Is It Time To Be More Careful Of The Language We Use?

It's not my opinion - Scottish courts have ruled it's not sectarian. It doesn't refer to religion.

Offside_Rule (Antrim) - Posts: 4058 - 29/11/2020 18:45:40    2316583

Replying To avonali:  "I've noticed terms freely used in the forums that are highly questionable.
In one county forum -not difficult to guess which one- Dublin fans are players are referred to as 'The Huns.' I would have thought that such a term, with all its sectarian and historical associations, has no place in a forum like. this. In Scotland usage of this term can get you into serious trouble...it is deemed sectarian and divisive. I am mystified as to why a county supporter would resort to borrowing a word from used by one Glasgow soccer club to describe their rivals.
I've also noticed usages like "True Gaels"??? How does that speak to the many sons and daughters of immigrants who now play GAA?
The old cliche that Dublin people reside in "The Pale" and are somehow less Irish that those outside, -despite many having parents from outside Dublin-is still wheeled out. The point is that a barely concealed hostility for anything having a remote association with Britain -whether that association with Britain be real or imagined- lurks just beneath the surface, ready to be deployed when somebody wants to lob a mindless insult. I thought we had settled our differences with Britain when we welcomed members of the Royal family into Croke Park?
Then we have usages like "feral" "flat dwellers" etc etc. to refer to Dubliners.Again the lazy association . Dublin has social problems like any major city but what does it say about the values of the person who uses these terms to insult others. Since when was it wrong to be poor, or wrong to live in a flat complex."
Maybe you mean well Avonali and I have no reason to doubt you, but I recall some time ago a prominent Dublin poster saying that Mayo were not strong enough to win an All Ireland because of inbreeding. Now maybe some Dublin posters felt a sense of outrage at his, or her, remark but if so they kept it very much to themselves. I would like to think we could all exist together on here in peace and harmony but the mean spirited post by Realdub on this thread, and the likes it received, makes me very much doubt that. The Huns were a nomadic tribe from somewhere around Turkey, which invaded Europe back in the day, so maybe we're all descended from them. Good luck in your quest!

Llaw_Gyffes (Mayo) - Posts: 1113 - 29/11/2020 18:55:35    2316592

Yeah. . Nah

Think I'd still not prefer to say that..

Quoting a Scottish court ruling over your shoulder as you're getting chased down the street might just make matters worse..

Many would find it a highly insulting term and it would be a very reckless thing indeed to not take the use of that term in a serious manner

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 29/11/2020 19:10:33    2316605

Replying To avonali:  "Thanks Mick. There was no offence taken at all just curious as to why a Gaa supporter would use a term used by Celtic Supporters to refer to Rangers supporters. I am just interested in the thinking behjnd that. Fair play to you for your fair and balanced response. I have been posting on this forum for years -contrary to the view of one poster -I can remember guys like Snuf and others like Mayo51. Most posters are fair minded and but there are a few who post here VERY regularly and who cannot help but insult my county , its footballers and their achievements. Name calling and childish personalised insults are their stock in trade. One of your county men who was caught using multiple accounts kindly offered me. a boxing match:-D. when he was called out on it. Unpleasant folk to say the least. When you stand up to them they don't like it and start whinging. Anyway, just wanted to say fair play to you."
Thanks alot avonali.

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3675 - 29/11/2020 19:19:50    2316609

Replying To Offside_Rule:  "Yes - it is not a sectarian term and likewise would not get you in trouble in Scotland. I think the original post doesn't realise either."
You don't think saying Hun in Scotland will not get you in trouble?

All depends on your definition of trouble chief..

I'd consider it a very provocative term to use in the wrong company

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 29/11/2020 19:23:19    2316610

People are easily offended these days. Of course there are words and Phrases that can't be said but only in recent days a BBC presenter was suspended for using the term "handbags" ffs.

Sure the word Culchie that many dubs use has its roots in a derogatory and condescending term towards country people. I think we should demand an apology from Dublin posters who have used this horrible word here towards us poor uneducated peasants...my feelings are hurt :(

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11230 - 29/11/2020 19:39:06    2316617

Replying To Llaw_Gyffes:  "Maybe you mean well Avonali and I have no reason to doubt you, but I recall some time ago a prominent Dublin poster saying that Mayo were not strong enough to win an All Ireland because of inbreeding. Now maybe some Dublin posters felt a sense of outrage at his, or her, remark but if so they kept it very much to themselves. I would like to think we could all exist together on here in peace and harmony but the mean spirited post by Realdub on this thread, and the likes it received, makes me very much doubt that. The Huns were a nomadic tribe from somewhere around Turkey, which invaded Europe back in the day, so maybe we're all descended from them. Good luck in your quest!"
Doesn't that just demonstrate the shortcomings of the moderators too though or are they afraid that people will filter away to sites that have less of a restriction on what passes for decent comment.
Sometimes you would wonder about standards in general and there does seem to be a willingness to allow whatever increases the hit count.

catch22 (USA) - Posts: 2148 - 29/11/2020 19:43:45    2316620

Replying To Llaw_Gyffes:  "Maybe you mean well Avonali and I have no reason to doubt you, but I recall some time ago a prominent Dublin poster saying that Mayo were not strong enough to win an All Ireland because of inbreeding. Now maybe some Dublin posters felt a sense of outrage at his, or her, remark but if so they kept it very much to themselves. I would like to think we could all exist together on here in peace and harmony but the mean spirited post by Realdub on this thread, and the likes it received, makes me very much doubt that. The Huns were a nomadic tribe from somewhere around Turkey, which invaded Europe back in the day, so maybe we're all descended from them. Good luck in your quest!"
Didn't see that post Llaw so I can't comment. But gratuitous insults like that are wrong . Simple as.

avonali (Dublin) - Posts: 1974 - 29/11/2020 20:02:48    2316640

I also get extremely bored when someone thinks they are being very funny and original sending me "funny" posts about the perceived meanness of Cavan folk. It happens on here too. All started by a certain Mr Niall Tobín who simply invented it. But if it makes others more comfortable then we can handle it.

s goldrick (Cavan) - Posts: 5518 - 29/11/2020 20:33:36    2316649

Replying To yew_tree:  "People are easily offended these days. Of course there are words and Phrases that can't be said but only in recent days a BBC presenter was suspended for using the term "handbags" ffs.

Sure the word Culchie that many dubs use has its roots in a derogatory and condescending term towards country people. I think we should demand an apology from Dublin posters who have used this horrible word here towards us poor uneducated peasants...my feelings are hurt :("
Who is offended? I certainly wasn't. I was simply wondering and asking questions. Is that ok?

avonali (Dublin) - Posts: 1974 - 29/11/2020 21:06:47    2316668

Replying To avonali:  "Who is offended? I certainly wasn't. I was simply wondering and asking questions. Is that ok?"
I know that...my post was tongue in cheek.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11230 - 29/11/2020 22:30:28    2316703

Replying To s goldrick:  "I also get extremely bored when someone thinks they are being very funny and original sending me "funny" posts about the perceived meanness of Cavan folk. It happens on here too. All started by a certain Mr Niall Tobín who simply invented it. But if it makes others more comfortable then we can handle it."
A litany of recycled jokes that the English made up about the Scots. How witty!

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5012 - 29/11/2020 22:44:03    2316711

Replying To waynoI:  "I absolutely agree and it will be passed off as "banter" as a reason to excuse it. Personally, there was a time that labelling us flat dwellers etc wouldve really wound me up, and then (and I can only speak for myself here) I grew up a little bit and I've realised that you cant change peoples opinions on certain issues but particularly when it comes to things like Dublin, our advantages etc, and to be fair, some Dublin fans are every bit as annoying when they cant see the wood from the trees and defend everything we get and advantages we have so I just dont tend to really engage and take notice of it. Let people praise who wanna praise, be critical if they wanna be critical. Fume is they want to fume etc and just try engage with the people who you respect and not the empty vessels which as we all know make the most noise especially those vessels who will take time out of their day in the middle of a pandemic, to absolutely slaughter Dubs and label us huns, the pale etc and in fairness, for the sake of balance, Dubs arent innocent here in their choice of words I'm sure.

The internet and anonymous forums like these are the absolute cess pits because people can come on and spout their vitriol with absolutely no hope of repercussion or discipline. In real life you wont meet people like that. In real life you get arrested for such abuse if heard by a member of the guards. Important to note, my experience of HS is much different to the experience of the actual games which is why I miss it so much and cant wait to be able to yo back and watch Dublin in the flesh again because people are more genuine. I dont think I've ever had an experience with a GAA fan in person that has ever ended with a sour taste. Kerry men, mayo men, Tyrone men, genuinely amazing people with different types of upbringing to us but wonderful people one and all.

You'll still have your agreements and disagreements with people but itll all be sorted with a pint and handshake and that'll be that. Here it's totally different. But that's 2020.

For me, this place just isn't what it used to be. It's as obvious as the day is long that it's in its arse and needs interactions, in order to do that they probably allow the odd mischievous comment and label in order to provoke reactions and more posts which is also very wrong and encourages what you are complaining about avonli.

The whole enterprise is gone."
I agree totally

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4896 - 29/11/2020 22:51:42    2316713

I thought the Savage Eye take on the Cavan lads was very good, surely not offensive?

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8589 - 29/11/2020 23:39:10    2316724

not everyone gets offended so easily, so maybe if your snowflake is starting to melt at some of the posts, remove yourself from the heat back to the shade of the pale and delete your account...

wishfulthinkin (Cavan) - Posts: 1680 - 30/11/2020 01:06:49    2316732

Replying To jimbodub:  "Isn't "Hun" a term used by the more undesirable sort of soccer fans over in the UK?

Hooligans and so on..

To think it's being used on a GAA forum..

Sad times for Hoganstand"
Are they the same undesirable fans that the dublin footballers were paraded in front of in Celtic Park last winter Jim?

Sad times indeed.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 30/11/2020 08:44:57    2316751

Replying To jimbodub:  "You don't think saying Hun in Scotland will not get you in trouble?

All depends on your definition of trouble chief..

I'd consider it a very provocative term to use in the wrong company"
Might be worth reading up a bit about the term and the history of it and its use before making statements like "a term, with all its sectarian and historical associations" Tonto.

Offside_Rule (Antrim) - Posts: 4058 - 30/11/2020 09:47:58    2316767

Replying To wishfulthinkin:  "not everyone gets offended so easily, so maybe if your snowflake is starting to melt at some of the posts, remove yourself from the heat back to the shade of the pale and delete your account..."
who is offended?? Telling someone from Dublin to return to the Pale is as anachronistic as telling someone from Cavan to go back to their plantation.

avonali (Dublin) - Posts: 1974 - 30/11/2020 10:17:13    2316784

Replying To Offside_Rule:  "Might be worth reading up a bit about the term and the history of it and its use before making statements like "a term, with all its sectarian and historical associations" Tonto."
Best to not down play the use of the term by quoting from a Scottish legal finding

It's a very abbresive term as you well know of course.

That despite what you suggest, it would indeed get you in plenty of trouble in Scotland if you weren't very careful in its use.

IMO I think that's more in keeping with what the OP was referring to.

If you want to be pedantic about it fair enough.

Would you be comfortable using that term aloud in certain parts of Belfast?

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 30/11/2020 10:26:35    2316790

Replying To Offside_Rule:  "Might be worth reading up a bit about the term and the history of it and its use before making statements like "a term, with all its sectarian and historical associations" Tonto."
This is taken from the Independent.

Now you may not considered the word offensive but others do:

"Campaigners argue that the word, which is more commonly used in an endearing manner short for 'honey', is one of "religious hatred" and should be considered just as offensive as the word 'fenian', which is used as a derogatory term towards Catholics.

Plans are already in place to lobby Scotland's First Minister Nicola Sturgeon to make the word illegal, with the campaign coming after singer Amy Macdonald was abused on Twitter, according to Herald Scotland.

An online petition claims that the word is of "religious hatred, a derogatory and sectarian term for a Protestant".
By the way it wasn't the Scottish courts who made a ruling, it was Ofcom, the UK communications regulator. Maybe you ought to read up a bit more yourself, Geronimo.

avonali (Dublin) - Posts: 1974 - 30/11/2020 10:32:24    2316796