Senior Championship - Cavan Club Football

loughduff lad

so does that mean that you lost 4 out of 6 finals??
hardly a good strike rate!!
i work that out to be a failure!(33%)
as i said, not a good return from the managers.
dont tell me it was the glamour of mullahoran that brought
the likes of bealin down!!
time for a home grown man to bring your club up to where your facilities suggest it should be!

cavanfa111 (Cavan) - Posts: 14 - 25/07/2008 14:54:28    56903

Sorry my mistake, it is 2 wins out of five (wins 1998, 2006 losses 2003, 2004, 2005) which is 40%, I believe Belturbet are on 0% (0 out of 0) for the last 10 years. Anyway I did allude to a low rate of wins per finals. As I said if there was more common sense at crucial times of some of the finals then the success rate could be higher. Anyway I will talk no more about this as you don't seem to know a lot about it. I don't know if it is jealousy or what, can't see Belturbet getting there any time soon.

Anyway I do reckon the like of Mullahoran would be a more glamarous proposition than Belturbet. It is a strong rural parish steeped in the GAA. People like what they see here. Paschal Canavan came down here at the end of last year and liked what he saw and wanted to be manager. These managers don't just pick any old club to manage, they want a club that they can do well with and raise their profile (i.e. Paul Bealin and Enda McNulty with us have done well since). Also the point about home grown managers, we have found in the past that a home grown man can be subject to the likes of favouritism etc. and being blinded by the way he grew up with the club. An outside man can come in with new ideas and training practices, pick a team as best as he sees fit and not be blinded by the history of the club/player. It is the way the game is going

Loughduff Lad (Cavan) - Posts: 2487 - 25/07/2008 15:21:15    56931

Loughduff Lad Im with you. Local managers would have favourites and outside managers have no loyalties. In fact a lot of clubs at present have managers from outside their parish.

Would also rather a 33% or 40% success rate out of 5/6 finals in 10 years as opposed to a BIG FAT ZERO, ZILCH, NOTHING

Crash Bang Wallop (None) - Posts: 268 - 25/07/2008 16:01:25    57005

loughduff lad

p canavan liked what he saw alright!!

how has bealin done well??
enda mc nulty ??what has he done??
hes working with sprinters now!!
dont think he learned much about that up your way.

mullahoran to lose tonight by 4.

conversation over.

cavanfa111 (Cavan) - Posts: 14 - 25/07/2008 16:49:45    57089

mullaghman did you read the echo in that paper apparently ramor havent a hope. an as for this notion of yous dark horses for the championship. ha more like donkeys

scooby (Cavan) - Posts: 87 - 25/07/2008 18:06:21    57135

Cuchulainns should beat Ramor, but this is a local derby and anything can happen. Cahill certainly has changed fortunes this year but then again the talent is there if they only believe in themselves. Ramor on the other hand also have Buckley changing things around this year and who knows what the result will be, my bet will be a total nip and tuck encounter with a score either way deciding the final result. Cuchulainss by 1 or 2.

Tipster (Cavan) - Posts: 2 - 25/07/2008 22:57:33    57241

Loughduff Lad hasn't much of a memory when he can't even remember the name of of his high profile manager that won something. It was Justin and not Enda McNulty who was ur manager and unless you's are getting Pascal Canavan to tog out this year you's aint gonna stop the Gaels.

begby (None) - Posts: 105 - 26/07/2008 14:44:21    57392

Kingscourt 1-14 : 1-10 Castlerahan

wildcard (Cavan) - Posts: 23 - 27/07/2008 01:15:25    57572

Just saw Cuchullainns 1-12 ramor 1-9. think that was the correct score. Not a bad game, ramor probably were not clinical enough as they had enough possession to win it. Alot of decent teams in the back door now.
Ramor, Ballinagh, Lacken, Belturbet, Knockbride, Castlerahan & crosserlough / gowna. Would not fancy coming through those games. You would have to look at knockbride for the drop - but you never know. Great win last night for the stars, good team performance & showed they really can play football when the attitude is right. Led from start to finish. Ive said it before about castlerahan, they always flatter to deceive in the championship. Gaels look the team again to beat

Ritz (None) - Posts: 199 - 27/07/2008 17:25:32    57748

well done to kingscourt yesterday but i wouldnt rule castlerahan out yet they were missing a few starters with lads out injured and i believe they have 5 in america but they should have some of the injuries back for the back door. just shows what a poor team they had out when 4 minors were playing

cavan man (Cavan) - Posts: 141 - 27/07/2008 20:51:32    57840

Sorry Begby, I always did get mixed up between Enda and Justin, just one of those things :). Anyway Mullahoran did win on friday night (where is Cavanfa111 now), although we were brutal. If Jayo had taken one or two of his goal chances, it could have been completely different. Paul the Gunner was the difference between the teams, what a goal he scored as well, you'll never see better this year. Belturbet just didn't have the legs for it in the last 10 minutes and 6 points without reply at the end for Mullahoran showed this, and just about got them through to the next round. Hopefully this can set them off and they can get better as the year goes on

Loughduff Lad (Cavan) - Posts: 2487 - 28/07/2008 09:37:02    58025

loughduff fair play to yis. completely deserved to win. improvement required but you have the makings of contenders, just think you dont have the strength in depth required to win the champo (ie any of your key men pick up an injury you could be in trouble)! any way best of luck.

as for us its lacken now and we ll have to improve!

cavanfa111 (Cavan) - Posts: 14 - 28/07/2008 11:22:39    58199

cant believe belturbets no 11 stayed on the field. he was terrible and the main reason for them losing.went missing when the game was there for the taking and his direct opponent drove mullahoran on to victory.

cavanfa111 (Cavan) - Posts: 14 - 28/07/2008 11:37:47    58224

Nah, you thought your number 11 was bad, our corner back was just as bad, I think he was at fault for 4 out of the first 6 scores for ye before he was switched to the other wing. He kept getting turned and committed too early a number of times. Anyway I'd reckon ye can do well in the back door, you just have to learn how to win, kinda like fermanagh yesterday, good possession but couldn't win the game. Belturbet scored three points in a row to go 2 points up halfway through the second half and ye couldn't build on it.

You're right in a way though, Mullahoran don't have strong bench, although we do have handy players like Paddy Brady and Hugh Briody to come on, but we don't really have the strength in depth all over. A major injury might throw a spanner in the works. Anyway, Christy Sheils did alright in the middle of the field, didn't he???, Not bad for a junior player finished 4 years ago :P

Loughduff Lad (Cavan) - Posts: 2487 - 28/07/2008 11:59:09    58282

Qualifier Draw: Belturbet V Lacken; Ramor V Crosserlough; Ballinagh V Knockbride; Castlerahan V Winners of Ballinagh & Knockbride. Does that mean Castlerahan are automatically in the 2nd round of the qualifiers and thus not up for relegation?

Bozo (Cavan) - Posts: 58 - 28/07/2008 12:09:50    58317

Sorry to Crosserlough. Obviously I meant Ramor V Losers of Crosserlough & Gowna

Bozo (Cavan) - Posts: 58 - 28/07/2008 12:39:59    58392

No, they could still be relegated Bozo. If they lose to Ballinagh/Knockbride then they play the loser of Ballinagh/Knockbride in a relegation final.

Joe Biggar (Cavan) - Posts: 71 - 28/07/2008 12:40:41    58396

Don't think so Biggar, so if rahan lose to winner of nagh vs. k'bride, and then play the loser of that game in a relegation final, does that mean that the losers of the other qualifiers are exempt from relegation ???
I think it works the same as last year, rahan are safe from relegation AGAIN (Jammy Feckers), and the 3 losers of the qualifier matches go into relegation playoff, with two of the teams getting two chances to win a game and stay up.

snowflake (Cavan) - Posts: 19 - 28/07/2008 13:38:59    58498

Lads, here's the gospel according to CCB. On the face of it, I can't see how Castlerahan are safe. You're right Snowflake, they would be in a play off and not a final.

Senior:
The Senior Championship to comprise of fourteen teams:
Cavan Gaels ,Mullahoran, Kingscourt, Gowna, Ballinagh , Belturbet, Lacken , Killygarry, Ramor United, Knockbride, Castlerahan, Denn, Cuchulainns and Crosserlough.
Knockout basis.
Backdoor qualifying system for the 1st round losers.
7 teams go through the backdoor system for one quarter final place.
Quarter finals open draw.
Semi finals open draw.

Qualifier.
Extra time in all qualifier games.
3 games to take place and one bye.
2 semi finals.
Final
Winner of qualifying round to take a place in the quarter final.

Relegation.
3 teams that lose in the first round of the qualifier take part in the relegation play off. 1 v 2 with 3 v loser of (Iv2) or the team that gets the bye will enter the relegation play off if they are defeated in round 2 of the qualifier.

Joe Biggar (Cavan) - Posts: 71 - 28/07/2008 15:44:01    58778

Guys who does the winner of the qualifers play?

D_Dude (Cavan) - Posts: 360 - 28/07/2008 15:59:50    58811