Longford Forum

Popular Posts from arcadia

Longford GAA thread - 2 Like(s)
Fair play to Mostrim, well worth the win and will give it a lash in the final. Mullinalaghta definitely the better side in the second game, but the physical attacks on Mickey Quinn should not have gone unpunished. We will probably see more of those tactics in the final. It proves successful for Mullinalaghta but it won't win them many fans as a result. Killoe left wanting in too many areas of the field. As for someone above claiming Killoe supporters are unbearable, I have experienced (and I bet most on here has too) unbearable supporters in most clubs in the county down the years when clubs are in a successful phase. No club is immune from those elements and happily it doesn't define any club either. It reads as though the writer above has a bone to pick or a personal gripe they want to air. I don't have much time for that sort of dross. Its a football game, judge the play and the tactics, leave the personal crap at home. Should be an eventful final. Looking forward to it.

arcadia (National) - 24/10/2021 20:59:32

Local Championship - 2 Like(s)

Replying To Longfordbaz:  "I have read comments here regarding the killoe mostrim game which are both ludicrous and astonishing in equal measure. For anyone to think that they would go out in a game they did not need win, risk injuries which they obtained, and play all their front line players is absolutely ridiculous..not to mention the fact that they actually won the game.. Secondly I read comments regarding killoe supporters arrogance on social media. I.myself am from killoe. Anyone who reads my posts know how I crave our county team to do well. Therefore I want to see all players in all clubs playing to the best of their ability which in turn, enhances the county team. I have been on fb and read comments about the game with mostrim. I have not seen any arrogant, condescending or triumphant ism...if you could forward these comments or state them here, I would be the first to acknowledge that they were as you say and would waste no time in telling said supporters to cop on. People forget that killoe did not appear in a county final between 1995 and 2012. A conscious decision was made within the parish in the late nineties to concentrate and develop the underage structure. This included massive effort within the parish and the national school. Master Harte will never be forgotten for his influence in this regard. This developments included massive fundraising for school development along with improvements at clonee as well. All of this was done by parishioners. The school players were nurtured within the school system and developed on the schoolboy pitches in clonee. All this was done by the people, teachers and club persons from the parish. We are seeing the fruits of that labour now. If killoe parish can look at themselves and do what they did, then anyone can. The people I associate with from killoe take nothing for granted. The vast majority were cheering on our rivals mullinalaghta in leinster 2 yrs ago. I myself support all our county champions in leinster. I have gone in the past supporting drumlish dromard slashers abbeylara etc. As I say most of us know how luck we are and also that nothing lasts forever."
Well said. Many other clubs can relate exactly to the feast and famine experience and the solid graft needed to build back up to success. There are some in the county with a lug on them over certain clubs winning, and some of those cranks are on this forum. They should be ignored and left to howl at the moon because they contribute nothing to the football story of Longford other than begrudgery. We all succeed when our clubs are strong, and no club stays on top forever. Should be Killoe and Abbey coming out of this weekend.

arcadia (Longford) - 18/09/2020 12:15:19

County Championship - 2 Like(s)
Fair play to Rathcline for proving everyone (me included) wrong at the weekend. Colmcille just couldn't get across the line, but lots of games to go yet I suppose and the Killoe injuries seem to keep mounting.

arcadia (Longford) - 20/09/2021 10:49:41

National Football League 2018 - 2 Like(s)
Fairly high levels of hysteria on social media and radio yesterday after the game. The ref had a big influence in the end, but the game was as much lost because Longford squandered a 3 point lead and couldn't hold on to the ball for the 30 seconds needed to close it out at the end. Inability to close out big games is a hindrance when you are not so used to winning and is symptomatic of why this team (although they have progressed massively and deserve credit for a good season) are not quite Division 2 material yet. That is a hard reality, no need for the hysteria or nonsense voiced yesterday about northern refs. How anyone could reason with a straight face that referees would actively be against Longford (what earthly reason would there be for that?), or moreover how anyone could reason that somehow northern refs only want their own province teams to win (have you ever been to Ulster games?), is beyond me, and frankly beyond reason. If the ref was from Laois and we drew the game and qualified, would you find a Fermanagh argument about Leinster refs 'sticking together' credible? The ref deserves criticism and lots of it, but only as much as the team in the final analysis. I feel for the players who will feel a massive punch in the gut at the end of a solid campaign - but some players clearly need to know how that punch feels, because learning to close out the big games is a massively important capability. In the end we were better than we thought, but annoyingly better than we ended up. Onward to a confident performance and win over Meath and some good performances in the qualifiers. Trend is still upward.

arcadia (Longford) - 26/03/2018 10:42:43

Longford Championship 2019 - 1 Like(s)
Credit to Killoe, sluggish game and they made hard work of it. Some of the decisions from the man in the middle in the second half were a bit all over the place to put it mildly but the best team won. Finishing the decade with 4 county titles is no mean feat (not been done since the 1960's I think). Definitely not the greatest game or atmosphere, but it has very good company in that regard this century.

arcadia (Longford) - 11/10/2019 14:16:21

Local Championship - 1 Like(s)

Replying To jack99:  "While I said that was my final comment on the sad matter I simply must reply to your rather spiteful comment williesboy. I had an account here for years but hadn't been active but came on this year to discuss the championship which if you took the time to look you would see . I suggested and stand by my opinion that Mullinalaghta will win the championship unless there is a lockdown due to COVID-19. Hope not. Anyway I have nothing against Killoe and used to admire them. However I feel they have gone too far and should have availed of the offer to lift the suspension and drop their objections to an u16 player from 2019 competition. It makes no sense. That's my opinion and as Arcadia alludes to , I am entitled to it and know from speaking personally to other exiled longfordians in the capital from inside and outside Killoe that my opinion is shared by many. By the way Williesboy everyone does not know what killoe want from this as you suggest, if it is to get rid of Co board officers then I believe they are elected by all the clubs each year at a convention and maybe that's how they should get rid of those they don't agee with. Democracy is what it's called . I have also taken the advice from earlier to familiarise myself more with the case and rang a contact in Longford town who confirmed what I have put up here earlier and pointed out to me that 2 Longford ccc committees (2019 and 2020) 1 Longford hearings committee (2020) and now 2 Leinster hearings Committees 2019 and 2020 have dealt with this matter and none of them have come out in favour of killoe. That's a lot of chances to put your case forward so I don't think it fair to blame one commitee as in the Co board. Is everyone out of step except my Johnny!"
Just to correct the record on the "2 Longford ccc committees (2019 and 2020) 1 Longford hearings committee (2020) and now 2 Leinster hearings Committees 2019 and 2020 have dealt with this matter" comment.... As I understand it (and I am happy to be corrected if someone knows otherwise) the issue Killoe has here (and it is not an unfair one IMO) is that the Longford CCC (both 2019 and 2020) along with the Longford Hearing Committee (2020) have not acted impartially or fairly in the matter because of influences from certain persons in both years who were/are acting against the interest of fairness and transparency in this matter, and as such Killoe would consider that they have not had a fair hearing on the issue from any of those committees you listed. In terms of Leinster, there has only been 1 actual hearing in Leinster (the first 'hearing' was not a hearing, they threw it back to Longford to sort), and the hearing earlier this week was strictly on the €750 fine and U16 final forfeit, it was not on the 48-week ban. So the core of the complaint Killoe has here is still valid in that context (didn't get a fair hearing due to unacceptable and maybe even systemic bias), and separate from that is the fairness or impartiality of the 48 week ban decision which I don't think passes any fair persons sniff test. Important to include that context.

arcadia (Longford) - 27/08/2020 20:12:05

How Many Games Has Your County Streamed? - 1 Like(s)
Longford streamed 20 games last year (11 Senior, 4 Intermediate, 2 Minor, 2 Ladies, 1 Hurling). It was the first year we had streamed games in Longford. The games were €5 each and streamed via 247.tv The 2020 Senior Football Final ran into 2021 and was played in August 2021, and that game was streamed via a different provider at cost of €15. (They also free-streamed a hurling championship game the day before to test it out). For 2021 season, there is no streaming of any games, alas. Remains to be seen whether the county final will be streamed!

arcadia (National) - 04/10/2021 16:02:34

National Football League 2018 - 1 Like(s)
Predicting 4th-5th place finish. O'Byrne Cup not a credible form measure - great for letting the ego run wild, and useful to stretch out legs after xmas, but the real world starts to form over the next couple of weeks. Optimistic goal for the year is good showing in Div 3, fix the debacle at Pearse Park, and beat Meath with a strong and confident home performance in the championship. That constitutes real progress which you can build upon. (I will throw in a wish for club championship which doesn't have all the big teams stacked on one side - but i fear i am going too far now so I will leave that out) :-)

arcadia (Longford) - 25/01/2018 11:20:02

Replying To slasher9:  "if what your saying is true then killoe are in bother. they will have to hope someone didnt cross a t or dot an i for option 2. have they another outlet if this fails?"
B&G is likely correct in that summary and in correcting me there. The dotting of i's and crossing of t's will however likely include all of the context around the 'ref' element this time around, and able to determine whether the Longford CCC acted on that intel sufficiently or at all when conducting the original hearing on the issue. They may find that the Longford CCC did not adequately investigate or address all of the issues which came to light around that original player objection (i.e. the apparent pressuring of the ref to change a red to two yellows to void the objection) and in not doing so had denied Killoe a full and fair resolution of the issue, which led to the subsequent action by Killoe in not fulfilling the U16 final until what they would have seen as gross interference was adequately addressed. That's a pretty big piece of the puzzle here and we have to hope all of that detail is with the DRA so this thing gets solved with all of the information on the table. We will know tomorrow for sure, and the beauty of DRA process is that (a) they are privy to much more information and (b) they publish their report on their website so we can all read the precise facts of the case once the decision is made, thus rumours can be put to bed.

arcadia (Longford) - 03/09/2020 18:12:36

Championship Draws. - 1 Like(s)

Replying To pologrounds1947:  "SFC Draw Group 1 - Mullinalaghta, Granard, Dromard, Clonguish Group 2 - Abbeylara, Mostrim, Killoe, Carrickedmond, Group 3 - Rathcline, Slashers, Colmcille. Intermediate Draw Group 1 - Ballymahon, Cashel, Killashee, Sean Connollys Group 2 - Ardagh/Moydow, Grattans, Ballymore, Fr. Manning Gaels"
3 out of 4 teams from Group 1 and 3 out of 4 teams from Group 2 join with 2 out of 3 teams from Group 3 in an open draw Quarter Finals. So just win one game in your group, rest doesn't matter, on you go to knockouts and performance in your group is irrelevant once you don't end up in last place. Nonsense, utter waste of time nonsense. Can we have a mass said to have this structure reconsidered for the love of God?

arcadia (Longford) - 21/05/2019 12:23:00

Three Scores To Win A Match - 1 Like(s)
The 1946 Longford Senior Championship Final ended on a scoreline of Dromard 0-0, Ballymahon 0-0. I kid you not!!! Dromard won the replay 1-4 to 0-4.

arcadia (National) - 20/04/2018 14:13:19

There is a stark reality in the Hurling vs Football fixtures debate in Longford. The 2020 Senior Football Championship consists of 19 games, 12 teams and approx 300+ participants. The 2020 Hurling Championship consists of 3 games, 3 clubs and approx 75+ participants. They are not equal in terms of level of organisation or complexity to run, not by a long shot. The football championship is surely a significantly more complex competition to run and has significantly less room for changes, especially when you are dealing with left field delays and impacts from Covid and other things. It would be great so see more promotion and investment in hurling, but for most of my lifetime we have only had 3 clubs, so if there is a big push going on by whomever is in charge of hurling in the county, I can't see any evidence of it.

arcadia (Longford) - 02/10/2020 17:02:25

Given where we are right now, it is completely nuts to contemplate any GAA action or movement of squads around the country this side of June/July. No country serious about the eradication of the virus so that we have a shot at saving the year from Summer onwards would contemplate running any risk of community transmission via return of GAA activity pre Summer. It doesn't matter how careful players may try to be, it is beyond crazy to contemplate it.

arcadia (Longford) - 27/01/2021 12:08:13

I see from the master fixtures list on the county website that Clonguish Gaels vs Longford Slashers hurling championship tie this weekend is to be streamed. New ground broken there. Good to see.

arcadia (Longford) - 26/08/2020 11:57:40

Longford V Meath - 1 Like(s)

Replying To Longfordbaz:  "See wexford on Sunday game with their anniversary jerseys. Wouldn't it be great if out County Board did something nice (I'm serious, and I know it's a stretch) to honour the fantastic team of 1968, that I hear my dad talk non stop about....its the 50 yr anniversary of our one and only senior leinster title. Why not replicate the jerseys worn by that team v meath??"
I think the 'not reaching a Leinster Semi Final for 30 years' milestone might offset any honour somewhat. If we managed to break that streak (which must be one of the worst in the game) wearing 10-10-20 fertilizer bags, I'd be happy.

arcadia (Longford) - 14/05/2018 13:23:35

Replying To keeper7:  "The current CCCC were left with no option, as the rules quoted previously show. Killoe would've known that before it got this far but aren't for turning. Don't forget this is originally about an U16 footballer who was sent off in a minor match being cleared to play in the juvenile final."
Actually that is not true, the CCCC absolutely were left with an option. The rule book does not legislate any timeline for payment of the fee, that is set by the CCCC who were fully entitled to take account of the outstanding hearing being impacted by Covid, but they decided not to. They could have elected to do what every other County Board in the country would have done in allowing an outstanding hearing to conclude before chasing the fine. Look for a similar 48-week ban precedent anywhere else in the country over the years, you won't find one outside of circumstances where extreme violence or similar was involved. It is not the case that all other clubs around the country are all paying fines on time, many/most who are waiting a hearing on an objection don't practically pay fines until the hearing concludes, and those County Boards do not take extreme measures (hence why you don't see such bans in the news often). The current Longford CCCC and Chairman made a conscious decision to pull the trigger on the most extreme response here, and the motivation for that was vindictive. Hence the dis-proportionality is theirs entirely and Leinster will throw out the ban because of that dis-proportionality.

arcadia (Longford) - 15/08/2020 17:04:16

County Championship - 1 Like(s)

Replying To iluvspuds:  "Thanks Arcadia. Really feels to me that is one too many teams qualifying for knockout. 5 rounds of games only for 2 of 6 teams to be eliminated, bound to be teams easing up with a couple of rounds to go as they're safely in to the quarters, and no real benefit of finishing top of the group. I know there are seedings available, but I think a bye straight to semi would be a decent reward for topping a group of 6. Anyway, it is a much better format than the various oddities we've had over the last decade. So can't be too critical. Definitely room to tweak and improve though."
Its a better format in that it doesn't involve an open draw for QF pairings which made group games irrelevant, but it has too many games this time around, much more than prior championships, and too many going through from groups. Play the groups, and push the top two in each group thru to semi finals. You still end up with more games than previous championships, but not a ridiculous amount. Anyways, it is what it is now. It is an unusual year to decide to roll out the largest championship on record in terms of games played.

arcadia (Longford) - 10/09/2021 13:22:40

Replying To honlongford:  "Its a 3 way championship lads Take your pick from killoe, colmcille or mullinalaghta"
Slashers may have a look in too.

arcadia (Longford) - 10/08/2020 20:26:46

Replying To keeper7:  "Yes, great to see! Who do you fancy for it? Will either of these hurling clubs be affected by Killoe's ongoing suspension?"
There should be no impact to the weekends action at all. I believe Abbeylara v Dromard will also be streamed.

arcadia (Longford) - 26/08/2020 14:19:26

Live Streaming Of Matches - 1 Like(s)
Streaming is the single best thing to come out of this Covid era. People in all corners of the globe can watch club games with excellent picture quality and without having to pay crazy Sky Sports type subscription fees. It is a revolution. I'd also echo the compliments about Leitrims coverage. Not sure how many more Longford men we can spare to be training club teams to county finals up there though!

arcadia (National) - 25/09/2020 20:06:50