Tipperary Forum

Popular Posts from DonaldDuck

Michael Mullan Cancer Fund - 3 Like(s)
Great event planned for St Stephens Day in NaasRFC - Michael Mullan Cancer Fund - A charity GAA match involving Eadestown GAA, TwoMileHouse GAA club, Naas GAA club, Kill GAA club and Naas RFC Throw in 2pm come on down for the craic and support a great cause #onecommunity All support welcome Mick has always dedicated his time to helping others. He helped organise Kildare's Relay for Life which raised €30,000. Mick often visited St John's cancer ward in Crumlin, where he was treated as a baby, with presents for the patients. He has also volunteered with the Irish Teenage Cancer Trust, Harvard's Disability Project, assisted victims of crimes in court, and helped out with Best Buddies. Michael has dedicated his personal and professional life to helping those most vulnerable in society. Now it's our turn to come together and help Michael beat cancer for the third time! Michael's parents have also instrumental in setting up the Ronald McDonald housing in Our Lady's Children's Hospital, Crumlin. Following Michael's treatment for neuroblastoma, his family and friends came together to give back to the hospital by arranging fashions shows in 1994 and 1995 raising over £50,000 in total. This was used for the construction of apartments for parents of children with cancer - the Ronald McDonald parent accommodation unit. Mick was first diagnosed with neuroblastoma in 1993 when he was 16 months old. At the time there was a one in four chance of survival. After chemotherapy, surgery and a bone marrow transplant he remained cancer free until the age of 22. He was studying in his final year at Trinity when he was diagnosed with renal cell cancer which required surgery, a partial nephrectomy, on his 22nd birthday. He took two months off college to recover and still managed to graduate that year. He got a first class honours and was awarded a scholarship to Harvard. In November 2015, a simple cough, followed by a scan, led to a third diagnosis of cancer. He was in Boston and just days before his 24th birthday, he was told he had six months to live Please if you can support do!! If you cant make it to Naas on Stephens day you can support Mick and his family through donating https://www.gofundme.com/michaelmullanscancerfund

DonaldDuck (National) - 20/12/2018 17:20:26

Is Dublin's Success False, Tarnished And Bought? - 3 Like(s)
The Railway Cup again is the natural solution to this evolution. Six Nations Rugby generates massive revenue and promotes that sport. A 5 team inter-provincial round robin can also generate revenue for the GAA. It can also assist Gaelic-games being firmly the most played and supported games. At least I've offered a solution. Congratulations on Sunday. It was an impressive display. legendzxix (Kerry) - Posts: 5654 - 06/09/2018 17:35:33 The railway cup isnt a solution. You are jealous of Dublin and want them out of the intercounty championship to make it easier for kerry to have their biggest rival out of contention for championship. 6 Nations does generate massive revenue but cant be compared to the railway cup which wouldnt generate any form of massive revenue. There are clubs in dublin that are better run and have more money than some of the weaker counties. ulsterrules (Donegal) - Posts: 116 - 06/09/2018 07:18:10care to show how that is the case?

DonaldDuck (National) - 07/09/2018 09:50:51

Combined Pro12 and Champions Cup Thread - 2 Like(s)
Actually we don't know that. Are you telling me there were not crucial decisions that were just poor officiating. Whitehouse has form and his touchjudge is a shambles. TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 5896 - 11/10/2018 10:18:11 Refs make mistakes, no question but your criticism(as usual) is over the top. Whitehouse has form in what exactly? His assistants werent a shambles.

DonaldDuck (OtherSports) - 11/10/2018 11:26:49

English Jingoism - 2 Like(s)
Very petty thread. At least england can qualify. Hopefully they do win a big tournament this time or very soon Laughable for irish people to get so wound up about english national team and players when so many talk about the same players and call the english clubs "we" all through the year

DonaldDuck (ElevenASide) - 27/06/2018 19:38:41

Is Dublin's Success False, Tarnished And Bought? - 2 Like(s)
Its far from tarnished and certainly not bought. Dublin being a county that is essentially all a city with the best public transport and is one of the smallest in size, geographically means it has huge advantages. That its the capital city of the country makes it even more advantageous. Dublin possibly have had the luck of the green with some of the funding its received but GAA clubs in the city have the most competition of probably any counties clubs because of the same reasons as above. Its a city and a capital at that so there is more options for kids/people to take part in than a lot of the country. Yes the counties got a lot of funding but money doesnt win you trophies. Saying their wins are false is damn ignorant of the work the clubs have put in to develop these players to county level and ignores all the long hours the county players put in on the pitch and in the gym

DonaldDuck (National) - 05/09/2018 22:41:23

6 Nations 2019 - 2 Like(s)
So I guess we're not drawing a line under that then?? Sound. Another thread gone cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 3184 - 2/14/19 12:00:54 PM I'll end it here if flaker will

DonaldDuck (OtherSports) - 14/02/2019 12:39:48

Flaker. Lot to respond to but mods wont publish it. Ha at your hypocrisy and double standards especially at the abuse you're throwing at me. Pathetic!

DonaldDuck (OtherSports) - 11/10/2018 17:00:42

Point out another time when I was way OTT? You made a similar statement on something else then admitted you had nothing? The only one who has ever been abusive on here is you actually in the past. Foul language and name calling in the past has only been your style. Nobody even posts on the rugby threads anymore because of you. I look forward to you getting some replies in Ormo. Hopefully the mods let you through with some of your superior insight. TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 5900 - 11/10/2018 17:48:14 2146Yet again with the name calling. There' s some abuse. As well as mocking my refereeing and many other personal insults. Thats all abusive. Thats all petty and abusive

DonaldDuck (OtherSports) - 11/10/2018 19:16:33

IX OF THE Most-Watched Programmes On Irish Television Last Year Were Sporting Events - 2 Like(s)
IX OF THE most-watched programmes on Irish television last year were sporting events, with the national rugby team delivering bumper viewing figures for RTÉ and Virgin Media throughout the course of a historic 2018. Ireland's Grand Slam decider against England last March was the most-watched sporting event of the year, and the second most-watched TV programme of the year behind The Late Late Toy Show. Conor Murray, Rob Kearney, Dan Leavy, Bundee Aki and Garry Ringrose celebrate winning Ireland clinched the Grand Slam at Twickenham. Source: Dan Sheridan/INPHO An average audience of 975,600 tuned in as Joe Schmidt's side beat England at Twickenham on Virgin Media, while the famous home win over the All Blacks in November attracted an Irish TV audience of 926,000, according to official figures released today. Overall, Schmidt's side helped Irish rugby dominate the TAM figures, with the men's senior team appearing eight times in the top 50 most-watched TV programmes in 2018. Commenting on the figures, IRFU communications director Stephen McNamara said: "We are delighted to see so many people tuning in to support Ireland on these great sporting occasions. Live sport is now almost unique in that it continues to deliver events that can still bring family and friends together to watch live." The World Cup semi-final between England and Croatia ranks fourth in the overall list as 924,400 tuned into RTÉ's coverage from Russia, while the All-Ireland senior football [841,100] and hurling finals [854,400] also appear in the top 10. https://www.the42.ie/sports-tv-viewing-figures-2018-4433642-Jan2019/ what are peoples thoughts on this?

DonaldDuck (National) - 10/01/2019 17:17:10

Another Ref Pushed - 2 Like(s)
There's always a chance of that happening when the standard of refereeing is as appalling as it was for today's final. Some really shocking black cards decisions. Young lads deserve better than that level of incompetence when they are putting their lives on hold for football. If Joe McQuillan gets all Ireland finals year after year it's a sign the standard needs to improve. Daith (Kildare) - Posts: 1075 - 05/08/2018 17:36:51 Standards of refereeing does need to improve through the training refs get and help they recieve on rules of the game etc but you can never defend a ref being touched/attacked/hit. There is never any defence for that.

DonaldDuck (National) - 05/08/2018 18:45:02

The Future Of Inter-County Football - 2 Like(s)
What exactly do you want changed for the future? Dublin mainly have went far ahead due to the hard work by their huge numbers of volunteers and by having a population bigger than most by a distance and actually getting the best out of those resources which they werent doing for years before this very successful period

DonaldDuck (National) - 28/05/2018 13:53:27

RTE Sports Awards. - 2 Like(s)
Only insecure people will be having a potshot at rugby and using names, that vast majority of rugby people dont use for the sport, to have a go at the sport Rugby people/teams could get many awards but the national team did have a near unbeaten year with several firsts and player/coach of the year were very good all year

DonaldDuck (National) - 10/12/2018 19:51:28

Minor All Stars - 2 Like(s)
Winning team played 16 competive games & did over 100 training sessions, gave up being dual players & summer jobs as required so surely these 15/16/17 year olds deserve some recognition. The GAA have no problems with it, they introduced this new age grade & lauded the teams from the Ard Comhairle for their efforts. Too many Helicopter Parents as one underage manager put it. Uimhir.a.3. (Galway) - Posts: 224 - 15/09/2018 16:57:03 You can recognise and rewards kids for the work/effort put in without giving them awards called all stars. We've all seen plenty of adult players do well and get awards etc and it goes to their head nevermind 16/17 year olds. Minor is not about winning its about development. 15/16/17 year olds on these squads are getting plenty of recognition simply from playing on these teams. If they get to latter stages of the competition they get to play live on tv. They get to play in front of 10000/20000 even more on biggest of days. Lauding teams and praising them is quite different from giving awards called all stars. This is nothing like helicopter parenting

DonaldDuck (National) - 15/09/2018 18:10:50

Non-Sport Superthread - 2 Like(s)
Also far less talented at the actual sport. jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 18175 - 22/06/2018 11:38:45In no way is that true. You dont watch tennis if you believe that. Totally agree with Flakers post....

DonaldDuck (OtherSports) - 22/06/2018 12:53:55

RTE Sports Awards. - 2 Like(s)
manager of the year- Jim Gavin, totally deserved. Team of the year: Dubs, well deserved. Hockey team got hockied in the final. But well done to them for getting there. galwayford (Galway) - Posts: 1287 - 13/12/2018 10:58:10Your sentence about the hockey team suggests they shouldnt get team of the year because they were well beaten in the world cup final. They should get it in spite of that considering what achievement it was to simply get to the final. They were beaten in the final by the Netherlands who won their 8th world cup out of 12 tournaments held. Irelands three previous times competing in the world cup were 1986, 1994 and 2002 where they finished 12th, 11th and 15th. That alone shows why they should be team of the year. They were ranked 16th in the world before the tournament. Only one side competing at the world cup had a lower ranking than them before the tournament.

DonaldDuck (National) - 13/12/2018 13:54:17

Non-Sport Superthread - 2 Like(s)

Replying To jimbodub:  "I'm only messin! Have to agree with you."
No worries. This forum not having emoticons makes it harder to read sarcasm....

DonaldDuck (OtherSports) - 22/06/2018 14:53:08

All Ireland Final 18 - Dublin V Tyrone - 2 Like(s)
Best of luck Dublin. Nothing better than Tyrone/Mickey Harte losing.....

DonaldDuck (National) - 01/09/2018 11:22:45

Is Dublin's Success False, Tarnished And Bought? - 1 Like(s)
Kilmacud have a bigger pick than Leitrim gotmilk (Fermanagh) - Posts: 4836 - 07/09/2018 12:33:19 proof?

DonaldDuck (National) - 07/09/2018 15:27:24

RTE Sports Awards. - 1 Like(s)
Autumn Internationals in rugby are no more than glorified challenge matches. Come World Cup time these games will count for nothing. hamstring (Limerick) - Posts: 262 - 10/12/2018 23:52:40Why is it only non rugby supporters who dismiss the november games as friendlies? Thats not what players, coaches, fans of the sport think of these games.

DonaldDuck (National) - 11/12/2018 13:15:44

Non-Sport Superthread - 1 Like(s)
Nah Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 7924 - 08/09/2018 12:17:07What would you do in its place then? It may only be ceremonial but the President still represents us internationally so it's important he/she has a bit of intelligence and decorum. Michael D ticks all those boxes. Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 6024 - 08/09/2018 16:17:50Its more than ceremonial though. Look at previous presidents and their history. Laws professors, european commissioners for social justice, taosigh, I have no issue with Michael D, just don't really have an interest in the position of president. Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 7924 - 08/09/2018 17:12:57 And if you remove the position then what do you do with the functions the president carries out ie who carries them out? And who do you have as head of state in their place?

DonaldDuck (OtherSports) - 08/09/2018 23:43:18