Wicklow Forum

Popular Posts from WW9

The Dubs In Aughrim - 5 Like(s)

Replying To clondalkindub:  "What's ridiculous is that we're even playing Wicklow a waste of everyone's time when everyone knows it will be a hammering. It's screaming out for a two tier championship , where the winners of the second tier go up to the first tier the following season and a team goes down from the first tier. It's too serious now for this messing to still be going on like Kerry play no division one team and will walk into the super 8's while Mayo had to play Galway and now could be out before Kerry or Dublin's season gets serious. Ridiculous stuff. No dig at Kerry Dublin is in the same situation only we have a division 1 team in Kildare I know their gone down but they were division 1. Anyway I think you'll get my point."
That is possibly the most disrespectful comment made about this whole situation, so you believe the dubs are too good to play Wicklow ? Yes we all can predict the result but for Wicklow GAA this is a massive opportunity to promote GAA in the county and gather some much needed instrest by the young people, at the county meet and greet roughly 10 children turned up, Wicklow clubs are struggling to field teams from senior level right down and seeing our guys playing the best team in the land is going to draw attention to the GAA and the young people who go to the game will probably have memories for life after it. Also very disrespectful to our players who train just as much as Dublin but you obviously feel our players aren't good enough to share a pitch with Dublin.

WW9 (National) - 16/05/2018 09:07:44

Inequality in County Funding - 4 Like(s)
I seen a picture of a list of funding giving to counties, doing the rounds on facebook.

It's no wonder Dublin are miles ahead of the pack will the money they've received, 13,850,817 between 2007-2015, last year they recived 1.46 million, 14% of gaa development fund, Dublin also has 4 million sponsorship with AIG, along with 12 other official partners, In 2015 Dublin spent 1,556,075 on running it's senior football and hurling teams, the footballers have 25 man strong backroom team (probably more then some counties have at training), to be fair to the hurlers they've a average backroom team of around 6 or 7.

On the other end of the scale is wicklow, many now claiming it's the worst county team in the country, they didn't even make it onto the list of funding, In 2016 Wicklow revived 164,000 the 11th heighest but to be be split amongst two senior teams and improving underage teams it wouldn't go to far, Between both sponsorships, Joule and W.H Scott, probably receive about 40,000 if even that much, I'm not 100% on that info,im just going on what I heard, In 2015 Wicklow spent 277,000 on its senior teams,

It's no wonder the gap keeps growing how can counties ever catch up, when there is that much inequality.

The GAA needs have a serious look at its allocation of funding and also providing weaker counties with additional funding to help bridge the gap, which is ruining the game both nationally, as the championship is almost predictable at this stage but also within the county as more and more kids loose interest due to poor structure, treatment or because let's face it children will go where they will be successful.

This is not a hate against the dubs post, it was just to show the inequality in funds available to counties.

WW9 (National) - 18/07/2017 23:34:06

Dublin refusing to do one-on-one broadcast interviews - 4 Like(s)
Absolute joke, what Connolly done was wrong, it might have bring fairly harmless but it was wrong and the rules are the rules. yes he might be the best player in the country but he was still wrong and this thing of him having no protection is stupid, the best player on a team whether it be Dublin or a club team is targeted so Connolly is no special case I'm all for managers sticking up for and supporting the players but Dublin need to admit he was wrong. As Pundits it is their job to discuss matches and incidents that occurred during a match. Think the dubs have a case of sour grapes

WW9 (National) - 25/06/2017 19:50:56

Commitment/Support in weaker counties - 3 Like(s)
I know that the commitment of inter county players is a big topic as the moment after Kieran Bergins interview and I do think he was right, playing for your county does absolutely take over your life, from the time spent training gym/pitch, your diet, your relationships, it definitely is a huge commitment and I don't think weaker counties appreciate the effort put in by their county players, I know here in Wicklow our county players are totally unappreciated and it's totally unfair because they put in just as much effort as the likes of Dublin and Mayo but they get nothing back except for the pride of playing for the county, there's no big match days, sponsored cars or holidays just a tracksuit and the honor of playing for the county. From November our county teams are training, in the rain, the wind and muck, the poorest weather conditions while we are all sitting at home in our nice warm houses, even last night the Wicklow hurlers went to Meath and had to turn around and come straight back as the match was called off, some of them are doing exams, others left work early and that's totally unfair, it was unfair to expect lads to travel in that distant in last nights weather and it was unfair to expect lads to be leaving work early for nothing, a decision should definitely being made earlier. The players went to all that effort to get to that challenge match yet come the league I'd say theyed be doing well if there was 100 supporters at their matches, totally unfair I think. Our footballers are the same, always being criticized for the poor results, already after 2 games, people are asking questions about John Evans abilities, Wicklow people seem to think that managers can work miracles and change things over night, nothing about the effort the team are putting in to try and improve things, like I'm sure they don't enjoy training 5 times a week to go and lose every match. My point is that county teams efforts in Wicklow are totally under appreciated what is the support/appreciation like for county teams in other weaker counties

WW9 (National) - 17/01/2018 23:27:50

Two tier championship - 3 Like(s)

Replying To monaghan90:  "I am sick to death of hearing commentators advocating a two tier championship. Not every match is going to be competitive simple as that there will always be very strong and very weak teams. Creating a two tier championship will only widen the gap between these teams. If a two tier championship had existed monaghan wouldn't of won the Ulster championship in 2013 and Tipperary wouldn't of went on their great run last year, these are just two examples of the top of my head. The Ulster, Munster and Connaught championships are interesting it is only Leinster which needs to get its house in order"
I have to say I totally disagree, I would love to see a two tier championship introduced. I don't think it'd widen the gap because the only way to improve is competitve game time and weaker counties aren't getting enough games. Wicklow players are busting a gut 7/8 months of the year, on the field and in the gym, all for two championship games a year, which is a complete joke and totally unfair. There is no incentive for a chap to put on a wicklow Jersey. The tiered championship works in hurling, it keeps counties playing competitve games, winning is a reachable goal unlike in football where it's always the same 4 teams-Dublin, Monaghan, Mayo and Kerry always there or there abouts. For me if I was to introduced a second tier championship, I would allow all counties to play in their Provence and teams knocked out in the first round would play in a second tier championship and then after the next round of games in provinces, those who are knocked out play in the qualifiers and those who lose their 1st qualifier game would also join

WW9 (National) - 25/06/2017 19:31:04

The Dubs In Aughrim - 2 Like(s)

Replying To clondalkindub:  "So you think Dublin hammering Wicklow is a good promotion for Wicklow football? I mean no disrespect to the Wicklow players but the whole fixture is a waste of time, Wicklow kids seeing their team get hammered will not make Wicklow kids want to play football. We have Carlow's best player going to the states after playing in the league cause he knows it's pointless playing championship football cause they've no chance. Last year Carlow were praised to lose to the Dubs by 12 points It's crying out for a two tier championship and I mean no disrespect to any team."
I do think Wicklow kids seeing Wicklow playing in front of a huge crowd, seeing Wicklow play against the best players in the country will help encourage children to play gaa or it will at least get some support back for our county which has being so poorly supported over the years, hammering or no hammering it's only fair Wicklow are given the opportunity to play in front of huge crowds, get to experience a big match day, I know for Dublin this is a nothing match but for Wicklow this is huge, it's what all the young lads on the team would have dreamed of and sadly Wicklow don't get the opportunity enough. Wicklow had a shocking league campaign but yet not one single player has left for the summer, every player on the Wicklow panel wants to play for Wicklow and wants the opportunity to keep pushing Wicklow football on.

WW9 (National) - 16/05/2018 10:36:06

12 weeks for Connolly. Is a GAA Witch Hunt in progress? - 2 Like(s)
Diarmuid Connolly is guilty end of, why does Joe Brolly want to get him off? The evidence shows he done it. Just read that Evan Comerford is considering switching to playing soccer due to his ban, what a loss if he does His first sending off, no evidence and no one willing to help him, yet evidence shows Connolly putting his hands on the lines man, he's in trouble numerous times yet everyone is defending him

WW9 (National) - 08/06/2017 18:20:53

Support Rant - 1 Like(s)

Replying To Lockjaw:  "Let me preface this by saying that I know every county has it's bandwagon support. It's also not easy or cheap for that matter getting the whole family to games etc. But this has really been irritating me the more I think of it all week. On Monday at work while dissecting the carnage we saw in Clones last Sunday and reflecting on the qualifier draw one of the lads said something along the lines of, "well that team (Donegal) is nowhere near ready and will be winning nothing anytime soon. I won't be going near another game for the foreseeable" Yet the same boy, a Liverpool fan, will spout shite all the live long day about his beloved Red men who haven't won a Championship in 27 odd years. He'll be heard giving it the "we're in to sign this lad or that lad, we had too many injuries etc etc" He'll be over to Anfield at least twice next season throwing his money at the Premier League machine. All for a team whose marketing department really and truly just considers him another consumer of their 'product'. Now don't get me wrong, I follow the Premier League as closely as anyone but I came to the conclusion years ago that it wasn't something to get seriously upset over if the team I follow (Newcastle) weren't going well. And let's face it I'd have been in a pretty bad place a good few times if I did! Supporting your county is totally different. You're from there. Born and bred. I'm lucky enough to be still living in mine. Gaelic Games are part of our DNA. These men train like pro's and are under more scrutiny than ever. (I personally think we've reached saturation point with the analysis, podcasts etc). The point is they deserve better support than supposed fans dimissing them out of hand after a bad day at the office. I'll be in Ballybofey this day week hoping to see our lads bounce back against Longford and our younger men especially to better demonstrate their massive potential and talent. Just hope the majority of our support are thinking the same. Tír Chonnail abú!"
Totally agree with you, I'm a proud wicklow supporter and noatter what I'd never turn my back on them. That gets me when people who say "sure I'm not going there doing brutal" or "I wouldn't go and watch them useless so and so's" sorry but that's not an excuse, support them during the good and the bad. Yes sometimes we get frustrated at the results but these players are human, they have lives off that field, who knows what they could be feeling likes of financial pressure, work stress or injuries and at the end of the day it is voluntary for them to come, they get very little from it aside from maybe a bit of gear and if there lucky enough to get any success.

WW9 (National) - 25/06/2017 20:27:09

WICKLOW HURLING 2018 - 1 Like(s)

Replying To Wicklowman:  "How are Wicklow looking ahead of the weekend match v Mayo? Have we many injuries? Any surprises up our sleeves?"
I think the hurlers should do well, I'd be expecting a win, I see Mikey Lee is back with panel and the chap from Wexford is with them as well, both two assets so hopefully a good crowd gets into aughrim to give the team some support.

WW9 (Wicklow) - 10/05/2018 11:29:28

Christy Ring Cup - 1 Like(s)
Great weekend of games, delighted Wicklow got the win after a slow start, biggest shock for me was Roscommon beating Kildare, fair play to them

WW9 (National) - 13/05/2019 11:30:48

New football manager - 1 Like(s)

Replying To JohnnyBlaze:  "John Evans is a good shout. He might be a man we actually have a chance of getting. Backroom wise, it would be great if Des Earls could be kept on board."
100% agree Des clearly has done some great work with them because that's 1 thing nobody can criticise is the improvement in their fitness. Both running wise and strength. Dean Healy has gone a great size.

WW9 (Wicklow) - 24/06/2017 18:44:44

The Dubs In Aughrim - 1 Like(s)

Replying To Wicklowman:  "Dublin won by exactly what they were expected to win by. There is a massive gulf in class. Wicklow did well to score 1-11 in fact. No need for the snide comments. The lads tried hard. No doubt it would have been better to have had the game in Aughrim. Yes the scoreline would have been roughly the same, but are entitled to home advantage as was stated last October and which would have been given to Offaly. Our home ground holds 10,500... there were only 12,000 there today, so could Aughrim have held the match. Certainly it could. If Manchester United draw Bury Town in the FA Cup we dont switch the game to Anfield."
Totally agree, the lads played well and all gave it a great shot, it is a pity it wasn't played in Aughrim, for the sake of 2000 people but I thought the Wicklow support done well, they were noisey and cheered everything on. It was lovely st the end to see the Wicklow children getting jerseys signed and taking pictures with the Wicklow players, this team could regain some much needed support, the qualifiers could prove interesting

WW9 (National) - 27/05/2018 18:48:17

Dubs Game - 1 Like(s)
Has anyone heard of any buses heading to the game ?

WW9 (Wicklow) - 22/05/2018 11:40:23

All Ireland under 21 hurling championship - 1 Like(s)
Delighted Wicklows u21s are back in the final again, already looking forward to the game against Kerry it should be a good one

WW9 (National) - 19/08/2017 20:40:15

Fresh Faces for the County Senior Team!!! - 1 Like(s)
Bit the win we hoped for but it wasn't a loss, things seemed to be going well until maybe the last 15 or 20 minutes but it wasn't a bad performance, very disappointed with the amount of negitive comments on other social media sites and articles about Gearoid Murphy, his a young player with lots of potential who I'm sure will do great things for Wicklow. I thought himself and Daniel Keane were very good.

WW9 (Wicklow) - 29/01/2018 08:53:12

Wicklow Footballers Hit 47 Points - 1 Like(s)
5.18 tonight for the minors they are hitting some seriously high scores

WW9 (National) - 15/05/2019 22:34:48