Roscommon Forum

Popular Posts from dave1988

Roscommon Vs Monaghan - 5 Like(s)

Replying To FarneyLenny:  "Ah here don't get carried away, Monaghan handling errors and a dodgy penalty won it for Roscommon. They will still drop. A very mediocre performance from our lads and yee still just about managed it. But best of luck for rest of league"
Absolute nonsense and believe me I'm not getting carried away..we had 6 or 7 lads missing today so it was a well deserved win.

dave1988 (National) - 03/02/2019 19:07:05

The Next Senior Football Manager - 4 Like(s)

Replying To Gaa_lover:  "Didn't Shine not at full fitness and missed a number of group games scored more in the club championship this year than the Murtagh and Smiths?"
I'm not having a pop at donie shine.i have nothing but respect for the lad but id have the murtaghs and smiths ahead of him by a long way..

dave1988 (Roscommon) - 13/11/2018 20:33:50

Galway vs Roscommon - 4 Like(s)

Replying To Belclare1:  "Should be a good game all right but I feel the Mayo game we didn't perform at all and still won.. Roscommon will punish us as they have some deadly forwards.. They will also want to get us back for last year's Conn final.. Top 2 in Conn meet again..."
Brilliant. Mayo people will love that post

dave1988 (National) - 05/07/2017 10:25:50

Division One 2017 - 3 Like(s)
It's hard enough to beat kerry but when you have to take on the ref as well..very proud of the players performance and just when diarmuid came the difference he makes..I just hope we can keep him fit and injury free along with Harney

dave1988 (Roscommon) - 05/03/2017 18:40:40

Roscommon GAA thread - 3 Like(s)
Conor cox is getting plenty of attention for play acting Sunday. We also saw Sean Kelly do the same. It's happening in every county but I hate it and was embarrassed for Conor. It something's I definitely don't want to see players do and stop trying to get men sent off .

dave1988 (National) - 08/03/2023 14:21:27

The Next Senior Football Manager - 3 Like(s)

Replying To Cuckoosinging:  "Making a egit of himself"
I think seanie is allowed to have an opinion to be fair..he has given enough to roscommon gaa to be allowed say what he thinks and if he thinks someone in the county is good enough for the job well that's his opinion..

dave1988 (Roscommon) - 23/10/2018 14:32:59

Leitrim v Roscommon May 22nd - 3 Like(s)
I just saw the hoganstand team of the week and can't understand how they pick it..did Sean Percell have an outstanding game?how is seanie not in it.he was my motm.i think they just pick it at random.

dave1988 (Roscommon) - 23/05/2016 10:58:07

Donegal : NFL 2017 - 3 Like(s)
Safe travels to all ye travelling to Roscommon town tomorrow.lets hope it's a good game

dave1988 (Donegal) - 11/02/2017 12:09:43

Replying To ross4sam11:  "Can't imagine any upper tiers will open, be very surprised if more than 25k are in attendance all at the one time.. especially if the weather is bad.. I for one won't fancy hanging around to listen to that vile "Mayo mayo mayo" Chant and hear more delusion about "mayo for sam".."
Well I definitely will be hanging around for second game. Should be a great game. Think the two games will be good open games. Let's be honest no set of supporters are easy listen to including ourselves.

dave1988 (National) - 01/04/2022 11:58:15

Connacht FBD 2022 - 3 Like(s)

Replying To Belclare:  "[quote=The_analyser:  "The only difference in player availability I would think is the Rossies would have more out due to Club commitments with the Pearses guys unavailable. We would have possibly two Naomh Anna lads on the panel and missing Mulkerrins now unfortunately. Not sure how many Faithleach guys would make the Ros panel. kiloughter (Galway) ------------------ Three from Faithleachs on the panel, the Murtaghs brothers are first choice players. Apparently 8 from Pearses with 4 or 5 are starters We have a number of injuries to establish players Niall Kilroy, Sean Mullooly, Brian Stack, Conor Hussey and Colm Lavin and we are so light on options at the moment especially defensively."
God ye have some panel... Definitely favourites for Sam maguire to add to the list ye already have..."]Think he was just answering a question from a Galway supporter and answered the question with facts. All them players are missing and probably won't be back for the first few games of the league and I can guarantee we will be in a relegation battle with the team we started with in the dome last Friday night. Some of them lads just aren't good enough for that level.

dave1988 (National) - 17/01/2022 12:52:10

NFL Division 4 - 3 Like(s)
Congratulations Leitrim

dave1988 (National) - 03/03/2019 18:45:57

Tough one to take yesterday. Cian picking up a nasty knee injury early yesterday was hard on the team to . Really expected ref to blow up after donie scored and we were very slow to get organised and stop strokestown getting the winner. I hope Cian Smith gives it one more year and see what happens then he leaves and steps up to maybe county underage as manager Coach whatever he decides. I just think he has a massive future In management and few more years experience in managing different clubs underage intercounty or whatever will do him no harm. Well done to all the lads and heads up and go again next year . As for the county senior manager announcement on Wednesday I think everyone in the Hyde yesterday had one eye on the game and the other to see if they could spot a certain someone. People saying Burke was there but I don't know I didn't see anyone. If he was then he's going to be announced Wednesday night. Also well done to Strokestown and hope Paddy Brogan was ok after his injury yesterday.

dave1988 (National) - 24/10/2022 13:32:02

Trouble Ahead - 3 Like(s)

Replying To The_analyser:  "Now that its confirmed I'd like to thank Kevin McStay and wish him all the best in his retirement. It was frustrating that we were so easy to score against but that was probably more to do with placing too much faith in the coaching of McHale when we needed a better coach to improve us in defence but saying all that if the next manager leaves us in Div one and wins us a Connacht title i'll be more than happy."
Ya best of luck to him .. seems like an honest man who loves football and really done his best with roscommon. One or two brilliant days but unfortunately alot of bad days. Any ideas for a new manager??I really can't think of anyone inside the county that would be any good..please no1 mention cake as a potential manager

dave1988 (Roscommon) - 05/09/2018 20:36:24

Dublin V Roscommon - 2 Like(s)

Replying To kingdomfan:  "Cox is a big strong lad but wouldn't fit into the current Kerry set up."
He has an unbelievable right boot on him...i think he would add something to any team

dave1988 (National) - 04/03/2019 14:28:55

Roscommon v Meath - 2 Like(s)

Replying To grahamc9897:  "He knows exactly what he's doing ! Just trying to wind people up !!"
It's just a bit of banter.id imagine RD is laughing at the amount of people who fall for it.

dave1988 (National) - 24/01/2018 10:54:17

Roscommon V Meath Row - 2 Like(s)
If David Gough just sent off one Armagh and one Tyrone player would anyone even be talking about what happened. Ok it's not great to see but it happens every week.

dave1988 (National) - 08/02/2022 11:09:24

Roscommon GAA thread - 2 Like(s)

Replying To letsgetgoing:  "Very strange game yesterday that could have gone either way. I felt that the manner in which the Derry manager Rory Gallagher approached the game was very poor and does no service to our great game. 1. He never stopped complaining to the linesmen and referee from the first minute to the last and should have been yellow carded much earlier and red carded before the end. He is certainly not showing a good example to his players and support staff about being cool under pressure. 2. He clearly set him team out to immediately intimidate the Roscommon team in the second half, by hitting / pulling off the ball, sledging (Chrissy McKaigue in particular). Roscommon had no option but to react which resulted in a terrible second half. I also acknowledge that we not a team of angles ourselves. 3. His style of play / coaching with 15 men behind the ball is destroying the game again. Himself and Jim McGuinness have a lot to answer for! I believe that players of the quality of Chrissy McKaigue, Brendan Rogers, Conor Glass and Shane McGuigan etc deserve more. At least Roscommon have moved on somewhat, from a similar negative game plan which existed last year. I personally thought that the referee lost control of the game and both teams can feel hard done by. The best thing that you could say about his performance was that he was consistently inconsistent. I thought that the RTE's coverage of the game was very poor. There was no real discussion on the major talking point from a Roscommon perspective of why the referee pulled back Cathal Heneghan when through on an open goal which may have put Roscommon 8 points clear. On a positive note: There was some excellent points scored when under severe pressure. We created several goal and point chances which we did not take. Hopefully we can improve on our score taking over the next few weeks. Keith Doyle looks to be developing well in the last few games and gives us a good option if Nolan or Harney are having an off day. In fact he is really put his hand up for selection. All our mid fielders, including Doyle look to have improved their fitness and mobility and speed around the park since last year. We showed a bit of fight when we went behind while playing against the strong wind, to get a draw. Hopefully we will have lots of supporters in Tullamore next Sunday, as Offaly have improved significantly since the start of the season. We really have to beat both Offaly and Galway to get promotion this year. I think we can do it if the team plays to its potential."
Ya few people around me yesterday were saying how good Nolan looked on and off the ball. He's very comfortable on the ball and as you said he can definitely move. I'm delighted Harney is staying fit because I rate him as one of our best footballers. If he stays fit he's going to be so important for us. Think he's been brilliant this year in midfield. Doyle really impressed me yesterday for the short time he was on and he's another lad who's mobility as just improved so much I can't understand. For the u20s last year he looked stiff and slow but was always a very good intelligent footballer and he's only going to get better. He took his point very well under so much pressure. One player I really thought would be brought into panel is Conal Kennelly. Saw him a good few times this year and was really impressed with him. Is he part of panel or training with team ?

dave1988 (National) - 14/03/2022 14:54:23

Division One 2017 - 2 Like(s)
I think this is our physically strongest team plus 6 good scoring forwards..I'm actually happy he didn't start murtagh.

dave1988 (Roscommon) - 15/03/2017 20:23:58

Next week will show how much we have improved mentally. If we can overcome cork it would be great but over the years we don't recover after a defeat like that in 6 days. The fact we looked so tired is my biggest concern right now. We looked like a team just knackered after a long hard year. Hopefully players get plenty of rest and can put in a massive 70 mins next weekend because if we are as slow paced as yesterday cork will run us off the pitch

dave1988 (National) - 19/06/2023 09:53:21

Replying To SligoScot:  "would love to see a Connacht winner of AI U20. Standard appears good. Will the break be good or bad for the Rossies till the final ? I'd say Galway boys were rattled by Rossies leap frogging them to the final. Sligo look like they could be hitting form a the right time...serious second half v Mayo. Great round robin this year and can't hurt the development of all Counties going forward. Best of luck against Mayo this weekend. Sligeach abu"
Be great to see Sligo beating Galway.. I would think ye will give them plenty of it tomorrow. Walsh and comer have played no football in few months so opportunity is there for ye. Sligo Vs Roscommon final in senior and u20 would be great to see

dave1988 (National) - 19/04/2024 15:05:02