Roscommon Forum

Popular Posts from salvador

Mayo's double standard's - 7 Like(s)
Martin Carney has joined the Mayo campaign of outrage over the horrendous booing of Andy Moran who I'm certain couldn't give a toss. The hypocrisy here is so extraordinary It must be some sort of joke. Mayo are right up with the best of them when it comes to booing player's(Connolly, Murphy) referees and freetakers(yesterday, Martin you may have noticed)) Some of the poor delicate Mayo fans Mayo's holier than thou attitude is some laugh. People boo players at football matches shock horror. Maybe Croke Park should provide a safe space for traumatised fans?Moran kicked some scores and Smith kicked the equalizer despite the boos. Great atmosphere. Both sets fans would be better off being quiet for those two lads because they love scoring points when booed. I can't imagine a dub or any other fan becoming a minor celebrity if he ran on to the field to attack a referee either!

salvador (National) - 31/07/2017 21:12:40

Selective condemnation - 4 Like(s)
Calm down. I saw two Leitrim players punch Roscommon lads and not a peep..big deal it happens. Tyrone by a mile have been the biggest target for grossly unfair condemnation.In fact their is an Anti Ulster brigade in the media that will always find faults with Tyrone and Donegal when they come down and beat the Dubs or Kerry. Kerry are by far the dirtiest team in the last decade.They have ticked all the boxes and they seem to have a free licence for it and immunity from national condemnation. Mayo are the kings of simulation and are really pushing the boundries in this area with a massive free ratio. I find Dublin hard but fair along with the big 3 from Ulster.

salvador (National) - 06/06/2016 20:16:35

Connacht Senior Football Championship 2017 - 4 Like(s)
A few broken records still here.Probably be banned again when they overstep the mark and reappear with new names. Best ignored. Felt sad for Leitrim. but we showed well. Fitness and energy good. We are not in a bad place going to Salthill. Tonnes of work to do and totally written off.

salvador (Roscommon) - 19/06/2017 23:54:29

GAA Athletes For A NO Vote - 4 Like(s)
The GAA had no problems with prominent members and the GPA campaigning in the marriage referendum.

salvador (National) - 24/04/2018 12:57:17

Connacht Senior Football Championship 2017 - 4 Like(s)
Decent team named. Big day for Brian Stack and Tadhg O'Rourke. O'Rourke had a very good league and Stack is a fine young player. Despite what some think here I believe its a stronger team that started the Connacht Final replay last year or the Clare match for that matter. Get the win and hopefully start taking the Goal chances we have been wasting all year.

salvador (Roscommon) - 12/06/2017 21:21:28

Roscommon VS Mayo - 4 Like(s)
The tripe talk here is best ignored. Stick to the game. The Media take on the game is that Mayo will ignite and hit top gear in Croke Park and win comfortably. Its a fair assessment, Ros really only have one good championship win to our name and it now seems that Galway were caught on the hop. We are a promising young team a better one than last year who are championship fit but Mayo have a tonne of big time experience and know what it takes to win in Croker. They are physically bigger and its really David versus Goliath in that regard. I fully expect a good honest effort and lots of fight from our lads and see where it takes us. We need to be miles more clinical in front of goal to have a chance. Fully behind the lads.

salvador (Roscommon) - 26/07/2017 13:41:23

Dublin refusing to do one-on-one broadcast interviews - 4 Like(s)

Replying To Laois76:  "If you can create a bit of siege mentality in a camp what harm. Dublin want an angle to create an edge for themselves this year."
Agreed. Common practice in sports psychology to get the much sought after siege mentality. Its clearly a tactical move but it seems a bit overplayed. Nobody is buying the explanation.

salvador (National) - 25/06/2017 22:31:24

The Dubs Propaganda Machine - 4 Like(s)

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "The Dubs propaganda machine has kicked into gear proper this week with diamonds from manager Jim Gavin blaming cold play for Dean Rocks black card.

Also Charlie Redmonds attack on Jim McGuinness for calling Jim Gavin out on the Diarmuid Connolly fiasco.

And then last night I read Alan Brogan going to town on Nial Morgan for goading a player when the Dubs team under Pillar took that art to new heights them selves in the naughties.

Who's next on the Dubs propaganda hit list? Let's watch this space."
Their only catching up with ye in the propaganda game.

salvador (National) - 19/07/2017 21:16:58

Dublin refusing to do one-on-one broadcast interviews - 3 Like(s)
Jim Gavin has often said that the Dubs don't concern themselves about what is said about them in the media. Things have changed. I detect a psychological tactic (most likely emanating from their team psychologist) to encourage a siege mentality to help motivate and avoid complacency in their quest for the three in a row.

salvador (National) - 25/06/2017 20:20:48

Billy Keane - 3 Like(s)
I find Billy Keane the most nauseating writer in the national sports pages. Incessant ramblings about Kerry football and Munster rugby are his food and drink. And of course half the Dublin team are Kerrymen and the Mayo O'Sheas are Kerrymen and Jonny Sexton is a Kerryman............ A decent writer no doubt but not in the sports pages for me.

salvador (National) - 24/08/2016 20:27:15

Division One 2017 - 3 Like(s)

Replying To Mr_Pundit:  "I'm no Roscommon man matter of fact some think I'm anti Roscommon for speaking my mind. This time last year Roscommon had a panel of players that could compete with the best in division one. Right now Roscommon have a bottom division two panel trying to keep their heads above water in division one. You must have your head in the sand if you think quality players such as Conor Daly,Cathal Cregg,Niall Daly,Neil Collins,David Murray,Ultan Harney,Donie Shine,Diarmuid Murtagh wouldnt have made a difference today. With those players available Roscommon would have beaten that Donegal team in transition comfortably. Unfortunately for Roscommon with that defeat today it now looks certain relegation and probably without a win."
Your talking nonsense. Firstly Murray,D Murtagh and Harney are panel members and injured .Collins is taking time out and would be a starter. C Daly headed off last year and Niall looks to have done likewise after being taken off at half time up in Tyrone.D Shine and C Cregg wouldnt have made much if any differance today. Cregg was taken off against Clare and Galway and Donie hasnt the legs for it after many injuries. Players opted out or dropped are the same lads that were in New York and hammered by Clare and Galway last summer! Roscommon have good young lads that want to play and will improve.Poor decision making and atrocious refereeing cost us today.We will get a win or two in the league and we will be more competitive in the championship.

salvador (Roscommon) - 12/02/2017 23:01:21

Confederate Flag - 3 Like(s)
I've often seen the Palestinian flag at major GAA matches, a flag which represents an elected governance who's attitude to human rights is appalling. Without going into detail on the horror It is particularly barbaric and discriminatory in respect to woman and gay people. Presumably it as seen as an Anti Israel flag by the people that bring it to Matches although I once spoke to a lad with one who just liked the flag..

salvador (National) - 15/08/2017 21:40:16

I think of English media when RTE describe Dublin. - 2 Like(s)

Replying To sam1884:  "I think the GAA should borrow the Euro 2016 model. 24 teams over six groups of 4 with a last 16 in the knockout stage. It would add excitement as most teams would stay in the main championship and have something to play for in the group stages with 4 third place teams going through. The other 9 counties outside the 24 are Div 4 teams who have there secondary competition."
Your on to something there..great idea! Of course its way to fair and transparant to all teams. Better just stick with the unfair and lopsided provencial system.

salvador (National) - 26/06/2016 20:49:17

Connacht Senior Football Championship 2017 - 2 Like(s)

Replying To Yondu:  "You are calling out nonsense on other posts but don't realize the nonsense you type yourself. Don't have the legs? Higgins and Shine are 28 they weren't fully fit before and when fit which both are right now are as good if not better than most Roscommon forwards on the panel and they have experience which a youthful Roscommon panel will miss big time this summer."
Welcome back. If fully Inter County fit these two fine servants to Roscommon would undoubtedly be an addition but they are not. You obviously didn't see Higgins in the league this year and as for experience maybe you don't recall our last championship match ie. C Cregg, Keenan, D Shine, N Daly. C Cregg was taken off early and D Shine made no impact before being subbed. But of course that was all management's fault as well. Feel free to red thumb.

salvador (Roscommon) - 21/05/2017 18:25:34

Dr Crokes vs S'neil - 2 Like(s)
Dreadful final. The red card destroyed the game. Crokes brought negative cynical nasty football to a whole new level today, foul after foul and not a black card to be seen and the sight of Crokes players begging the ref to send off the Derry midfielder was quite awful. Slaughtneil came to play football and did not get a fair deal today. Deegan left his black cards at home.

salvador (National) - 17/03/2017 19:10:01

Connacht Senior Football Championship 2017 - 2 Like(s)

Replying To Gaa_lover:  "Its a manager job to A get the best panel together and team out on the field and B to get the best out of the players he has with right tactics and game plan. So far he doesn't tick either A or B box and remember Kevin McStay was brought in because it was believed to be a good manager and the progress made under Evans brought up from div 3 to Div 1 would be built on. BTW i got both Connacht championship game predictions spot on so far and i have gone on record to say Leitrim London would be the hardest game to call more so now when Leitrim are without their best player."
That's two serious prediction's in fairness. Sligo to beat New York and then Mayo to beat Sligo. Who'd have taught it eh.

salvador (Roscommon) - 21/05/2017 19:02:41

I think of English media when RTE describe Dublin. - 2 Like(s)

Replying To waynoI:  "Doesnt matter what the gaa do. There will still be hammerings week in week out with the big teams not getting started until knock out. Dublin didnt even need to turn on the engine and we cruised through that."
Yes their will be hammerings.However Each team will play the exact same amount of games against similer opposition. Dublin/Kerry and Mayo in recent years have had a massive advantage over the top Ulster sides.Totally and utterly unfair.No one can dispute that fact.

salvador (National) - 26/06/2016 21:49:59

Down footballers 2017 - 2 Like(s)
Well done Down. A credit to the famed red and black shirt Brilliant win. I hope we have the same attitude and desire in a few weeks.

salvador (Down) - 24/06/2017 23:43:44

Longford V Meath - 2 Like(s)

Replying To Loyalroyal17:  "Going in as underdogs is going to suit us Sunday week. We are written off before we even get there but thats grand nothing new there. Remember the old saying lads....you havent beaten Meath until your on the bus home. Play like we did last week with Reilly in top gear and i have no fear for this game. Meath by 4pts."
Meath are the raging favourites .Underdog's Longford are 5/2 which makes them rank outsiders. Going in as underdog's will suit Longford.

salvador (National) - 17/05/2018 09:41:14

Fermanagh V Monaghan - 2 Like(s)

Replying To neverright:  "It gives me no satisfaction to see a Mayo poster accepting that winning is beyond them. With a defeatist like attitude like that how can you ever hope to capture Sam again? BTW where does it say that football games have to be entertaining?"
Mayo well capable of winning Sam this year as are Kerry and Galway. Dublin are a wonderful team but they are beatable. Imagine Galway won Sam before Mayo!

salvador (National) - 04/06/2018 23:37:14