Should the GAA prove meal for country fans

Photographic evidence would not suffice in my opinion. It would have to be tasted to provide full proof.

Strutter (Cavan) - Posts: 52 - 19/09/2008 10:35:54    103010

Look for the signposts on th e N3 broadroad into Dublin.

tomsmith (Cavan) - Posts: 4163 - 20/09/2008 00:39:39    103636

Posting here was a great success, signposts had to removed before dinnertime as place filled up.
Note to editor. Am I allowed to name and thank eating house owner on the computer for such kindness to fellow Cavan folk

tomsmith (Cavan) - Posts: 4163 - 24/09/2008 20:35:48    107091

i'll have a quarter pounder with cheese & curry chips!!

dread08 (Cavan) - Posts: 69 - 25/09/2008 16:33:03    107906

E-mail them Tom on www.bighousewithhighwalls.com

Cavan_Slasher (Cavan) - Posts: 10253 - 25/09/2008 17:46:26    107995

tom smith:
Could you broaden out the thread here to include,, let's say Roscommon,Thurles and Clones.
I'll cut you in on the h'ssh h'ssh for the boxty franchisé.
You obviously have Leinster sewn up.

Boxtyeater (Leitrim) - Posts: 798 - 29/09/2008 02:18:33    109805

Tom, you really have too much time on your hands !

Jampot (Cavan) - Posts: 76 - 30/09/2008 21:49:36    111502

is that yer man in the boars head tom down the road from slatterys....

arva man i think, mighty pint of stout

milhouse (Cavan) - Posts: 469 - 01/10/2008 09:33:13    111647

excellant comments lads.funny stuff.makes a good read

Rhodejim (Offaly) - Posts: 2888 - 01/10/2008 12:07:48    111806

and maybe a few pints aswell tom!! someone should throw this up on the main board. its so silly its funny!!

daytona11 (Kildare) - Posts: 4012 - 01/10/2008 13:37:09    111911

This was intended as a discussion/idea that would cut th e cost of a person/family travelling up to Dublin to a game.
Indeed with the present climate it could become a reality that people would not have as much to spend on foodstuffs and lockhard(parkingman) may have to do with a smaller stipen .
Any other idea that cuts the costs of the trip would be appreciated.
Smart alexs need not respond

tomsmith (Cavan) - Posts: 4163 - 01/10/2008 21:36:01    112271

How many times have Cavan supporters travelled to Dublin in the last 5 years? You could count it on one hand.
If you regularly go to watch games in Croker as a neutral, I'm sure you'd weigh it up financialy whether its outside your budget or not. We are not restricted to gathering around an FM radio in the parlour either, TeleVISION coverage is fairly good here 2008, so you don't HAVE to attend.

I think this thread would be less ridiculous on the Kerry,Galway, Mayo or Tyrone msg boards. It's a bit of a joke considering we havent got out of Ulster in 11 years - it's akin to a dye-in-the-wool Jackeen complaining about the price of Ivomec and calf nuts.

Get the bus Tom and bring a fleshk a tae and lock of hang and bayf sangerjiz. That should keep the wolf from the door in these dire times.

Con Cavan (Cavan) - Posts: 894 - 02/10/2008 10:57:18    112456

if green diesel was allowed, mind you only for trips to HQ, mighty savings

milhouse (Cavan) - Posts: 469 - 02/10/2008 11:14:50    112483

Well Con from Cavan, I travel to Gaa Hg for a lot of games.
I do look at the price that this trip costs me and I feel that in today's climate that that is correct.
I am not a wireless man and with the e cost of the Television licence and coupled with the poor reception that is a non runner.
I go up to Dublin and indeed,once one passes the county line at white gate one gets a feeling on well being heading up to Dublin.
I think that the focus of my original message was that the GAA should do something about a light meal for travelling fans to GAA HQ should be addressed.

tomsmith (Cavan) - Posts: 4163 - 02/10/2008 22:50:41    113010

Jesus, you can tell there's a recession on these days...

Naomh Ultan Abú (Donegal) - Posts: 298 - 03/10/2008 13:45:36    113325

Tomsmith, if you keep all your old tickets to Croke Park and send them in at the end of the year you are entered into a raffle for a years supply of sandwiches and petrol vouchers.

Cavan_Slasher (Cavan) - Posts: 10253 - 03/10/2008 19:06:49    113544

Naomh Ultan ( Area where hungers mother was coined) I do feel that regardless of a recession or not that the meal at Croke park or near to it would be a good idea.
Look at the benefits
a. Dine with GAA folk.
b.Have service at same time.
c. No parking problems, Lockhard issues solved.
d. great savings to all concerned.

tomsmith (Cavan) - Posts: 4163 - 06/10/2008 21:37:30    114547

Should we hop this idea on the mainboard before the Champioship starts in 2009 ?

tomsmith (Cavan) - Posts: 4163 - 12/10/2008 22:07:44    117635

Tom I think you should put this up on the main page. Think of all the money you and other people would save if they only realised. I think it's a great idea. It's you that should be the Minister for Finance and be responsible for drawing up the budget. That Lenihan fella hasn't a clue.

I'm just thinking about the logistics of such an operation though. For all the tea that would be drank we could do with a big clothes-line (or if we can stretch it and weather doesn't permit - a tumbledryer) so that we can dry the tea-bags and recycle them. We'd need a few cows out the back of the hall instead of that Avonmore milk up here in Dublin, and it's not cheap! You'd swear it was liquid gold they were selling in them cartons. Also with a cow, there'd be no waste charges for the empty cartons you see!?

As for bread, well I know a few pubs/cafes in Dublin that have their bread deliveries early in the morning. They just leave the bread outside the front door unattended. A loaf of bread here or there wouldn't go amiss. My uncle also works for Pat The Baker, delivering bread in a van, and he said he'd have no problem lending a hand as long as there was a bob or two in it for him you know?! We could get the cheap ham in Aldi or Lidl to fill them. Don't mind the butter, if people want butter sure they can take some of them free packets of butter you get in the likes of Bewleys with your toast.

Well what do you think?

3inarow08 (Kerry) - Posts: 2455 - 14/10/2008 16:39:10    118980

Well 3 in arow 08 I am not sure if you are taking a hand at me or not ,but if you are serious I feel that you make sence. This was only started by me following a trip up to Dublin for a game.
I noticed that we country fans got fleced all the way from the two collection in the Church to lockhard and the shopman and Busman all were in it for what the could get.
I felt that the GAA should take a stand for Country fans

tomsmith (Cavan) - Posts: 4163 - 18/10/2008 16:52:23    121779