Limerick Forum

Popular Posts from mike03

Drinking ban culture in GAA - 5 Like(s)
Chips make people overweight. Ban them. People die in car accidents. Ban cars now. People drown in water. Ban swimming. Going by the theory of some here, banning everything solves all problems.

mike03 (National) - 27/10/2016 08:38:10

FAO Mayo Fans - 4 Like(s)
While this thread might be meant well it is pure patronising shite. If Mayo are good enough they will win an All Ireland. If not then they won't. It's as simple as that. In Limerick we have lost a rake of hurling finals as well since we last won an All Ireland simply because we weren't good enough. And no Mayo team has got as close to winning one recently as we did in 94. We lost it because obviously we weren't good enough. So give over the old "ah aren't Mayo great aul lads to keep coming back" rubbish.

mike03 (National) - 03/10/2016 11:47:15

Cork V Limerick Hurling Semi Final. - 4 Like(s)

Replying To perfect10:  "2 of the best supported teams,ya right. 2 of the best supported teams when they get to this stage. limerick have a decent core support,cork have the biggest ole ole brigade in the country."
June 2nd 2018 Wexford v Galway - 14,500 attendance Cork v Limerick - 35,000 attendance No need to elaborate any further.

mike03 (National) - 24/07/2018 12:37:39

Limerick hurling 2016 - 4 Like(s)
For at least 2 years I have been saying it was impossible to get off this Limerick team. Well I tip my hat to TJ and co for having the balls to make changes. Some I agree with, some I don't, but it was obvious we were only going to get so far using the same players we have used for the last 3 or 4 years so I am willing to give Sunday's team a chance Every team needs a solid free taker. It drains confidence like nothing else to see free after free going wide so by having Dowling on it allows Hannon to play his own game and not worry about frees. There is also huge flexibility in the forwards. Nash, Hannon and Dowling can switch at any team and be comfortable in their new position. Again, good calls made here by management. In Downes, Dempsey and O'Brien we have 3 subs who won't weaken the team in any way should they come on. It is a long time since we have had that kind of a bench. The closest example we have is 2013 and you could argue that the lads on the bench were better than some on the team. This year the lads on the team are equally as strong as the bench and vice versa. t's time we stood up and tore in to it. The moaning and complaining from everyone - TJ with his vultures rubbish, team with their anti sweeper chats and supporters wanting this changed and that changed - is done and dusted. The season starts Sunday and here's hoping there is a long Summer ahead. Roll on Sunday.

mike03 (Limerick) - 17/06/2016 08:57:13

Galway celebrate NHL win - 4 Like(s)
Ireland rugby team won a friendly match in November and the papers were full of it for weeks afterwards. Rte made a documentary about it. Galway win an actual title and aren't allowed celebrate.....

mike03 (National) - 04/05/2017 15:36:54

St Patricks v Na Piarsaigh - 3 Like(s)

Replying To cityman73:  "I don't know the answer and it's not na piarsaigh fault but do you think it's fair that if you play na piarsaigh in the first round of championship you will be playing alot stronger team and another team play a different na piarsaigh team in round five is fair"
But sure thats the same for every club. All senior and intermediate clubs will have a second and sometimes third team. Even junior a clubs will have a b team. So bar every club only has one adult team then there is no way around it. It would be madness to restrict clubs to one team and denying literally hundreds of players the chance to hurl each year.

mike03 (Limerick) - 10/11/2016 17:42:23

No Tricolour or National Anthem at GAA Matches - 3 Like(s)
Playing it before championship matches is grand but playing it before meaningless pre season and league matches is unnecessary. I'd be all for cutting back on how often the anthem is played during the year.

mike03 (National) - 29/11/2016 17:18:47

Does Diarmuid Connolly have his own rules? - 3 Like(s)
If lads want a red card for what Connolly did then GAA really is on its last legs. Christ almighty it was a harmles tussle. Yellow at most.

mike03 (National) - 17/07/2016 18:20:27

St Patricks v Na Piarsaigh - 3 Like(s)
Pats need a kick in the arse. They think they can get matches changed at the drop of a hat. And when they dont get their way everyone is to blame but them.

mike03 (Limerick) - 26/10/2016 14:10:40

Sky Sports Now Showing Sunday Matches - 3 Like(s)
With Sky getting the rights to the Limerick V Clare munster hurling semi final on June 4th is this the first steps to them taking control of all matches I wonder? Until now all the provincial championship coverage was on a Saturday evening but with this one being a 4pm throw in on a Sunday it seems they now have a pick of any match they want. I am not against the Sky coverage as such but for them to have exclusive rights to a Munster championship game on a Sunday afternoon is disappointing. I fear it won't be long before there are weekends when they will have rights to all games with RTE not showing anything bar highlights.

mike03 (National) - 01/03/2017 13:18:31

Wayne Mc - 3 Like(s)
Thank so for everything Wayne. He never once gave less than 100% and can retire with his head held high.

mike03 (Limerick) - 18/10/2016 21:15:47

NHL Semi Finals - 2 Like(s)

Replying To therealtmo:  "Ye have just beaten KK in Nowlan park, ye have to be favourites. We failed to beat them in Thurles and ye turned them over at home."
I can see both teams trying to throw the match..... to get a bad beating from Limerick in the final a few weeks before the championship will do neither tipp or wexford any good.

mike03 (National) - 03/04/2017 20:30:47

Who will be our next senior hurling manager? - 2 Like(s)

Replying To blackspot91:  "Has he won all irelands in both codes as a player and manager?"
No but then again football was never the strongest in Garryspillane.

mike03 (Limerick) - 14/07/2016 14:09:18

St Patricks v Na Piarsaigh - 2 Like(s)

Replying To City_Gael:  "Whats really dissapointing is Mayfield had prior knowledge of the missing players (The Gaa is a small community) before being approached to switch and chose a handy win over playing a full St Patricks team - they had been offered a range of alternatives including giving up home advantage any day outside Sat/Sun."
If it was for a valid reason then maybe they would have agreed to a change. But when it was because fellas were going on a stag Mayfield were dead right in playing today.

mike03 (Limerick) - 30/10/2016 20:28:54

Hurling needs to speed up again! - 2 Like(s)

Replying To dahayeser:  "Take the hand out of hurling, make it all stick work. these days once a player catches the ball it will 90% of the time be played safely through the hands to the next player and on until some one takes a shot. this is leading to 40 to 50 scores in a lot of games plus 15 to 20 wides. This alone outside of frees and sidelines makes the game very stop starty. Ground hurling is gone, it just doesn't make sense any more to dirve 50/50 balls alone the ground. Obviously my suggestion is extreme but wouldn't it be interesting to see experimented with in a pre season tournament. You would really see the skillful players come to the fore then. Maybe banning the hand pass would be an interesting half way measure to experiment with."
The sport you are suggesting already exists as you know and it's called shinty. And my god it is awful to watch.

mike03 (National) - 28/07/2016 10:28:35

Venue for hurling quarter-finals - 2 Like(s)
There will be less than 35,000 in Thurles Sun week. Playing it in venues nearer to home is the way to go.

mike03 (National) - 12/07/2016 15:37:25

Limerick Senior Hurling 2018. - 2 Like(s)
It has been a good Summer so far but I don't agree with the thinking from some in the county that what we do from here is a bonus. We should be looking to beat Cork. We should be looking to beat Galway/Clare. Sunday will be a huge battle but one we are ready for. The same applies if we get to the final.

mike03 (Limerick) - 24/07/2018 12:45:12

Limerick Hurling 2017 - 2 Like(s)

Replying To PatOLogical:  "Instead not begging God to allow the new manager to pick his backroom team, why don't we instead start from the beginning and appoint a committee to appoint a new2 county board.? After they have said its all about the he team and panel, therefore they would not mind putting their positions on the line. with 6 months before the new season... still plenty of time for a rethink.. (let's not t be afraid of eternal damnation for daring to question a system that has not worked for a long time, however well intentioned its sponsors ere. Time to say we tried but mad a mistake.. What do you think of that Joe Brolly? ."
Again I ask, how do you suggest disbanding the county board before it's term is over?? Simple question so no need for a big long reply which doesn't actually answer what I have asked. Just get straight to the point. Or else just say you don't know.

mike03 (Limerick) - 07/09/2016 10:17:45

Limerick hurling 2016 - 2 Like(s)

Replying To Sean Wall:  "Someday ...I'm not familiar with US system and player qualifications I was quoting a third party who seems to have knowledge of the system. The man has no vested interest in slating the players he was simply questioning why they would purchase J1's and plan going to US to play hurling if they really believed they were going to be around at the business end of the season. I don't believe that's rubbish....I'm sure it can be easily clarified when these players made their plans to go stateside, and if it was before championship exit, well it is a sad indictment of our whole set up this year. IMHO"
Sean your source was talking rubbish. Not one player who is in San Francisco from Limerick needed a J1 visa. A J1 is for students. Not one Limerick county player who is a student left to go to San Francisco before the championship was over. I think you need to explain to your buddy what a J1 is and then he can stop spreading bull.

mike03 (Limerick) - 21/07/2016 17:38:03

Limerick hurling 2016 - 2 Like(s)

Replying To PatOLogical:  "In reply reply to Mike03 and several posters here.. Firstly sorry for typos in my previous post msg ...done "on fly" .. Thanks to all who agree and special thank to all who disagree. Will have served the purpose if Limerick hurling is in a better place going into 2017. To Westfester ... Rameish was also a popular "catch-all word" for "bullchips" when I is was in the national school. Rameishing could also be used to describe the shuffling and shifting of players suggested on here prior to both Clare and Tipp game, hoping for miracles. When it comes to Limerick hurling we have been "rearranging the deck chairs" on the Titanic for for several years now as a result of bungling mediocrity and ineptness by county board which filters all the the down directly on and through the management and onto the field of play on game day. To Oldtourman : thanks for seeing the intended message... To Dualsupport... Great points made in your post ..exact same idea but says it much more and effectively than what I wrote.. To: A N Other that playing challenge games now in preparation of 2017 is hogwash.... maybe so...that's an opinion and fair play... Consider that it might just be a lot more valuable I n the big picture than playing in January and February without 3 or 4 players from county champions (as has happened for past two years and another 3 or 4 Fitzgibbon players .That means we essentially only have half a potential starting team, not to mention playing in the muck. Hope this continues to be about Limerick hurling rather than continued "I'm right and you're wrong " contests. To Mike 03 : Was NOT suggesting Martin Kiely or any other journalist become next Limerick hurling manager. Pls note the key word in my post was "INTERIM". What I WAS and AM suggesting is that since it is now the county board's stated intention is to "DO NOTHING ONCE AGAIN " until at least September, that BARNSTORMING sessions be at least started to chat about "game-plan" ( no pun intended) for 2017 and who we (Limerick might want to have as managers , administrators and in turn players for 2017 and beyond. Martin Kiely and Eamon Cregan have each summed up our current dilemma nicely in recent articles and might be good men to chair this "INTERIM DISCUSSION OPEN TO ALL FORUMS" . Will again suggest we invite Diarmuid O'Flynn from Ballyhea, even though he has moved on from GAA. A cute Cork HURLING MAN who does have a knack for getting to the point hitting the nail on the head. Fact of the matter is Limerick hurling has no pressing issues inside the white lines for another 6 months at least as we are once again relegated to status of spectators and also rans. If I may be permitted a little further "rameishing" I propose that that THE "Maor Uisce " be ratified immediately to take the "switch note" from the dugout to the referee for all future games. This will undoubtedly give players more breathing space by eliminating "stale air" and space that continues to suffocate. It's all about harnessing our abundance of talent a tour diposal , present and in the pipeline and giving them proper guidance ,support and purpose. Let fresh air and sun shine in! Come On Ye boys In Green."
This is actually getting ridiculous. I thought it was bad enough when you suggested 3 journalists to become chairmen but in fact it is interim manager you want them to be. Stop Pat. Seriously.

mike03 (Limerick) - 21/07/2016 17:40:41