Sligo Forum

Popular Posts from Maggiepie

Where exactly are we now - 2 Like(s)

Replying To Sligonian:  "Sligo county board will probably stick with Carew as he is the easy option but it's not a positive decision, if I were involved Id go after Gallagher or Horan, no harm in trying, Wexford hurlers got their man last year because the chairman made it happen simple as that"
Well a Chairman should be a reflection of the vision of the County Board, who in turn should be a reflection of the wishes of the Clubs and the GAA fraternity in general. You will notice that this is the case in the more vibrant counties. Sadly at the moment we are served by apathy and the " cat and mouse" game going on at the moment over the Senior manager exemplifies this.The manager has thrown the ball into the County Board's lap and it appears that they have not got the bottle to thank him for his services and set about the process of finding a replacement. Most posters are in agreement that while Carew has done no harm, he has also done no good. What will a fourth term achieve, other than his luck will run out and we will not escape relegation on the last day as in the past three years? Apart from the odd game , attendances are poor and surely, soon, the penny will drop with the CB, that patrons are withholding their support .

Maggiepie (Sligo) - 02/08/2017 19:49:44

Sligo 2019 - 2 Like(s)

Replying To Sligonian:  "I guess like most I was worried about the start, carlow, down and laois is a tough start, with down losing so badly that makes our next game a must win, will be a huge achievement to stay this year. One thing are there any coaches that can teach our teams to beat a blanket defence and play and make use of the wind, it's embarrassing how bad we are in that regard. All any team has to is set up the blanket and attack at pace, simple easy and boring."
Currently all any team playing Sligo have to do,is sit back and wait for them to give them the ball. Happened half a dozen times yesterday. But your assertion that it's easy and simple is wrong and is probably the root cause why teams like Sligo,Fermanagh,Carlow are so wedded to it. Done correctly it's a good strategy BUT doing it correctly takes hours and hours of practice . Also until the current mindset among coaches of "setting up to prevent scores " changes to,how can we ""score more than the opposition " nothing will change. In rugby you can't pass the ball forward and it's easy to ref that , why not make the hand pass in Gaelic football,forward only. Very easy to ref that.

Maggiepie (Sligo) - 28/01/2019 14:58:47

Club Championships 2019 - 2 Like(s)

Replying To eoinog:  "Met lots of Tourlestrane supporters. They have had enough. 6 points this year against Pearses. 5 points last year against Ballintubber. Best team in Sligo but with the tactics employed in Connacht an absolute embarrassment. Expect a change.."
Tourlestrane's style of football is good enough for probably the weakest club scene in the country, but is so poor measured against anything else. Statistics don't lie! As said on many previous occasions,the structure of the championship in Sligo is pathetic. Whatever about the league - there should never be meaningless matches in a championship. If a business was ran the way the championship is ran in Sligo it would be insolvent within a year. On a broader level,coaches are being shown up all over the country for their lack of understanding of the fundamentals of the game. Trying to impose strategies from rugby and soccer and make GAA players adhere to this, is dishonest and disrespectful to the game. Gaelic football and hurling under the current rules ,is a spontaneous game with no offside , and that was its great attraction for the public. Some recent county finals were testamount to the negative influences that have infected the game and that is why very few neutrals bother going to games anymore. Winning a county championship in front of a handful of supporters hardly merits to be called success,especially if the best you can do the next day is score a half-dozen points.

Maggiepie (Sligo) - 07/11/2019 13:02:58

Kerry V Dublin - 2 Like(s)

Replying To traleeexile:  "Lets hope for a dry day come Sunday afternoon and that Kerry do themselves justice and that all our players give it their best. I have a sneaking feeling we might do it..........."
Well it will be a wet sod at best if not a wet day. I don't think the conditions will influence the result as both counties have a long tradition of dealing with the elements and just getting on with it. As an outsider looking in the question I would ask is , are Kerry as close to Dublin as Offaly were to Kerry in 82?

Maggiepie (Kerry) - 30/08/2019 11:09:24

Leitrim GAA thread - 2 Like(s)

Replying To eoinog:  "If you look over the posts from the last few weeks on this site you will see that you had lost the run of yourselves. Saying that if you beat Sligo in the final fixture you will be promoted was ignoring the games in between. Now that your backs are to the wall I expect you will win all your remaining games and still be in the melting pot when you hit Markievicz Park in a few weeks. As for our chances, London winning today will certainly keep us grounded. We have a difficult game next week. We need to get something out of it."
Well lately instead of putting on comedy cds I just log on to the Leitrim forum for a few laughs. Honestly they were only stopping just short of saying that they would be contenders for Sam once Andy figured out the way to the jacks in Pairc Mhic Diarmadha.

Maggiepie (National) - 20/02/2022 18:52:08

Sligo 2019 - 1 Like(s)

Replying To NewSligofan:  "U20s were not allowed come together till march 1st. County board wouldn't ratify a manager till the February meeting. Cummins was begged to take it again even though he didn't want it. Clubs aren't letting some players go in to the set up now. The whole county is a mess. Peter Greene was brought in years ago to sort out the financial mess. It's time a Director of Football was brought in to sort this mess."
"The whole county is a mess". I couldn't agree more and who is to blame? The answer , the leadership from CB. This day has been on the horizon for a good few years and was only averted by good fortune and some wrangling on the last day of the leagues for the past 3 years. Taylor's handling of Towey is a disgrace and only highlights the closed mind mentality of all who are governing Sligo football affairs currently. We have the same resources as Monaghan and less than Leitrim or Fermanagh so I don't want to hear any excuses in that dept.

Maggiepie (Sligo) - 04/03/2019 14:18:09

Armagh - 1 Like(s)

Replying To Sligonian:  "Eoinog, pointman do you see us winning this? Any specific tactics ye would employ against Armagh?"
Well a good start would be to score more goals and points than Armagh.Im convinced that if we do that we should win regardless of the referee's performance.

Maggiepie (Sligo) - 21/06/2018 12:36:45

NY 2017 - 1 Like(s)

Replying To eoinog:  "I am very worried about the trip to New York. We will struggle big time with the heat, humidity, and the Astro Pitch."
Eoinog, Dont be so worried , last time i checked I didnt see your name on the panel and its unlikely you will be drafted in at this stage. On a more serious note a defeat could well happen and if it did it would be an embarrassment for us all. But a win is no big deal either as my believe is that for Sligo to make any progress at all they must first get out of Div 3 and become competitive in Div 2 for a few years.The All Ireland series as it is currently structured is nothing more than a ''round robin'' series designed in such a way that the large counties will be in contention for as long as possible.The invention of the super 8 series only copperfastens this. What good does it do a weaker county to win a few games even against a stronger county only to possibly meet them again and get hammered? The League tells you where you stand-you are in a section with 7 other teams and if your good enough you beat them all , if not you stay put. The All - Ireland series is for the elite and the hierarchy would be embarrassed if the likes of Sligo or Louth made it to the Final. Probably change the rules the following year.

Maggiepie (Sligo) - 23/04/2017 21:03:32

Sligo 2020 - 1 Like(s)

Replying To Timmy86:  "must be the shortest year ever ,all over in February, bring 2021"
This is a leap year , so it's longer. It's all the fault of the Cumann na mBunscoill , these games at halftime have gone to the heads of all those fellas that have come through the system. They think it's the real thing. Well the days of a ref carrying a tissue in his pocket to clean your nose if you get a rap or dry your tears if you ,God forbid, get hurt in front of your parents are well and truly over, but some of what's playing now don't seem to have got the message. Anyway as long as the club standard is deteriorating, the county team cannot improve. Enough of messages have been posted down the years protesting about the club set up , particularly the championship, and the County Board have ignored every good suggestion. Once more , what will improve the standard of County footballer is a meaningful senior and intermediate championship, where there is only one chance to get back in after a defeat. How it is structured I don't mind ,but having two or three meaningless matches, most played on a Sat evening or Sun morning in front of a handful of spectators is ruining the game in Sligo. The measure of that is the performance of the County champions in all grades in the Connacht championship.

Maggiepie (Sligo) - 23/02/2020 11:20:15

Horrific Clash !!! - 1 Like(s)

Replying To Tommy Murphy:  "How could this happen ? Our HURLERS are in Croke Park on June 23rd in their Lory Meagher Final and our FOOTBALLERS are in Markievicz Park the same day v Armagh. Gerard O'Kelly Lynch is on BOTH teams. Could the Armagh game not be played on Sunday ? Who is responsible for this mess ?"
Sligo hurlers obviously, what were they doing qualifying for Croke Park in the first place. As for the CB articulating a case, well W B will be lining out for us before that ever happens. You could not make this stuff up!

Maggiepie (Sligo) - 11/06/2018 21:50:19

Sky 2019 Coverage - 1 Like(s)
Its all about maximizing the revenue potential ie; money. The super 8's are a disaster!

Maggiepie (National) - 29/04/2019 21:04:11

Tipp Senior Hurling 2017 - 1 Like(s)

Replying To fergo:  "God love you Maggie. Are you from Tipp? I doubt it because if you were you would understand our mentality. It may be grand for Sligo et al to play in a Connacht final once every 20 years but we are a different breed in Tipperary. We expect our men (and women) to be winners. We don't glorify moral victories. God love you, a great game? We couldn't care less, we lost. We didn't win. Period. We want to win. We expect to win. And when we don't win, we want answers why. Contradictions? God love you. Sligo do have a good soccer team though. Maybe ye should stick to that."
As I thought from your post, an arrogant, self centred person, but not a reflection on the majority of followers. Just ask yourself one question, if Tipperary were to win every game they played in to make you happy, what would be the point in having competition at all?

Maggiepie (Tipperary) - 09/08/2017 16:43:12

Meath in the Qualifiers - 1 Like(s)

Replying To townbuck:  "A poor game. Hopefully new management on the way."
A woeful game, a huge crowd, the majority of whom felt that they were ripped off by the standard on display. This was a game that highlighted everything that is wrong in the current game. Both teams were so negative, the players were programmed to stick to a system regardless of what opportunity presented itself. The only reason Meath won, was, because like what happened Sligo in the Antrim game they saw defeat staring them in the face and a few players, particularly Tobin the no 14 deviated from the game plan and tried a few long range points which came off. We tried ONE in the first half and lo and behold it went over the bar. Next time I looked out on the field , not one Sligo player in the Meath half and a gale behind us. We could have been 6 points up at half time if we had any courage. In the second half, we couldnt hit a barn door if it was the size of Newgrange and Tara combined. The Sligo style of football as currently practised is a clone of whats going on in numerous other counties, it is designed to contain, not win, hence after three years of unimaginative slog and boredom, we are in exactly the same place as we were when the current management took over. Thats fine, if that is what the County Board want, but the supporters wont wear it much longer.

Maggiepie (Sligo) - 03/07/2017 10:21:25

End of Season stuff - 1 Like(s)

Replying To eoinog:  "I had also a line in it that outsider managers are not cheap but moderators must have deemed it inappropriate as they took it out. Any small little bit of controversial stuff never gets on to the Sligo Hogan Stand. Other counties get away with murder. This probably won't get posted either."
Other county's allow critical analysis and also win things. Not so in Sligo, I've had about 20 posts censored and no feedback as to the reason. Not healthy.

Maggiepie (Sligo) - 11/01/2018 15:51:38

New Sligo Manager - 1 Like(s)

Replying To Benbulben:  "4 home games in the league next year and every chance to gain promotion, all we need now is a manager."
.....and an assistant, selectors, a forwards coach, a backs coach , a strength and conditioning coach, two statistions , a psychologist, a dietitian, a kit person , a doctor , a physiotherapist and ohh I nearly forgot , 30 descent footballers.

Maggiepie (Sligo) - 13/10/2017 12:51:14

Roscommon match - 1 Like(s)

Replying To moros:  "Well done yesterday on making it a right good game. Sligo were very good in the first half and have a few ace players particularly Hughes and Murphy who I liked at under21level. Black card was shocking at it should be abolished. debate there for another day. For all its worth I thought ye ran out of steam in the second half and thats when Ros really showed their division one standard . Another thing ye will have to watch out for is the amount of goal chances ye have away. Ros could have got at least three or four more. Very best in the qualifiers and I genuinely hope and feel ye can go on a run."
Longford ran at Sligo in the League and cut them to pieces and you would wonder what management were at since to address this. Its a bit lame saying that players didnt put in the work rate in the second half. Most of the players I saw were out on their feet trying to implement a game plan that was totally unrealistic.

Maggiepie (Sligo) - 13/06/2016 20:33:13

Galway V Sligo - Salthill June 3Rd - 1 Like(s)

Replying To Sligonian:  "Pointman -Your a negative pessimist not a realist, I believe in whats possible so I had a far idea we could get hammered too but will always be willing to back the Players publicly before the match and try and see a way we could win. Opinions aren't facts either but i feel its best to be as positive as you can before matches as a supporter.

How is it an obsession with FOD, he interviewed for the job but Corey beat him because the guys making decisions in Sligo football shouldn't within a million miles of the CB, do you honestly think that looks sane now and even then with both their previous CVs? So what if Roscommon people were torn, not everyone is happy with Managers of any team, that was a lot to do with club rivalry. He still won a minor All Ireland and Connacht senior with teams who overachieved.

To what extent are any of ye the barometer of opinion in Sligo football as a supporter or Coach? What have yee done? What has your horse manure friend done and newSligofan?

Who's your local candidates Pointman then and why?
Were yee at the Galway game, give us your tactical nous and knowledge review? Ye hardly went to see us lose by 21pts?

Carew and Corey were always going to fail miserably, they had never managed at intercounty level. That's the key rather than if there inside or outside choices. Carew had earned it more I will say as a selector.

Look forward to yere answers"
In the rush to bury Sligonian, a lot of home truths that he raises will be buried also and if this form is to have any value or be a catalyst for change then the valid points that he raises need to be explored and debated. Obviously his exuberant optimism before the Galway game was totally misplaced, but, that can be attributed to innocently believing that you can wish a victory, as opposed to evaluating the the strengths and weaknesses of both teams. Had he done the latter , he would have come to the conclusion that, Sligo were going to be beaten out the gate. This discussion should therefore be about what led to this and sadly this week is not long enough to list all the endemic and structural failures currently embedded in Sligo GAA . But top of that list is the current leadership direction coming from the County Board. As has oft been stated on this site, the whole set up reeks of an 'old boys club' and this was never more evident than last year when I said on HS that Carew would have to go or there would be no team. Within an hour Carew received a call from the CB offering another year, no discussion about strategy, no planning and no consultation with the players. At least the players put an end to that 'solo-run' pardon the pun, but until we have intelligent leadership coming from the top, nothing will change.

Maggiepie (Sligo) - 15/06/2018 15:23:24

Sligo 2019 - 1 Like(s)

Replying To The_analyser:  "I don't think anyone told Sligo that they were already into the semi final regardless of the U17 result v us last Friday? Playing a full strength team and putting in a huge effort to over turn our healthy half lead backfired for Sligo management especially when that semi final was five days later. Letting a well rested Mayo back into the championship was the last thing Sligo should have done, the chance of beating Mayo twice in one year was slim and more so when the game was played in MacHale Park."
That is correct and when I say that our team managers and the Co. Board lack football nous, this is what I'm talking about. Anybody can put out cones , hold fancy drills and carry a laptop and talk a good game , it's the smartness and cunning to outfox the opposition, that is the downfall of all Sligo teams.

Maggiepie (Sligo) - 27/06/2019 15:06:24

Qualifiers - 1 Like(s)
Sligo ended up the game the better team , but for 45 minutes most Sligo supporters were dismayed with the level of performance and only for an injury to Mark Breheny and the resulting red card we could have lost. Up to that point we were a shambles going forward. Marren spent most of the first half out around the middle, soloing up and down the sideline that I thought that he must have had a bird in the stand that he was trying to impress. Don't anybody tell me that Coen was 8 points a better player in the second half than the first! If Breheny didnt get injured he could well have been the next substitute. Antrim were so bad that they scored only one point in the second half in added time. They got three presents courtesy of the shambolic posing that passes for Sligo defending. A favourable draw may get us one step more, but the longer we stay, the more likelihood another Hyde Park style massacre will occur, and what purpose will that serve? We may be well down the pecking order at the moment but we are far better than the first half offering last Saturday.

Maggiepie (Sligo) - 19/06/2017 08:18:20

Sligo GAA thread - 1 Like(s)

Replying To Hoofhearted:  "Another great performance by a Sligo football team at the weekend. Kildare pushed the Dubs, Sligo drew with Kildare and the Dubs are one of the favourites for the AI. Wouldn't it be some crack if Sligo, Kildare and Roscommon qualified from that group. If the Rossies manage a win against Dublin this weekend, you never know. It will give Sligo confidence going into the Dublin game. I think Sligo and Roscommon have to get it into their heads that they can beat Dublin. I can see it now, Galway, Mayo, Roscommon and Sligo in the last 4 of the AI Championship !"
I think you are seeing it upside down.

Maggiepie (National) - 23/05/2023 11:11:04