Offaly Forum

Popular Posts from PortInFaithful

The Immortal Brick - 5 Like(s)
Michael 'Brick' Walsh, what a warrior. Delighted to see him commit to a 15th season with the Waterford senior hurlers. At 35 years old, and after this year's All-Ireland final heartbreak he could be forgiven if he decided to retire but 2017 was arguably his best season in a Waterford jersey. Legend.

PortInFaithful (National) - 21/12/2017 10:14:54

Unique club colours - 5 Like(s)
Glen Rovers in Cork wear green, black and amber. Glen's original colours were green, white and amber but in 1916 with the Easter Rising on they changed the white to black to honour the leaders of the Rising who were executed.

PortInFaithful (National) - 04/10/2017 15:34:55

Kerry hurlers - 4 Like(s)
Great victory for the Kerry hurlers today, beating Cork at senior for the first time in GAA history. A mighty win in Tralee regardless of Cork fielding a weakened team.

PortInFaithful (National) - 14/01/2018 17:29:57

Unique GAA Club Names - 4 Like(s)
JK Brackens in Templemore is named after a local builder Joseph Kevin Bracken, one of the founding members of the GAA. A Fenian and also a member of the Irish Republican Brotherhood. Bracken's son Brendan was a British government minister and Winston Churchill's right hand man during World War II.

PortInFaithful (National) - 01/11/2018 15:46:47

Dinner Dance Ticket Costs - 3 Like(s)

Replying To GreenandRed:  "What sort of dinner dance is that when ye have to bring bricks with ye?"
BYOB event.

PortInFaithful (National) - 12/02/2018 17:37:44

Hurling Championship Prediction Thread - 3 Like(s)
It's back by popular demand, the hurling championship prediction thread for 2019 is here. So, lads and lassies, the competition gets underway on Saturday 11 May and will run the exact same as last year. We will cover all five tiers of the All Ireland championship from the MacCarthy, McDonagh, Ring, Rackard and Meagher Cups. I will post up the fixtures for the weekend ahead and you need to predict the result of each of these games. You must also post your predictions on this thread before throw-in of the first game of the weekend. It will run along the same lines as the league with the addition of a score margin of 1-5, 6-10 or 11+. How to score: 2 points for a win 5 points for a draw 2 points for correct score margin (three options, 1-5, 6-10 or 11+) (Only the result after normal time (70 minutes) is counted) EXAMPLE: Leinster SHC round 1 Kilkenny v Dublin - Kilkenny 1-5 Galway v Carlow - Galway 11+ Munster SHC round 1 Waterford v Clare - Waterford 1-5 Cork v Tipperary - Cork 1-5 Joe McDonagh Cup round 1 Antrim v Kerry - Kerry 1-5 Offaly v Laois - Offaly 1-5 Christy Ring Cup round 1 Down v Derry - Derry 1-5 Roscommon v Kildare - Kildare 6-10 Meath v London - Meath 6-10 Donegal v Wicklow - Wicklow 11+ Nicky Rackard Cup round 1 Armagh v Monaghan - Monaghan 1-5 Louth v Sligo - Sligo 1-5 Longford v Warwickshire - Longford 1-5 Tyrone v Mayo - Mayo 6-10

PortInFaithful (National) - 24/04/2019 14:30:29

2017/18 Club Hurling Championship Thread - 2 Like(s)
There has been some distasteful comments made towards Slaughtneil which I don't agree with. They were flat in the second half, a bit like Na Piarsaigh in the first and I thought their skills weren't up to scratch. The wides killed them. Cuala were a joy to watch. The lesser lights like goalie Sean Brennan, the centre back Sean (sorry his second name escapes me!) and Nicky Kenny shone through and then Con O'Callaghan his first touch is incredible. Liam Mellows never gave up but they're just lacking in some deadly forwards. Question: Is Nicky Kenny related to Mattie the manager? Anyway we got the final we wanted.

PortInFaithful (National) - 12/02/2018 11:53:39

The Allianz HL Thread (for all Divisions) - 2 Like(s)
Hasn't been mentioned on this thread but well done to the Mayo on winning Division 2B. Another great boost for hurling in the county following Tooreen's Connacht title success and All-Ireland semi-final appearance.

PortInFaithful (National) - 21/03/2018 16:06:38

Offaly V Laois - 2 Like(s)
I fancy the Midlanders to win.

PortInFaithful (National) - 28/06/2019 17:12:44

All Ireland Club Hurling Championship - 2 Like(s)
The last game until the New Year. The Leinster final between Ballyhale and Ballyboden in Carlow on Sunday. Ballyhale have come through unscathed having played just one game! Beating Naomh Eanna by 6-21 to 4-11 in the semi final. Boden definitely didn't have it as easy as they needed extra time to win their two games against Clonkill and Coolderry. The Coolderry game was a belter so I heard. It should be a high scoring affair going on form. We all know about Ballyhale and their star performers like TJ Reid and Colin Fennelly. I fancy Boden to squeeze it though. They've a packed team and a strong bench too. Here's the remaining games: Sunday 2 December Leinster club SHC final Ballyboden St Endas (Dublin) v Ballyhale Shamrocks (Kilkenny), Netwatch Cullen Park, 2pm Date TBC (February) All-Ireland club SHC semi-finals Cushendall (Antrim) v St Thomas (Galway) Ballygunner (Waterford) v Ballyboden St Endas (Dublin) or Ballyhale Shamrocks (Kilkenny) Sunday 17 March All-Ireland club SHC final Cushendall (Antrim) or St Thomas (Galway) v Ballygunner (Waterford) or Ballyboden St Endas (Dublin) or Ballyhale Shamrocks (Kilkenny)

PortInFaithful (National) - 26/11/2018 14:41:28

Allianz Hurling League Prediction Thread - 2 Like(s)

Replying To Saffronhurl:  "Missed out on this but would be well interested if your doing a championship one"
Yes, we will have one for the championship. Feel free to join.

PortInFaithful (National) - 28/03/2018 12:03:58

All Ireland Club Hurling Championship - 2 Like(s)
Mullinalaghta becoming the first Longford team to qualify for the Leinster SFC final yesterday perfectly illustrates the beauty of the club championships. It's a mighty achievement for a small place like Mullinalaghta with a pick of about 400 people and probably unheard of at this level. But I'd like to mention the fact that for the first time ever there will be a club team from either Leitrim or Monaghan, to quote the legendary Micheal O Muircheartaigh, "neither a hurling stronghold", in an All Ireland final next year. Castleblayney came from five points down with 12 minutes remaining to beat John Mitchels in Birmingham yesterday to set up a date with Carrick. Also well done to Oranmore Maree on beating Tooreen in the Connacht IHC final on Saturday. Niall Burke scored 1-10 for the winners.

PortInFaithful (National) - 26/11/2018 14:57:19

2017/18 Club Hurling Championship Thread - 2 Like(s)

Replying To LooseCannon:  "There could've easily been a double header in OCP, or SBP"
There's a club football game in OCP on Sunday but yea a double header with some of those games could've been done. I thought Tullamore would be hosting Cuala and Liam Mellows. Semple is a strange decision.

PortInFaithful (National) - 15/01/2018 16:31:34

Replying To keeper7:  "Damien Martin?!?!"
Sorry I mean the boss Kevin Martin. I mixed Kevin with Damien Fox and got another Offaly legend!!!

PortInFaithful (National) - 29/01/2018 18:54:35

Allianz Hurling League Prediction Thread - 2 Like(s)
Here's the standings after round 2: Fairplayalways 24 katser 24 Byanthon 22 carlovia 22 PortInFaithful 20 Killarney.87 18 thelongridge 18 PoolSturgeon 18 preddan 18 Trump2020 16 Overall leaderboard: Byanthon 46 katser 44 PoolSturgeon 44 PortInFaithful 42 Trump2020 42 carlovia 40 Killarney.87 40 thelongridge 40 Fairplayalways 24 Shaughs 20 Skippy2 20 preddan 18 keeper7 16

PortInFaithful (National) - 04/02/2019 15:59:37

Up the Faithful!!!! Fantastic result.

PortInFaithful (National) - 27/01/2018 21:50:05

Eoin Doyle Sending Off - 2 Like(s)
He was given a yellow first as a warning for not wearing the gum shield and then a second yellow followed. Eoin Doyle only has himself to blame. Well done to David Gough.

PortInFaithful (National) - 26/02/2018 13:26:48

Replying To tiobraid:  "I agree fully that he should (never have and never will agree with the sweeper - esp the way Waterford utilise it) but all I'm saying is that he won't do it and if he's going back to the sweeper for the cship there's no pint changing anyway."
Waterford answered their critics with a fine win against Cork. Any reports on the game? Did McGrath set up differently? Good win for Offaly also and great to be in the quarter finals with round to go.

PortInFaithful (National) - 26/02/2018 13:32:41

On comparing both teams named, I'm confident of Offaly pulling off an upset in Croke Park later. Dublin have excluded some big names and we have a near full team. If the players can show the same fight and determination as they did against Kilkenny a few weeks ago we will be in with a shout.

PortInFaithful (National) - 27/01/2018 13:36:20

2017/18 Club Hurling Championship Thread - 1 Like(s)
Na Piarsaigh were superb in the second half after a relatively poor start. 4 Munster titles since 2011 is a serious achievement and full credit to them. I thought the two corner backs Mike Casey and Niall Buckley were outstanding and obviously Adrian Breen again. Pauric Mahony had an off the day with the frees but no excuses for Ballygunner they were simply overpowered.

NAP and Cuala would make for one of the best All-Ireland club finals in years but I have to give Kilcormac Killoughey a chance in two weeks time after yesterday's display. KK bullied Mount Leinster Rangers and these winter conditions suit them perfectly. A special mention to Conor Mahon and James Gorman while Dan Currams done really well after a broken leg.

PortInFaithful (National) - 20/11/2017 16:46:37