Popular Posts from Barney123

Graham Reilly - 23 Like(s)

Replying To royaldunne:  "Actually it sounds like he walked. After donegal game. But pointless in discussing it. He was a fantastic player and like ken rennicks at the wrong time. Again all the best to the man. He owes us nothing. And more importantly no one outside of himself and Andy have heard what actually went on , as it should be. Unlike a few others over the years. Class is permanent."
Jesus RD you were the one that was telling us he was injured then. Make up your mind. Nearly as bad as the time you claimed biggy was involved in 40% or 50% of every score Meath got in the championship and then couldn't back it up.

Barney123 (Meath) - 18/11/2019 21:31:32

Meath Vs Mayo - 23 Like(s)

Replying To latouche25:  "Well it's to be expected that Royal Dunne a la McEnroe, would bring out the CB spin. We achieved our goals for the year. The reality is. We scored 4 points in the Leinster final. The worst ever by a Meath team. We have played 2 games in the super 8's and have lost heavily in both. How or where have we improved under Mc Entee. He said he would put the foot back in Meath football, yet we are passing it more now than ever. Have we really gone to the point of bringing in a Louth man to help Meath football. The fact that he has his son on the team who is an average club player undermines his credibility. Kells have the best forward line in the county. Why is Hanlon Reilly or Matimo not on the panel. Indeed Oisin Reilly at midfield would be an option. If we want to improve its time to move on and bring in a manager who can unite the county. Mc Entee is to decisive"
Sure if we bring in 3 lads from Kells why not bring in the Kells goalkeeper as well? They're backs are also good so maybe Jonny Quigley?? We could have a kells man in the goals, backs, midfield and forwards.

Barney123 (Meath) - 23/07/2019 23:29:01

Meath V Carlow - 23 Like(s)

Replying To royaldunne:  "Not a bad looking team at all. Conlon could do very well in the corner. Still have dardis, biggy (who needs to seriously up his fitness levels). Campion, Devine really thought lynch did exceptional when he came on last day and I would not be adverse to him starting"
This is a revolutionary day on hoganstand Meath forum. Royaldunne for the first time has given Biggy a bit of criticism. It is thought Biggy is not happy with the criticism from his biggest fan and has reached out to arrange a meeting in the Greville Arms Hotel on Thursday to thrash this out.

Barney123 (Meath) - 21/05/2019 17:34:58

Meath V Donegal - 23 Like(s)

Replying To Evernal:  "Back to Mods trademark second half collapses......totally looked lost out there. Some bad decision making at crucial times. Seasons over now."
This is the problem with games on TV, lads who haven't a clue have some stupid assessment.

Barney123 (Meath) - 30/03/2019 21:29:47

Meath v Kildare Semi-final - 22 Like(s)

Replying To royaldunne:  "Graham Reilly injured his back during week. Or so I have been told, that would explain his lack of effort yesterday. Btw he has been the outstanding player during league and championship up to yesterday and after one bad game you want to take captaincy off him? What the f is wrong with some fickle Meath supporters. Christ grow up will yous"
First it was he was marked out of the game but now you have changed your mind and have rightfully acknowledged he was poor but the reason he was because he was injured. It keeps getting better.

Barney123 (Meath) - 18/06/2017 15:56:42

2019 Club Championship. - 22 Like(s)

Replying To summerof09:  "Not my cup of tea I'm afraid. I don't agree with the personal jibes for instance calling a young county player a party animal or another player a baldy maestro. I'm surprised Meath GAA approve of this type of thing. Why can't they they get proper reporting on matches. Take a look at the Dublin GAA website now. Match reports and round ups from club games this week."
I partly agree, I enjoy reading the blog but for such things to appear on the offical county board website and social channels is a bit strange in my opinion.

Barney123 (Meath) - 26/04/2019 17:22:46

UNDER 21S - 22 Like(s)
Really making a joke of the competition if the game is played in Dunganny, not even a scoreboard for the u21 top grade final in Meath club football, no wonder we have gone back so far. Should just cancel the competition if this is the way they will treat it.

Barney123 (Meath) - 22/11/2019 18:26:43

2019 Predictions? - 22 Like(s)

Replying To bert09:  "I don't see anything wrong with it especially for an O'Byrne cup game. We desperately need some competition for places within the team."
There are 3 goalkeepers in there not including Dardis. How many goalkeepers do you need?

Barney123 (Meath) - 05/01/2019 18:31:58

Meath v Kildare Semi-final - 21 Like(s)

Replying To royaldunne:  "I don't know, maybe when he has a bad game Meath lose. Its also a anti cilles thing , Flynn was never liked either."
Get a grip RD, it has nothing to do with the Cilles.

Barney123 (Meath) - 18/06/2017 21:39:16

New Managers - 21 Like(s)

Replying To Jackpot:  "I fairness Gers views were very strong during the referendum and I'm not sure that would sit well with alot of players."
Are you really saying that players would be worried about what way a manager voted in a referendum?

Barney123 (Meath) - 05/11/2019 17:10:11

Meath Vs Mayo - 21 Like(s)

Replying To bobkarlgees:  "Shane was shoe horned in the middle during the league. We got promoted so from that prospective it worked/got away with it in Div 2. As we come up against Div 1 teams Mayo Kerry Dongeal is clear to see its not working. We need to change it lets not kid over selves."
Everyone talking about changing Shane McEntee but with who? I am not his biggest fan but I can't see anyone better then him. As other posters mention you could try Harnan but that's not guaranteed to work either. Flangan is quite simply not up to this level.

Barney123 (Meath) - 19/07/2019 21:10:28

2019 Predictions? - 21 Like(s)
Sorry but is naming Barry Dardis in goals not a bit of an insult to the 3 other goalkeepers on the panel? Must be the only county to have 4 goalkeepers on the panel.

Barney123 (Meath) - 05/01/2019 15:39:57

2019 Club Championship. - 21 Like(s)
Good game last night between Kells and Dunshaughlin. Dunshaughlin probably should have pushed on and won after Kells got a red card early enough in the second half. They were impressive for the first 15 or 20 mins. Last years minor captain Costello played very well and looks like an exciting prospect.

Barney123 (Meath) - 05/04/2019 07:34:58

Meath V Tyrone - 20 Like(s)
Lavin will be a serious loss for us, I think a lot of his work is unseen by supporters and he is quite underrated and with Gallagher possibly injured as well it's not a great position to be heading into division 1.

Barney123 (Meath) - 09/01/2020 16:58:39

Meath V Donegal - 20 Like(s)

Replying To Evernal:  "Well lad I've a season ticket and if you've been following I went to Clare turned back and went again. I've been to all games with my daughter. Its fair weather fans such as yourself i have a problem with. Only turn out for big games in Croker. Were you in Owenbeg few years ago? Ennis Ballybofey? I could go on. I thought this is in an open forum and if you don't agree with it fair enough move on but don't you dare question my loyalty to the cause. For me the league is the be all. Championship is skewed in my opinion hence why I wanted to win some silverware."
Well if you were at all the games like I was I am disappointed you would bring up MODS trademark second half collapses. Very insulting to this team in my opinion.

Barney123 (Meath) - 31/03/2019 09:42:35

Meath Vs Mayo - 20 Like(s)
"pauk123 (USA) - Posts: 186 - 22/07/2019 21:49:41" "Nally said it best to the Chronical after Donegal, the Meath players are as good skills wise and physically as anyone they just need to believe that. Until they do, we'll only get so far." Wouldn't necessarily believe that, anyone who stayed to look at Donegal Kerry after our game would see that statement isn't correct in my opinion. Strange thing to say from our coach as well. Like saying I've done all I can football wise now it's up to the players/someone else to sort out the mental side of it. Have plenty of time for Nally and believe a lot of our improvement is down to him but thought it was a strange statement to make.

Barney123 (Meath) - 22/07/2019 23:18:41

Pairc Tailteann - 20 Like(s)

Replying To latouche25:  "Royal Dunne. You appear to know something the rest of us don't. You are happy with the way the planning and tendering process has gone. Nobody knows how it has gone as we have not seen the final plans yet. As for the tendering process. How can anybody tended for something if the CB don't know what they're building. Or when it's starting. We all know building costs are rocketing so the € 16 million is just a figure pulled out of the air. There are far more questions than answers at the moment that's the problem. I have no faith in the CB to deliver anything at the moment. The house draw is a fiasco. Now the CB are blaming the club's for not selling enough tickets. So already they are washing their hands of it."
I agree, the details coming out from the CB have been far from satisfactory.

Barney123 (Meath) - 15/12/2018 19:43:44

Challenge Matches - 20 Like(s)

Replying To royaldunne:  "Just read the match report biggie with 5 points and playing full match might show he is back to full fitness. Sounds like good competition for places and should lead to a interesting championship team."
Why was he not at full fitness before this?

Barney123 (Meath) - 29/04/2019 07:06:14

Meath Vs Mayo - 20 Like(s)

Replying To NuttyMeathMan:  "Brian Conlon would be an asset to the team but he wont play in green and gold with Andy Mcentee as manager."
Brian Conlon isn't showing near the promise that he showed in the first year Simonstown won the championship. Needs to get his own game right before he is worrying about playing or not playing for Andy McEntee.

Barney123 (Meath) - 22/07/2019 17:01:43

Meath V Dublin - 20 Like(s)

Replying To Chaisleain_Abu:  "Do you hear yourself RD , 1 game away from every goal achieved this year.... Who set the goals ? ........ Get to DIv 1 , - Objective 1 Brilliant Beaten in Div 2 Final - Objective 1 -Achieved Beaten in Leinster Final - Badly - But we got to the final -Objective 2-Achieved Play in Qualifier's and if we win to get into the Super 8s - Objective 3 How far have we fallen - when we are happy with that lot .......... "lads go out there an give it your best and give a good performance because your not good enough to beat them" ------ this is Dublin after all ...... I'm just reading between the lines here , but that's all I heard in the last 2-4 weeks I wouldn't say that would do the teams confidence any good would you . .....And I believe it showed , both on the pitch and on the line you know what they say , keep telling the dog it's a duck , and eventually you will hear it quack However tell a pussy cat it's a lion , and you will then hear it roar . .. An Mhi Abu"
How far we have fallen. Have you been following Meath for the last number of years? We can't just become a good team overnight. We need to make progress and from what I have seen this year we are making progress.

Barney123 (Meath) - 25/06/2019 17:29:07