Longford Forum

Popular Posts from Longfordbaz

Dubs 2018 - Troubling Signs - 6 Like(s)

Replying To TheHermit:  "Yerra ya Dublin are banjacked - Kerry 4 Sam. On a side note, why in hell are RTE bothering to show Longford getting the stuffing knocked out of them on Sunday when Down are playing Donegal at the same time. Christ there's little enough football being shown without side lining a competitive match for a turkey shoot."
Trying hard with limited resources. Our team is developing and some good footballers. The fact of the matter is, that Kerry Mayo Galway and Dublin are the super 4. We're competitive with anyone else, and still trying to develop. Thanks for the encouragement.

Longfordbaz (National) - 06/06/2018 21:17:49

Meath V Dublin Leinster Final. - 5 Like(s)

Replying To GerryD:  "Dublin fan logic... - it's not about the money - it's not our fault we have a large population - Leitrim should use their pitiful playing and financial resources to challenge us - let's laugh and gloat at those less financially fortunate than us"
Dublin fans close ur eyes, relax and imagine - longford county and city is the capital of ireland and has 1.2 million of population. Longfords county board are struggling, as longfords youth are playing rugby and more worryingly soccer after the success of the irish soccer team. Longford go the gaa hierarchy and stress their vision of a poor gaeic football team in 10 yrs. Longford arent worried about the hurling really, but get investment for gaa hierarchy all the same. - longfords county ground, in their eyes, is not fit to hold longford gaelic football games. They again agree with the gaa, that for now,longford will play all their gaelic football matches at the national gaa stadium, which is also in the capital. -by the 2000s the fruits of the investment are now beginning to show. In 2006, the have to play a little known dublin team, in dublin. Dublin has a population of 35k at the time while drumlish in longford has 40k people. Luckily longford scrape by by 2 pts, and dont play outside longford again for another 10yrs approx in leinster. ÷longford are now winning leinster titles. From nowhere, supporters come out of the woodwork. Ticket sales are going through the roof. Santa is bringing longford jerseys instead of ireland jerseys. Gaa revenue is going through the roof also. Businesses see an opportunity with longford and tbey too want a piece of the pie. ÷longford make the breakthrough and win an all ireland title after a barren spell. Eddie valentine asks the players to go to his bar. He also provides sponsorship and gets a mention from the longford players on the sunday game. Gaa now have a cash cow. The national stadium is hosting 50k odd longford supporters on their own. Ticket sales are like never before, and longfords sponsors are queuing up. Longford gaa team is now an business in all but name. A former great, is invited to coach u14s in ballinalee. He is amazed when 600 u14s turn up fot the session. ÷ dublin are in longfords province. They have a county ground to maintain, 12 senior clubs to pick from and very little sponsorship. However, dublin are making steady progress, with a name now, of being very hard to beat at their home ground. In 2018, they beat a former leinster piwerhouse, meath in the leinster quarter final, and now have to play longford in longford. Longford are going for their 8th leinster and 4th all ireland in a row. ÷some dublin players have never played in the bational stadium before. Longford supporters think itll be a geeat experience for little dublin,to play them in the national stadium in longford. Dublin go a man down after 14 mins and lose by 19pts. Longford supporters still think it was a great experience for the dublin players, management and supporters. Dublin players and supporters feel like shite. ÷longford walk the leinster championship and all Ireland championship. They're now playing their national league and championship games in the national stadium. Theyre getting unprecedented media coverage, sponsorship of approx a millions, and are now a business in all but name. Gaa now rely on longford going on in the championship as far as possible in order that the revenue is acceptable. Longford have still not developed their county ground, pearse park, which longford hurlers now use for their games. Their now a div1 hurling side, and have also made great progress. ÷dublin and other so calkweaker county supporters feel the treatment of longford is extremely unfair. Their playing numbers, their sponsorship, their media coverage, the advantages longford appear to get from gaa hierarchy, begin to irritate. On top of this a new competition is put in place. Super 8s. Teams will play one home, away and neutral game in this competition. However as longford are playing in the national stadium as their home venue, they will now have 2 home games in this competition. This occurred en route to their 4th all ireland title in a row. ÷longford supporters are sick to the teeth of these whingers. Dublin, with their population now 40k people, should be striving to have players like longford. They should be striving for sponsorship deals like longford even though dublin play in div 3. Its not longfords fault, that theres 1.2 million people in the place, or that drumlish has the population of co dublin, or that lads cant take days off work for recovery after games, or that dublin cant get 50k supporters in to generate funding or that dublin have to pay out to maintain their county ground, or that dublin cant afford proper dietations, physios, drs, etc. Why cant dublin be ran like a corporate business just like longford. ÷longford supperters watch the sunday game, on the national broadcaster, and hear what they believe....that 40k people dublin should be striving to be like 1.2 million longford, having footballers of the skill of longford, spending to be as professional as longford and treating themselvez as professional athletes, even though all the dublin players cant afford to miss work on days of or after matches as their sponsorship isnt up to scrtach. ÷feckin weaker counties like dublin should jyst shut up and put up......for godsake....give longford the credit they deserve....begrudger!!!! - its ok dublin people. Dry the sweat from ur brow..its only a nightmare.!!

Longfordbaz (National) - 23/06/2019 23:18:55

Dublin V Louth - What A Farce - 4 Like(s)

Replying To Htaem:  "Just an observation from last night, I was watching the sunday waiting for Meath's 2min snippet and struggling through Joe Brolly's campaign for 3 tiers (which basically gets brought up after every game). We were last on so I got to see most of the other snippets first and after the Longford v Kildare game, Longford manager Padraic Davis happened to remark after what was an entertaining game that 'football is alive and well'. Camera's then cut back to studio where Joe Brolly is píssing himself laughing at the comment. This is the man who apparently has Div 3 & 4 teams best interests at heart, Longford wouldn't even be in a position to play Kildare under a tiered structure."
U hit the nail on the head. Take dublin out of leinster and put them in to ulster championship. Now u have a very competitive leinster championship and a one sided ulster championship. Put dublin into connacht, and after saturday, they walk that, with ulster and leinster championships being very competitive. Counties like mine are constantly undermined by these pundits, (i use that term loosely) and the work coaches do within these counties. We also had brolly describing louth players standing on their crossbar trying to stop dublin scoring points. Easy to score points when u can pick from 1. 2 million people. This attitude has gone on for yrs, including ur usual sneery comments from pat spillane also. I remember another "expert" kevin mcstay make a comment about wicklow. Scenario was wicklow just lost out to laois maybe 2 or 3 yrs ago, by 2 pts or so. Des cahill commented, that aughrim was a hard place to get out of, to which mcstay replied "what des, the traffic"....very beneficiial comment for everyone. What these pundits try to make people believe, is that there are "8 super teams" in Gaelic football, that can win the all ireland. Well, wake up and smell the coffee. After last yrs farce that was an all Ireland final, and mayos defeat last sat, there probably a "super 2". This will get very tiresome in a couple of yrs. The dublin cb went to the gaa 10 to 15 yrs ago, complaining that they needed massive investment due to competitors like rugby and soccer. GAA then realised they found a cash cow, refusing to take them out of croke park and allowing dublin to use the national gaa ground as their home ground, while other counties spend money, building, developing and maintaining their iwn grounds. Well basically, they turned dublin into professionals in all but name. I now observe, and from speaking to my fellow sport nut friends, that we dont even bother watching a dublin game now on tv save for the final. Last yr we watched 15 mins of the final. What these pundits and media outlets of similar ilk are doing is turning people, ouside top 4 or 5 counties away from football. People are losing interest in the game. If that continues, it leaves a vacuum for other sports in these counties. In times to come, they might be sorry they were so disrespectful to the "weaker" counties and be fed up with a 2 team championship. If they think that the "bigger" counties will always be there , well.......look at cork!!

Longfordbaz (National) - 27/05/2019 22:02:13

Proposals For 2Nd Tier Championship Pathetic - 4 Like(s)

Replying To arock:  "Well no matter what you or the few serial malcontents and knuckledraggers say the counties wanted it and voted for it time to move on."
That's untrue, and with respect, being a dub with everything at your disposal, you don't understand what weaker county players or fans feel or want. Not being smart, it's just a fact.

Longfordbaz (National) - 20/10/2019 10:19:45

Meath V Longford - 4 Like(s)
Now that the excitement has died down and reality is beginning to bite regarding our game on Sunday, I just want to say one thing before I close. I brought my nephew (6) to the longford v meath game. He's Jonny Sexton and leinster mad. However after the game, he now wants Longford gear for his birthday, which I'm delighted about. It was is first longford game. What made it was the supporters, and by that I mean I was surrounded by meath supporters, where I was situated. I was at other games in the past, where things get heated in the moment, and I include myself in that. However I was genuinely struck by the graciousness of your supporters, the good humour and at no point did I hear anyone say anything derogatory about Longford etc. Educated football supporters. I know it was a tough day to be a meath supporter but The whole experience was great for me never mind the nephew. The hope is now, that we don't freeze in the headlights and give it a lash (against those whose name we cannot mention)!!! Tks again lads, and I do honestly think your summer isn't over after next weekend!!...i think there will be a reaction!!

Longfordbaz (Meath) - 05/06/2018 18:45:21

Dublin's Success Not Down To Money - GAA President - 4 Like(s)

Replying To Joxer:  "15 v 15. Get your medals out lad and stop making excuses."
Dub asking a kerry man, to get out his medals......when kerry have approx 9 or 10 more all irelands......dubs are funny!!

Longfordbaz (National) - 15/06/2019 20:11:48

"I'M Finished With That Now, And Life Is Already Much Better" - 3 Like(s)
I can understand where he's coming from and this is where gaa needs to wake up.. In leinster, the goal is only to reach a leinster final...you play the dubs and move on to qualifiers...the super 8 is a money making exercise for the gaa in the immediate future.....they have no concern for the smaller counties and their development but not all the teams they will be competitive in say 5 yrs times, purely due to pick and playing population..in 10 years time you could have a situation where Dublin, Kerry and Mayo have a realistic chance of winning Sam and who wants to see the same faces win in any sport.....players from smaller counties, might not make the sacrifices required, with absolutely no silverware on the horizon...they will just concentrate on club football, who are applying pressure to stay with them....any that will make the sacrifices, are only doing so, for the love of the game and the love of their county....but gaa dismiss these players....media dismiss these players...these players and counties are sneered at every summer on the Sunday game.....these are the players the gaa should cherish because without them, you have a three or four team competition......players like Dermot Brady, Paul barden, Declan Browne, Mattie forde of old.....personally, I can see how rugby is taking a hold, with younger people dreaming of playing for leinster, connaght, ulster or Munster, rather than longford, louth, Sligo, fermannagh, or say antrim.....the competition needs an overhaul.....however there are ways of making it competitive in its current format....a small example would be if a div 3 or 4 team are drawn against a "superpower" they automatically get home advantage...give a glimmer of hope....but with this glimmer could comes the possibility of the "superpower" being knocked out...and what might that do to the GAA kitty.....which imo is more important to them than any development...rant over.

Longfordbaz (National) - 25/02/2018 11:27:38

Meath V Dublin - 3 Like(s)
What a difference 12 months make. Best of luck in leinster final lads. Ye seem to be playing with confidence again. With the history and rivalry, chance to "put them under pressure"....This time we have tyrone. Poor them coming to pearse park!!!!!!!!....seriously though any punters out there, stay away from this one. We're missing 6 front liners which is a pity!

Longfordbaz (Meath) - 10/06/2019 18:55:23

2Nd Tier Championship....Catch Yourself On - 2 Like(s)

Replying To theweanling:  "100!!!!! why we want to create another league just makes no sense to me!!! we have a tiered competition and it is working really well. the biggest issue is that its continued to be played throughout the spring in the worst weather that Ireland gets in a calendar year. its played off like a mini Sevens competition to get it over and done with so we can get on with dreaming about the white heat of championship which doesn't spark until semi final stage!!! There's absolutely nothing stopping the GAA to reshuffle the league and championship to allow league games and finals to be played in summer!!! there's also nothing stopping the GAA from marketing the league to allow it reach its full potential. the answer to footballs problems at the moment is literally on front of our noses."
Being from longford, u always dream of sam, and a longford captain climbing the steps. However its unlikely although so was Leicester city!!!! I was always against a second tier championship, mainly it was because it was usually called some cup, played out of season and given absolutely no media coverage or tv coverage. The fear is, itll be like the joe mcdonagh cup. No coverage whatsoever (and thats from speaking at length to Westmeath and laois supporters) However i do think a model is actually in place and could work. It works fantastic at club level. Brolly is right when he says u need 3 tiers. U call them senior, intermediate and junior all ireland championships. U have games curtain raisers to senior games and u have an all ireland weekend. U play ur junior and intermediate all Ireland finals on the sat and senior on the sunday, thus alleviating ur ticket problems. This works at club level . A junior or intermediate club player would give their right arm to win their perspective championships. The key is the branding and marketing of the competitions. Its about promotion promotion promotion. Give the competitions the respect and media/tv coverage, that the players deserve. They give up alot at this level, to play for their counties. Very easy to train in winter etc if u have a chance of bringing home sam or a provincial title. There are obviously other things to consider also, like league placings and provincial championships. But if the genuine will is there to bring on counties and make them competitive, then change can happen. In this environment i think i would like to see longford wi an all ireland intermediate football final on all ireland Saturday. Not though, if its treated like the joe mcdonagh cup!!

Longfordbaz (National) - 27/05/2019 21:24:00

Leinster Football Championship - 2 Like(s)

Replying To kildare73:  "Ok and then ask yourself why Kildare had a 9 point defeat to Dublin last year while Monaghan and Tyrone had I think 11 and 14 point defeats respectively? These are supposed to be the best two teams in Ulster. Its not just Leinster thats uncompetitive, its the whole championship with massive exemption of Mayo. No point in bashing Leinster teams when the rest fail to an equal or even larger degree. It isn't just a Leinster failing. Plus all the other provincial finals last year were double digit losses for the losers. There wasn't one good final among them."
Have to agree. Everyone talks about how competitive the ulster championship is. Yet, Dublin have well beaten any team that comes out of there over last 5 yrs or so. Donegal had a spell, but last year longford went to ballybofey and could've won the game and beat the ulster champions in the qualifiers two years ago, along with down in an away fixture as well. It's not only leinster teams that suffer at hands of dubs. We could all talk about how competitive our championship is, when they're not in it. I don't mean to be disrespectful to the ulster championship, as I enjoy the Competitiveness of it, either. I think any other game, is competitive in the leinster championship. Then you look at the ground that Carlow are making as well. Facts speak for themselves. If anybody thinks that these counties in leinster are behind the dubs because of lack of hard work, they are deluding themselves. A pick of 1.2 million, against a pick the size of Lucan or swords??? that what Dublin playing my team, longford,is like. However there are ways, in the short term, of levelling the playing slightly. If longford or laois or Carlow etc, teams in divs 3 and 4, are drawn to play Dublin, let the div 3 or 4 team have home advantage. In fairness to Tomas o Shea, he agreed when I tweeted him this, that the problem is not lack of hard work it's pick. He also agreed with home advantage idea. In fairness to him he's a Gaelic football man, who wants to see that game progressing, with more teams developing and becoming more competitive. He wants this and what I took from his article was, that he was asking the question of the gaa, what their plans were to try and make this happen. If they dont do something, teams like mine, are in serious trouble. A different discussion, I know, but I have never observed as many young kids playing rugby here, as I have now. In years to come, the rest of us will be watching rugby, while 3 or four contest an all Ireland football title???!!!!

Longfordbaz (National) - 11/05/2018 23:50:24

Is Leinster Football Dead And Buried? - 2 Like(s)

Replying To clondalkindub:  "So why aren't our hurlers winning if it's all about money? Why did our minor hurlers and footballers get beaten if it's all about money? Most of our team have parents that played for Dublin or in Kilkenny's case a superstar relation from Galway , these guys were destined to play for Dublin money has nothing to do with it. Yes our population is obviously a factor but as you can see we're battling with rugby right now and soccer is huge in Dublin sadly 1.5 million Dubliners don't play GAA."
We're also battling rugby and soccer. Our esteemed St mels college, with numerous leinster colleges titles to their name and 7 or 8 all Irelands recently won the colleges rugby development leinster title. I have no doubt Dublin are battling these elements, but so are we. The difference is your battling them with 1.2 million people, we're battling it with 30k......its all relative!

Longfordbaz (National) - 28/05/2018 11:26:59

Day Out In An Empty Croke Park - 2 Like(s)

Replying To arock:  "Dubs are not completely blind to everything going on, we are too busy defending ourselves for having the foresight to invest in players as in like U8/U9/U10/U11 etc etc years ago. Unlike some of the other counties particularly in Leinster who got the notion that building a centre of excellence would be some sort of GAA factory churning out top-class players. Some counties nearly bankrupted themselves in the process. And the reverse of what you were saying about Dubs not understanding the rural game - well there is precious little insight into how Dublin GAA operates internally apart from the usual Rural myths. And everyone elses solution seems to be to cap Dublin's population, cap its finances, cap its clubs etc I saw a program on TG4 about Slaughtneil, how it is not just a fantastic club embraces all FOUR codes (not cherry picking like some of the laggard counties), successfully in county and All Ireland. The most impressive thing was how it empowered the local community, helping the local economy, people returning to the area and making it a place worth living, working and playing in. That is REAL success, so away with the poor mouthing and go and do something useful."
Gaa hierarchy invested in your u8, u10, u12 etc programmes etc in early noughties, as dublin cb were concerned about threat rugby and soccer in the county. Unfortunately for the rest of us, they havent stopped feeding money into the gaa cash cow. To say dublin cb invested within, themselves, is only partly correct.

Longfordbaz (National) - 10/06/2019 21:54:48

'The People's Game' - 2 Like(s)

Replying To galwayford:  "The GAA should try and reach out a bit more to the diaspora who arrive through Dublin airport especially. I always see big adverts for the European rugby games in the arrivals hall. Surely GAA people could try and hire some space for GAA publicity. Also I have said it time and time again, GAA clubs should try and encourage the use of An Gaeilge more. And also maybe Irish dancing. Become "Gaelic hubs" in other words. How about an Irish dancing championship in Croke park? Or a Gaelic only zone? Cén fáth nach bhfuil aon gaeilge ins a lán de na clubanna Gaeil. Don't let the GAA end up in the ludicrous situation where the local Rugby club is regarded as being the place to go for the culture and craic! It has happened with the anthem, it is said ( silly imho) that the Rugby crowd are more respectful to Amhrán na bhFiann then the GAA."
You have some valid points. I love rugby myself, but grew up playing and loving Gaelic football predominantly. I have posted before about the amount of kids now turning up at longford rugby club, compared to years ago. My nephew is Jonny Sexton mad, and wants every different leinster and Ireland top for his birthdays and Christmas. This is because most of his buddies are the same. Leinster are continually promoting the game of rugby. There will be Rugby summer camps down here along with leinster pre season rugby training. I more or less have to drag him to longford and meath tomorrow. A couple of weeks ago, I saw something, that 25 yrs ago would never have happened. St mels college here in Longford, was/is an esteemed Gaelic football college. Numerous leinster senior A titles along with 7 or 8 All Ireland's. I can't recall the last time that Mels won the leinster title, maybe early noughties. I think their last All Ireland was 1987. I now learned that mels, have a very progressive rugby structure in place and this year, subsequently won the development colleges competition. I see another school from longford moyne also contested the plate competition final. For a time yrs ago moyne were competitive with mels in the colleges gaa. Both are now rapidly progressing in the game of rugby. As I said I love rugby and leinster are to be commended, for the work and promotion they are doing. Unlike their GAA equivalent, they are not forgetting about counties like my own, that are outside the top 5 or 6, and know there is talent to be sourced in every county in the province, including outside the m50. The gaa have been warned, and if they don't act, they deserve what they get. They can have their super 8's to generate capital for the organization. Super 8's isn't much addition to a lot of so called weaker counties., In 20 yrs it could be a super 4 or a super 2. Up Longford!!......a win by 2 pts tomorrow (v meath)......and please god my nephew will want a blue and gold Jersey!!!!!!!

Longfordbaz (National) - 26/05/2018 11:24:47

Meath V Tyrone - 2 Like(s)

Replying To royaldunne:  "Robbed. Totally robbed. I don't do moral victories. I hated Roscommon before this. Now I despise them. Robbed."
Very poor officiating, and TBH, slot of decisions did go against meath. He also did not appear to know, how to use the advantage rule. It looked a penalty all day long. There's not alot between any of the teams outside, Dublin, Kerry, Mayo, Galway. Pity they didn't close it out, being a leinster team, and the poo, wrote about leinster championship!!

Longfordbaz (Meath) - 09/06/2018 20:29:52

Proposals For 2Nd Tier Championship Pathetic - 2 Like(s)

Replying To sam1884:  "Without arrogance the reality is 8 teams who will potentially have to compete in Tier 2 next year voted against it. If the likes of Derry, Cork, Down, Kildare, Roscommon, Cavan, Armagh, Laois, end up in Div 3, don't get to a provinical final then don't expect any of those counties to keep their teams together to then travel the country to play a second tier competition. I'd say they'll field some kind of team to fulfil the fixture but club championships, America and London will be the priority. If the likes of Wicklow want to play against counties "C" or "D" teams who turn up untrained and for a weekend away then fair play to them. The reality is the top brass won't care that players leave panels en masse after losing their provinicial game, they'll have their Tier 1 Championship set up which is the only priority. The top brass talk about democracy which is very true. Players are amateur and they're allowed their own form of democracy and to make decisions which benefit them. In huge numbers they'll take the payday of America or London and the large majority of players from those counties that stay at home will spend the summer with their clubs. 16 teams was too many and you won't be able to motivate players or counties around 9th to 18th to compete or put the effort, finance and preparation into this farce."
Hit the nail on the head there Sam. Ironically I think by playing in one competition, losing and then playing your b competition is also a draw back. Teams and management will gear towards their provincial competition, when that's over, they're gonzo....

Longfordbaz (National) - 20/10/2019 11:24:25

Proposals For 2Nd Tier Championship Pathetic - 2 Like(s)

Replying To PK57:  "When i started this thread, i thought there was a small chance that common sense might prevail, so to see 75% of delegates vote for it, is mind boggling. One of the most insulting parts of yesterday was to hear the powers that be say that the competition was about helping weaker counties, when it is obviously the opposite. This is about removing the likes of Louth, Wicklow etc. from competing, so the GAA can have games involving the top sides and therefore generate more revenue. It was also hilarious hearing how this new competition will have a promotional campaign to ramp up interest. Does anyone think that an opening round match in Aughrim between Louth and Wicklow will attract anymore than 500 people. Also, no chance that any TV station or national media covers these games(apart from maybe the final or semi-final). This competition doesn't deal with the obvious problem of the provincial championship's. If the GAA were honest, they would admit that they want the top counties playing each other regularly and as for the rest, they couldn't care less."
Agree with everything you say. Longford voted against it, and I think, not sure, but I think this was after consultation with players....nothing more than financial decision....for players and supporters of longford and louth, achievement doesn't have to be winning a Tommy Murphy cup, or b championship. A realistic goal and aim is a super 8 spot and players themselves want to play and test themselves against the best. . Theres lots of other way gaa could level the playing field, but that might affect the pockets and the HAVES.

Longfordbaz (National) - 20/10/2019 11:39:21

National Football League 2018 - 1 Like(s)

Replying To rahoorahoo:  "Excellent win against Westmeath! Big game against Fermanagh sunday think we are well capable of a win. I hate people going on about being better off staying in division 3. Not a fear of it standard betweeen 2 and 3 is very little. Definitely as good as likes of Cavan and Roscommon. If you want lads to commit to the cause they want to be playing the best teams out there."
I agree. Easier to get lads in, when your playing more seasoned or "glamourous" ties. Plus if you're in div 2, ya might even get mentioned on league Sunday!!!?...if u had Larry Moran in there with John Keegan etc, to add to the squad, it would be great. You now need 20 players/team to play the 70 minutes...you need "the finishers" to quote a rugby term...anyway think it'll be another tight affair Sunday. Hopefully we can make home advantage count with good support. Pity a couple of key guys are missing. Our defence as I said earlier, have good individual players, but we need to be tighter as a unit.....i wonder is Andy Farrell free this week, being that he's a Farrell??!!!!

Longfordbaz (Longford) - 19/03/2018 17:00:14

The Sunday Game - Awful Coverage - 1 Like(s)

Replying To Pullhard1985:  "like the championship structure The Sunday Game has just become stale and outdated Brolly wont offer any analysis outside of the the narrative he is always plugging in is newspaper articles... Lets go through his analysis on last nights games.... Mayo v Roscommon - Dublin are great, what would dublin do, Hennelly is a bottler, nothing on Roscommon or how they won the game Tyrone v Antrim - Dublin are great, what would dublin do. Then he had the cheek to criticize Tyrone for throwing bodies forward and leaving themselves too open at the back, he has been slating them for years for not doing this the massive hypocrite Donegal v Fermanagh - Dublin are great, what would dublin do. Fermanagh horrible to watch, no shit sherlock Kildare v Longford - Dublin are great, what would dublin do. Zero analysis or insight on the game of the weekend Wmeath v Laois - Dublin are great, what would dublin do. Zero analysis I must say i did laugh out loud when he mentioned Stevie Poachers 'Triple blastoff transition' though Would much prefer to see proper analysis and discussion like the one you get on the Joe.ie hour with Parkinson and Cian Ward, that is excellent"
Love this post....soo acurate. Then if they're not talking dublin, they're telling us how the "big" team were beaten by the "weaker" team, as "big" team played sooo bad. Eg the rossies beat mayo. Nothing against either team and would love to see mayo win an all ireland. Last night however, there was very little about how da rossies actually went about beating mayo, game plan, team structure etc. It was all about how shocking mayo were, and where mayo go from here. How rossies management went about stifling mayo was an afterthought. Cavan beat Monaghan last week. Again i like both sides yet the analysis was basically why Monaghan were finished. Very little about cavan and Mickey Grahams tactics on actually beating Monaghan. The best game of last weekend, was longford v kildare. It got 4mins 58 s air time. This is why a second tiered championship will never work. It would be totally disregarded and disrespected by media and tv. It would never see the light of day on the box. Justask any of my mates who are mad into hurling in Westmeath or laois.

Longfordbaz (National) - 27/05/2019 20:57:47

Longford/Donegal - 1 Like(s)

Replying To Lockjaw:  "Lads I think the last time we met in Championship was in 03. Who was the big full forward yez had back then? He was a pure wrecking ball!"
Niall was class...remember playing dubs in portlaoise....fans behind goals chanted the usual stuff about pies etc...dubs won by 5 or 6 pts but Niall scored one two or three off Christie.....when Niall was taken off with a few minutes left, dubs gave him huge round of applause....when Christie retired he was interviewed about retirement etc...he was asked on Newstalk, who was his toughest opponent...out of them all, he said Niall..!!

Longfordbaz (Longford) - 01/07/2017 14:24:31

Longford V Meath - 1 Like(s)

Replying To meath1987:  "hi all , just looking for some info regarding Sunday week , travelling from sligo by train but i was wondering could i walk from the train station to the ground? also where is good for a Sunday feed in longford and a good spot for a few pints before and after , i think it will be a close game! looking forward to it"
When u arrive at train station, go out to front and go straight left, youll know what I mean when u see it. This will bring you straight down the town. Basically, the station is at one end of town and pitch at the other. Literally walk on the main route and you'll get there. There's a new restaurant after opening the station end of town, and it's suppose to be nice. It's about 4 or 5 min walk from station on right. Another 3 Min walk on left is market bar, on market square we call it. Further down town about 7 or 8 min on left hand side, is an upstairs Restaurant. It's called the aubergine, beside boots chemist. Lovely grub, but bit small. Further down is longford arms hotel, who do a nice sun dinner as well. It's situated at traffic lights. Then there's the rugby club as mentioned, beside pitch. As for stout, I would say for gaa chat, Andy byrnes, Milo's, Valentine's, longford arms and rugby club are best options.....hope you have a great day, without the result!!!!!!!!!

Longfordbaz (Longford) - 11/05/2018 21:14:04