Sligo Forum

Popular Posts from Sligoman1234

The Corona Virus And Possible Effects To GAA Matches - 3 Like(s)
I see Leitrim have pulled the plug on their game with Down at the very last minute. To be honest I think there's something at play here rather than a rally cry against COVID. Ensuring that no score difference can be used works in favour of Leitrim. Surely they knew before this morning that they wouldn't be in a position to field? It's not as if it's a Junior B club game where you're already at slim pickings.

Sligoman1234 (National) - 17/10/2020 09:50:40

Club Championships 2019 - 3 Like(s)
I see the Bunnies strike again, hosting the Minor A Final between Molaise Gaels and Farnans/Pats. Not sure what road map is used when looking at fixtures or if its more a case of who has the bigger clout when making these decisions.

Sligoman1234 (Sligo) - 10/10/2019 13:05:26

Sligo GAA thread - 2 Like(s)
Disappointing end to a great run for these lads. Kildare fully deserved their win but not by 8. Tiredness and injuries really took its effect on the lads today. Was fantastic to see such a Sligo crowd travel for the game too. Hopefully it won't be the only final we've to attend in years to come

Sligoman1234 (National) - 13/05/2023 21:25:14

Sligo GAA thread - 2 Like(s)
There were many who were saying that the round robin would remove the excitement of the knockout game and weaken the chances of the likes of Sligo, Leitrim and Roscommon to prevail as you'd have beat the bigger two twice perhaps as a good chance you'd meet one of them in the final. That may well be the case but its definitely knock out football for all 4 counties next Wednesday which is great to see.

Sligoman1234 (National) - 11/04/2024 15:43:58

Tailteann Cup Attendances - 2 Like(s)
Had these games not been in Croke Park there would not have been the same combined attendance as was on Sunday. The novelty of the Croke Park fixture certainly brought kids especially who had never been to Croke Park along with their parents. There were just 4K for Sligo and Leitrim in Carrick for Q-F. Play Cavan there and ya might get to 6. Westmeath and Offaly are well used to playing in Croke Park given their in Leinster so regardless where it was played I don't think you'd have boosted their attendances. 16k was a great turnout for the first competition, just about 3k short of the Leinster Hurling Final two weeks before hand!

Sligoman1234 (National) - 21/06/2022 10:23:04

Sligo 2020 - 2 Like(s)
Looks like Galway game is on the rocks. Can we put 15 lads that aren't considered close contacts to honour the fixture anyway? Not as if we were going to win

Sligoman1234 (Sligo) - 03/11/2020 08:48:55

Sligo GAA thread - 1 Like(s)

Replying To Sligobuck21:  "Championship week upcoming…Here's my predictions for the groups and how the knockouts will go. Senior Group 1: 1st Mary's 2nd Molaise 3rd Curry 4th Calry 5th Farnans Group 2: 1st Shamrock Gaels 2nd Coolera/Strandhill 3rd Tourlestrane 4th Tubbercurry 5th Drumcliffe RP Relegation: Farnans Champions: Mary's Intermediate Group 1: 1st Easkey 2nd C/M 3rd Cconnor 4th Enniscrone 5th Shamrock Gaels Group 2: 1st Harps 2nd Bunninaden 3rd Pats 4th Geevagh 5th John's Relegation: John's Champions: C/M In Div 3: Champs- Owenmore Gaels Relegation- Harps"
Fair play to ya for taking the time to work out placing etc. I'll cut some corners on mine though! Senior: I expect Marys, Molaise, Shamrock Gaels to qualify. Can't rule out Tourlestrane from qualifying just yet but if not agree it will be Coolera. I expect Marys to be lifting the Owen B. I'll pick Tubbercurry for the chop. Intermediate: Coolaney/Mullinabreena, Easkey, Eastern Harps and Bunninadden to be your semi finalists with Mullinabreena winning out. Shamrock Gaels to return to Junior as may have used up some players on senior pane by time it gets to business end. Junior: St Molaise Gaels, Cloonacool, Owenmore Gaels and Ballymote to make semis. I expect a final between the last two and could go either way. Seeing as Owenmore have bottled the last is it 3 attempts now, I'll give them the benefit of the doubt for this year. Tourlestrane to be relegated.

Sligoman1234 (National) - 13/08/2023 20:55:21

Replying To eoinog:  "Fair dues to you lads, you are out of the blocks early with your predictions. I will need more time to think about them )). In the meantime what are the CCC thinking?. Bad enough to make a mess out of the league and now I see some of the venues for next weekend. The Bunnies/Pat's game in Castleconnor !!!! Mary's/ Farnans in Enniscrone. !!! If there was a full calendar of fixtures it can be hard to accommodate everyone but with no Junior A or Junior B surely there was alternatives. People are not going to travel to these games and when the revenue isn't sufficient from the games all clubs will be hit with another levy of some description to make up the shortfall. And of course the Co Board won't even promote these games on their own website. Why is there no match report from that enthralling League one final on Friday ?"
Agree with you on venues. No reason now why double headers can't be back either and if they increase the prices then people will vote with their feet and not travel 30 miles for a game that could have been in one of several you pass on the journey to it. I think there's a few lads looking out for their own clubs or their neighbours by picking such strange venues and Scarden should not be used unless it's for emergency changes. Not a good place for a championship game.

Sligoman1234 (National) - 13/08/2023 22:43:33

Sligo 2020 - 1 Like(s)
So we're out and now the talk of the GAA community. I hope the lads are safe and well but one has to ask how did this happen? If we were able to run club championship with no forfeits and teams have a smaller pick how are we in a situation where we can't field by pulling lads up or how did it happen that precautions didn't work for senior team?

Sligoman1234 (Sligo) - 04/11/2020 11:01:17

Replying To eoinog:  "Disappointed to see posters from other counties coming on here to highlight the keepers mistake. He was under huge pressure all day as he had more kick outs yesterday than in any other game. Up to yesterday he had conceded 2 goals in 4 games. He was the second choice keeper with the U.17 team last year and worked very hard to make the No 1 jersey his own this year. I'm not even sure if he is in Leaving cert yet or not. Ethan Rafferty's made as big a blunder yesterday!!! On the game itself Kildare were the better team. Starting Henry didn't work as the injury is still not cleared up, his replacement Flynn also went off injured, as did Chambers and Donelon. All subs were used after 9 mins of the second half. The gap was down to 2 points and if we had fresh legs to come on it could have been an interesting last few minutes. With something like 11 of the starting team underage again next year we should be very strong again. The panel and mgt did themselves the supporter's and the county proud."
Couldn't agree more. Take 1-1 out of it for those kickouts and Kildare were still the better team overall. We needed every man fit and able in my view to have challenged a very physical Kildare outfit. They certainly can hold their heads high and why not make it 3 in a row in Connacht next year and push on to make amends for the All Ireland as Kildare did. Got a bit of a hop when I looked online for tickets this morning for the All Ireland group game. €25 will do very little to attract crowds to games. Granted this weekends game is the best chance of a victory it may not affect it too much, but perhaps they should have come up with a 3 for €55/60 package to go to all three.

Sligoman1234 (National) - 15/05/2023 10:53:37

Replying To Sligonian:  "If the table is correct on Connachtgaa.ie then the draw doesn't affect us, Eoinog. If we win and Leitrim and Roscommon draw. We all end on 4 pts. 3 way tie goes on score difference. Roscommon have 0pts difference Leitrim have -4 Sligo have -4 It if we beat Mayo we go to -3 and knock Leitrim and Mayo out (if other game is a draw). So we don't need to rely on anyone else. Its in our hands. I am open to correction. Hard to believe we are still in it as we are playing awful stuff and well below capabilities but special mention to Marren and Dillon Walsh for bringing the energy and quality to drag it back from the death. Fair play to them both. There is hope but that performance was shocking at times. So many headless decisions and carries into contact without support."
Score diff between the games of the teams involved….remember our league last year!

Sligoman1234 (National) - 10/04/2024 21:38:16

Leitrim GAA thread - 1 Like(s)
The worst and most pathetic effort of a team and game yesterday. How ye hold on to Moran I don't know. And before the deluded jump on and tell me where to go, we're off to Salthill to get probably a 14/15 point drubbing but only for the wind yday Leitrim would have got the same

Sligoman1234 (National) - 08/04/2024 10:44:22

Sligo 2019 - 1 Like(s)
Taylor should have done the decent thing for the county and resigned. His costs probably are cheap but what cost is it coming at to the county? Are we about balancing the books or winning games and maybe generating additional revenue. I certainly will not renew my club sligo as a result of this decision by a county board that lacks ability, vision and determination to pick a manager who fits the same bill. And from talking to others I'm not alone. Maybe when they see a couple of hundred at the Division 4 games and a fall in Club Sligo they'll realise their mistake. We got rid of outside managers for far better performances compared to this year which must be the worst in the history of Sligo GAA

Sligoman1234 (Sligo) - 12/08/2019 08:10:33

Sligo Club Fixtures 2019 - 1 Like(s)
Fixtures were ratified by County Board this week so two groups of 5 and we'll have three 8's in leagues withing two years. Personally I think the three 8's in leagues is a good move and we should be doing the same in Championship. For a county our size it doesn't make sense having teams in both Senior and Intermediate championships who are only fighting for survival year after year. I do agree though that two fives with only one in relegation is a bit stale. Only battle will be at bottom of the table after round 3. Why not give an incentive to clubs to push for first by giving them a route to semi-final as has been suggested. But in any event it's immaterial now as they've been adopted.

Sligoman1234 (Sligo) - 15/02/2019 20:05:32

Replying To leitrimforsam:  "Hands up and sadly I confirm that you are factually correct that Leitrim haven't beaten Sligo since 2011 in the Championship. Remarkable that Leitrim haven't beaten Sligo since in the championship. The only two reasons I can think of are 1. Maybe it was of injuries Leitrim had. 2. Maybe it's because Leitrim haven't played Sligo in the championship since. 3 I'm wondering if there was another reason If you can remember another reason please enlighten me. Thanks in advance We have defeated Sligo in the league since 2011 . Leitrim have won TWO fbd leagues since it started. Not sure how many times Sligo won the Fbd league. The only thing I know it of all the five counties in the province Sligo are a commendable fifth best as the most successful county. 2."
Perhaps it's that on the day Sligo were better than Leitrim??? Did that ever occur to you? While ya were trawling the archives you'd have found that Leitrim haven't beaten Sligo in league since 2008 the year we were both relegated. Sligo were in a higher division from then on until they went to Division 4 in 2019 when Leitrim were in Division 3 and in 2020,2021,2022 were beaten by Sligo. As for FBDs I haven't a notion how many any team has one because it's a meaningless competition. Yer good neighbours in Longford found that out with O'Byrne cup win. My point is I find it laughable how year after year Leitrim supporters come on these forums full of gusto about how they've a great record against Sligo or find some folly excuse to explain why they lost. Sligo statistically are better than Leitrim…not that it matters a whole pile anyway bar local bragging rights as neither are near close to any of the other 3 counties in Connacht.

Sligoman1234 (National) - 28/03/2023 16:47:25

2021 Club Season - 1 Like(s)

Replying To Rossiemad:  "I'm just wondering how man teams qualify from the groups? Is it the top team straight through to the semi finals, with 2nd & 3rd of each group going through to a quarter final?"
Top two teams go to semi finals. Bottom two go to relegation semis and third is just safe.

Sligoman1234 (Sligo) - 24/08/2021 19:54:39

And I didn't think the weekend could go much better after our performance but by god fair play Leitrim…to those posters here on about the ifs and buts and calls in the league game between us ye got yer answer now. Leitrim under Andy have made zero progress. Fitness wise and strength and conditioning wise they are not at the races and it will be an awful blot on his copybook going forward to be the first manager to lose to New York. Tbf New York had a fair outfit of lads who have plenty of medals to back up their ability. They smelt blood and fair play to them they took it. Wishing ye the best in Tailteann but every other county will be wishing yer in their group too

Sligoman1234 (National) - 10/04/2023 11:57:59

Sligo 2019 - 1 Like(s)

Replying To Sligonian:  "Taylor Resign please, your not the source of our issues but you are a symptom of the choices of an incompetent county board. Given the results which show to me a lack of learning or progress, conceding 3-17 today to Offaly, not a div2 side, a side that's struggled to stay in div 3 is unacceptable. The worst year in a long time if ever for our Seniors. We are in danger of throwing away all the good work at underage if Taylor stays."
Judging by his interview with Ocean FM he's in no rush out the door. This man I'm afraid is better cut out for politics than football with him trying to flog the same story again as he was all year. Saying they're doing all the right things, working hard, young team etc. If he were getting the most out of them Sligo wouldn't have the results they had all year. Time to see how strong the new chairman is because we got rid out outside managers for far better outcomes.

Sligoman1234 (Sligo) - 24/06/2019 09:48:21

Replying To Sligowizard:  "So with the last game of the league essentially a dead rubber, div 3 status confirmed for 2025, how do we see the rest of the year panning out? What would success look a like? Avoid a trimming from Galway provided we get by Leitrim and try and go on a TC run. Will we get to see the diegnan brothers, the 2 Walshes, Keaney or Marren at some point? Can we get promotion next year, perhaps yes with a bit of luck."
I think Division 3 will be tougher next year with Kildare coming down and probably Fermanagh. Also what's coming up from Division 4 will put in a better show than Limerick and Wicklow did so even tougher to survive next year.

Sligoman1234 (National) - 18/03/2024 18:07:54

Replying To leitrimlad15:  "Kick in the teeth is right. It will be the eradication of hurling in the smaller counties and the top boys don't care. I never seen the sense of splitting out the leagues so much across 6 divisions. I know competitiveness for team, but no young player ever grows up with ambition to play in Division 5 or 6. There is a good few counties in same region that I would like to see amalgamate as part of a divisional team and let them play at higher level. The system now doesn't work where teams are essentially divided across county council lines. There is between 2B and 3B or the bottom 3 Divisions that are geographically close. • Leitrim, Mayo, Roscommon, Sligo • Armagh, Cavan, Monaghan, Fermanagh, Donegal Any thoughts?"
Sligo, Roscommon and Mayo are operating at a much higher level than some of the teams you mentioned there. Easkey lead the charge for sligo and have reached all Ireland finals and same for Toreen in Mayo. I'd argue that both clubs could probably beat the likes of Leitrim, Fermanagh and Cavan. Tbh the proposal has some sense in it. It's huge money and has not grown club hurling numbers. Would it be acceptable for a county with two or three clubs in football to field at county level? Would it not make sense for Longford, Leitrim, Fermanagh and Cavan to join up and play a proper club league and championship within it. There'd be 10 teams in that if I read correctly. Then you could pick a combined team to enter the league and see how they fair out in Division 2A.

Sligoman1234 (National) - 09/11/2023 16:50:52