Mayo Forum

Popular Posts from Llaw_Gyffes

Dublin's Success Not Down To Money - GAA President - 13 Like(s)
Well that will soften the cough of all the posters out there who said Dublins success was down to their huge population, the billions they have been given by the GAA, playing almost all their championship games at home etc. and all the time it was simply the voluntary coaches. As my granny used to say "put that in your pipe and smoke it ". When I read that, I got in touch with a friend of mine who has very tenuous links to the county board and asked him did we have any of these voluntary coaches. Never heard of them says he but they must be very magical. How else says he would they take a county from relative obscurity to the brink of creating history in such a short space of time. So I got to thinking that the GAA being a very fair organization, I know this because they told us they are, and John Horan being a Dublin man, could they get together with the Dublin county board and spread some of their voluntary coaches around the rest of the country. There would be no point sending them down to us as we'd only f### it up but they could start off with the likes of Leitrim. Now I'm not naive enough to think that Leitrim would become successful immediately, but I'd expect a Connacht title after maybe year two and Sam being paraded around Carrick after year three. Dublin of course, bereft now of their voluntary coaches, would have to suffer a period in the doldrums but the five or maybe six in a row would keep them going during the few barren years. After the Leitrim experiment the voluntary coaches could then be lent out to selected counties. Kerry wouldn't get any as they are good enough as it is and the Dubs generosity isn't boundless, and with a carefully screened breeding programme, before we'd know it most counties would have their very own voluntary coach. Only problem is when the Dubs started winning again we'd start moaning about the population, the money............

Llaw_Gyffes (National) - 12/06/2019 22:09:09

Bernard Flynn v James Horan - 9 Like(s)

Replying To royaldunne:  "Look Bernard , Horan is just annoyed that you can look at your Celtic crosses (yep plural) and he has got diddly squat."
A lovely wife, five kids, a good job, or jobs and he'd give it all up for an All Ireland medal what! Sure that's what defines you as a man. I cry myself to sleep most nights cause I'm not one of the elite.

Llaw_Gyffes (National) - 24/05/2017 22:56:51

Useless Fact Of The Day... - 9 Like(s)
In the 1925 football championship, the Connacht final wasn't played in time so the GAA nominated Mayo to represent the province in the All Ireland semi final. Mayo went on to beat Wexford and qualified for the All Ireland final. In the other semi final Kerry defeated Cavan but subsequently both teams were disqualified for fielding illegal players. Mayo were then declared All Ireland champions for the first time. Mayo, probably wrecked after their game against Wexford and tired and emotional after their All Ireland " win" lost to Galway in the refixed Connacht final. Headquarters then withdrew Mayo's nomination as Connacht champions and Galway were declared new All Ireland champions. This decision did not go down well in some quarters so the GAA, in their wisdom started a mini competition with Galway, Cavan and Kerry. There was no word of Wexford who would have had a cause for an objection on the grounds that they were beaten by a team who technically shouldn't have been in the competition at that stage. If it happened now the lawyers would have a field day. In a further twist Kerry objected to playing Cavan again having beaten them already. Their objection was overruled so Kerry got thick and withdrew from the competition leaving the way open for a Galway, Cavan final. Galway duly won the final, which was played in January 1926, and were again declared All Ireland champions. Which all goes to show that we can't win a feckin final even when we're the only team in it!

Llaw_Gyffes (National) - 14/02/2020 11:51:16

5 In A Row - 8 Like(s)
Great time to be a Dublin player or fan. Only a few more sleeps and a few more " come on yours boys in blue" before the Dubs become the greatest team of all time. For the fans on Saturday a couple of pints and then make the leisurely way to Croker, the only inconvenience being the country bumpkins clogging up the thoroughfares. No nerves though as it's only Mayo and they were always beaten even when they were at their peak. With a bit of luck it might stay interesting for twenty minutes to stop all the s#### talk of splitting Dublin in two or three or four. Shame about the odds though, no chance of making a few bob at five to one on. Should have got Whelo and Alan to talk up Mayos chances, bring down the odds a bit. Hope it's not raining, might go in half way through second half of the minor to shout on the team playing Mayo. Few scoops after to talk about Rocks scoring fifteen points and Cluxton kicking a couple of balls out to Mayo lads just to bring the winning margin below the twenty points. Watch the end of Sundays match on telly just to have a laugh at Tyrone and Kerry and see which of them we'll beat the s##### out of in the final. Ah the five in a row. For the players it's all about focus. Focus on looking serious when Jim says we're expecting a close game from Mayo and focus on not laughing when Jim says, after the twenty point win, Mayo put it up to us out there. The five in a row, immortality. Bernard still hanging around even though there are adds to be made, Rory coming back from his travels and playing from memory, Diarmuid giving up his summer in Boston, all for the lure of immortality. Ah the five in a row. And last but not least Jim. O Dwyer the b####### couldn't do it, or Boylan, not even the great Heffo. McGuinness, for all the talk about him only won the one. Harte couldn't win two in a row and he must be there about forty years at this stage. But Jim is on the cusp of greatness, he can feel it, the adoration from the hill, the adulation from the media, the greatest manager of the greatest team of all time. All that's standing in the way are perennial losers Mayo, and either Tyrone who are no better than last year when they were swatted aside with ease, or Kerry who can't defend and are relying on two nineteen year old forwards. How hard can it be. Just remember John said avoid all talk about funding and home advantage and all that loser talk as he'll take care of it. That voluntary coaches thing was genius, typical John. Time to get out the folder, look serious, put the hand over the mouth when speaking, the Russians might be watching, and whatever you do don't say anything interesting. Ah the five in a row. Just a few more sleeps!

Llaw_Gyffes (National) - 07/08/2019 18:08:34

No Red Thumbs - 6 Like(s)

Replying To KillingFields:  "I dobt think there should be competitions in field sports for under 12s. Above that of course you have to. The red thumbs stop debate. If you cant post any words against a post then why are you even on the forum. Highlighting posts you agree with or like is a very different matter."
Not sure how safe it is at times to answer a post. There was a lad on here not long ago who was accused of being a stalker because he engaged with another poster on a particular topic. These are strange times indeed.

Llaw_Gyffes (National) - 07/07/2020 11:16:07

Come Back Mayo All Is Forgiven - 6 Like(s)

Replying To cacsmckilly:  "Mayo ? Why would anyone want to watch them mess up again and again . Mayo were the reason Dublin won so many all Ireland's through there ineptitude. I hated watching them and their poor game management . One thing is for sure Tyrone will not be afraid of losing . We have already won, in that we have gone one further than last year by making the final. To loose will not be end of world .. still a satisfactory year ... Since we've only 3 all Ireland's and 5 appearances in a final to date , we are making history . Dublin have more to loose, anything less than victory will be a disaster"
I'm not sure why Mayo should carry the can for Dublins plethora of All Irelands. It's not as if we bought up all the raffle tickets to prevent other counties reaching the final. We were there on merit because we beat everyone else when it mattered. Some counties posters seem to have the perception that if they were allowed to meet the Dubs they would show Mayo how it should be done. A kind of hold me back and let me at em approach. Well be careful what you wish for. Tyrone had their chance last year with their revolutionary "zonal marking" a "game management" approach guaranteed to confuse the Dubs. It took Dublin about three minutes to work that one out. This year Tyrone were in the privileged position of playing Dublin at home and even though they helpfully reduced the pitch size to chicken coop proportions they still couldn't stop Jimbo counting. Galway were the great white hope this year with their water tight defence and they managed to hold the Dubs to just the 1- 24! When will it dawn on some posters that Mayo were an exceptional team but that Dublin were that bit better. We had fifteen players who were as good as we ever had it's just that Dublin had twenty. Apart from Diarmuid O Connor last year we rarely had a substitute who raised our performance levels when he came on, the Dubs had four or five. I don't believe that Dublin have been at their best this year having lost some players who are going to be difficult to replace and with one or two players who are not quite at their best. However, ominously for everyone else, they are evolving and their hunger to win shows no sign of abating. I'm happy that you consider yourself a winner having already gotten to a final, indeed you should be pleased that you have made history by becoming the first team to reach the final having already lost two games. Only problem is the Dubs won't consider themselves winners until they actually win.

Llaw_Gyffes (National) - 14/08/2018 11:53:57

Meath V Dublin Leinster Final. - 6 Like(s)

Replying To Belclare:  "My initial response was to a Mayo poster who was slagging Meath about kicking wides.."
Fair enough if that was your motivation, but since when have you become an apologist for Meath. I would have thought royaldunne has that job pretty much covered. Why bring up Mayo wides in a thread that is devoted to Dublin and Meath when it has no relevance to said thread. Also why are you so quick to respond to something that has nothing to do with your own county, or is it a case of "the enemy of my enemy is my friend". And finally Maroondiesel, the so called "Mayo poster", is from Galway and makes no secret of the fact.

Llaw_Gyffes (National) - 23/06/2019 21:34:48

This Mayo team will never have a better chance! - 6 Like(s)

Replying To jimbodub:  "I'm saying that Mayo are 100% capable of beating them yes Also all those disadvantages attached to Dublin 2016 can just as easily be taken advantage of by Kerry (as I've stated previously on other threads) who are still capable of great things but just not the overall side they once were, and this further plays into Mayo's hands No 100% this is probably Mayo's best chance for a long time.. but it's just unfortunate that ye still wont be All Ireland champions even if you win Sam in 2016.. Well you'll be 3/4 All Ireland Champions but 51 will remain long ago... with Galway as champions of your own province"
You are right Jimbo. If Mayo are lucky enough to scrape past Tipp and then beat Kerry or Dublin, who would have to massively under perform, in the final, then it would be a complete anti climax. What good is winning an All Ireland if you can't win your own province and you haven't beaten both Dublin and Kerry on the way. Celebrations will be muted to say the least with the players crossing the Shannon in their ones and twos, under the cover of darkness. Sam will find a resting place in Steven Rochford's shed until such time as we can quietly hand it back to the real champions. The odd pint will be raised by the uninitiated within the county but the real football people,like yourself, will know better. I Think Tipp should be awarded third place automatically, at least they reached their provincial final, and let the Dublin and Kerry game count as the final. That would save the shame and embarrassment that Mayo winning Sam would inevitably cause.

Llaw_Gyffes (National) - 16/08/2016 12:20:58

NFL Division 1 - 6 Like(s)

Replying To Jackeen:  "I didnt go out of my way at all it all came quite easily to me! The lads I mentioned are the lads that have a reputation on the Mayo team. I said Small and others on the Dublin team."
Oddly enough the names of McMahon and Cooper didn't come as readily to your mind. I wonder why! I wouldn't mention Connolly in the same breath as he was never an overly cynical player. Neither would I regard Diarmuid O Connor as being overly cynical. Can't see how you can lump in Dublin with Tyrone in terms of bad press as the Dubs have been treated very leniently by the press in general. It took two northern lads to show a bit of courage and go against the flow.

Llaw_Gyffes (National) - 24/02/2020 22:42:33

Street brawl or football? - 6 Like(s)

Replying To 15BACSAM:  "I wouldn't blame the ref. Games between the Dubs and Mayo are always extremely difficult to ref. There is a bite there that does not exist between any other two counties. For some reason the Dubs let Mayo get under their skin and Mayo know this. The league game in Castlebar in February, Last years two semi-finals. 2013 all Ireland final. 2012 semi final. 2006. No doubt Mayo will come to the replay with some sort of a wind-up tactic again. The Dubs have to rise above this."
How inconsiderate of Mayo not to stand back and let those Dublin choirboys play the type of football they are used to. Were you expecting our lads to stand back and applaud as Diarmuid kicked (unhindered) points off left and right foot. As for mutterings about brawls, dark arts and cynicism, it's always the other team and not our perfect gentlemen who are at fault. The proud mother syndrome!

Llaw_Gyffes (National) - 19/09/2016 11:45:23

Most Popular Forum Posters - 5 Like(s)

Replying To waynoI:  "8 Dublin fans in the top 20. How long before people want us split into North and South Dublin fans on the HS forum ? Although having 8 in the top 20 has a lot to do with our vastly superior population. There is a bigger pick of people in Dublin. Maybe Dublin fans will be rotated around provinces. Or maybe Jack Goff will want us taken off the forum completely so others can top the popularity stakes without the most popular posters there. A very tainted crown for whoever succeeds us."
Hardly surprising when some Dublin supporters act as cheerleaders for each other. You know the type of thing. "great post Wayno", "well said Jimbo", "good on youse Jackeen". Kind of quaint and uplifting in a way but on another level slightly nauseating.

Llaw_Gyffes (National) - 12/07/2016 11:13:55

Galway Vs Dublin - 5 Like(s)

Replying To The_DOC:  "Ah now in fairness, Mayo were hard done by in those All Ireland finals and the world knows that Mayo either under estimated Galway, or else deserved to win or else were looking further ahead in the championship. Mayo still waiting to get a run at us this year in Croke Park sure!"
And everyone knows that if it were Galway in those finals against the Dubs they would have won two or three of them. What with having all those scoring forwards and knowing how to win All Irelands and that. If you manage to beat the Dubs on Saturday I will salute you and acknowledge you as a good team who did what we were unable to do. Until then you are a reasonable team who have won nothing, with a lot to prove, and in no position to laugh at anyone else!

Llaw_Gyffes (National) - 10/08/2018 12:42:43

Mayo v Derry - 5 Like(s)
Mayo are really starting to feel the pinch with injuries at the minute. We started the Galway game minus three Allstars and lost another to a red card. Two more Allstars went off injured in club games at the weekend. We really don't have replacements of the same calibre and could be very vulnerable against Derry. On the plus side we are due one or two refereeing decisions going our way after all the ones that have gone against us over the years. Maybe we'll get a bit of well deserved luck for a change!

Llaw_Gyffes (National) - 22/06/2017 23:20:03

Meath V Dublin Leinster Final. - 5 Like(s)

Replying To Belclare:  "Nearly as bad as Mayo with all the wides.."
Galway sure found a way around that one in the second half against the Ros. If you don't shoot lads you can't miss.

Llaw_Gyffes (National) - 23/06/2019 17:57:17

Dublin V Mayo - 5 Like(s)

Replying To clondalkindub:  "Jackeen best poster on Hs after my homie Waynol."
Aw shucks. Now let's all get together for a rendition of coybib...................

Llaw_Gyffes (National) - 19/02/2019 18:55:17

If Your County Had An Official Slogan, What Would It Be? - 4 Like(s)
Groundhog f****** day!

Llaw_Gyffes (National) - 28/03/2018 23:44:38

5 In A Row - 4 Like(s)
I don't think the Dubs will be content to rest on their laurels after winning the five. Jim was recently offered a good deal on five in a row tee shirts, made in China, no questions asked all proceeds to the county board, nudge nudge wink wink. He was at the same time offered an even better deal on six, seven and eight in a row tee shirts. So Jim, cute hoor that he is, went away to weigh things up, not forgetting to put his thinking time down to expenses of course. The five in a row was a no brainer but, getting out his new five in a row biro, he made a list of potential hindrances to Dublin's continued dominance. Kerry, can't defend, Tyrone, can't decide whether to attack or defend, Galway, ditto. Donegal, not unless they bring Jim back, Mayo, you're kidding me. Cork, potential but won't get their act together unless the GAA do something incredibly stupid like giving them umpteen millions, and with big John at the helm not going to happen...So Jim went back and ordered the five, six and seven in a row shirts with an option on the eight in a row, all proceeds to the county board of course. He would have gone for the eighth as well only he had to factor in incredibly long odds unknown unknowns such as, the GAA withdrawing the millions in funding, his entire squad being injured at the same time, the sky falling in or being beaten by Mayo.........

Llaw_Gyffes (National) - 06/08/2019 13:27:21

Bernard Flynn v James Horan - 4 Like(s)

Replying To Liamwalkinstown:  "http://www.hoganstand.com/ArticleForm.aspx?ID=270692 This is getting good!!! (Horan has inadvertently dragged the AOS story out even more and this serves no one except his own column and the editory of the Star Newspaper. It certainly doesnt help AOS. Well done James Horan. Now who's the t*t)"
They are both trying to sell newspapers. We're the t**s for paying any heed to them!

Llaw_Gyffes (National) - 24/05/2017 11:35:42

Mayo v Derry - 4 Like(s)

Replying To Belclare1:  "Too busy watching Galway teams lifting silverware.. 2 more cups in the bag today, the hurlers and our ladies hammered Mayo in the Conn final"
Just as well your lad didn't win the Eurovision! We'd never hear the end of it.

Llaw_Gyffes (National) - 02/07/2017 19:28:07

Connacht Championship 2019 - 4 Like(s)

Replying To Fewpucks24:  "There's outrage on these forums if you don't say Mayo for Sam and Connacht! Not like Mayo to get over excited after a win!"
I have read back over the posts on this particular thread for signs of this outrage of which you speak. There was a Leitrim lad hoping his team would give the Ros a good run, a couple of Ros lads tipping Galway for Connacht, followed by a Galway lad clearly taking the p***. Nary a sign of outrage anywhere bar a few pseudo provocative posts by a couple of Galway strays. We, in Mayo are resigned to the inevitability of Galway romping unhindered through Connacht, once they get the thirty of forty lads back from, injury, club duty, Australia, forced absences, unforced absences, jury duty and whatever you're having yourself. Sure weren't we destroyed twice already this year with Galways third or possibly fourth team and us only missing Cillian. Personally I'm betting on a Galway, Dublin final and with all these natural Galway forwards I'm hearing about, who are bound to run amok in Croke Park, I think the drive for five is doomed. As for getting excited about a win, I recall the evening when Galway eventually beat Mayo, think it was 2016, now that's what I call excitement. Never in my time have I heard the fields of Athenry sung with such gusto by so few. Even the real supporters, who hadn't left the bar in an Sportlann, joined in. Like suck calves let out for the first time, bless them. And all talk of what they'd do when they'd meet the Dubs. Ah the innocence of it all!

Llaw_Gyffes (National) - 16/04/2019 18:17:17