Limerick Forum

Popular Posts from DUALSUPPORT

Can We Bring Back The Red Thumbs To The Forum. - 19 Like(s)
I put this up on the Limerick forum last week by mistake I asked for it to be moved to the national forum but it wasn't done, first world problems I suppose. Anyway I think it's time for the red thumbs to be brought back to the forum, and im someone who has had probably 20 red thumbs to every 1 green thumb. I think it gives a better perspective on how a comment is received on a thread.

DUALSUPPORT (National) - 09/04/2021 17:46:37

Garvaghy Road Flag At Roscommon V Ardmagh Game At Athletic Grounds - 11 Like(s)

Replying To tomsmith:  "Tomsmith here Looking at the Television on Saturday evening I saw a large banner behind the goals to the right of the Commentary box which read Garvaghy Road Orangemen on Tour or something similar, Anyone that would be familiar with the words on this flag would and should feel that it would be offensive to a vast number of people living in Portadown ( Non Gaa suporters) because of history. I feel that the Ulster Council should take a stand on this type of material which in my opinion has no place in the GAA"
If it's the same flag I have seen at previous matches there is little to worry you. It is harmless enough now and those "non GAA supporters" would find anything to do the GAA or Irish culture in general offensive. Sometimes I can't get over the hostility towards our fellow countrymen in the 6 counties from some in the south, this is just another stick to beat the nordie boys with.

DUALSUPPORT (National) - 19/10/2020 09:09:46

RIP Jack Charlton - 11 Like(s)
I appreciate this is a GAA website but hoganstand have an article about Jack Charlton so I just want to pay tribute to Jack Charlton and his contribution to Irish soccer and Irish sport in general. I was too young for euro 88 and Italy 90 but I remember the excitement for USA 94 watching Ireland vs Italy and Ray Houghtons goal and 1 of the most emotional scenes I remember in Irish sport was his last game vs Holland in Anfield when stayed in the stadium to say their goodbyes to him.

DUALSUPPORT (National) - 11/07/2020 13:12:30

Cork's Commemorate Jersey - 9 Like(s)
Just seen Cork's new jersey commemorating Tomas Mac Curtain and Terance Macswiney it's a beautiful jersey it also has the boys of Kilmichael and burning of Cork depicted on the jersey. Would love if Limerick did something similar with Patrick Sarsfield and the seige of Limerick and with Sean South depicted on it too.

DUALSUPPORT (National) - 20/02/2020 21:23:50

The GAA And Taking The Knee. - 8 Like(s)
This craic of taking the knee is virtue signalling to appease the social justice warriors of this world, I would be against it starting in the GAA. There is no need of it to come into the GAA, there is little to no problem with racism in the GAA bar 1 or 2 isolated incidents. Jason Sherlock, the O'hAalpín's, Zach Moradi and Boidu Sayeh were all welcomed into the GAA and others will be too in future. The message of Black lives matter I have no problem with but Black lives matters the organisation i would have my reservations about them and their goals and where their funding comes from. No doubt there is a few bad apples in the police force in the USA but also people would want to realise what they have to deal with on a continuous basis. I have visited the USA 4 times, I tell you what, walk around Seattle, Miami, New York and Minneapolis after dark and see what the police departments in these cities have to contend with, you won't too quick to "Defund the Police". American issues it seems have become all our issues, let them deal with them and sort themselves out. We have our own problems at this side of the Atlantic to worry about.

DUALSUPPORT (National) - 11/06/2021 16:11:52

Should The Rebel Flag Be Banned At Cork Matches? - 8 Like(s)

Replying To Trump2020:  "According to RTE the Confederate Flag will be banned at Cork matches. Thoughts?"
No it's shouldn't, I'm against racism of all forms but this is nothing more than political correctness gone mad, I'm sure the O'hAalpín's never took offence to that flag and I seen plenty young Irish teens of all colours clap and chant "rebels" surrounded by the rebel flag in the terraces . There is a left-wing Marxist agenda using a tragedy in the USA to force their ideology on Irish society and people need to wise up to it. Let the woke red thumb brigade attack, I don't care ye can call me what ye like, I'm only tell the truth.

DUALSUPPORT (National) - 12/06/2020 18:16:47

The GAA And "Northern Ireland" - 7 Like(s)
I don't know how anyone could have pride in the free state army winning the civil war. Some of their tactics and actions if they happened today would be classed as war crimes, even after the civil war ended they engaged in kidnapping and murder of individuals Sean Lemass brother Noel was 1 such victim and Sean Lemass himself has said he sat across the Dail chamber from those he knew organised his brothers murder. Atrocities aside Ireland being a small country with big community mentality brothers, cousins and neighbours shot 1 another during civil war and it took a long time for the country and its communities to come fully from the divide it caused and there is nothing of pride out of all that. Also the anti-treaty were by no means perfect but to describe them as extremeists is unfair and wrong. I really can't get over the bitterness and hostility towards Northern nationalists from some on this forum. Any interactions I have had from people from the 6 counties be it at home in Ireland or when travelling and working abroad has being mostly pleasant. Why shouldn't they aspire to join the Republic of Ireland, they are every bit as Irish as us in the South. And the victims of the troubles and their families deserve to have their stories told and listened to and I include all sides in that.

DUALSUPPORT (National) - 29/05/2021 11:21:21

Pick 3 - 7 Like(s)
Just something to do instead of talking about covid-19, splitting counties and how football is in trouble and to have a bit of craic between posters. Pick 3 players from your county, pick 3 players from other counties than your own that made you first fall in love with hurling and Gaelic football in your youth (can be club players too) and nominate 3 other posters to give their picks. Hurling Limerick: Ciaran Carey, Gary Kirby, Mike Houlihan Other counties: Dj Carey, Sparrow O'Loughan, Brian Whelehan Football Limerick: John Quane, John Galvin, Stephen Kelly Other counties: Mickey Linden, Charlie Redmond, Trevor Giles. I would like to nominate GreenandRed(Mayo), Oldtourman(Limerick), Crinigan(Meath) to give their picks. Come on lads don't leave me hanging. I'll finish by wishing every poster a Merry Christmas and a happy New year to you and your families and hopefully we will all have a healthy and enjoyable 2021.

DUALSUPPORT (National) - 08/12/2020 20:35:47

Dublin Senior Football Team - 7 Like(s)

Replying To ponger:  "Well lads and lassies i think there are some of you on here who don't take this Covid thing seriously at all and a typical GAA attitude. Maybe some of you haven't lost someone close or know anyone greatly affected by it and how easy its transmitted. The bones of outbreaks in counties like my own last summer were GAA matches and the GAA fraternity.. We had our time and we couldn't have manners and follow basic rules and here we go again..., but we are somehow different I really do have to laugh at "there only a few lads having a kick about", yeah from different parts of the county that have travelled... but thank god Covid knows this and it probably decided to leave these poor unfortunate lads alone, i'd say Covid doesn't wake up that early but even if it did it probably thought they'd be immune because they are county players ppfffff. I have a group of 40 kids that i would love to get back training but reality bites with Covid. Why would anyone let us back if this is the sort of crap that going on.. Its stuff like this that put the rest in jeopardy of getting back sooner rather than later"
Yeah because these lockdowns are working so well, and are policed fairly. What about people who died because they couldn't get cancer screening appointments because the health service is preoccupied with covid. What about young families that have lost out on mortgage loans because they have being put on pup payments, small business owners and publicans whos livelihoods have being ruined and will not be able to reopen their business when all this is done and people who are committing suicide because of isolation from lockdowns. I know covid-19 is to be taken seriously and the vulnerable looked after. Precautions should be taken but we are doing in Ireland is over-kill on its citizens, especially when common travel was allowed into the country and it is only in the last week hotel quarantine has started for travel into Ireland. We have the longest and harshest lockdown in Europe on it citizens and let's think about it for a minute, are we any better off for it.

DUALSUPPORT (National) - 04/04/2021 10:45:48

GAA on TV - 6 Like(s)

Replying To SurelyToGod:  "To be anti-fascism is to be ultra-left. Interesting."
That is a silly and lazy reply to discredit my comment, I have the same disgust for fascism as I do for the far-left and anifa are nothing more than far-left George Soros funded thugs and it's simply wrong to believe otherwise. Look this is my last comment on the subject because I have left myself down enough in the last few days in this discussion. I only wanted to share a mutual respect for a journalist with another poster, I really didn't believe people would get that up-tight about a term I feel myself is fairly trivial.

DUALSUPPORT (National) - 07/10/2020 21:25:00

The Corona Virus And Possible Effects To GAA Matches - 6 Like(s)
The League of Ireland and the rugby have crowds back at games this weekend, I think it's time the GAA got on to the government about letting the crowds back to watch inter-county games.

DUALSUPPORT (National) - 11/06/2021 16:32:39

Dubs V Mayo - 6 Like(s)

Replying To wexico15:  "Have they been great champions? Didn't bow out with grace today and arguably done football alot of harm since 2015 with over prescriptive style of play?"
Yes I think so, on and off the field, the likes of the Brogan's, Dean Rock, Kevin McManamon and Stephen Cluxton are great players and ambassadors of the game of Gaelic football, I know Philly McMahon can be a bit of a scamp but has done good work with kids in Ballymun. Brian Fenton' s high fielding is a joy to watch he reminds me of a salmon leaping up from the river catching flies. Jack McCaffrey another fantastic footballer to watch and has got involved in charity work in Africa. Also I thought themselves (and Tipperary) gave very dignified tributes to the bloody sunday centenary memorial in Croke Park last winter. I don't think their tactics has harmed gealic football their success has made the Leinster championship null and void a such and the 6 in a row while is a great achievement, no-one wants to see the all-Ireland championship dominated by 1 county (unless you are from that county of course), that is what is bad for gealic football but that's not their fault. As for today's match the only issue I would have with them was James McCarthy's elbow at the end of normal time, I don't think john small's hit on eoghan McLaughlin was intentional to hurt him. Both teams put in the hard hits and there was high challenges from both teams. They gave it everything, both didn't want to lose and served up a great game of football. Dublin didn't give up and fought to end and shaked hands and congratulated Mayo at the end, so yes they were great champions. Also I want to wish Eoghan McLaughlin well, I hope he is not too injuried and hopefully he will be fit for the final.

DUALSUPPORT (National) - 14/08/2021 22:43:30

GAA on TV - 6 Like(s)

Replying To lilypad:  "Why is no one ripping Obama apart for slaughtering countless innocents? It appears to me that being offended is far more important than world peace. Idiots should be careful what they wish for."
Spot on lilypad, while I'm sceptical of Donald Trump myself, Obama wasn't questioned enough he also told a mostly black community in Flint Michigan that their lead poisoned water was safe to drink. If that was Donald Trump there would have riots on the streets and the democrats calling for his head.

DUALSUPPORT (National) - 17/10/2020 11:49:54

The GAA And "Northern Ireland" - 6 Like(s)

Replying To Onion Breath:  "Why are the GAA seemingly unable to issue a statement that includes the words "Northern Ireland" and thereby reflecting the democratic view of people across the entire island to recognise the existence of the state of Northern Ireland? It was democratically recognised when the Treaty was democratically approved in 1921 and again when the Good Friday Agreement was voted on in 1998. Still the GAA, like the IRA, continue to act as if they refuse to recognise the state of Northern Ireland. They're happy enough to recognise the state when it comes accepting government grants. Their linguistic gymnastics designed to avoid saying Northern Ireland are tiresome and irritating at this stage. Enough of "the North"."
Ireland is a 32 county Island, Ulster has 9 counties and the GAA has its traditions and roots in the struggle for Irish freedom and independence. While 6 counties in Ulster are governed or occupied(whatever you're having yourself) by another jurisdiction, maybe the GAA are just giving respect to GAA members and volunteers from those counties, that there is no border in our games and association.

DUALSUPPORT (National) - 17/04/2021 16:29:34

The Corona Virus And Possible Effects To GAA Matches - 5 Like(s)

Replying To KillingFields:  "People said that about Fianna Fail after the 08 economic crash and they were back in power less than decade later. Irish people wont vote in big numbers away from right wing/authoritarian parties. Id love to see a left coalition of labour soc dems and greens but just will never happen"
I think a combination of those 3 in government would destroy the country, I wrote the reasons I believe for this already but it wasn't left up on the thread.

DUALSUPPORT (National) - 22/08/2020 13:46:03

Should The Rebel Flag Be Banned At Cork Matches? - 5 Like(s)

Replying To Cockney_Cat:  "There was no 'genocide' orchestrated by Cromwell in Ireland."
Jaysus lad you have to be trolling to get a rise out of us, because I don't think Willie Fraser would even come out with a comment like that.

DUALSUPPORT (National) - 24/06/2020 18:18:27

Wexford Clare - 5 Like(s)
Tried to mention something about Davy at last year's Wexford Clare game during the week but of course censorship was in full swing and it wasn't left on the thread. I never liked Davy after the way he conducted himself against us in 2006 abusing Mike O'Brien from his goal and against Shane Dowling in 2012 when he was Clare manager but James Ryan wasn't long quieting him there. Fair play to Paul Galvin saying as it is on Fintan O'Tooles Twitter. There is more than 1 reason why he is not wanted back at Clare and I hope this is the last we will see him as an inter-county manager. Fair enough he has done well in Waterford, Clare and Wexford I'll give him that but his antics on line and the way he conducts himself he is not a good look for the GAA, don't give me this passion b.s either it's all shapeing and showing off for the camera's.

DUALSUPPORT (National) - 17/07/2021 23:14:05

Croke Park Stewards - 5 Like(s)

Replying To OpenStand:  "At last years all ireland there were many Limerick supporters who attempted to go on field manhandled and hurt by over aggressive stewards which some might say was their own fault but today Tom Parsons was prevented from joining the Mayo Panel by stewards who haven't a clue who he was ?? Two other incidents i spotted today, entering the ground at Davin End a woman with 2 children was having her ruck sack pulled apart by a very heavy handed inner city looking woman, apparently the supporter hadn't declared 2 cans of fanta in her bag and was getting the third degree in front of her frightened children. Before the hurling match a waterford slithor flew over the nets and a young lad towards the back of the stand managed to catch it, immediately some mad looking steward ran after him chasing him towards the back of stand before pulling slithor off the young lad , many people booed the steward but none challenged him as the steward looked as if he was only looking for someone to do a bit of martial arts on. If you didn't know any better you'd think the stewards were from some loyalist housing estate in Belfast ( maybe they are!), its true for Joe Brolly Croke Park has lost touch with the grassroots, these stewards might be appropriate at rock concerts in croke park but all this heavy handedness with average GAA supporters is gone ridiculous."
You have a point there at the all Ireland final last year i was in the Davin end behind the goals, a Limerick supporter tried to get on the field after the match and a stewart threw a punch at him and when he got 1 back with interest he wasn't long for looking for Garda protection and playing the victim. In fairness the Garda had common sense and let it off.

DUALSUPPORT (National) - 31/03/2019 22:23:21

Tradition - 5 Like(s)

Replying To MesAmis:  "The post that I originally replied to made the comparison between the "Woke, permanently offended" and the Catholic Church's control in Ireland in the past. I have simply asserted that I disagree with that comparison. Yourself and a number of other posters have taken exception to my disagreement. None of you have offered any examples of the power and influence of the "Woke, permanently offended" that is comparible to the huge power and influence that the Church once had in Ireland. "Anyone who disagrees with you is always wrong" - that's your assertion. Many people, posters on this site included, have disagreed with me and they've been correct. What they've had in common though was an ability to actually back up their opinion and make an argument beyond using borrowed cliches and labels and using their factual knowledge to explain to me how I am wrong. That is yet to happen on this thread. If people have direct examples that show that the Liberal Woke Brigade exert the same level of power and influence and are just as dangerous to the average person on the street as the church once were then I'm all ears."
I'm not trying to start a row with you in any way but if your looking for an example of power and influence of woke culture in Ireland, the carry-on during the abortion referendum is a big 1. The complete bias national media and politicians gave to the yes side, I listen to different radio stations radio1, Todayfm and 4fm, love him or hate him the only person in Irish national media that gave proper balance in discussions and debates during the referendum was Niall Boylan on 4fm. Then you had people on the yes side removing No side posters around the country and the same people had the cheek to label people who disagreed with them fascists.

DUALSUPPORT (National) - 15/01/2021 19:48:35

GAA on TV - 5 Like(s)

Replying To Breezy:  ""Gone to the dogs long ago" Can you please point me to the time when it was throwing out great TV shows? First post is hilarious with all its crap about how the new presenters are not filling the boots of the old ones despite the fact all anyone does is complains about the old ones and how overpaid they are RTE is needed as is pointed to above for local sport, news and current affairs and I would hate to see that handed over to the likes of Sky/Murdoch. The days of national broadcasters making quality drama on their own is over as most production companies go in as groups which is what the Irish state group FE do and its also standard practice now for BBC and also Sky to join up with US companies when making shows."
Breezy with respect i don't know what's your debate toward me is, I never said RTE were ever before throwing out brilliant shows, my point is and I think it's a valid 1 is in the last 15/20 years RTE has gotten progressly worse and worse every year. Now recently Netflix, Amazon prime and nowtv have contributed to their demise too I'll admit that but the fault mostly lies within RTE itself with money squandered in the good times and commissioning too many cheap and cringeworthy rubbish shows that they tried to pass off as comedy and entertainment. On current affairs my point is simply this, that they have a duty to the Irish people to report the news properly and hold people in power to account with proper questioning and since the ressession they failed the public in this regard. Compare Vincent Browne to RTE when questioning that smug douchebag from the IMF when they came to town, Vincent Browne grilled him, got him sweating under the collar and told him the damage they were causing to Irish society and RTE were only interested to know what did he think of us Irish and did he think Ireland was doing a good job managing austerity. That is 1 of many examples I could give you. I would love a state broadcaster that works for the public that funds it but RTE does not do that, that is why I don't care if it goes to the wall or not. I do agree with you about depending on Murdoch/sky for news would be a disaster though, Brian Clough called him and Maxwell out on match of the day in the late 80's but did anyone listen. In Ireland we have Denis O'Brien and our government should have stepped in long ago to stop him getting an monopoly on radio and print media.

DUALSUPPORT (National) - 15/08/2020 22:33:34