Longford Forum

Popular Posts from Jonnycee

National Football League 2019 - 5 Like(s)

Replying To The_analyser:  "It's been played up more than played down due to the slow mos and outcry on twitter and facebook. CCCC said what he did was rubbing the glove near the eye socket while gouging is pressing in on the eye to cause damage and if he did the latter he would have received a longer ban. As it is losing one of our best players for important home game is a big blow for Sunday."
I've being saying this since the incident occurred. Eye-gouging is the act of pressing or tearing the eye using the fingers or instruments. At no point of the slow mo's has Donie involved in this. This is trial by media and the overreaction of Higgins in the Mayo team. And lets remember on the night after roscommon went 5-1 up the entire mayo team engaged in unsportsmanlike behaviour and high level cynicism in order to break up any momentum Roscommon had. Mayo people want to start looking closer to home before they start trying to tear a young mans reputation apart.

Jonnycee (Roscommon) - 30/01/2019 15:57:59

Sympathy votes - 4 Like(s)

Replying To Liamwalkinstown:  "I am almost embarrassed for Clarke ! A nation laughs...."
Poor post.

Jonnycee (National) - 04/11/2017 00:16:24

Kerry GAA Thread - 4 Like(s)

Replying To KerrymanStuckInDonegal:  "Donegal were given a point that was wide"
Kerry got one too!

Jonnycee (National) - 29/01/2023 20:50:09

The Super 8S - 4 Like(s)
I don't buy this conditioning argument. Most of these lads have being playing senior and u21/20 county football for a number of years and under the various managements they have being involved in strenght and cardio conditioning programs so that is not a valid excuse for me. For me they have being fitter this year than they have in a number of years. When you grind it down he biggest difference between us and the top 4 is skill levels and the execution of the skills under pressure. Every player on the roscommon team failed to execute skills when Dublin applied pressure. There were countless times where we failed to execute handpasses, kickpasses, tackles and all the other fundamental skills of the game. For me that is where it's at. This team does not need to go into further conditioning it needs to be on the field building up an ability to execute skills at a high level under extreme pressure. It's still being a great year and we can improve further under this management team.

Jonnycee (Roscommon) - 21/07/2019 20:01:37

Roscommon v Galway CONNACHT SFC FINAL - 4 Like(s)
Are Galway people deluded? i can only assume they are. Galway beat a mayo team that never performed. It was the worst mayo performance in championship in a long number of years. Even at that Mayo were in complete control with 15 mins to go. when a lucky goal got them on the hop and galway push ahead only to he hanging on at the end. Go back a few months and galway league form is at best patchy. They are talking about a ropey roscommon defence for sure it is and all the division one teams played in the league showed that. but galway are as ropey if not worse at the back . They galway full back line is there to be taken, and they have no six. The midfield partnership is not all it cracked up to be, That was the best game Paul conroy played for galway in 3 or 4 years and the likelihood is that they will have to wait as long for another, and in attack there is not one forward that will scare a roscommon back, Comer included who will hate to see mcinenery or mullooly coming his direction. The media have hyped up this Galway performance for something that is not. It was a fortunate display v Mayo. Roscommon have more scoring threat around the field that the mayo team had and roscommon will be hungrier than mayo were. All this hype is typical of Galway GAA one good result and there all ireland contenders. Tis Gas. Ros Abu!!

Jonnycee (Roscommon) - 05/07/2016 14:42:31

Football All Stars - 4 Like(s)

Replying To crafty:  "Smith stands out because he's a decent player on an average team."
Just like Shane Walsh so.

Jonnycee (National) - 20/11/2023 00:40:27

2021 Rankings So Far - 3 Like(s)
This year sofar .... 1 Kerry. Champions in the making. 2. Dublin. Slight decline under dessie Farrell so far. Big 18 months for him as their coach. 3. Tyrone. Still a distance off the first 2 but improving. 4. Mayo. Still to be properly road tested this year but making the right shapes. 5. Donegal. Bonner has run our if Ideas and has run out of road. This team needs a change. 6. Monaghan. Improving fast but porous at the back. Not much between 3 and 6. The rest are only Tailteann Cup team. No consistency not improving and all playing negative muck.

Jonnycee (National) - 19/07/2021 18:35:42

Kerry V Dublin - 3 Like(s)
David Gough had an appalling game. Refs should have repercussions for poor performance. The level of inconsistency was terrible. Onr major incident was How was Tom o Sullivan left on the field when cooper walked.

Jonnycee (National) - 01/09/2019 17:18:20

Roscommon U20s 2019 - 2 Like(s)

Replying To Yondu:  "This is the Roscommon U17 team that beat Kerry by 5 points in the All Ireland semi final two years ago. 1. Michael O'Donnell (St Faithleachs) 2. Dylan Horan (Roscommon Gaels) 3. Jack Keane (Castlerea/St Kevins) 4. Pearse Frost (St Brigids) 5. Ciaran Lawless (Oran) 6. Oisin Lennon (Clann Na Gael) 7. John Martin (Oran) 8. James Larkin (Castlerea/St Kevins) 9. Shane Cunnane (St Brigids) 10. Tomas McManus (St Ronans) 11. Paul Carey (Padraig Pearses) 12. Andrew Lyons (Castlerea/St Kevins) 13. Peter Gillooly (Roscommon Gaels) 14. Ciaran Sugrue (St Brigids) 15. Niall Higgins (Elphin) Can someone tell me why only two of that team is named to start tonight?"
We can make up any excuse we like for them not playing but the truth is that the majority have refused to play for Curran and his management team. Fact. The upside is that other guys now get a chance to show what they can do. Up Ros.

Jonnycee (Roscommon) - 26/06/2019 18:35:26

Galway v Roscommon Connacht final - 2 Like(s)
This was no rude awakening the truth is you have being lucky twice v mayo and the only game you were favs for tipp beat ye out the gate. Galway are a limited side with no backs. Lofty expectations on a very average side. Come back down to earth and mind the bump.

Jonnycee (Galway) - 09/07/2017 18:50:40

Revised Club Championship - 2 Like(s)

Replying To fillzezogs:  "One person seems to have an issue with Boyle management. Based on no facts. Just because it's under different posters doesn't mean it's a different person. Dunno why Boyle are so hyped up and why they are seen as to being held back by a manager. You could have jim Gavin there and they still wouldn't win it coz simply there are better teams in the county."
Tripe

Jonnycee (Roscommon) - 17/09/2020 23:53:52

The Sunday Game - Awful Coverage - 2 Like(s)
The Sunday game live has being a shambles for years, but today was a new low. In no was should anyone who has a connection with the counties playing be asked to provide analysis. The squabbling by the panel today during and after the game was ridiculous. Grown men without the manner to allow each other to speak and Mr Brolly has a terrible attitude towards anyone who disagrees with his opinion. Get them out

Jonnycee (National) - 01/09/2019 23:52:40

The Super 8 - 2 Like(s)

Replying To SmokieRoss:  "Fantastic win in end today when it looked dodgy at times in first half. Will be fantastic to be in Suoer 8s and hopefully we can give a goid account of ourselves. Great game and fantastic support in a terrific venue which county board could learn a lot from. Cathal Cregg was my MOM today with his direct running. Croke Park could really see him thrive. Thought Ciaran Murtagh was excellent also. Enda Smith will grab the headlines but was really anonymous until 30 minutes in. Thought Niall Daly played really well until he tired which was understandable given his lay off. John McManus was excellent also and easily his best display in a ross jersey to date. Patterson, Fintan Cregg and Cathal Compton all made significant contributions when introduced. Colm Lavin was very good throughout. Looking ahead to the Super 8s which rolls around very quickly we have to be realistic that we were put to the pin of our collar by a Div 3 team who scored 1-19. How there was no change in full back line in first half was baffling. Even some of the forwards came to the sideline to question it. If we get a start again like we did today in the Three Super 8 games we will get a repeat of mayo replay last year x 3. I can't understand how Conor Daly is not starting as we need his mobility in that defence. We got murdered on the Armagh kick outs and no team will concede kick outs to us like Armagh did. While i am not convinced of progress yet as we are back to where we were last year after beating a Div 4 and a Div 3 team we need to perform over next month.."
"Colm lavin very good throughout " what game were you watch. The man should have saved the shot for the goal. It was a horrendous error. He dropped two balls and In the second half all of the backs were holding there hands up wonderng what he was doing and where he was kicking the ball. He cannot deal with the press on his kickout and this will happen in every game in the super 8. Also he coughed up at least two scores with bad use of possession. This position is a huge problem for us. Featherstone is a better keeper and Brady has to be pushing both of them now. I fear he will cost us in the heat of the super 8. Credit him for a fine save of the peno but to balance the books he then gave up 1-2. Not good or consistent enough.

Jonnycee (Roscommon) - 08/07/2018 20:43:13

Kerry V Dublin - 2 Like(s)
Got the papers this morning and a agog with the overwhelming credit given to Kerry for there display yesterday. Yes they fought hard, but it seems to me that people are missing some very simple facts. 1. Kerry played dublin for almost 45 mins with 15 vs 14. 2.Until the sending off (which i taught was the right call) this game was moving along to its predictable end. 3. Even playing with an extra man the Kerry defence struggled with the dublin attack. And Kerry did not have the nerve to go after the dublin kickouts. 4. With most of the Kerry lads playing at the top of there game and a number of dublin lads underperforming Kerry could not win. 5. Even with a so called star studded forward line Kerry could not create the scored to put dublin to bed. 6. And the Kerry lads were the beneficiaries of some very generous refereeing by Mr Gough. The term "missed the boat" comes to mind you would have to think that Dublin will improve by 20 % and as it stands currently Kerry have not got the scope for that improvement. Replays can be an anti climax and I have a feeling this is what will happen.

Jonnycee (National) - 03/09/2019 00:39:43

The Super 8 - 2 Like(s)

Replying To Cuckoosinging:  "O'Donnell may have taken on a Roscommon team in D3 but he brought us to D4 with All Ireland winners coming into their prime. We say we have a good team now and rate them highly but time and time again they dont do it when push comes to shove. Even our top players like Enda and Diarmuid go hiding when we need them most in recent big games. And to people saying we have good forwards we do when given freedom but they have been terrible in recent big games and killing our already poor defence by given away turnover after turnover"
I don't think anyone can ever accuse Diarmuid or Enda if hiding when they play for us. It's quite a poor comment. Others on the panel can have that leveled at them alot more readily. There are a few problems. 1. The criticism of mc stay and his management team is wrong they are as good as anything out there. 2. The team must take massive responsibility for their performance. Too often too many of these guys repeatedly make the same mistakes quite simply they are not learning for negative experiences. 3. And probably the only one that cannot be changed is that we are a team full of nice guys. We get bullied by aggressive teams. John Evans highlighted it many moons ago and they measures he went to take to fix this was one of the bullets he was shot in the back with. Unfortunately we have come as far as we are going to come with this bunch of lads who I have enjoyed supporting (for the most part).

Jonnycee (Roscommon) - 20/07/2018 21:41:42

Roscommon GAA thread - 2 Like(s)

Replying To Belclare:  "Very low on quality, but in fairness Roscommon are a league team!"
Not the best game for sure, but Roscommon beat a hugely negative galway team, a ref who gave ye everything going and is married to the galway team psychologist (surely a conflict there missed by our glorious organisation ). And Roscommon did all that without playing well.

Jonnycee (National) - 05/02/2023 19:14:35

Division One 2017 - 2 Like(s)
We were really poor again today. Poor shot selection by various guys. Poor concentration levels letting theme out on there kickouts with ease most of the time(they did not afford us the same luxury ) we fell off tackles and our sideline decision making left a bit to be desired (can anyone explain the substitutions of Cregg or murtagh? And why play corcoran at full forward when everyone in roscommon knows he cannot play there). The simple facts are that there are a lot of passengers in this team as it stands. The lads that are gone are gone move on. Someone said our defence is working well. We have conceded 33pts in 2 games. That's not the sign of a good defence. We are going down and all we can hope for is the lads who are playing for roscommon learn fast and can give us a run in the championship.

Jonnycee (Roscommon) - 12/02/2017 19:01:44

The Next Senior Football Manager - 2 Like(s)
Once again comments by players or be it former players have thrown have cause a manager to leave. In these case the preferred candidate didnt even get to day one. Another case of the tail wagging the dog. We are a holy show. No one will want or take this job now. How has our little county come to a place where the lunatics are running the madhouse. Sad day for Roscommon football.

Jonnycee (Roscommon) - 23/10/2018 22:40:21

Roscommon GAA thread - 2 Like(s)
That was pretty poor lastnight its gonna take some effort to turn this around now. I few thing I felt were off throughout the league so far. 1. Can anyone tell me what style of football we play. It too easy to say counterattack. we don't seem to have any shape to what we ate doing with ball in hand going forward. 2. I don't understand why we settle to allow other team to dominate the possession. If you have this mentality before the game you are going to be flat because you are going to wait for the opposition to make a mistake. Why can we not go out to make a battle of the possession stakes why can't we be the team who wants to dominate the ball. Last night was a great chance to do this against an average mayo team. We all agree that we have talented footballers, so we should be trying to give them the chance to play with the ball. 3. Whatever our defensive system is we seem to lose runners, that a cutting through our centre. This really needs to be looked at. We give up to many easy shooting chances. 4. We are carrying players in certain positions and what would be regarded as our better players are injured or not fit, and with the quick turnaround into championship this does not bode well. Possibly another below average season looms.

Jonnycee (National) - 03/03/2024 17:08:01

National Football League 2019 - 2 Like(s)

Replying To rossam:  "What about caoileann fitzmaurice at midfield. He deserves a run at midfield. Our present pairing aren't excelling. Would fitzmaurice and harney be an option?"
Harney is a inter-county quality footballer. He needs to manage his emotions and he will be a better player for us. As much as we are struggling with the current bunch of midfielders Fitzmaurice is not an improvement on them, IMO he is not county standard footballer.

Jonnycee (Roscommon) - 21/03/2019 13:00:13