Senior Championship 09

Well were midway through August & we re in the championship quaters well its where ya wana be in August.Right or wrong.Now castlerahan are they championship contenders they ll definately beat us right an aging team with no game plan.Ah maybe if we curb mackey & flanagan we ll live with them for 40 min.Is nt that right??

I can feel championship fever striking,time to get the road signs & flags & bunting ready..Will we make the county Final again.I do predict the Geals to be beat doubt by us but we ll stay in the melting pot see how things pass..Each q Final will be very tight & can see draws & bad decisions deciding the outcomes..

Redhills V Geals ..Draw or geals by 1 Players to be sent off..

Killygarry V Gowna ..Killygarry

Denn V castlerahan .. Draw or Rahan by 30 points

Mullahorn V belturbet .. Belturbet

Looking like same final as last year if they don t meet...

Denn Man (Cavan) - Posts: 413 - 17/08/2009 12:23:55    394313

Gaels will hammer Redhills
Gowna will beat Killygarry
Castlerahan will do the business on Denn. If Denn players could play with half of the passion of Martin Cahill they would beat Castlerahan
I have seen Belturbet once and if they play against Mullahorn like they did that day well I tip Belturbet to do the business.
Unfortunately there is nothing to beat the Gaels once again so it's a Gaels championship

The Quiet Man (Cavan) - Posts: 4602 - 17/08/2009 12:53:08    394354

Redhills V Cavan Gaels ... Gaels by 2-4 points

Killygarry V Gowna ... Gowna by 2-4 points

Denn V Castlerahan ... Castlerahan by 4-6 points

Mullahorn V Belturbet ... Mullahoran by a point

wildcard (Cavan) - Posts: 23 - 17/08/2009 12:55:22    394361

Castlerahen might give the Gaels a good game but other than that I feel that they will march on without much bother. There hugely expierenced when it comes to the business end of things. They know how to win.

Sergeant (Cavan) - Posts: 100 - 17/08/2009 13:59:32    394448

Redhills to scrape through, the gaels too long about and the youth of Redhills are coming through.

Anyone think the same??????

manabroad (UK) - Posts: 2 - 17/08/2009 22:52:43    395035

no!i think is the simple answer.the gaels have been about as long as they have because they are good.redhills are an up and coming team but wont be fit for the gaels,i hope im wrong but i doubt it.

Dougal (Cavan) - Posts: 543 - 18/08/2009 01:14:44    395191

Redhills are a good team with a lot of potential for the future but wouldnt be good enough to beat the gaels in championship football at this moment in time. As for the Gaels, I feel that there going to get better as time goes on.

Sergeant (Cavan) - Posts: 100 - 18/08/2009 10:21:38    395310

Dudes Ive been to every gaels game, league and championship, junior and senior this year and most of the other senior championship games, I think for sure Cavan Gaels to win and if Im right I think they might make it to an Ulster Final. (My dads following most of the ulster teams who'd be competition for them) They could have got through last year but 5 injuries to key men in the warm up just set them up for loss. This year if all goes well for them I think they'll do it.

gaeilancwithat (Cavan) - Posts: 29 - 20/08/2009 22:54:20    398742

Dudes Ive been to every gaels game, league and championship, junior and senior this year and most of the other senior championship games, I think for sure Cavan Gaels to win and if Im right I think they might make it to an Ulster Final. (My dads following most of the ulster teams who'd be competition for them) They could have got through last year but 5 injuries to key men in the warm up just set them up for loss. This year if all goes well for them I think they'll do it.
gaeilancwithat , 20/08/2009 at 22:54

I stand corrected here but I think you will find they fielded a full team in the league final the week before hence the injuries so I expect they felt the league title was more important than progressing in ULSTER

The Quiet Man (Cavan) - Posts: 4602 - 20/08/2009 23:31:25    398785

well whoever wins this year is going to have it hard,they'l more than likely have st. galls in the preliminery round and cross in the quarters.

Dougal (Cavan) - Posts: 543 - 22/08/2009 18:07:49    400030

I just want to know have people written gowna of for the championship? I think they should beat killygary and if they avoid the Gaels should get to the final

hoy (Cavan) - Posts: 307 - 23/08/2009 20:53:26    401160

hoy,i have written them off for winning.id say they'l make the final if they avoid crahan and the gaels,but i dont see them beating either of these teams too easily.

Dougal (Cavan) - Posts: 543 - 23/08/2009 21:25:51    401221

seanorinn

what bull are ye talkin atal?

coO (Cavan) - Posts: 217 - 23/08/2009 22:51:26    401335

Well all the second favourites for the senior title are gone from this years campaign, what can one say other than the final score flattered Castlerahan for if Denn took their points instead of going for goal they would have won by at the very least 5 points, no matter they won and they will be happy. I would like to have being a fly on Martin Cahill's to hear what he was saying to Ronan Flanagan for the second half he was stuck into his ear like a tick. On the night the team with the more passion won and good luck to Denn.

The Quiet Man (Cavan) - Posts: 4602 - 30/08/2009 21:43:01    409429

castlerahan were terrible this evening but the abuse that denn gave them is surely not right and you wouldnt call it football. no team that doesnt want to play proper football deserves to win. mackey and flanagan were practically grabbed the whole match. denn were the better team and deserved to win but there way of playing and trying to bring the other team down is not good to watch

cavanforever (Cavan) - Posts: 190 - 30/08/2009 22:42:14    409496

Great to see Denn win thisevening. The team with the most passion and committment won. If only our county team could play like this. Interesting to see how the county lads were made look v ordinary when it was put up to them by the more hard hitting and committed team. Well done Denn again.....

driveiton (Cavan) - Posts: 49 - 30/08/2009 23:07:40    409522

What odds you u get on Redhills, Belturbet, and Killygarry to join Denn in the semi's. Dont think the gaels will steam roll redhills like everone expects, if anyone can surprise them it may well be redhills. The other 2 games (belturbet v Mullahoran, Killygarry v Gowna ) are even enough as I see them....... Any thoughts

driveiton (Cavan) - Posts: 49 - 30/08/2009 23:13:04    409532

What odds you u get on Redhills, Belturbet, and Killygarry to join Denn in the semi's. Dont think the gaels will steam roll redhills like everone expects, if anyone can surprise them it may well be redhills. The other 2 games (belturbet v Mullahoran, Killygarry v Gowna ) are even enough as I see them....... Any thoughts
driveiton , 30/08/2009 at 23:13
I would sday you will get good odds but I also think the bookies will be happy taking your money. Now that the second fav are gone I think if they are kept apart it will once again be a Gowna Gaels Final. I do expect Belturbet to beat Mullahorn.

Last nights game I watched it as well and let me tell you Castlerahan handed out as good as they got the only difference was Denn knew they had to play a match Castlerahan thought all they had to do was turn up simple as that. I expect we will read this and that and how they were treated but history will tell us Denn beat them. Worth noting as well off all the county players on the pitch only one showed heart and that was the general himself Martin Cahill. I did not see any scouts there last night as well. odd

The Quiet Man (Cavan) - Posts: 4602 - 31/08/2009 10:34:41    409741

Definitely agree with sean. Cahill is a real leader. Also the Denn corner back Eoin McPhilips is worth a go on the county. This guy is a superb defender and real hard player. Flanagan and Mackey (who was very good with the frees) are simply too small at this level. Sean Brady lacks the pace. I dont think Castlerahan can complain their goal keeper made two great saves to keep them in the game while they never really threatened the Denn goal.

Jack15 (Cavan) - Posts: 91 - 31/08/2009 13:47:43    410036

I have to disagree with seanorinn's comment: "Castlerahan handed out as good as they got". The reason why Castlerahan were beaten was becasue they didnt know how to hand out as good as they got. They were beaten by a much more physical team. Denn knew how to beat Castlerahan and they executed their plan to perfection. It made for an ugly game with very little football being played.
I suppose Denn were lucky that the referee chose to ignore what was going on. I'm sure anybody who was at the game will know what I'm talking about. The 60+ minutes of fouling from the Denn backs was interesting to watch to say the least. But I dont think Denn will care about that. They played to the referee's whistle and are now in the semi-final.

Bolt (Cavan) - Posts: 3 - 31/08/2009 13:53:39    410042