Is It Time To Be More Careful Of The Language We Use?

Using the term Fenian or Hun in a negative context is really just two sides of the same coin.

You of course can use them in a historical reference but that's not what's being applied here at all..

But in the wrong context

Both will land you in plenty of trouble if you use them recklessly

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 30/11/2020 10:57:07    2316803

Replying To avonali:  "This is taken from the Independent.

Now you may not considered the word offensive but others do:

"Campaigners argue that the word, which is more commonly used in an endearing manner short for 'honey', is one of "religious hatred" and should be considered just as offensive as the word 'fenian', which is used as a derogatory term towards Catholics.

Plans are already in place to lobby Scotland's First Minister Nicola Sturgeon to make the word illegal, with the campaign coming after singer Amy Macdonald was abused on Twitter, according to Herald Scotland.

An online petition claims that the word is of "religious hatred, a derogatory and sectarian term for a Protestant".
By the way it wasn't the Scottish courts who made a ruling, it was Ofcom, the UK communications regulator. Maybe you ought to read up a bit more yourself, Geronimo."
So 1 day you're starting a thread about name calling and the next day you're the 1 doing the name calling?

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 30/11/2020 11:05:38    2316809

Replying To jimbodub:  "Using the term Fenian or Hun in a negative context is really just two sides of the same coin.

You of course can use them in a historical reference but that's not what's being applied here at all..

But in the wrong context

Both will land you in plenty of trouble if you use them recklessly"
A friend of mine wore a scarf to Ibrox that bore the Slogan "Huns out of Europe" after Rangers had been knocked out of The Champions League. He had it taken from him and received a warning.

avonali (Dublin) - Posts: 1974 - 30/11/2020 11:08:38    2316812

What I find funny is that you are all holding up Scotland as an example when it's long history of Anti-Irish feeling is well known and still exists to this very day. But carry on with your outrage at the word Hun and keep on equating it to actual sectarian terms that are in use week in week (the use of which funny has never prompted anyone to go on a crusade on here about). Gotta love modern society with all it's faux outrage.

Offside_Rule (Antrim) - Posts: 4058 - 30/11/2020 11:09:15    2316813

Replying To Offside_Rule:  "What I find funny is that you are all holding up Scotland as an example when it's long history of Anti-Irish feeling is well known and still exists to this very day. But carry on with your outrage at the word Hun and keep on equating it to actual sectarian terms that are in use week in week (the use of which funny has never prompted anyone to go on a crusade on here about). Gotta love modern society with all it's faux outrage."
We are having a debate about a term....no outrage whatsoever, but I am sensing a fair bit of anger from yourself. It's wrong to use sectarian terms, nobody is denying that. But your contention that this word is not offensive to anybody is simply wrong. Surely somebody can argue the facts with you without you getting angry??

avonali (Dublin) - Posts: 1974 - 30/11/2020 11:17:21    2316819

Replying To Offside_Rule:  "What I find funny is that you are all holding up Scotland as an example when it's long history of Anti-Irish feeling is well known and still exists to this very day. But carry on with your outrage at the word Hun and keep on equating it to actual sectarian terms that are in use week in week (the use of which funny has never prompted anyone to go on a crusade on here about). Gotta love modern society with all it's faux outrage."
Gotta love that you're incapable of answering a direct yet simple question put to you

But if it wasn't blatant enough why to begin with your above rant settles it.

Good luck!

Beelzedub (Dublin) - Posts: 480 - 30/11/2020 11:18:16    2316820

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "So 1 day you're starting a thread about name calling and the next day you're the 1 doing the name calling?"
The chap humorously referred to me as Tonto....I was returning the favour. By the way..Howya. NIce try.

avonali (Dublin) - Posts: 1974 - 30/11/2020 11:18:51    2316822

Replying To Beelzedub:  "Gotta love that you're incapable of answering a direct yet simple question put to you

But if it wasn't blatant enough why to begin with your above rant settles it.

Good luck!"
Jimbo I thought you retired beelzedub? You're 1 crazy h*** '-)

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 30/11/2020 11:20:26    2316823

lol - oh no, they're rounding up on me. Another problem with modern society - they have to pigeon hole every person. Even anonymous posters on an internet forum. Ye need to lighten up a bit lads!

Offside_Rule (Antrim) - Posts: 4058 - 30/11/2020 11:20:45    2316824

Replying To avonali:  "The chap humorously referred to me as Tonto....I was returning the favour. By the way..Howya. NIce try."
Unless you are also jimbodub then you would find that the Tonto was in response to his Chief. Do keep up!

Offside_Rule (Antrim) - Posts: 4058 - 30/11/2020 11:22:23    2316827

I absolutely agree with you regarding the anti-Irish sentiment, you are 100% spot on
I had trouble in Scotland by simply having a certain accent, you know well what you're talking about regarding that too, you grew up under very different circumstances to me, I'm presuming you grew up in Belfast? Apologies if not. I've had the same trouble in Belfast before but for different reasons. . They just didn't like me because I was a Dub haha

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 30/11/2020 11:24:21    2316831

Replying To avonali:  "A friend of mine wore a scarf to Ibrox that bore the Slogan "Huns out of Europe" after Rangers had been knocked out of The Champions League. He had it taken from him and received a warning."
That sounds about right
Probably didn't realise the context fully
Strange aul business

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 30/11/2020 11:25:52    2316833

Replying To avonali:  "The chap humorously referred to me as Tonto....I was returning the favour. By the way..Howya. NIce try."
No man

He called me Tonto..

Because I called him chief.. which is just an every day term used all the time which he seemingly had some sort of problem with.. funny that
Offside decided to take the Native American route with it.. which in itself is enough to land you on trouble these days

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 30/11/2020 11:30:06    2316836

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Jimbo I thought you retired beelzedub? You're 1 crazy h*** '-)"
Says the chap who ran several accounts here but couldn't keep track of them.

avonali (Dublin) - Posts: 1974 - 30/11/2020 11:31:40    2316838

Replying To yew_tree:  "People are easily offended these days. Of course there are words and Phrases that can't be said but only in recent days a BBC presenter was suspended for using the term "handbags" ffs.

Sure the word Culchie that many dubs use has its roots in a derogatory and condescending term towards country people. I think we should demand an apology from Dublin posters who have used this horrible word here towards us poor uneducated peasants...my feelings are hurt :("
Well this is it yew_tree, I think we're living in a time that rewards outrage and punishes any opinion that strays from the mainstream.

'Tolerance' is undoubtedly the latest form of intolerance.

Anyway I think the bar on 'offending' someone is very low these days, simply 'misgendering' someone is enough to get the job done. Also, there's a large cohort of people out there who have no problem dishing out the abuse but cry foul immediately when shots are fired back, it's gas stuff (ps, before I offend anybody, that's a general point, it's not aimed at any particular poster).

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 30/11/2020 11:37:01    2316840

Replying To Offside_Rule:  "lol - oh no, they're rounding up on me. Another problem with modern society - they have to pigeon hole every person. Even anonymous posters on an internet forum. Ye need to lighten up a bit lads!"
No one is trying to pigeon hole you Offside and it's a pity you'd take it like that, I also didn't realise that using the term chief woukd have caused offence or at least caused enough to make you reply with Tonto

Just goes to show!

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 30/11/2020 11:37:35    2316842

Replying To jimbodub:  "No man

He called me Tonto..

Because I called him chief.. which is just an every day term used all the time which he seemingly had some sort of problem with.. funny that
Offside decided to take the Native American route with it.. which in itself is enough to land you on trouble these days"
OK. Apologies Offside for calling you Geronimo.

avonali (Dublin) - Posts: 1974 - 30/11/2020 11:52:11    2316850

While I agree that the word Hun may now be considered as sectarian / offensive term, A fun fact is that the term originated when a scottish newspaper referred to Rangers fans as being like the Mongolian huns after some bad behaviour at a European game in Barcelona. The paper described them as being like huns in their sweeping through the city and destroying everything in site. Nothing to do with the protestant religion. Although yeah I agree it has been turned into a more offensive term by some.

Meath10 (Meath) - Posts: 183 - 30/11/2020 12:03:37    2316856

Replying To Offside_Rule:  "Unless you are also jimbodub then you would find that the Tonto was in response to his Chief. Do keep up!"
They all have multiple accounts and usernames don't take any notice of them offside rule, you'll get used to it.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 30/11/2020 12:08:22    2316860

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "They all have multiple accounts and usernames don't take any notice of them offside rule, you'll get used to it."
Speak for yourself. I haven't but you do.

avonali (Dublin) - Posts: 1974 - 30/11/2020 12:16:29    2316865