Senior Championship - Cavan Club Football

think denn will beat killygarry by 5 points dey r goin strong and there backs will be well able to cope with killygarry forwards. second match will be much closer gaels were less than impressive against mullahorn and ramor are flying at the moment the game will depend on the ramor backs and if they can step up to the mark i think ramor could cause an upset by 1 or 2 points.

bigbob (Cavan) - Posts: 11 - 24/09/2008 19:47:03    107062

Gaels 2-11 Ramor 0-13.

Cavan_Slasher (Cavan) - Posts: 10253 - 24/09/2008 23:45:51    107183

gaels beat ramor 2-15 - 0-7 and i dont see denn beating them in the final either

cavan man (Cavan) - Posts: 141 - 28/09/2008 22:36:24    109762

Well County Final here we come.

Dont expect much from us lads cavan gaels ran riot yesterday..

Hard luck Killygarry they threw it away i ll be the first to say it.We were best team in 2nd half but Killygarry hit the post 4 times & penalty and wides unreal..

Denn Man (Cavan) - Posts: 413 - 29/09/2008 10:52:46    109899

Was sitting beside Tommy Carr yesterday during the gaels-Ramor game.He was very impressed with the gaels and their style of play.As for ramor,they were useless along with everyone else in the ground.But the prize for worst performance yesterday goes to Killygary.They were a joke and should count themselves lucky they are not playing the gaels in the final.

eyeball (Cavan) - Posts: 85 - 29/09/2008 16:23:16    110396

Well was at the games yesterday. Well done to Ballyhaise who weren't expected to win! Killygarry should have won, unfortunate with hotting the crossbar and posts. Probably should have had Denn beaten at half-time. I thought the Killygarry backs had a great first half. Enda Gallen played well and did a good job. If M.Reilly had of being on target(he was very unlucky) and you get them games, Killygarry would have won. Thought Ray Galligan played well. For Denn the subs had a big impact on the game I think. And well the Gaels were some outfit yesterday. Their game plan worked very well and destroyed Ramor. The tactic in the full-forward line worked well. Johnston and Lyng played very well. Also thought King did well in midfield and S. Reilly caught some nice ball. Forde played well too. From num 1-15 and incl subs, all played well. Some amount of young players coming up. If Ramor had of met any other team they would have won last night in my opinion. You'd nearly rather be out than meet the Gaels in the final.

oneforthefuture (Cavan) - Posts: 24 - 29/09/2008 19:49:25    110562

well done gaels not much ado or mc could do totally destroyed around the middle. denn no hope

scooby (Cavan) - Posts: 87 - 29/09/2008 23:06:16    110724

gaels to hammer denn in final, win ulster first round, lose miserabley in semi. the gulf between the gaels and the rest of the clubs in mammoth, and the gulf between the top clubs teams in ulster and the gaels is mammoth, hence the county team is once again doomed in 09, mr carr book your holidays for july and august cause you ll not be needed in cavan, thats for sure.

rising1916 (Cavan) - Posts: 187 - 30/09/2008 00:58:42    110750

Hold on there lads...

Now quit scathin Denn.Its the first time ever we reached the final(An acheivement in itself).I think it would be more fitting for every other team to get behind us.
Denn has nt the pick of some of the junior clubs in cavan & most of the team is made up of a few families.

But none the less they ve made the step up each year.It would be handy for Denn to contest Intermediate & Div 2 and nobody would bat an eyelid.
To punch above your weight so long and finally reach the county final is such an acheivement.We re only a very ordinary team with some fine footballers ,but i reckon we ll keep it civil..

I know everyone is sick of our stagefright in breffni.(But this time we really have nothing to lose)

So write in and wish us the best of luck.We ll have a good couple of days in the Tank & Crosskeys(Everybody Welcome)

Denn Man (Cavan) - Posts: 413 - 30/09/2008 12:30:46    110972

good man DENNMAN, congrats on reaching your first senior final, indeed my own club had lots of good tussels with denn over the years & for sure i (and the rest of us dreads!) will be hopeing yous can cause an upset on co final day, yous are total underdogs on the day so hopefully "stage fright" wont be a factor so enjoy your big day & do us all favour!!

dread08 (Cavan) - Posts: 69 - 30/09/2008 13:41:59    111054

Is anyone giving Denn a prayer? What will their tactics be, will Cahill man mark Johnstone? They will need to be very tight at the back cos it's hard to see them scoring more than 8 or 9 points themselves.

Strutter (Cavan) - Posts: 52 - 01/10/2008 14:28:12    111966

Did anyone play well for Ramor sunday at all. Geals are a serious team when they are let play. Cant see denn putting it up to them but hope they do.

franco2 (Cavan) - Posts: 1 - 01/10/2008 15:14:22    112012

"the gulf between the gaels and the rest of the clubs is mammoth"
That mammoth gulf was just 1 point against mullahoran.......and mullahoran missed frees in the last few minutes...... and they drew in the league

LarryDuff (Cavan) - Posts: 10 - 01/10/2008 16:30:19    112105

well said denn man!!! i would def wish ye all the best in the final and would love to see 2 upsets in breffni that day.
hope if nothing else ye give it yer best shot and i will be in the tank on tuesday for a few pints with my mates on the denn team.
thx for your support of my team as well(mountnugent

milhouse (Cavan) - Posts: 469 - 02/10/2008 11:19:08    112486

congrats to denn on reachin their first co final.....goes to show what can be done by the so called lesser teams....they will be up against it though as the gaels are looking very impressive...probably have too much power but anything can happen on the day.......i still believe the gaels will win comfortably though.....best of luck to both teams..
redhills to beat ballyhaise too..

macdaddy (Cavan) - Posts: 40 - 02/10/2008 11:41:10    112510

The majority of people in the county would love to see Denn beat the Gaels in the final, but not to many can see it actually happening.

RHF (Cavan) - Posts: 891 - 02/10/2008 12:23:14    112555

Any tips on how to beat the gaels???Can it be done???

Denn Man (Cavan) - Posts: 413 - 07/10/2008 14:54:44    114914

Senior Championship - Cavan Club Football
Any tips on how to beat the gaels???Can it be done???
Denn Man , 07/10/2008 at 14:54

1-Ring them and tell them the games put back a week
2-Hyjack their team bus on its way to Breffni
3-Machine Guns

After that ur on ur own i'm afraid.

begby (None) - Posts: 105 - 07/10/2008 15:52:10    114957

Cavan Gaels will probably win well, but they are overrated due to the shortage of decent opposition in the county. The Cavan champions are due to play St Galls or Mayobridge in the Ulster championship. Unfortunately for Cavan football, it's difficult to harbour much realistic hope. Lots of people talked nonsense on this site about how "it's great to see new teams in the last rounds." This is a naive attitude. Yes, this would be true if the new teams had improved dramatically and beaten all around them. However, it was due to Gowna's demise and the draw putting Mullahoran and the Gaels together. The result has been a facile end to the season and little progress for the greater good.

badabing (Clare) - Posts: 28 - 07/10/2008 23:24:38    115208

Teams have to stop going out and giving the gaels so much respect. Posts like 'Anyone know how to beat the gaels?' is ridculous!!
As far as I'm concerned they have one outstanding player in Sean Johnstone and after that they have a team of good but not exceptional players. The standard of teams that the Gaels have come up against in the Cavan championship over the past 10 years, bar maybe Mullahoran or Gowna, have been very poor. Give it a couple of more years and young teams like Ramor and Castlerahan should be well able to challenge them.

scatmanTom (Cavan) - Posts: 6 - 08/10/2008 12:10:54    115401