Tipperary Forum

Popular Posts from tipp11

Upcoming Special Congress - 9 Like(s)

Replying To mayotyroneman:  "Well thank God that proposal was shelved..it's basically a good idea but the provincial championships need to mean something. Simple solution..play the provincials..the 4 winners get into the quarter finals or a 12 team championship...then fill up the rest of the spaces with teams ranked according to their league performance..and then have your tier 2 competition..simple solution..Jim McGuiness suggested something similar years ago"
Doesnt that say enough about the whole situation regarding the provincial championships? It appears they need to be linked to the All Ireland to be deemed of any worth. They should be able to support themselves as a stand alone competition if they are that valuable.

tipp11 (National) - 24/10/2021 09:51:59

The Allianz FL Thread (Division 2, 3 & 4) - 7 Like(s)

Replying To royaldunne:  "The worst team we played this year was Roscommon by some distance."
Jesus how bad were ye in that case that a team ye draw with are worse than a team ye beat by 14 points.

tipp11 (National) - 13/03/2018 13:41:05

Closure of hill 16 - 5 Like(s)

Replying To fathermurphy:  "What an outragus decision this weekend by the GAA to close hill 16...theres already more than 50000 tickets sold and its only friday...you wouldnt see this in any other sport...typical GAA money grabbers and in saying that all players will have to go to work the week after to make a wage!"
What attendance was at the Dublin westmeath match or any Dublin league games and it open for them....bizare

tipp11 (National) - 30/06/2017 18:19:39

Semi Finalists and from what provinces? - 5 Like(s)

Replying To noelnyc:  "With all the talk of which Province is strongest over the last decade and a half, a province with possibly the easiest path to Croker now has two semi finalists in the Senior Football Championship. It is time to face facts, provincial strength is a myth. The best teams annually make their way to Croke Park in August, with few exceptions. The teams that play during this time of the summer are arguably the best at the moment, and that obviously can change from year to year. Maybe all the hype about one province being stronger than another holds power in a friendly conversation but in reality maybe the fact that there are so many average teams in the provincial championships are the reason some provinces are harder to get out of than others ? It does not always mean that a certain province is the best footballing province because the games are more competitive, mediocrity breeds a false sense of security. The Dubs are deserved reigning All Ireland champions and realistically the only threat from Leinster. See Mayo/Galway in Connacht, Kerry. Tipp and Cork in Munster and Ulster changes quite often. Change is needed and it can't come quick enough. The best four teams remain in this years Championship at the moment though."
Who knows if the best 4 teams are in the semi final, would we have beaten tyrone or donegal, i doubt it but who knows, how we perform against mayo will show us where we are. Noboday can deny the the 4 teams left in it are all there on merit and deserve to be though

tipp11 (National) - 07/08/2016 20:04:59

2018/19 Division 2 Football League - 4 Like(s)

Replying To lilywhite1:  "It will be interesting to see how teams adapt to the new rules in the pre season tournaments and in the NFL However the GAA being the GAA the new rules won't be in place in the Championship. Seemingly they will have to be approved at a special congress but won't be in place until the 2020 Championship. Headaches all round for players and management. Some archaic rule that they have about implementing new rules. When did the interests of the players ever triumph GAA bureaucracy?"
Its alot worse than that.....there is alot of backlash and disapproval over the rules so now they are going to reconsider them on the 19th of january, so coaches will now have to coach these new rules just in case they come in but 1 week before the league starts there may be amendments or hopefully some of them not being used at all. The league is far too important a competition for all this stuff to be going on

tipp11 (National) - 03/12/2018 20:09:49

Andy Moran Hands On Maurice Deegan - 4 Like(s)

Replying To Soma:  "From the camera angle i saw there will be no ban for Moran, he was black carded for remonstrating in an aggressive manner with an official. Connolly was suspended for minor physical interference which automatically carries a 12 week ban. I'd say what Moran done was worse than what Connolly done but the punishments are clearly set out in the rulebook."
Did moran not bump into deegan with his chest?

tipp11 (National) - 19/03/2018 09:54:05

RTE TV Coverage - 3 Like(s)
Provincial hurling championships are as good as they've ever been and in Munster far and away the best competition. Very few early season football games will come close this this. Come super 8s we will have loads of top quality football games. It will be interesting to see the televised hurling v football split by the end of the year. People will make mountains out of this initial announcement but for me it will even out and we should have a season of top quality games on tv and I'm delighted with that

tipp11 (National) - 30/04/2019 19:31:31

Football Max Passes Limit - 3 Like(s)
It's a brilliant tactic and onus should be on defending team to win the ball back. It looks bad on TV but that's down to the overly cautious nature of teams. If a team builds a lead they are entitled to try hold the ball. It's 15 on 15, the team chasing in theory should be in a position to cover every player. The team who are losing and on the receiving end shouldn't be rewarded for carrying on sitting in their defensive shape.

tipp11 (National) - 24/05/2021 13:57:15

Connolly interfering with match official - 3 Like(s)

Replying To clondalkindub:  "Where have you all disappeared to ???? 22 pages folks a lot of you have gone very quiet about what happened yesterday."
There's 4 pages on the Moran thread already, mainly dubs bringing Connolly into it and people replying to that. Connolly was a number of cases where bans were given out for similar incidents, we lost a vital player to it last year but we didn't whinge and blindly defend anyone and aren't now bringing up the incident 9 months or so later. It's a wonder ye think everyone is out to get poor dermo when ye constantly drag back up this stuff and then get replies. Moran should get a ban and not because Connolly got one to prove a point to ye

tipp11 (National) - 19/03/2018 19:40:57

NFL Division 2 - 3 Like(s)

Replying To royaldunne:  "That be some turn around for Clare if they could do it. Their heaviest defeats of both campaigns for last 2 years came against Meath. So fair play if they have came on that much while Meath have improved too"
Every team is prone to an off week in the league. Didn't down beat roscommon last year and get relegated. We beat Meath very easily last year and beaten this year. I would say looking overall at Clare the last few years that Meath match was an uncharacteristically poor performance and not one to judge them on

tipp11 (National) - 14/03/2019 19:32:07

Meath V Tipp - 3 Like(s)
Wont decend this into a thread like the cavan one but meath look very very limited, are ye missing many? Bar jack kennedy if everyone is fit that will be our championship team with maybe 1 other change, it was as controlled a display by us in a long time and result was never in doubt. Clare are very poor this year but they are notoriously hard to beat in ennis so meath still need one or two big performances possibly to remain in division 2.

tipp11 (Meath) - 25/02/2018 10:13:22

Healy-Rae Asleep At An All-Ireland And Ross Having A Cut - 3 Like(s)
I certainly amnt one to be defending a Healy Rae but if the article on this on the home page is correct and it was between games after a hectic couple of days then fair enough and no issue

tipp11 (National) - 21/08/2018 13:21:21

2019 NFL Division 2 final - 3 Like(s)

Replying To Furlong1949:  "Ur right. That has been the problem. Losing to teams like Cork and Tippearey in the last few years. This year we are beating teams like Cork and Tipp as well as playing well v stronger teams. But as u said we need to that in championship. There r tricky games in leinster. Games we have lost in recent years. Carlow will be tricky and Westmeath also. But I have feeling it cud Meath v Laois semi final. Laois have a built up a bit steam in last 2 years winning 2 promotion and a pile of games. Its a game they wud always be dangerous in as they r a sort of bogey team for us. If we play like we did v Longford last year we will lose to Laois Westmeath and Carlow. But since that game there has been serious improvement. But I would be worried of a bad loss is in the team in this years championship. Super 8 wud be great but cud we face the same defeats as Roscommon. The old system was better for upcoming teams. 1 quater final 1 bad defeat it was still a good year. Now 3 games in 3 weeks v division 1 teams it is very tough for upcoming promoted div 2 team. Next spring is so important. If we cud stay up ur gurateed two springs of div 1 football which would be so beneficial for 2020 and 2021 championship. I think next year we will be stronger. But this year we are still improving but still a good distance from being super 8 team yet. Great league campaign and talent to come thru from underage teams. But we have done the easy part in going from 16th to 9th in 10 months. The hard part is go from 9th to 6th or 7th and stay there. Something kildare Cavan and Roscommon failed to do. Only Galway have broke into top 8 and stayed there in recent years. I think we can do it. But time will tell. Again congratulations to Donegal. A seriously quality football team. And Murphy is an all.time great. I fully expect Donegal to be All Ireland contenders in the coming years and I personally believe this Donegal team will win Sam in 2022 2023 2024. Exciting times ahead for Donegal."
I love when people come up with these lazy comments like "losing to the likes of Cork and Tipp". I know its not having a dig at either county and probably said without much thought but where is this attitude coming from. What have Meath done at senior or underage in the last 10 years that has surpassed what Tipp have done in the same time frame?

tipp11 (National) - 02/04/2019 12:55:08

Dublin Getting 2 Home Games In The Super 8s. Fair Or Unfair? - 2 Like(s)

Replying To gormdubhgorm:  "[quote=GreenandRed:  "'Dublin rent Croke Park the neutral venue.' Neutral for all counties except Dublin you mean?"
It is a neutral venue for all counties they are free to rent it as weii. The Dublin hurlers have suffered in CP when Parnell Pk was not used."]So if tipp decide clonmel or nenagh is their home ground but too small to hold matches and we play every single game in semple stadium could we claim it as neutral?

tipp11 (National) - 11/07/2018 14:22:15

Rte Missing A Trick ? - 2 Like(s)

Replying To royaldunne:  "So far the hurling championship has been a disaster with so many one sided games. In contrast the football has had magnificent close games with some fine football performances, Meath v Offaly, longford v Kildare , Laois v Westmeath , Cavan v Monaghan, Cavan v Armagh. Roscommon v mayo. Now they may not be up to the standards of what dubs may produce, but it is one of the most competitive starts to football in long time. Close exciting games . If it was in hurling we would be told it was the best thing since sliced bread. But it is not put forward once, the pundits are more interested in putting down the game and making a name for themselves than actually analyzing the bloody thing. And the no football until provincial finals while exclusively showing round robin bs in hurling is the be all of everything. Hopefully this changes next year. Football is the more popular sport by some distance, so show it some respect. Rant over"
Hindsight.....nobody could have predicted any of the results in munster. I thought yesterday tipp Clare was going to be one of the games of the year and expected so much more from Clare. Equally no-one would have predicted Meath would stumble so much against Offaly? How could you really say before the game this should have been on telly?

tipp11 (National) - 03/06/2019 11:09:16

Experimental Rule Changes Proposed For Gaelic Football - 2 Like(s)

Replying To Whammo86:  "Couldn't agree more with you. Also it's tough to get universally strong rule changes what works at club minor doesn't work at senior intercounty level. 13 a side is a common solution to the ills of the game. It is really badly thought out. The pitch isn't too small, it's that it's too big and teams don't care about possession in midfield. It doesn't affect hurling because it's played on the correct sized pitch for it."
I would have to disagree. In my opinion this keep ball football we are seeing now and side to side hand passing is a product of the blanket defence. This is what needs fixing if anything. Handpassing can be brilliant to watch and highly effective when done well but people only ever focus on it being a negative because its a way of maintaining possession infront of a wall of a defence. Look at just about every game, players are far more fit and athletic than ever, 13 a side should work just fine on the pitches we have, dublin, the best team there is on occasions in this years all ireland had every player back in their own half so in essence you are playing with 25 to 28/29 bodies regularly in a condensed 70 meters pitch or so. Take 2 bodies from each team out of there and you will have more space for attacking football, more holes to run into, more space to kick into. I might be wrong but i think they completely got these rule changes proposed wrong, i can see these rewarding the blanket defence far more than creating good attacking football. 13 a side may not work but i feel its got a far greater chance of being a success if trialed

tipp11 (National) - 09/10/2018 22:32:32

All-Ireland Minor Hurling Final - 2 Like(s)
Few things from today. 1 Tipp again showed unbelievable heart....that's number of games this year, clare munster final and Galway semi where both games could and possibly should have have lost (although I think probably slightly better team in both) Today, offaly were the better team and deserved to win. 2 biggest thing from today. The can't from minor and under 21 to year younger grade has been shown up. These lads are too young for this stage. The step up to senior is also too wide for progression. Great entertainment but the development between under 17 and under 18 is too great. I hope we go back to traditional grades, quality (although not lacking today) was better and the stage these lads were put on is too big for such young people. Said it from when they were put in and last few years we had under 17 before all ireland final it's far too early for them. Delighted for the win but was as heartbroken as you could be for the young offaly players today

tipp11 (National) - 03/07/2022 22:02:41

NFL Predictions Competition - 2 Like(s)
Could we just set up a facetheball one or I think that's the website. If someone is setting up and running one here is like to join if there's room

tipp11 (National) - 22/01/2018 13:50:38

Kevin McStay Incident With Linesman - 2 Like(s)

Replying To MesAmis:  "3 months and rightly so. I'm glad to see some consistency (or a version of it at least). McStay can have no complaints although judging by his comments afterwards he may have. He made a fool of himself."
The gaa have been very consistent on incidents of this nature the last few years, just look at the number of suspensions handed out for similar offenses. Andy Moran is the only one where no suspension was handed out where the possibly was one

tipp11 (National) - 26/07/2018 14:49:58

Kerry's easy path - 2 Like(s)

Replying To greatpoint:  "Because I didn't believe you I had a look at Tipperary's record since the qualifiers were introduced. Since 2001 Tipperary have a grand total of 1 win against Ulster opposition in the championship: last year when they beat Derry by a point. Why are you making stuff up?"
We beat Antrim in 2012....out of interest how many game against northern teams have we played? Coming from the weakest province we haven't done bad, 2011 was the last time a team from Leinster beat us in laois, since then we have beaten laois, longford, Louth, offaly, wexford. In that time the teams in the championship we have lost to have been kerry, cork, Galway, Tyrone, mayo and down.

tipp11 (National) - 01/06/2017 14:43:29