Longford Forum

Popular Posts from maximus02

Lee Keegan Appreciation - 6 Like(s)

Replying To Mailman98:  "Mayo have won 3 All-Irelands, 1936, 50 and 51 so I'd estimate there are at least 50 Mayo players who are greater than Lee Keegan because they have all-ireland medals. This thread could only be written about a Mayo player. I would die of embarrassment if Galway lost an All-Ireland final and someone was appreciating one of our loser players. After Tyrone scored their second goal last Saturday Lee Keegan scored a point and set up another within 2 minutes. Why couldn't he have done that 3 minutes earlier? The game was effectively over so the pressure came off him and he was able to perform. When the game was there to be won he was pretty anonymous and the build up to the second goal came right through his channel. The greatest Mayo player ever wouldn't drop the ball into Stephen Cluxton's hands from 25 yards out when a point would have finished the game. Final note: amazing to see Mayo people posting here. If I supported a team that lost 11 finals in a row I'd be in hiding for months. I certainly wouldn't be out praising a player who played in over half of those finals!"
Congratulations and fair play Mailman98. I'm just going to have to assume you're a ridiculously high acheiver and serial winner when you consider a lad that has performed well in 7 All Ireland finals a loser player! Good man!!!

maximus02 (National) - 16/09/2021 11:22:37

Lee Keegan Appreciation - 4 Like(s)

Replying To TheUsername:  "Kept Kilkenny scoreless alright however my recollection is he did well on him in the first half, the second half he brought him of a tour of the sidelines of the Hogan and Cusach, Dermo exploited the gaps and space left and was the catalyst and provided the creative foundation for the Dublin win. To encapsulate Dermo wins the free (only way to stop him) with a big cheeky grin for the Rock winner, which results in the Keegan desperate GPS thing, thus the sceal ended. Maybe we're both guilty at looking at it through are respective county coloured specs, guess we will have to agree to differ, maybe we weigh or judge success differently. As I go through the years it's only the semi in 15 I think Dermo let himself down really and reacted to a deliberate pull down, 16/17 with the rival at its most even, which were the key games in the rivalry, he topped out, playing a leading role as protagonist and change agent in both results and ultimately Sams. We won't agree of course. Oh I love Dermo alright, elite among the elites, amazing footballer, the only way to stop him is what Keegan tried to do and still didn't work, did it all and owned it, even has a Leinster minor in hurling, thankfully I'd have seen him more then most! Funnily enough he's of Western stock, his brother played for the Leitrim hurlers. Both super players. I think we have to take it as a compliment that Mayo sacrificed the expansiveness of one of their best ever players, for trying to shackle a player not in Dublins top three of the last 10 years. ;)"
Did Lee not score a cracking goal in the second half of that game during that tour of the sidelines in 2017? Also I think it is fairly widely accepted from a neutral view that Keegan has gotten the better of Connolly in their battles over the years. Con did a job on Lee in 2019 but Lee destroyed him this year. Con should have gotten a black card.

maximus02 (National) - 21/09/2021 20:08:00

The Corona Virus And Possible Effects To GAA Matches - 4 Like(s)

Replying To TheUsername:  "I wouldn't be to despondent either, i think yesterday was an important clarity that perhaps the GAA can plan around now at least we know where we stand. I see there being a few options myself. I know a number of sporting of organisations will be having discussions with the Dept of T.T. & Sport this week. I thought the number Public health would recommend would be less then 5k on group gatherings, so surprised it was that much myself, seems ambitious enough, other European countries have gone for significantly less. So what option are at play for the GAA in planning. There are a few i can see: 1) Change the calendar around and play the club championships over the summer with limited crowds of 5k. Get them all done by August, essentially give the summer to the clubs. Link with the GPA, consult with players and put in place protocols for player safety, if they are willing. 2) County teams return to training May/June. Run of the provincial championships, July/August. Limit crowds at games to 5k (the majority rarely get that), social distancing etc, maybe a decision on wearing masks as an requirement of admission, season ticket holders given priority for tickets and small number of general release and maybe a creative streaming service season ticket with GAAGO. Then hopefully after a bit of success with living with this virus and a review maybe the quarter - final could be run of in August and Sep with a review of increased capacity. Worst comes to the worst and it remains at 5k then at least you have the infrastructure in place. When it gets to that stage perhaps we can use the bigger stadiums like Croker, Nolan, PUC, Clones etc, for ease of social distancing etc. My only reservation with this option is staying away from Flu season, if things were to go on which is risky. 3) Just make a blanket decision to do it behind closed doors or cancel the championship. I actually think there are a few options, obviously everything is flexible, fluid and will be different and require adjustment. But at least now there is clarity in reviewing and planning if and how things mat or may not be run off. Some good news, the wonderful Paul O Brien has secured a great deal with some Chinese contacts that may enable us to do 100k tests a week, for our population and society if that potential can be achieved that might be a significant game changer in living alongside this virus, until artificial herd immunity can be achieved."
https://www.independent.ie/sport/coronavirus-ireland-contact-sport-is-a-long-way-off-leading-experts-stark-warning-39147493.html As much as I would love to see club football resuming( as i still play), I can't see it happening anytime soon for numerous reasons. How many club teams are there in the country? That's an awful lot of people countrywide to allow to gather in groups of 20-30 to even train again let alone play matches. You would have to allow ladies football and underage club football to resume training/playing too. Social/Physical distancing is just not possible with such numbers. You only need a few asymptomatic cases to get this virus spreading through communities again. Plus if a club championship was to start and a player on one of the teams was to test positive, that would more than likely put an end to that championship. Many players live with elderly people or work on the frontline so you are just asking for trouble if this is to happen. GAA is not a priority at the minute, we have to get the economy moving and people back to work using social distancing measures and this is going to be a massive challenge on its own. Comparing the GAA (particularly club matches) to professional sports is pointless. You cant compare both. If we get back playing 5-aside with a group of friends anytime soon, we'll be lucky!

maximus02 (National) - 22/04/2020 15:29:17

RTE Football Team/Player Of The Year - 3 Like(s)
David Clifford is footballer of the year. it's a no brainer and I don't really know how it is an argument. He was outsanding in the Munster final, the group stages and All Ireland series. I know he didnt have his best stuff sunday but still kicked 2 quality points from play and had a worldie of a pass for the Kerry goal Most forwards would be thrilled with this return on All ireland final day.

maximus02 (National) - 02/08/2023 14:39:40

Lee Keegan Appreciation - 3 Like(s)
Watched the game back last night and didn't realise at the time how well Lee played. Once again in an AI final he was immense and IMO was man of the match. Its increasingly looking likely he won't get his hands on Sam and it really is a travesty. Always performs on the big day and usually under adverse conditions. Must surely be Mayo's greatest ever player and up there with the greatest defenders to have played the game. A fantastic warrior. A 5th All Star beckons (although i doubt this will be any consolation to him) and possibly another player of the year nomination. Here is a good link of the analysis of Lee's play on the day! (https://www.mayonews.ie/sports/37379-lee-s-performance-for-the-ages)

maximus02 (National) - 15/09/2021 16:36:33

Media Mayo Mourning - 3 Like(s)

Replying To Liamwalkinstown:  "This will make me as popular as a fart in bed but anyone else sick to death of the print and broadcasts l medias group orgy of sorrow and woe regarding Mayo?? Youd be forgiven for thinking Mayo were horsewhipped by the Gestapo ffs I have said my piece in here re my respect and admiration for Mayo and their fans but Jesus at this stage it's getting to famine esque levels of anguish in the media . Sorry lads"
I'm sure you'll have many that agree with you but very easy for you to say that when Dublin have won 3 in a row and 5 in the last 7. Imagine if you were from Mayo or if the dubs had suffered such near misses over the last few years. Congrats to Dublin , super team and deserve all the accolades that come their way. From a neutral point of view, Mayos journey through the summer and how they are the only team that have been able to put it up to ye has provided the majority of entertainment to what had been a damp squib of a championship. Love how the dubs play but you'd get fed up watching their 10+ routine hammering of teams and don't get me started on Tyrones style of play.

maximus02 (National) - 18/09/2017 20:43:14

David V Goliath - 3 Like(s)

Replying To TheUsername:  "How many county lads were on the Mullinalaghta team i thought recognised a few, maybe we shouldn't be that surprised, Longford were no slouches at all this year. Not taking anything away from them of course, utterley deserved and great for the small parish."
Of the team that started the last day, 5 started against Dublin in the Leinster semi-final this year- 2 Mcgivneys, Rian Brady, Paddy Fox and Donal McElligott. Then you can add to that John Keegan who has been Longfords main midfielder for years and took a year out this year and The captain Shane Mulligan who had played for Longford for more than a decade and would be more than good enough still to play. Gary Rogers, Aidan Mcelligott and Jayson Matthews would all be on the extended Longford panel too and could easily start this year. Mullinalaghta are a very strong club side and although the results was a massive shock, a lot of people in Longford were not surprised by the result the last day. Its a very inspiring story for every rural club side at what can be acheived. On a side note, Longford will find it extremely tough in the league without these players for as long as they are absent.

maximus02 (National) - 11/12/2018 13:07:15

Inter County Championship 2020 - 2 Like(s)
As a neutral observer, I think your management will have to take a lot of the blame for todays loss. Id say Mayo supporters must have been delighted when they saw the 2 Murtaghs werent playing. Diarmuid was only on the pitch a few minutes and had put over 2 points. Im pretty sure he scored 1-3 in last years connacht final and a 5 points in 17. Madness not to play such a big game player in such a massive game . Same with Ciaran. You're telling me these 2 lads arent in the top 6 forwards in Roscommon. Cathal Creggs best days are behind him. Didnt get a sniff off Keegan. Kilroy although a hard grafter is limited. Serious lessons need to be learnt!!

maximus02 (Roscommon) - 08/11/2020 19:40:41

Mayo 2020 - 2 Like(s)

Replying To club51:  "The win yesterday was nice but a lot done more to do me thinks. Mullin is a nice footballer and learning his trade nor i dont like singling out people but can anyone not see the elephant in the room and ask why the hell is he so loose on his man 3 soft points yesterday and if given this space against a more clinical opposition hed be totally cleaned. his man got 1-2 in the Galway game also. For me backs must defend 1st and foremost and a blast forward is no harm every now and then but should be secondary. Akin to Paddy Durcan Saying that, Mullin is a speed merchant and offers something new and has a massive career ahead of him but he needs to do the fundamentals first and foremost."
I completely agree with this point. I have seen many raving about this lad and he is clearly an exciting prospect but you are right in saying he is very loose. He was also badly caught out ball watching for Darragh Canavan's goal vs Tyrone. On the other hand I have seen many time on this forum and another forum lads criticising Lee Keegan for recent form and this is outrageously harsh. He roasted Cregg yesterday, didnt get a sniff off him and he was withdrawn after 40 minutes. (Cregg caused big problems last year) Lee was always out in front making a few burst forwards as well and you can see he still has good pace even if he is 30+. Quietly going about his business like a good corner back should do! It was the same against Tyrone, McCurry didnt get any change off him and if Lee had been moved onto Mckenna early in that game ye would be still playing div 1 football next year. The minute he was moved to CB in that game he helped to set up Tommy Conroys goal. I dont think corner back is his best position but I dont think he has conceded a score (from play) since back from lockdown but I'm open to correction on this. On another note, Paddy Durcan is really outstanding now. Pound for pound up there with the best players in the game! Best of luck in the final next week, the draw has really opened for ye now. Although ye are clearlyfavourites I would still say next weeks match is 50-50. Like Kerry and Cork yesterday, a Mayo Galway game can take a life of it's own and form can go out the window!

maximus02 (Mayo) - 09/11/2020 11:21:22

Mayo V Tipp - 2 Like(s)

Replying To tommy132:  "Mayo poor again dealing with high balls, Barrett and Keegan were very poor for first 10/15 mins, full back line does not suit Keegan, never has, and he isnt the player he used to be, not same pace and fitness. He might be better at centre back. Barrett improved as game went on, but was very poor for the Sweeney goal chance. Kickouts were improved, simple out to a player infront of him, some dodgey ones out to the sideline and down middle cause Clarke does float them and they are perfect for the opposition to attack. Our scoring conversion rate was very good, some great scores, well worked and some simple scores taken. Took our goal chances also which great too see. Tommy Conroy had a great game, took scores very well. Cillian O Connor is flying it, hes in great shape, just need the supply."
I've seen an awful lot of Harsh criticism of Lee Keegan on this forum and another forum over the last couple of days with a few people even suggesting he should be dropped for the final. Although clearly at fault for a couple of Poor mistakes yesterday, Quinlivan still didn't score anything and the only point I can remember him conceding this year was that outrageous point Shane Walsh got against him!which is good going for a lad playing in The FB line.Very surprised to see so many Mayo supporters criticising Lee after all he's given over the last decade. Has been a super super player for Mayo and I would love to see him His hands on Sam in 2 weeks.

maximus02 (Mayo) - 07/12/2020 21:44:19

Brolly on Gooch - 2 Like(s)
Also i think it is extremely lazy analysis by Brolly in relation to the gooch and he is just trying to create a stir which he has obviously succeeded in. In the 2008 final vs Tyrone Gooch was top scorer with 6 points, 3 from play and had a very decent game. In the 2005 final, again gooch was joint top scorer with 5 points (2 from play) and and again had quite a good game. To say he was anonymous in these games is extremely lazy analysis and clearly inaccurate. It's a very easy thing to say about a player when a team lose a big game that a certain player was anonymous many years past the event. I would agree that the gooch had quiet games against Donegal in 2012 and in the 2015 final vs Dublin. The latter is more down to the cruciate injury he suffered at hisage and not being able to fully return to his peak which is completely understandable. When it comes to silverware won and what he has acheived in the game, Brolly isn't fit to lace his boots and there is a touch of begrudgery about his comments. He somewhat belittles his individual performances against Mayo and Cork in various AI finals as it was an easy thing to do... then why doesnt everybody do it?? He just loves the sound of his own voice. I also wouldnt say the gooch is the GOAT as it is a very subjective thing and impossible to compare different players but there is no doubt he is up there. The way modern football has gone we wont be seeing too many more of his ilk and it is a crying shame!

maximus02 (National) - 10/04/2017 11:13:55

Mayo V Tipp - 1 Like(s)

Replying To tommy132:  "It will be interesting too how Horan does the match ups..Keegan might be on Killkenny, Killkenny is quick but not as quick as O Callaghan or a Mannion if he started, and Killkenny will need to be quietened, so i think Keegan be able for him. O Callaghan is the tricky one, Durcan be the obvious choice but would lose the attacking threat of Durcan and would the height difference be a problem, O Callaghan has been catching alot of there kickouts and i cant see Durcan competing with him in the air and same if he went into full forward. Would Mullin be a better choice.. Id put Mullin on Rock, Mullin can be loose marking but has the speed to keep Rock quiet, Rock has been doing well winning marks and Mullin would have the pace to prevent Rock winning marks. Barrett on Small, Small is strong and very quick and i think Barrett would be well able for him. Coen on Scully, Coen will stick to him and keep him quiet. McLoughlin on Bugler, both new lads and id have no worries with McLoughlin. Think Kevin McLoughlin might be used as a sweeper, as they will need some sort of defensive system in place."
Match ups will be vital, I'd agree with putting Keegan on Kilkenny and then maybe Durcan on Con, Barrett on Rock and Mullin on Small. You could even consider putting Durcan on Fenton either. I know there would be a serious mismatch in the air but Durcan would be well able for Fenton on the ground and would give him plenty of problems having to try track Paddy too. Fenton arguably is going to become the greatest player of all time and I'm not sure if Ruane (as good a player he is) will be able to curtail him but i think Durcan could. Saying that I'd still go with Paddy on Con though as I think he is yere best matchup for him and he needs serious watching. All their forwards do in fairness. It's not like you can take Scully and Bugler lightly either. It goes without saying kickouts will be massive too, You can't afford to let Dublin to press you in for a 10-15 minute period or it will be curtains for you. Its nearly impossible to defend against when they get a run on you. I'm a huge fan of David Clarkes, has been a super player for ye over the years and I hope it goes well for him. I think it's fair to say the rest of the 31 counties are behind ye on this (bar maybe the rossies :) ). Best of luck, so much of this squad have shown outrageous resilience to keep coming back and never would an All Ireland be so deserved.

maximus02 (Mayo) - 09/12/2020 22:33:36

Longford GAA thread - 1 Like(s)
Disaster of a result, very hard to see us staying up now. This result really sets us back, Longford needs a total rebuild. The thing is I don't think there are any better players out there which is the worrying thing. We could really do with trying out a new keeper and I'm afraid Mickey Quinn is well past his best.

maximus02 (National) - 05/02/2023 16:25:35

Division two 2018 - 1 Like(s)
Diarmuid appears to be over all his injuries and back to his best form, scored a cracking goal for DCU today. Screamed!

maximus02 (Roscommon) - 07/02/2018 21:34:13

Sunday Game 2018 - 1 Like(s)

Replying To BartMcQueen:  "Need more TG4 coverage. RTE coverage is poor. Failure to show Conor McManus major point during highlights very amateur"
Completely agree, couldn't believe they didn't show that point and Dessie Mone's in the actual highlights of the game. You'd have to wonder who does the editing of these games and have they a clue what they are at.

maximus02 (National) - 21/05/2018 22:15:49

Speedy recovery to Matt Duffy who went off injured for Dromard on Sunday, hopefully it doesn't ruin the young mans Aussie Rule dream before it even got going!

maximus02 (National) - 03/10/2023 14:43:22

Mayo 2020 - 1 Like(s)

Replying To Pericles:  "A real grafting performance by Mayo today. Worked hard for everything defending from 15 back to give the Rossies very little. The presence of Chris Barrett at fb worked well and all 6 defenders had decent games, with Paddy Durcan's deep runs a throbbing headache for the Roscommon defence. The attack probably stuttered a bit at times, mixing the good with the sloppy, but Cillian looks sharper than he's been for a long time... the break seems to have enabled him to get back towards full fitness. I think Roscommon may have been caught a bit over-confident today (couldn't get why they kept Diarmuid Murtagh in reserve), but Galway will be a different proposition in the AI quarter-final/Connacht final next weekend. The chance for payback for the recent league defeat will ensure that they won't be caught cold or wanting for effort. Galway will also see the Cork win today as a big opportunity to get back to the biggest stage after almost two decades, so it's going to take a massive effort from our lads to derail their ambitions."
If I was a mayo supporter, I'd have been delighted when I saw that Roscommon team today. To leave by far your 2 best forwards in the 2 Murtaghs on the bench was madness. Diarmuid kicked 2 points in a few mins. As good a player as Cregg has been , he looked past it today and didn't get a sniff off Keegan. Don't think corner back is Lee's best position but is opponent never gets a kick of it which is the primary role of a corner back. Paddy Durcan is at the top of his game. Draw has really opened up now. Best of luck!

maximus02 (Mayo) - 08/11/2020 19:54:11

Replying To easycowboy:  "Into the quarters we go Will be interesting to see if mullinalaghta and Colmcille play a playoff game or just toss a coin. Neither team will really want to chance any injuries"
Ridiculous situation, Mullinalaghta have a far better score difference. Would it not make sense to go with that rather than a coin toss?

maximus02 (National) - 04/09/2023 12:17:23

What Now For Mayo - 1 Like(s)

Replying To sourmilk93:  "Hands were tied last few weeks with TOD and Conroy injured but imo Mayos forwards look better when COC isn't playing in recent years. Too greedy and slows it down too much."
Bit harsh on COC, he was probably the best forward in the country in 2020 (won an allstar) then had that horrendous injury last year that ruled him out for a year. He clearly hasn't been up to speed this year coming back from that injury. I think it will be fairer to judge him next year when he gets a full pre-season under his belt and see can he get anywhere back to his best. Will be difficult though, isn't getting any younger and hard to come back from that injury. Be interesting to see if Keegan stays on, what a player he has been and still is (Kept Paudie Clifford so quiet yesterday). Must be Mayo's greatest player of all time. Be a sad day IMO when he retires.

maximus02 (National) - 27/06/2022 13:14:23

Meath v Roscommon - 1 Like(s)
Turning point today was when the outstanding inside forward Diarmuid Murtagh from Roscommon went off injured. Roscommon looked to have the game wrapped up at that stage.

maximus02 (Meath) - 28/01/2018 21:43:40