Longford Forum

Popular Posts from HuddHastings

That Tyrone/Armagh Row - 4 Like(s)
I knew when i heard about the 5 red cards that David Gough would be the ref involved,

HuddHastings (National) - 07/02/2022 16:42:57

Why Mayo Cant Win An All-Ireland - 3 Like(s)

Replying To martinjoe:  "While the best team as you say, nearly always wins, the do not always win. In the finlas that Mayo have played they have never got a break that went their way, say from a mistake by a ref etc. And so it proved again on Saturday. Nobody outside Tyrone would have been outraged if the free on the edge of the square had been given as a peno."
Thats some desperate clutching at straws, if you are forever looking for external factors, bad luck, conspiracies or referees then you will never address the real issues. Im no McQuillan fan but he didnt put a foot wrong, so yis dont have that fallback of blaming the ref Address the real issues

HuddHastings (National) - 15/09/2021 11:01:35

Knockout Championship. - 3 Like(s)
Have to say it really has been thrilling so far. Between the last second drame in clones last week with ray galligans wonderscore and now this and the lim-tipp game. If nothing else hopefully its the death knell at the super 8's, the impact of the cork win yesterday would have been totally dulled by kerry regrouping and then whipping them in the back door at a later stage. Absolutely anything is possible in this years championship now. Mayo will be absolutely licking their lips

HuddHastings (National) - 09/11/2020 09:44:43

El Clasico 2020 Monaghan Vs Cavan - 3 Like(s)
For the life of me i cannot figure out how Banty has somehow carved out a reputation as a top manager. Lets look back on his cv. It reminds me a bit of Mick McCarthy, he gives good press and soundbites so media love him. Managed Monaghan for few years in the late noughties where he admittedly made them a bit more competitive and harder to beat, they won nothing though. That same group under Malachy O'Rourke would win 2 ulsters, get to an all ireland semi final and stay in division 1 for 7+ years Somehow landed the Meath job where he was an unmitigated disaster, the only notable feature of his time there was bringing a 40 year old Geraghty out of retirement. Not much of a long term view there. Left behind a big ball Wexford job next where he was relatively mediocre but undoubtedly left a huge bill and expenses tab ..which leads to Saturday, a 7 point commanding lead at halftime against a cavan side whose confidence was on the floor, All his forwards scoring well (O'Hanlon, McManus, Bannigan). Thus follows one of the most cowardly negative 2nd half performances i have seen, parking the bus and attempting to keep ball for an entire half. The tactics pretty much nullified all the attackers who had been going well and 2 fisted points from defenders the sum total of efforts. Cavan suddenly realised around the 60th minute that Monaghan had no intent on leaving their half so went for it. Monaghan and banty got what they deserved. All this followed a week when he talked about how monaghan were 'embarassed' by Cavan last year, ridiculously OTT statement and insulting to O'Rourke and cavan

HuddHastings (National) - 02/11/2020 11:50:12

El Clasico 2020 Monaghan Vs Cavan - 3 Like(s)
For the life of me i cannot figure out how Banty has somehow carved out a reputation as a top manager. Lets look back on his cv. It reminds me a bit of Mick McCarthy, he gives good press and soundbites so media love him. Managed Monaghan for few years in the late noughties where he admittedly made them a bit more competitive and harder to beat, they won nothing though. That same group under Malachy O'Rourke would win 2 ulsters, get to an all ireland semi final and stay in division 1 for 7+ years Somehow landed the Meath job where he was an unmitigated disaster, the only notable feature of his time there was bringing a 40 year old Geraghty out of retirement. Not much of a long term view there. Left behind a big ball Wexford job next where he was relatively mediocre but undoubtedly left a huge bill and expenses tab ..which leads to Saturday, a 7 point commanding lead at halftime against a cavan side whose confidence was on the floor, All his forwards scoring well (O'Hanlon, McManus, Bannigan). Thus follows one of the most cowardly negative 2nd half performances i have seen, parking the bus and attempting to keep ball for an entire half. The tactics pretty much nullified all the attackers who had been going well and 2 fisted points from defenders the sum total of efforts. Cavan suddenly realised around the 60th minute that Monaghan had no intent on leaving their half so went for it. Monaghan and banty got what they deserved. All this followed a week when he talked about how monaghan were 'embarassed' by Cavan last year, ridiculously OTT statement and insulting to O'Rourke and cavan

HuddHastings (Monaghan) - 02/11/2020 11:52:48

Championship 2020 - 3 Like(s)
Looking in as an outsider, that seems like a real coming of age performance for this Donegal team. A massive massive win when you consider all the following... - Really poor start with Tyrone adapting the conditions quicker and getting their tactics spot on - 3 of your key players, McHugh, Murphy and EBG all having poor games or nullified, there had been a concern that you guys were too dependent on McHugh/Murphy in particular - No McBrearty - Neil McGee gone at half time - nagging doubts about whether you guys had the grit to match the obvious talent Brilliant composure shown throughout the 2nd half in working the scores, Thompson and Langan were both immense, Langan in particular has been in allstar form all year. McFadden done trojan work and young gallen showed serious leadership for a young fella. You have shown you can win a close, dogfight now. Talent is absolutely not in question, buckets of talent and quality right throughout the squad. Would be great if you kick on and win an all ireland this year, break up the tedious kerry/dublin duopoly

HuddHastings (Donegal) - 02/11/2020 12:32:56

Dublin v Mayo. Who will win the 2017 All Ireland football final? - 3 Like(s)

Replying To glasagusdhearg:  "I think his comment's about last year's All Ireland final is what people are saying is disrespectful, after the game on sunday he was asked about the final and this is what he said "We played an All Ireland final last year, and didn't preform" so i think people see that as disrespectful to Mayo's defensive set up that day"
Why are Mayo fans in a constant rush to be outraged and 'disrespected' about everything. There was absolutely nothing in those comments from Jim Gavin

HuddHastings (National) - 31/08/2017 10:18:13

Leitrim GAA thread - 3 Like(s)
Seen enough from from Leitrim on sunday to think they will go up along with cavan and be promoted, Cavan will walk the division with 100% record with gearoid mckiernan and a few others yet to return but 2nd spot is very much up for grabs and i think it will ultimately come down to the leitrim v sligo game to decide 2nd spot, Tipperary seem to be a rabble this year, lots of the munster winners have dropped off and they drew with a woeful waterford side. I never thought at any stage that cavan looked like losing that game even with all their wides but leitrim impressed with their workrate and fitness and on another drier day guys like o'rourke and keith beirne will put up bigger scores on the scoreboard. Standard in div 4 is no great shakes so no reason leitrim cant join cavan in going up

HuddHastings (National) - 01/02/2022 11:53:41

GAA Leagues TV Coverage - 2 Like(s)

Replying To KillingFields:  "Why should RTE be expected to host the national league? So many fans, pundits, players dont care for league so why should RTE?"
Nonsense. There is huge interest in the leagues, the games are often a lot more competitive and evenly matched than cmost championship games. As the OP says RTE have dedicated far more resources to obscure stuff like womens international rugby where there is absolutely zero interest if people were being honest

HuddHastings (National) - 28/04/2021 15:34:22

Football All-Stars And POTY - 2 Like(s)
I made similar thread on potential allstars earlier so feel free t merge admins Yeah serious competition with defenders this year with most of the star performers for both finalists in defense, obviously with the caveat that there is always a bolter who picks one up on strength of one good game in final i would be betting on something like this as it stands now. Ruane, Hampsey, Keegan and McGeary all nailed on imo. Id day poty is between mcgeary and ruane going into the final Hennelly (Mayo) Keegan (Mayo) O'Hora (Mayo) Hampsey (Tyrone) Durcan (Mayo) Harte (Tyrone) Tom o'sullivan (Kerry) Ruane (Mayo) Mattie Donnelly (Tyrone) McGeary (Tyrone) Ryan o donoghue (Mayo) Diamruid o connor (Mayo) McCurry (Tyrone) Conroy (Mayo) David Clifford (Kerry)

HuddHastings (National) - 30/08/2021 18:22:45

Speedy Recovery Graham Geraghty - 2 Like(s)
Best wishes to Geraghty. A phenomenal footballer, first player that comes into my head if you mention 90s football. Could excel in pretty much any position from 2-15. How in god's name does he only have 2 allstars?

HuddHastings (National) - 29/10/2020 12:56:32

Question For Mayo Fans - 2 Like(s)
I think he just about squeezes into the starting team for the final, i reckon 14 of the starters are nailed on and its probably one of McHale/AOS/Carr who will get that final spot,in which case AOS will probably get the nod. He really was awful on saturday, the transformation when he went off was like night and day. I know everyone has the occasional off day but there are dozens of examples now of him not doing the business against the top 4-5 teams in big games. Its definitely a trend for a number of years now Seems like there are always excuses made for him too,"they dont know his best position","the ball into him is bad etc". Cant use that excuse after saturday as the whole gameplan was built around him in first half with loads of ball going into him. The occasional winning of a throw in or turnover really arent enough when you look at what newbies like ryan o'donoghue and conroy are contributing (tackles, turnovers, scores, speed) I think he will start the final and actually should do ok against Jason Foley who is a major weak link in that kerry backline but will be interesting to see what they do with him next season with cillian o'connor back in the team, i dont think horan will play both together as he seems to be favouring sheer pace above all else at the minute. Both lads slow it down far too much

HuddHastings (National) - 19/08/2021 11:15:33

Ulster Final Donegal V Cavan - 2 Like(s)
Murphy is well able to look after himself, and raymond galligan has the scars to prove it. MM should have been sent off in the ulster final last year, brilliant player but he sails very close to the wind in most games. Some day soon a ref is going to call his bluff and show him the line

HuddHastings (National) - 18/11/2020 13:47:44

Galway V Mayo Connacht Final - 2 Like(s)
@Galways fans...where was robert finnerty on sunday? Didnt feature at all. I was very impressed with him in the league and assumed he would be starting at weekend, much less not seeing gametime at all. He must surely have been ****** off looking at someone like sice get in. Ian Burke, quality player that he is has been off form since his allstar year now and rarely troubles the scoreboard. Felt sorry for Paul Conroy and Shane Walsh who seem to be getting unfair stick in some quarters but those 2 were single handedly carrying the fight with inspirational points. Going to be an awful frustrating winter for galway watching a poor Mayo team get to an all ireland final. Surely they will be champing at the bit in 2021 and should be able to add Duggan, Cooke, Varley, Brannigan, A fit Comer, Tierney amongst others

HuddHastings (National) - 17/11/2020 12:34:40

Dubs V Mayo - 2 Like(s)

Replying To TheFlaker:  "It's hilarious how much people detest him. An amateur sportsperson. Regardless of how he performed in the final last year. It's laughable to suggest he never plays well in big games."
Im not from Galway and i dont hate him (or any player tbh) , id love nothing better than seeing the big man grab the game by the scruff of the neck and helping defeat the dubs on saturday but the fact is he hasnt done the business in several finals now and has never done it against dublin, and by doing the business i mean higher metrics the ordinary mullocker. We need to see far more from him than the odd turnover of wining an occasional throw up. I am holding him to higher standards because he has such a huge profile and is often talked about as one of the best players in the country, he really needs to show it on this occasion. Lads like Keegan, Kevin McLoughlin, Durcan etc have all showed up on the biggest occasion many times, AOS needs to do so too Id love nothing better than to be proven wrong on saturday and have this post thrown back at me after dubs have been defeated...

HuddHastings (National) - 09/08/2021 16:59:45

Come On Engerland.....Peoples' Views??? - 2 Like(s)
I hope the italians batter them too, but i have to ask what is the point in starting this thread on a GAA website, i came on here to escape all the 'footballs coming home' hype

HuddHastings (National) - 08/07/2021 14:36:17

Andy Moran - Roscommon Fans - 2 Like(s)
Those sensitive souls in Mayo are easily outraged... He was giving it the big one in the FBD league v Roscommon with his badge kissing antics so they were always going to give it back to him. Its all just a bit of harmless pantomime, i sincerely doubt Andy himself was affected by it. Mayo fans seem to have something new to whinge about every week, its usually the ref or the venue or the Dublin media etc etc

HuddHastings (National) - 31/07/2017 09:52:41

Is Rochford Calling The Shots - 2 Like(s)
as the week goes on there seems to be a fair bit of revisionism around the AOS at fullback move! It blatantly didnt work last week, after Andy Moran Donaghy was the most influential player on the pitch, most of Kerrys good play went through his hands, he had about 10 yards of space anytime he got the ball, AOS wasnt within sight of him for the KD point or O'Briens goal, cant believe there are some saying it worked. Crazy stuff

HuddHastings (National) - 23/08/2017 11:34:11

Sligo Covid-19 Breakout - 2 Like(s)
Usually a big fan of Tomas o'se but i can see why he is getting a kicking on this. His comments smack of elitism. If a dublin/Kerry/mayo of any of the big publicity sides were in same position as sligo you could be damn sure special arrangemenst would be made to accomoadate them

HuddHastings (National) - 04/11/2020 23:37:57

AOS - Potential Bad Injury - 2 Like(s)
So as usual with AOS/Mayo the injury scare was a lot of hysterical hype and a huge waste of column inches over a number of days. lol Glad to hear he is ok though, dont like to see any player in their 30s get a season ender

HuddHastings (National) - 28/04/2021 09:31:33