:28    2392021

Replying To superbluedub:  "Absolute nonsense , youve been whinging for 10 years"
Ah you're only looking for a reaction again :-)

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 08/12/2021 15:46:51    2392110

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Our 2014 allireland winning goal keeper Brian Kelly has retired aged 31, thats the 2 legion lads gone from our panel now.

A lot of big football retirements in the last few days."
Actually no its yourself who is constantly looking for a reaction
Posting this childish nonsense
Best of luck to Kevin in his retirement, he was a powerful runner.
Now dry your eyes and stop your whinging

superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2837 - 08/12/2021 20:50:26    2392133

Replying To superbluedub:  "Actually no its yourself who is constantly looking for a reaction
Now dry your eyes and stop your whinging"
You got insulted by that? :-)

How would describe Kevin as a footballer?

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 08/12/2021 20:56:55    2392134

Replying To superbluedub:  "Actually no its yourself who is constantly looking for a reaction
Now dry your eyes and stop your whinging"
Dont waste your time on the teppum...

If only he knew how to join the other kerry forum his mate went to, and moved out of here...!
We all live in hope....

Oh and dont forget the obligatory ;o)
LOL

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 3724 - 08/12/2021 21:26:34    2392137