minor championship div 1

Was at the st.joes kingscourt match on sat,some of the behaviour was disgracful,but some fine football from both teams all the same.i have to say i didnt see any selectors hiting players from the opposing team as was mentioned in an earlier post (not saying it didnt happen though).i tink it would be very unfair to throw st.joes out of the championship,in my opion the melee at the end of the game was started by a kingscourt player,also the melee after the st.joes goal was set off by a kingscourt player.also thought it was shocking to see nothing being done when No. 4 for kingscourt hit No. 14 (i think),and then gloated about it.by the timer on my phone 31 and a half minutes had passed when the final melee broke out,so i dont think there was much time left to be played.

Dougal (Cavan) - Posts: 543 - 29/09/2008 21:31:47    110622

From what i can gather it seems to be 1 Kingscourt player that started the melee; i am not ignoring that, but that doesn't mean St Josephs should not be held accountable,, St Josephs do nothing but complain, any time they lose a game they are always starting rows and claiming that they were 'robbed' of a victory,, and now they at this thing fighting when they win games,,,, like i said i know it was started by a kingscourt player but can't st Joe's not be a decent team and walk away from that,,,,, throw them out of the minor championship and would their coaches and selectors cop on aswell,,, if that is true about the st Joe's selector attacking the Kingscourt player he should be charged with assault

BlueRevolution (Cavan) - Posts: 71 - 29/09/2008 22:36:59    110691

mclovin??

u must of ben in nets or sumtin??mayb u didnt see dat kingscort r better

drumgooned (Cavan) - Posts: 251 - 30/09/2008 17:12:50    111306

anyone have predictions for this weeks semi finals

cavan man (Cavan) - Posts: 141 - 01/10/2008 14:58:02    111993

by far the best four teams at minor level are remaining..some may say that kingscourt deserve a place in that four after their league form but in my opinion if castlerahan can defeat the gaels without fergal flanagan,who was an ever present in the countys minor campaign then they rightfully deserve their place.however off the four teams they must be seen as the underdogs.St joesephs have a very strong and talented team and showed it throughout the league by defeatin redbridge and holding the gaels in a keenly fought encounter.The emergence of young bouchier this year has been a huge boost to their prospects in the league and championship.i was'nt at the kingscourt v st joes game and am not fit to comment on what occured during or after the game but from what i have heard and read the actions of their coaching staff left a lot to be desired but hopefully for the sake of this championship the players will do the talking on saturday morning in lacken.i think that at wing half positions in the forward and back line st joes will have the edge.good battles between oisin o connel and daragh tighe in the full forward and full back contest, paddy king and fergal flanagan in midfield and tommy brady and enda o connell will be were the game is won or lost for either side.Castlerahan pipped the on form st joesephs in the league with a point deep into injury time but i feel that st joesephs will be fully aware that theyve got the luckier draw in this championship and i expect them to take full advantage of it and beat castlerahan by between 2-4 points.
The tie of the round has to be Redbridge and Cavan Gaels. The gaels sailed to a comfortable four points win over the emalgamted hopefuls in the league but redbridge were missing their captain ciaran smith at the back and conor mc clarey ran riot as a result. having said that the gaels were without niall smith and as anyone who has watched the man play will tel you at his own age level he can change the shape of a game with one run. Redbridge were built up well for the league having five county minors and two u16 development squad players and one u15, but due to a number of injuries to key men during the campaign they never really got up and running.in the two games were they played the flowing football that was expected against a weak laragh team and castlerahan they ran riot and could not be stopped and on form like that i would find it hard for even the gaels to stop them.they had close run games against crosserlough, st joesephs and kinggscourt during the league were they fell in the last few minutes to lose.But i think last weekends game against crosserlough has proven that this team can unite and play as a team when it comes down to it and they've learned something more, how to win. this is definately going to be challenged straight away by this vastly expierienced gaels squad who have only lost one game of football since u12 level. however it proves they are beatable and if they dont keep their heads focused they may slip up here. Redbridge are without their rock at the back oisin minagh after he was sent off in the quater-final and livewire mark kelly, and this may well be too much to compete with let alone having to play the county champions. I expect the gaels to have far too much dept for their opponents here, but then again redbridge did beat crosserlough without mark kelly and came back once minagh was sent off so the more ordinary players on their team have begun to stand up and be counted for and if they realise they may never have another chance to win a division 1 minor championship it may inspire them to another sterling performance. Still, the gaels cant not be favourites and in the end they should come through, but then again maybe just maybe the underdogs will upset the apple cart. Minor player

TheDon1990 (Cavan) - Posts: 16 - 01/10/2008 18:13:22    112188

BlueRevolution: like i said i know it was started by a kingscourt player but can't st Joe's not be a decent team and walk away from that,,,,, throw them out of the minor championship and would their coaches and selectors cop on aswell,,, if that is true about the st Joe's selector attacking the Kingscourt player he should be charged with assault.

It's all very well to say "walk away from that", but when one of our players was knocked out cold by a Kingscourt player that ran 30 yards to hit him from behind his back (I have yet to see such a cowardly act in all my life), when the Ref wasn't looking, surly you would expect a reaction. That same player had to spend 30 hours in hospital due to his head injury.

I'm not condoning what happened at all, but I was very close by and saw exactly what happened. Kingscourt are using the scapegoat of the selector that ran on to the field, killing all round him, because they have no moral ground to stand on. The selector came on to protect his players from the thuggery that ensued from the Kingscourt players and was assaulted himself. Everyone has failed to mention that the selector was seperating two players scuffling on the ground, or another way of putting it would be, a Kingscourt player pinning down a St Joes player and boxing him.

I think the ref made the right decision in blowing the whistle. There was 32 minutes gone and there was too much going on for the ref to get involved. One thing I will say is that he had no neutral umpires with him. Had he umpires with him, Kingscourt would not have got away with what they did and would have prevented the scenes at the end.

Kingscourt had no interest in finishing out the game with football, actually some of them had very little interest in playing football at all. Throughout the game they boxed lads off the ball and cause a melee after St Joes scored their goal in the second half. As I said before, we would be better off without a team like kingscourt in our competitions in Cavan. Maybe they could play in Meath or something, a county that would suit them.

As for the rest of the competition I agree that the four best teams are left in it. I think St Joes will scrape through against Castlerahan on Saturday. I expect it to be a very good game of football and very close, but I don't see the winners of this game winning the championship. The winners of the other Semi Final Gaels v Redbridge will undoubtably be favoutites. Anyway best of luck to St Joes on Saturday

bluepost (Cavan) - Posts: 18 - 02/10/2008 10:51:53    112447

gaels v redbridge: im going with the gaels here as redbridge are missing both minagh and kelly,these are a massive loss to them as they were both on the cavan minors.i expect a good battle at midfield with packie leddy for redbridge there as he is a serious talent but i think the gaels will have too much class for them with players like murray,smith and meehan. gaels by 4 or 5.

castlerahan v st joesephs: castlerahan are underdogs left in this but are still a good team, they beat st joes in the league by a point but this is championship football now and everything changes. st joes are a good team aswell and have an excellent free taker in bouchier. i expect this to be the best game on show between the 2 and i think either of the teams could win it as their evenly matched. its too close to call but there will be about a point in it.

bob1 (Cavan) - Posts: 102 - 02/10/2008 19:24:23    112911

Going back to the kingscourt and st.josephs game i heard a certain josephs player, hit the umpire! Awful act!
Apparently theres a meetin on friday night with d county board to discuss whether or not he'll be eligible for the semi-final and the final if they make it.

coO (Cavan) - Posts: 217 - 02/10/2008 19:40:30    112925

gales no question for the championship.

greatshow (Cavan) - Posts: 29 - 02/10/2008 21:09:50    112975

RE: Bluepost....I have actually heard more about the St Joe's and Kingscourt game by a spectator who was a neutral and in fact i would agree with bluepost. Its just at the start of the week i heard a completely different story which pin-pointed the blame on st Joe's which i know now is untrue. Hopefully the county board will now make sure that in future the umpires will be neutral.,,,,,,,,,

BlueRevolution (Cavan) - Posts: 71 - 02/10/2008 21:21:55    112980

This years minor league and championship have been very enjoyable, i must say some great games were played.
Any ideas on who will win the final?
Surely we must have a strong county minor team this coming year.
Any ideas on it?..

galoping gazele (None) - Posts: 174 - 07/10/2008 08:34:47    114630

Hope da gaels hammer St.Josephs....der no good anyway!

Tony (Cavan) - Posts: 63 - 07/10/2008 13:13:38    114826

any predictions on championship final between gaels an st.joes??
is it true d game wont b held b4 d senior final?? it would be an awful shame?!!

BT (Cavan) - Posts: 36 - 07/10/2008 16:53:52    115032

TONY: your clearly a gaels man because we all know dat every other club in the county are dying ta see the gaels get beaten and deflate their heads.........
as for callin st josephs no good wel let the football do the talkin....see ya 19th october

mclovinxx (Cavan) - Posts: 101 - 08/10/2008 21:45:50    115784

Mclovin?
ur a muppet.d reaon y everyone wants st joes 2 lose is because dey are far 2 coky..

drumgooned (Cavan) - Posts: 251 - 09/10/2008 15:44:08    116430

is it true the gaels st.joes final is not the same day as the senior? and if this is true, why so?. it has been like this for the past few years.

galoping gazele (None) - Posts: 174 - 09/10/2008 16:40:28    116490

any1 got any ideas of wat the county minor team will be 4 nxt year???
leve ur team!!

putHERup (Cavan) - Posts: 37 - 10/10/2008 12:01:25    116933

I am happy to inform you that the County Board didn't give in to severe pressure from Cavan Gaels to change the traditional fixture for the Minor Final. It was confirmed at an executive meeting last night that the game will go ahead before the senior County Final. Proper order!!!

bluepost (Cavan) - Posts: 18 - 10/10/2008 14:08:25    117017

Bluepost

All well and good blaming kingscourt fully which if you were at the game was you would know is wrong.Surely you seen kingscourts midfielder who was a danger every time he ran with the ball cynically taken down and stopped.This did not help matters you should agree and contributed to the end scenes.

As for the umpires did st joes not get the benifit of the disputed goal and a point?

Both sides were to blame and I do not like the fact that you are saying kingscourt are using a selector as a scapegoat...

There were plenty of incidents leaving the game at on a knifedge many were wrong but i repeat both teams are to blame for the ending...

spicer (Cavan) - Posts: 89 - 10/10/2008 21:26:36    117235

i have played against both st.joes and the gaels and i going with st.joes to win it. i think their more physical than the gaels and this could come to their favour.

bob1 (Cavan) - Posts: 102 - 11/10/2008 12:37:24    117294