Tipperary Forum

Popular Posts from Joe_Bloggs

CPA - 4 Like(s)
http://www.hoganstand.com/ArticleForm.aspx?ID=262211 Any thoughts on this? County management / county boards have left club players with little choice really.

Joe_Bloggs (National) - 18/10/2016 15:26:06

Tipp v Kilkenny - 3 Like(s)
Brian Gavin the man in the middle. This game went from being 50/50 to 60/40 in Kilkennys favour.

Joe_Bloggs (National) - 24/08/2016 13:17:50

All Stars for 2016 - 2 Like(s)
I think Evan Comerford was the best goalie all year. I dont think Cluxton had his best year.

Joe_Bloggs (National) - 06/10/2016 09:08:17

Well Done Lee Keegan !! - 2 Like(s)
Well done lee Keegan? Is this where the gas is at now? Handing out player of the year awards to a player who's actions had a fellow player sent off. A player who's actions continually try to get a reaction from another opponent so he might be sent off. And indeed getting the line himself in the final. Yeah well done lee Keegan and well done those who select a player who operates In that manner. Joke Brianmac78 (Dublin) - Posts:1066 - 05/11/2016 08:03:59 Good lord!!! You do realise that his fellow players voted for him, possibly even some of the Dublin players. You going on about him trying to get players sent off, what did Connolly do in the replay? Went down and jumped up doing his best soccer player impression. Give over will you, they're all at it. Personally I thought it was a toss up between Keegan and Fenton and Keegan got the nod, fair play to him.

Joe_Bloggs (National) - 07/11/2016 12:18:23

Joe Canning - 2 Like(s)

Replying To WoodlawnPat:  "Yet another year will pass in which Joe Canning will not win an All Ireland with the Galway Hurling team. A few questions:

Will he ever win one with them?
How long more will he play with them?
Would it help if the county players stopped playing with their clubs and concentrate on playing for JUST the county?"
I hope Joe does win an All Ireland and think he will. I reckon he'll play for about 5 more years. I'm not sure would just playing county help, firstly I reckon Joe would stick with Portumna and leave the Galway set up and secondly club championships dont generally interfere with county and they only train with the county anyway.

Joe_Bloggs (National) - 17/08/2016 13:15:43

Loughnane tears into Galway - 2 Like(s)
They were dead right to not join the panel if they felt they were wronged. Its a pity that more county players dont back their clubs and stand up to county management / county boards.

Joe_Bloggs (National) - 08/07/2016 13:44:36

Spare a thought for the Mayo Club Championship - 1 Like(s)

Replying To Tacaí Liatroma:  "Maybe Saturday-Sunday games are the way to go for this year to finish it off. Therefore, if you had two group games left for each team, they could be played on successive days. Not nice for any team, but at least if a team has to do it, they'll know their opponent has to do it too, which is fair. Tough, but fair. Maybe knockout games would have to be considered in this too, but that would only be if they were very very very VERY very very very tight for time."
The irony... The county team couldnt play a match for 4 weeks but you'd expect club players to play two days in a row!!!

Joe_Bloggs (National) - 29/09/2016 14:46:27

Can Mayo exorcise the ghost of '13? - 1 Like(s)
Yew-tree I'm sorry but they are bottlers! Seansy48 (Tyrone) - Posts:164 - 23/08/2016 17:19:33 Really hate the term "bottlers" used against anybody in any sport. A buzz word usually thrown about by some genius on a bar stool or some other genius who sat in a stadium shouting abuse at players for a whole game and their only opinion on the game afterwards is the losing team has no "bottle". Would these lads have the "bottle" to say it to Aidan O'Sheas face or any other players faces? I think this Mayo team has loads of bottle, it took bottle to get rid of the management team and get in a man who they wanted in charge, knowing the the keyboard warriors would be out in force and ready for action if they failed. They showed bottle to pick themselves up after a defeat to Galway and get back to an All Ireland final, not playing well and winning games that were in the melting pot regardless of who the opposition were. They stay coming back year after year, putting their lives on hold in the hope of finally reaching the holy grail. They should be applauded for giving some of the most exciting games over the last 10 years and not ridiculed when a team beats them who were just better on the day.

Joe_Bloggs (National) - 24/08/2016 09:14:03

That Macauley Tackle - 1 Like(s)
Nah, it was a straight red. Was deliberate and dangerous. In rugby it'd be a spear tackle and that incurs a serious suspension. The GAA has to wise up to some of this ridiculous dangerous play before someone gets properly injured. Whammo86 (Antrim) - Posts:952 - 19/09/2016 12:14:13 A spear tackle?? Will ya stop.

Joe_Bloggs (National) - 19/09/2016 12:48:11

Players of the Year - 1 Like(s)
Do hurlers vote for footballers and vice versa?

Joe_Bloggs (National) - 08/11/2016 09:42:51

Shame on Tipperary supporters - 1 Like(s)
I see Parkinson having a go too saying its a disgrace. Why does it bother people outside of Tipp because it certainly doesnt inside of Tipp. I've heard some amount of Tipp people saying they'd burst every football in the county if they could - the interest just isnt there because its a hurling county. Personally I like football and play it and went to most of the championship games last year but a match on a cold Sunday in an empty stadium didnt appeal to me. I might go Sunday, I might not. I dont feel I should be ashamed of myself because of it either.

Joe_Bloggs (National) - 08/02/2017 13:34:37

Replying To Joxer:  "I'm not assuming anything. Like everyone else I saw the video. Keegan went out of his was to run over to Connolly and grab him. Did you not see this? If this isn't instigating then what is? Keegan, just like his encounters with Sean Cavanagh this year and Connolly last year, instigated it and hoped the forward picks up a card that ultimately will lead to him getting the line. It worked against Connolly last year and Cavanagh this year and he was clearly hoping that he had provoked Connolly enough yesyetday for Connolly to lash out and get a red. Whelan's point is valid, stamp it out by yellowing the instigator first. This applies to all counties."
I saw a video over the weekend of Connollys sending off incident from last year. It was a video on Pundit Arena or some of them and videoed by somebody in the crowd. Keegan is running towards his own goal keeping an eye on Connolly and Connolly throws the first punch and they end of wrestling on the ground. I suppose it was Keegan who instigated the row between Connolly and Philly McMahon in that club game a few years ago too?

Joe_Bloggs (National) - 20/09/2016 09:46:05

CPA - 1 Like(s)
I was listening to Game On last night and it got me thinking - this was 18 senior club finals played last Sunday. When you think about it, just taking senior, intermediate and junior A in hurling and football in 32 counties - thats roughly 192 county finals around the country to be played in October (I'm open to correction on the figure as I no some counties might not have 3 grades in both codes) and then another 24 provincial finals to be played the end of November / December. These have all to be played in October / November & December because of two finals having to be played in September. Its madness.

Joe_Bloggs (National) - 19/10/2016 12:24:27

Tipp v Kilkenny - 1 Like(s)
What about Jackie Tyrells shoulder into the chest of Callanan early in the game? No free given there either.
It was a "manly" tackle I suppose.

Have a look at GAA biggest hits and have a look at all the times Tyrells shoulder into lads chests are in it.
Each time there should have been a free given against him.

Joe_Bloggs (National) - 25/08/2016 13:17:32

All Ireland Club Hurling Championship - 1 Like(s)
In fairness to Sars, Richie Ruth and Mickey Cahill were huge losses to them and they obviously didnt have lads good enough to replace them. They had 10 / 11 exceptional players but also had a few passengers who are too light for this time of the year.

Joe_Bloggs (National) - 07/11/2016 15:53:25

Replying To Joxer:  "Well if Keegan gets the ball and is fouled then it's a free isn't it? That's the punishment for a foul. Where was the ball on Sunday when Keegan ran over to Connolly, pushed and grabbed his jersey? Too different things no?"
That was a reply to somebody who said that Keegan should be booked once he gives away a free.

Joe_Bloggs (National) - 20/09/2016 11:17:50

Replying To Joxer:  "Eh are you talking about these 2 hand-offs here from Connolly as Keegan tries to block his run. That's a black card, blocking somebody's run. And who drags who to the ground around the neck and holds him in a headlock? Must try harder bud! http://www.sportsjoe.ie/gaa/diarmuid-connolly-made-a-serious-allegation-against-lee-keegan-after-their-tangle-in-croke-park/40833"
Hes not blocking his run, Keegan is going towards his own goal and has his hand out to know where Connolly is, you'll see every defender in the country doing that. Connolly throws the first punch, they end up on the ground and Connolly throws more punches to the face. Take off the blue tinted glasses auld hand.

Joe_Bloggs (National) - 20/09/2016 11:23:17

Combining CPA objectives with Padraic Duffy's - 1 Like(s)

Replying To tirawleybaron:  "The CPA are now looking for another delay to championship restructuring because if Duffy's proposal goes through then it will have to be given a year or two s trail. But we can have it both ways very easily. 1. Abolish Preseason inter county competitions - play sigerson in January 2. Play round robin provincial championships in Feb and march. (Each province to decide their own formula) 3. Top four teams in Leinster and Ulster plus top three in Connaught and Munster progress to senior championship 4. Cut league numbers to 6 per division for top divisions and seven for lower divisions - play off in April and May - no finals - top two finishers not already qualified through provincial championship win access. To senior championship Note: provincial championship can be played after league if you prefer 5. Play World Cup style senior and junior all irelands in May - all neutral venues (no exceptions even for Dublin) 6. Top 6 in senior and top 2 in junior play in 2 groups of four as per Duffy's proposal (matches played in June) 7. All Ireland semis and final played in July. 8. Club championship starts in July for all but 4 teams 9. Top 4 counties win byes for their county champions to semi finals of club provincials. 10. provincial club championships to be finished by end of November 11. All Ireland club semis on st Stephens day - final on New Year's Day Each county gets minimum 12 inter county matches (best get 17) over 6 months (24 weekends) Best hurling team will get 12 matches so can easily be fitted in amongst non football weekends. Each county then gets 3 clear months for their county championships A few more changes to give clubs back their players: Maximum 3 subs in county football and max match day squad limited to 21 players. InterCounty league and provincial championships to be played on saturday evenings. Club leagues to be played February to June and any county player not selected in county match day 21 on the Saturday must be allowed play for their club on the Sunday."
11. All Ireland club semis on st Stephens day - final on New Year's Day Tell me your only messing about this...

Joe_Bloggs (National) - 24/01/2017 09:43:54

NHL 1A & 1B - 1 Like(s)

Replying To keeper7:  "Anyone else think that 1B has now become more competitive & interesting over the last couple of years?"
The Kerry v Laois game is arguably the most important game of the weekend, winner has an excellent chance of staying up and the loser more than likely goes down. Surprised Tony Kelly is playing with Clare, I know the club All Ireland is 5 weeks away but I'd be wrapping him of all players in cotton wool, he also has the Fitzgibbon weekend to get over.

Joe_Bloggs (National) - 10/02/2017 09:17:06