Senior Championship - Cavan Club Football

D_Dude, are you from Ballinagh? The majority of your posts are defending them yet you seem to comment on Ballinagh as "they" and there is a lot of bias in them. I am not anti-Ballinagh by the way. Gaynor shouldered Tierney in the back. Granted he shouldn't have been sent off for it but it wasn't as if there was no malice in it. You think he would learn after being out for so long. Ballinagh should have had the game long wrapped up but needed to equalize with the last kick of normal time. I would expect them to beat Castlerahan too but they really need to up their game if they are to progress any further.

What happened to Gowna? I heard Pierson was sent off after coming on. Ramor have a good young team and should be interesting to see how they get on against Lacken. Belturbet were apparently 10 points down at half time and strugged without Rory. It will be between them and Knockbride for relegation.

CavanFella (Cavan) - Posts: 11 - 11/08/2008 12:39:48    70761

I second what CavanFella has to say there. Its obvious where D_DUDE is from, you keep refering to Ballinagh as 'They' when you try to defend them (and its mostly defending the indefencible might I add).
Saying the other team were play-acting, and poor anthony wouldn't do a thing like that, they were hard done by with their suspension, bla bla bla, who are you trying to fool??
Your obviously a ballinagh clubman and will defend them no matter what, that completely understandable, I'd do the same.
But don't try to pretend like your some sort of observant neutral with no bias, it insults our intelligence.
So anyways, ye had a good win on saturday, probably deserved it overall, whats the general vibe regarding the c'ship?
Do you have genuine aspirations of winning it?? I think the winners of the q'fiers meet k'court in the quarters? Could be an easy enough passage to a semi final i reckon!!

snowflake (Cavan) - Posts: 19 - 11/08/2008 13:32:58    70863

Yes u are right Ballinagh will seriously need to up their game if they are to beat castlerahan they did look quite rusty for many parts of the game but that was just lack of competitive football, I do think if they do improve they should come out of the qualifers to play kingscourt but who knows i think young mc dermott at corner forward is an excellent prospect he has the height, strength and skill.
With regards to Gowna they are like Armagh an aged side who are at the end of their tier, id fancy lacken against ramor in the next round!!

D_Dude (Cavan) - Posts: 360 - 11/08/2008 14:17:34    70939

Well snowflake i reckon lacken are the toughest team left in the qualifers and their is fierce rivalary between them and ballinagh so if meet lacken and beat them they have a great chance of making the semi's and who knows what could happen from there it would b a good achievement to get to the semi's at least in their 1st year back in the senior championship!!

D_Dude (Cavan) - Posts: 360 - 11/08/2008 14:48:26    70988

D_Dude, I think you are getting a little carried away talking about Lacken being the only thing preventing Ballinagh an easy passage to the semi final. Castlerahan have arguably as good if not better players than Ballinagh. I don't think either of them really are mentally tough enough to win a senior championship though like a Mullahoran or Gowna team and neither have the ability of the Gaels. Kingscourt will be no walkover for the qualifier winners. They won comfortably against Castlerahan who many were predicting a dark horses for the last few championships.

The one good thing about the weekend is that we will finally have county finalists outside of the Gaels, Mullahoran and Gowna. Cuchullainns are probably favourites to get that spot but really any of the remaining teams could get there. This could be one of the best championships in years especially if Mullahoran can dump the Gaels out.

CavanFella (Cavan) - Posts: 11 - 11/08/2008 15:51:43    71180

I can see the qualifier winner beating Kingscourt. Kingscourt i think were unlucky to draw the qualifier in the quarters as this team will have momentum going into the game. I think last year the qualifier reached at least the semi final in all grades last year. Please correct me if im wrong about this as im not sure how the Junior qualifier fared. Kingscourt had their tails up after beating castlerahan but a five week layoff could halt their progress. I see lacken coming out of the qualifiers. V impressed against Belturbet although they had no plan B. Belturbet never copped on to their plan A so they breezed past them. Wasnt surprised with the Gowna result. McCabe no longer has the legs to carry this team although he is still their key man. Too good to be relegated all the same. Ballinagh surprised me sat night, firstly they were poor (prob due to off field distractions and lack of football) and secondly they grinded out an ugly win which i didnt think they were capable off. Morris's mentality must be rubbing off. Could be dark horses if castlerahan fail to show their metal. Odds for qualifiers

Lacken 7/4
Ballinagh 7/2
Castlerahan 4/1
Ramor 7/1

Navscan (Cavan) - Posts: 58 - 11/08/2008 16:10:22    71220

I think im right about lacken they have some very strong players but i don't castlerahan have better players than ballinagh u must remember ballinagh have just beaten them in the U21's with 2-3 county players so unless they get complacent i can't see castlerahan beating ballinagh, after all kingscourt are a mid table div 2 side and they beat castlerahan, but after all theres not a lot between them and ballinagh will have to up their performance if they are to progress i can see them playing well against castlerahan as they are a good footballing team.

D_Dude (Cavan) - Posts: 360 - 11/08/2008 16:40:20    71270

RAMOR WILL BEAT LACKEN they were way better than gowna last night. should have bet cu cu s. when exactly are they going to get any credit. since when are lacken any good. or castlerahan they haven won a championship match in 2 yrs

scooby (Cavan) - Posts: 87 - 11/08/2008 17:55:29    71363

i think castlerahan could do well against ballinagh and they will want revenge for the u21 game in which castlerahan should have won by a mile. i believe castlerahan will have a lot stronger team out for the game then they did against kinscourt as they should have 2 or 3 lads back from injury.should be a very good game

cavan man (Cavan) - Posts: 141 - 11/08/2008 18:58:08    71408

Ramor V Gowna-didn't make the game - any thoughts on the game would be appreciated- who played well. What are Ramor's chances for their next game??

ruby (Cavan) - Posts: 9 - 11/08/2008 19:33:22    71419

Mr. Pain is not too sure on Lacken or Ramor but he thinks Lacken will beat them. Didn't Lacken beat Gowna in the league and maybe draw with Cuchullains? Maybe Mr. Pain is incorrect but if he is right then that dismisses Scooby's point.

Mr. Pain (Cavan) - Posts: 92 - 12/08/2008 10:05:41    71664

I went along to the Ballinagh-Knockbride game and was sorry I did as I got soaked on the way out. The standard of football was poor but the conditions were awful. Ballinagh number 9 (McDermott) impressed me as did the Knockbride number 7. However, I must have been at a different game to D_Dude as I didn't see anything dirty from Tierney (Knockbride number 8). I hadn't seen Ballinagh for a couple of years and was keen to understand what the fuss was about their behaviour - I wasn't impressed. The crowd are very antagonistic - constantly trying to wind up the Knockbride crowd and the referee. Ballinagh deserved to win but some of the antics were inexcusable - One player lay down like he was poleaxed towards the end under the stand until the ref told him to get up or get off the field - he then ran off without a hint of embarrassment. Larry Reilly was poor - constantly took the wrong option and tried to run the game by himself running into cul de sacs. He also got dragged into retaliation and could have been sent off. You'd think with his experience he would know better by now. I can see why D_Dude says Ballinagh are not the most popular team in the county. The club needs to take responsibility for the actions of the players, officials and supporters. If the supporters are not behaving the club needs to tell them they are not welcome.

opa01 (Cavan) - Posts: 550 - 12/08/2008 10:17:39    71676

Well Cavan man i take it ur a castlerahan man there is no such thing as should have won it by a mile "Very Silly Comment" when u get beaten by a better team, u loose fair and square over the whole game if their were good enough they would have beaten ballinagh in the U 21's they obviously weren't so Its like saying Gowna should have beaten ramor by a mile no but the best team won on the day. As the next round of the qualifers it will b a good game between castlerahan and ballinagh with the momentum being with ballinagh after beating castlerahan in the U21's and overcoming knockbride in desperate conditions, im hoping there will b an excellent game to store.

D_Dude (Cavan) - Posts: 360 - 12/08/2008 10:27:50    71690

Just in reply to opa01 Ballinagh supporters will never learn just a certain majority bring the bad name on the club I think there punishment was harsh but they got away with it and everything is ok now it was harsh on players definly who are some of the best in county but something has to be said to these people. By players the abuse hurled at refs players on oppisition is something you would have seen in africa between different races only a small number of 5-6 people hurl this abuse I think some of the players should stand up and say as at the end of the day its them being punished and not fans before this happens again and yes i have seen this first hand at various games.

fred50 (Cavan) - Posts: 4 - 12/08/2008 12:13:37    71844

Opa do u actually really realise how pathetic ur last post was makes me laugh!!

D_Dude (Cavan) - Posts: 360 - 12/08/2008 12:19:20    71851

Ah fred wheres the bread i was at the game on saturday and there was no abuse hurled just the usual at any championship match, ballinagh have incurred fines and have had supporters supended from going to match's so lets hope they all learn their lessons, i think u and opa01 are very prejudice toward ballinagh and u can't compare to races in Africa thats just ridicilious.

D_Dude (Cavan) - Posts: 360 - 12/08/2008 12:32:08    71874

D_Dude u obviously were in the stand so da other evenin.

drumalee (Cavan) - Posts: 5 - 12/08/2008 13:09:04    71975

Anybody know the fixtures for this weekend? I assume the next round of the qualifiers is on this weekend. Is the qualifier final the following week then assuming there are no replays?

D_Dude, I see you avoided the question about whether you were from Ballinagh. I didn't think Ballinagh supporters were over the top on Saturday but there definitely was a lively atmosphere which is good for championship football. I was very impressed with young Smith at wing forward for Ballinagh along with the full back Carroll who kept Peter Reilly very quiet. I'm really looking forward to going to this game as it has the potential to be a cracker.

Scooby, I don't think anybody is saying Lacken are unstoppable but it is hardly surprising that they are favourites against Ramor considering that they are 3rd in Division 1 and Ramor are only in Division 2. That being said, it should be a close game too.

CavanFella (Cavan) - Posts: 11 - 12/08/2008 14:00:14    72072

I was indeed and it seems a lot of ones are sickened that Ballinagh beat knockbride and march on in the championship.

D_Dude (Cavan) - Posts: 360 - 12/08/2008 14:31:14    72136

Yes cavan fella i am from ballinagh and i think ur last post is a very fair on last saturdays match i just find theres always people on here having a go at ballinagh they may have a bad past but im sure its all been rectified now and i have to agree with ya with regards to last sat match young smith was very good as was niall mc dermott for ballinagh and i was impressed with knockbrides no 7 as well.

D_Dude (Cavan) - Posts: 360 - 12/08/2008 17:17:13    72518