Tyrone Forum

Popular Posts from Thomas Clarke

Red Hands Seeking Under 20 Reprieve - 9 Like(s)

Replying To mayotyroneman:  "what are you on about?...if its a breach of the rule, tyrone have every entitlement to have the game replayed..."
Grow up, and learn not to defend everything your own county does. We lost the match, we lost the fight, we lost even more respect around the rest of the country. We should be keeping our head down and moving on. And if we do seek to have it replayed, we should be gone to town on with fines and suspensions.

Thomas Clarke (National) - 13/06/2018 21:15:01

HS Readers' Football Team Of The Decade - Goalkeeper - 6 Like(s)

Replying To tommy132:  "Cluxton is a good keeper and accurate with kickouts but I think hes a bit over hyped. I know its a waste of time debating about Cluxton, majority have him down as greatest goalkeeper ever, changed the role of goalkeeper and all that. He made his debut in 2001, so where was all this in his first 10 years. He is part of the best squad of players in the GAA, he gets alot of help from them, when your behind the goal you can see all the options the players are giving him and of course he has to be accurate to hit them. Mayo never tested him really through the years but he did make great saves this year in the games against Kerry, was vital to them winning."
Where was he in the first 10 years? He was establishing himself as the best goalkeeper of his generation, winning 3 All-Stars despite playing in a team that never reached an AI Final. And, after that, he went to a whole different level. Leadership, playing skills, longevity, medals, historic achievements, game-changing impact - whatever measure of greatness you want to examine, Cluxton ticks the box. Stephen Cluxton will be an automatic choice on 'All-time teams' for decades to come, and will also feature very highly on future lists of the 'Top players of all-time'.

Thomas Clarke (National) - 05/12/2019 21:14:26

David Gough To Referee The Final - 6 Like(s)

Replying To BliainanÁir:  "To all here posting about the terrible slight it is to David Gough's character to question his appointment to ref the all ireland, i've one reply. If you don't want to be a hypocrite never criticise a referee again. Because when you say Maurice Deegan 'gave' the semi final to Kerry you're questioning his integrity. He has a large extended family and some may read the comments here. Is it ok to question certain referees integrity but not others? So the next time you question another refs performance/integrity ask yourself did you jump on the 'I'm offended for David Gough bandwagon for your own personal reasons."
There's a big difference here. Deegan has been slated after a shocking display in favour of Kerry in a semi-final v Tyrone for the 2nd time in 4 years. While everyone in Tyrone feared what he would do to us after 2015, we didn't cry in advance about it like Kerry have. In other words, the complaints about Deegan have largely come after the event. The disgraceful crying about Gough has come before the event. Totally different, and total gamesmanship on behalf of Kerry. It's funny, they actually seem to be putting themselves under more pressure for the 5-in-a-row than the Dubs.

Thomas Clarke (National) - 17/08/2019 21:32:37

GAA Athletes For A NO Vote - 4 Like(s)
[url=]https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rLGeaCRKzm8&feature=youtu.be - Filmed in a GAA ground. - Captioned as 'Tyrone GAA County Manager'. - Mickey introduces himself by saying 'You may know me from a sporting background'. Mickey is entitled to his personal views, but he shouldn't be blatantly trading on his role within Tyrone GAA to promote them - that is not what the Gaels of Tyrone appointed him to do. The Tyrone County Board should be having a word about abuse of his position, though I doubt they will.

Thomas Clarke (National) - 24/04/2018 11:07:42

Down v Tyrone - 4 Like(s)

Replying To GaryMc82:  "Down to win this game. When Tyrone set up tactical analysis of all potential oppositions this year, in other words who they were likely to meet en-route to an Ulster Championship, Down were not one of those teams. Few seen Down beating Armagh, and nobody seen them coming past Monaghan. This means Tyrone will have spent the last couple of weeks patching together what they could on Down, and I have no doubt Down will be well up for a crack at Tyrone."
Good man, Gary - you never fail to foretell Tyrone's downfall. Luckily your punditry skills are very rarely on the mark. This time, you've outdone yourself with bizarre logic, but let me try and get this right: So, Tyrone will lose as they know next to nothing about the Down players and system, and will have been all at sea over the last few weeks trying to figure out who Kevin McKiernan and the Johnstons are? Seriously man, lay off the drugs. If you've nothing sensible to write, then why bother?...

Thomas Clarke (National) - 10/07/2017 15:03:06

David Moran Best Midfielder In The Country? - 3 Like(s)

Replying To catch22:  "Moran would be in top 10 alright but I'd not have him number one. Hasn't the pace and stamina are to compete with the top boys these days."
Yet he was the dominant midfielder against Tyrone & Dublin in the AI SF and final? At the business end of the summer, against 2 of the fastest and best conditioned sides we've ever seen? I wonder which counties these 'top boys' that he can't match are playing for...

Thomas Clarke (National) - 08/09/2019 20:16:02

Combined 4-In-A-Row Kerry Dublin Team - 3 Like(s)

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "I can't understand lads having cluxton ahead of Charlie Nelligan, but when Dublin win the 5 this year he might be level with Charlie all right."
It's fairly easy to understand. Cluxton is regarded by many as the greatest goalkeeper of all-time, a man who has revolutionised the game with his kickouts and is the only player to captain his county to 5 all-irelands (and counting). The next time they get round to picking the Greatest 15 of all-time, he'll probably replace Dan O'Keefe on it. It's hardly that difficult to imagine that some people would prefer him over Charlie Nelligan. Nelligan was a decent keeper, though even in his own era he was behind Billy Morgan and Martin Furlong.

Thomas Clarke (National) - 25/07/2019 12:51:30

How Long Have You Been Posting? - 3 Like(s)
2003 - the year the football began! So many top names from the early years getting a shout out on this thread, and brilliant to see some of them still here today. Liam, Holymoley, Aidangalway, BakertheGlen, Snuff, LoyaltotheRoyal, JaxoCluxton, Patrique, RMDrive, Bald Eagle & Boxtyeater are just a few of the early greats.

Thomas Clarke (National) - 07/10/2019 22:30:58

Bringing Children To Games - 3 Like(s)

Replying To StoreysTash:  "I don't think it is unreasonable to expect somebody not to let it all hang out in front of you, and my formerly breastfeeding wife would agree. But I think we'll just agree to differ. I won't be changing my mind. It is a pure publicity stunt by this woman. Nothing more."
Don't worry, nobody's trying to change your mind. You can remain just as you are, in good old 1974.

Thomas Clarke (National) - 14/08/2018 21:49:51

Bringing Children To Games - 3 Like(s)

Replying To perfect10:  "well i would agree with his point,i dont think it is unreasonable to expect at least some discretion.i was a husband of a breastfeeding mother,and i dont think it is unreasonable to expect her to be discreet-should she take her top off so she can show how liberal she is?as somebody above says,it is like vegans telling everybody they are vegans. he is not saying she cant breastfeed.nor am i. what about the other points raised above though which you and jackeen are ignoring?what about if somebody gets a goal and the 16 week old child gets an elbow from a supporter beside her? or the child getting a shock from the crowd? being honest,i can think of nothing more annoying for match-day experience than a child on every 2nd parents lap. being honest,this case is one for tusla rather than independent."
Seriously?! A 3rd one complaining about indiscreet breastfeeding? And all from the same county! I can just picture a disgruntled wife in Saudi Arabia right now being told by her husband, 'Stop whinging about your women's rights, or I'll send you to live in Wexford.'

Thomas Clarke (National) - 15/08/2018 09:40:30

Captain Cavanagh Civil War - 3 Like(s)
A few thoughts on this: 1) I don't think that Philly Jordan was saying he disagreed with Sean's points, but rather the timing of them and his medium for expressing them. 2) Sean has never been shy of talking to the press, so it should surprise nobody that he is doing so even more now that he's being paid to talk. We all talk about GAA matters here for free, whereas Sean gets paid €1,000 for a night on RTE - fair play to him. 3) Sean is undoubtedly hoping to sell copies of his book and will be doing his best to market it, but that doesn't mean that what he says isn't honest. He might feel that, having played the perfect captain / team member for almost 2 decades, he's entitled to be more open now. Remember, Mickey has written 2 books while manager of Tyrone, both of which revealed 'secrets' from within the squad. If Sean is about to do the same, he could feel that he is only following the example his manager has set 4) Down the years, there have been occasional whispers of Mickey and Sean not seeing eye to eye. I can think of several, most notably (but not only) when Mickey wrote about the 2009 AI semi final in his 2nd book. I honestly can't recall any GAA manager publicly hanging one of his players out to dry in the way Mickey did to Sean in that book - I thought it was disgraceful. 5) Mickey is marmite. There are people in Tyrone who love him and think that he can do no wrong. They want him to remain as Tyrone manager for as long as he wishes. Then, there are others who can't stand him, be it for football reasons, social reasons or personality. It should come as no surprise that, just like everyone else, his players fall into one of those 2 camps too.

Thomas Clarke (National) - 24/05/2018 13:25:05

HS Readers' Football Team Of The Decade - Forwards - 2 Like(s)
Ciaran Kilkenny Colm Cooper Diarmuid Connolly Conor McManus Michael Murphy Bernard Brogan Paul Flynn has more all-stars than any of the other half forwards but, brilliant though he was, I wouldn't actually rate him as highly as those 3. Cooper has missed out on most lists, but he did win 3 all-stars in the decade, and was dazzling at CHF for a couple of years. Connolly and Kilkenny had similar physical attributes to Flynn, but they were both better on the ball, so they get my nod. In the full-forwards, Andy Moran misses out, but I can't find a place for him ahead of the 3 best inside forwards of the last decade.

Thomas Clarke (National) - 06/12/2019 15:07:56

Charlie Redmond's Jim McGuinness comments - 2 Like(s)
Before casting stones, Charlie should remember the depths that he brought Gaelic games to, when he decided to play on for several minutes after being shown a red card for headbutting an opponent in an AI Final.

Thomas Clarke (National) - 19/07/2017 09:12:43

HS Readers' Football Team Of The Decade - Defenders - 2 Like(s)
Jonny Cooper Neil McGee Keith Higgins Lee Keegan James McCarthy Jack McCaffrey Of those I left out, Colm Boyle would be the most unfortunate, followed by Cian O'Sullivan. Karl Lacey would be on my team of the last 20 years, but his career was on the way down after 2012. Jonny Cooper gets in ahead of McMahon and Fitzsimmons because, well, Jim Gavin seemed to rate him more highly, and that's good enough for me.

Thomas Clarke (National) - 03/12/2019 22:27:52

Bringing Children To Games - 2 Like(s)
My thoughts: - The mother gets to decide what is right for her baby, not us. Children are taken into noisy, crowded environments all the time - shopping centres, busy high streets, loud swimming pools. The child's senses are so barely developed at that age, it won't be damaged in any way from his day out in Croke Park. And, if the child does become agitated, I'm sure his mother will take him out. - The comment above from the Wexford man who says he has 'no problem with very discreet breastfeeding' makes me think we are back in the 1970s. Pathetic. - The comments about the long drive etc are also red herrings. We have no idea how many stops the family will make on their way to Dublin, the baby's sleeping pattern etc. It's unlikely that they would do this if they thought it would be a nightmare for the whole family. - The GAA statement about Health & Safety is a nonsense. It seems this is the standard response from HQ now any time they make a mistake and get bad press. The only possible reason that I can think of for charging €80 for an infant that doesn't need a seat, is to discourage parents from bringing babies full stop. - Lads, some of you need to live and let live a little. A 16 week old baby in his mother's arms affects nobody's day other than the mother's.

Thomas Clarke (National) - 14/08/2018 17:08:20

Thank You TG4 - 2 Like(s)
I find it hard to praise them when, despite advertising it, the Tyrone/Cork game wasn't available to watch in the 6 counties. Whether it was TG4's fault or the GAA's and their obsession with segmenting broadcasting rights, I don't know. Maybe it was a combination of both. But either way it was very disappointing for a couple of thousand Tyrone fans who would have been looking forward to watching the game. Still, at least the GAA is a 32 country organisation, right...!

Thomas Clarke (National) - 29/07/2019 11:05:19

Brian Fenton. - 2 Like(s)

Replying To cavanman47:  "Yeah, a bit ridiculous starting a thread on any player after a 1 sided game like that. Easy for any player to look good in such circumstances. Was poor in Dublin's last big game (Mayo last September) while McCarthy showed he's twice the player when the going gets tough. Yet to see Fenton do it when it really matters. Like his former clubmate, the term Rolls Royce comes to mind."
He was Man of the Match in the 2015 AI Final, and I'm fairly sure that game really mattered. He has 4 x AI medals (including 1 x U21), 3 x National League, 3 x Leinster senior titles, 2 x All-Stars, all accumulated in the last 4 years. Since the minute he stepped onto the Dublin senior panel, he has been an ever present at midfield on what is one of the greatest gaelic football teams we've ever seen. Your comment is ridiculous - he's one of the very best and consistently brilliant footballers in Ireland.

Thomas Clarke (National) - 28/05/2018 11:39:54

Kerry V Tyrone - 2 Like(s)
My Kerry friends, you have little need to worry about the big bad boys from Tyrone. The last time we met you in a semi-final, you had someone looking out for you... [url=]http://hoganstand.com/article/index/242969 Now, remind me who the referee is on Sunday again....?

Thomas Clarke (National) - 09/08/2019 20:43:03

Bringing Children To Games - 2 Like(s)

Replying To witnof:  "Some so called journalist writes an article on the GAA as click bait and you all fall for it. This rule has been the case for donkeys years. So why now have a pop? Because it is the mode to talk down the GAA. Like stupid threads and articles on ticket prices, when they never compare to other events. Do you see articles on rugby ticket prices or soccer prices? If you are so tired of the GAA go support the above sports that seem so much better run, better value and of course have no interest in money as opposed to the GAA."
Nothing wrong with trying to improve the association. It's been happening for 130+ years, with administrative and playing rule changes, many of which have been copied from other sports. I think it's obvious that everyone on this board is a GAA fan, but I guess it depends on what type of fan you are. You appear to be of the 'like it or lump it' variety, whereas I'm more for continual improvement.

Thomas Clarke (National) - 15/08/2018 14:18:29

Kieran Donaghy retires - 2 Like(s)

Replying To Wally:  "Totally over rated footballer. Put the right marker on him he was always kept quiet. Seemed like a gangly and ackward player who wasn't very nice to look at. Anyway I need to go back into an important meeting here."
'Star' had the most perfectly fitting nickname. As do you...

Thomas Clarke (National) - 12/09/2018 21:00:53