Monaghan V Meath Div 1, Round 7 October 25Th, 2Pm, Clones

So whats everyone's hopes and expectations for the game on Sunday. Looks like it will be allowed go ahead so what are peoples hopes for this game? Monaghan are in danger of going down if they don't get a result. They'll not be lacking in motivation therefore.

This is our last hit out before the championship and would be nice to get a win and some kind of a boost ahead of that.

Will there be any or many changes from the Dublin game? I'd expect the Ratoath boys to come back in, primarily McGill and McMahon and possibly Joey Wallace. Will Seamus Lavin be available. A big loss if not there. Who drops out for them to come in? And will there be other changes?

All going well, fitness permitting and we all know its unlikely

Colgan
Hickey-McGill-Harkin
J McEntee-Keoghan-Lavin
Menton -Jones
J Wallace-McMahon-Devine
O'Sullivan-Walsh-O'Reilly

brian (Meath) - Posts: 1954 - 20/10/2020 12:44:07    2299559

They'll want to hammer seven shades out of us if they can. We dont do well against Ulster teams by-and-large due to their attention to detaill in tactics and physical conditioning, so youd have to think itll be uphill. Still though, who knows? I didnt have a lot of faith in this Meath team before and they proved me wrong. Square up and dont be outmuscled and put together some of the patterns they did vs. Dublin and they should definitely be in contention. What better time than now to get that first win against Div.1 opposition. It's a stretch to predict a win though.

Young_gael (Meath) - Posts: 587 - 20/10/2020 13:26:14    2299580

Replying To brian:  "So whats everyone's hopes and expectations for the game on Sunday. Looks like it will be allowed go ahead so what are peoples hopes for this game? Monaghan are in danger of going down if they don't get a result. They'll not be lacking in motivation therefore.

This is our last hit out before the championship and would be nice to get a win and some kind of a boost ahead of that.

Will there be any or many changes from the Dublin game? I'd expect the Ratoath boys to come back in, primarily McGill and McMahon and possibly Joey Wallace. Will Seamus Lavin be available. A big loss if not there. Who drops out for them to come in? And will there be other changes?

All going well, fitness permitting and we all know its unlikely

Colgan
Hickey-McGill-Harkin
J McEntee-Keoghan-Lavin
Menton -Jones
J Wallace-McMahon-Devine
O'Sullivan-Walsh-O'Reilly"
Colgan
Lavin -McGill Ryan
J McEntee-B Conlon -Keoghan
Menton -Jones
O sullivan-McMahon, Wallace
Lenihan -Walsh-O'Reilly

Bear10 (Meath) - Posts: 463 - 20/10/2020 13:47:33    2299595

Another decent performance expected ! My prediction a 3-6 point defeat!

grahamc9897 (Meath) - Posts: 1174 - 20/10/2020 18:40:45    2299690

Expect this to be a bigger test, Monaghan need a win and hope for good result from Mayo/Tyrone, so will throw everything the have at us. Expect a home win, however another good run out before championship. But as per every game from now on a lot will depend on who both teams have available on the day.
Game is on TG4 (deferred coverage)

seadog54 (Meath) - Posts: 2142 - 20/10/2020 19:51:09    2299710

Expect a win. Go out on a high. And be back in division one by April.
Hon the royal

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 20/10/2020 21:37:35    2299748

Probably near our best for this one looking at the team. Their is also options off the bench. Let's go out on a win
Hon the royal

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 24/10/2020 11:58:44    2300713

Replying To royaldunne:  "Probably near our best for this one looking at the team. Their is also options off the bench. Let's go out on a win
Hon the royal"
For the first time in a long time we seem to have a strong bench, a win would do wonders for our confidence. Anyone that doesn't know this match is on tg4 YouTube channel, best of luck to andy and the lads tomorrow.

Royal.Legend (Meath) - Posts: 665 - 24/10/2020 14:34:01    2300740

Replying To Royal.Legend:  "For the first time in a long time we seem to have a strong bench, a win would do wonders for our confidence. Anyone that doesn't know this match is on tg4 YouTube channel, best of luck to andy and the lads tomorrow."
Yeah only found out that be emailing Meath gaa. Hoepefully get the win and move on.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 24/10/2020 15:37:29    2300758

Just want to wish Andy Bryan Donal and all the lads the best of luck. Incredibly nervous at this one. Great prep for Championship. Although we done ok against the Dubs there wasnt enough foot passing. Different to summer football and we need to adapt. Let in high and long. Shane Welsh well able to claim a mark and likewise McMahon. We just need to BELIEVE. Hon the Royal!

Evernal (Meath) - Posts: 74 - 24/10/2020 15:46:57    2300762

Replying To Royal.Legend:  "For the first time in a long time we seem to have a strong bench, a win would do wonders for our confidence. Anyone that doesn't know this match is on tg4 YouTube channel, best of luck to andy and the lads tomorrow."
Is it live on you tube lad?

Borderroyal (Meath) - Posts: 488 - 24/10/2020 16:27:25    2300798

Replying To Borderroyal:  "Is it live on you tube lad?"
Ye its live kick off 2 o clock

Royal.Legend (Meath) - Posts: 665 - 24/10/2020 17:51:48    2300858

Replying To Evernal:  "Just want to wish Andy Bryan Donal and all the lads the best of luck. Incredibly nervous at this one. Great prep for Championship. Although we done ok against the Dubs there wasnt enough foot passing. Different to summer football and we need to adapt. Let in high and long. Shane Welsh well able to claim a mark and likewise McMahon. We just need to BELIEVE. Hon the Royal!"
Long and High days are long over ! Wouldnt be so nervous over a dead rubber match !
All the same Good luck to the lads ! Looking forward to watching the game on you tube

grahamc9897 (Meath) - Posts: 1174 - 24/10/2020 18:48:40    2300895

Replying To Royal.Legend:  "Ye its live kick off 2 o clock"
Cheers

Borderroyal (Meath) - Posts: 488 - 24/10/2020 20:27:26    2300940

I think Banty and Monaghan are in for a shock today, historically the Ulster teams shut us down and out muscle us but there s a bit of steel in this team. I can see us winning today, we badly missed McGill last week and McMahon would have buried one of those goal chances.

hootervillian (Meath) - Posts: 308 - 25/10/2020 07:35:21    2301045

Meath by +2.

Was very impressed by performance against Dublin. Clearly a lot of work done on the mental aspects of the game as lads looked very confident and assured. O'Reilly is turning into a fine footballer-well capable of winning his own ball , works hard and was impressive on frees. Himself and Walsh make for two good target men inside. Having a solid freetaker is something we have been lacking big time.

We hit 15 misses against Dublin including 3 goal chances. Up the conversion rate and we should win.

A win against a division 1 team would represent a breakthrough.

bert09 (Meath) - Posts: 1790 - 25/10/2020 10:11:49    2301072

Replying To bert09:  "Meath by +2.

Was very impressed by performance against Dublin. Clearly a lot of work done on the mental aspects of the game as lads looked very confident and assured. O'Reilly is turning into a fine footballer-well capable of winning his own ball , works hard and was impressive on frees. Himself and Walsh make for two good target men inside. Having a solid freetaker is something we have been lacking big time.

We hit 15 misses against Dublin including 3 goal chances. Up the conversion rate and we should win.

A win against a division 1 team would represent a breakthrough."
Two good target men indeed but they seem to be the ones who have to come out beyond 45 before they get the ball , we dont tend to let an early ball inside

Analyst (Meath) - Posts: 1467 - 25/10/2020 11:44:04    2301102

Replying To Royal.Legend:  "Ye its live kick off 2 o clock"
We throw in in Gaa

Analyst (Meath) - Posts: 1467 - 25/10/2020 11:45:05    2301103

Best wishes to Andy donal and Bryan today and indeed all the team and management.
Let's leave division one for a one year break on a high.
Hon the royal

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 25/10/2020 12:39:18    2301120

Come on Meath, very windy day out. Hoping they can use the elements, let the ball in early when we have the wind.

LoyalRoyal66 (Meath) - Posts: 80 - 25/10/2020 13:30:58    2301133