Leitrim Forum

Popular Posts from Shannonview

Donegal Population Not Big Enough - 5 Like(s)
I am from Co Leitrim a population of 32000 thus a male population of 16000 My dear neighbours from Donegal have a population of 159000 thus a male population of 79500. Referring to the last census 47% of the population are aged 45 or over. Calculating this tells me that the Leitrim team is picked out of every 565 men. Our beloved neighbours (tongue in cheek) Donegal team is picked from every 2809 men. Oh dear that's not a big enough pick for the lads from the hills!!! Low and behold they now have a former Leitrim club player and he played for the Leitrim county team. Paul Brennan is his name. Alas when the final whistle went in Clones yesterday and Donegal were kings of Ulster 7% of the team were not Donegal men. Pride of the parish and pride of the county is a great GAA ethos. Sadly not applicable to Donegal!!!!!

Shannonview (National) - 24/06/2019 18:07:20

Brendan Gormley RIP - 5 Like(s)
I would like too offer my condolences to the family of the late Brendan Gormley RIP. I worked close to Brendan on the county board years ago when finances were at a minimal level. I noted Brendan had a fresh idea to a event on a weekly fundraising event. He worked with dedication for Leitrim GAA. Ballinamore's loss is heavens gain. I know players are very important for a team, however the backroom administration team are equally important for a team Names like Tony McGowan RIP, Brendan Gormley RIP, Cormac McGiolla RIP, and Tommy Moran. These men sowed the roots for our famous day in the 90's. Brendan would travel on a regular basis from Dromod to Tullaghan to raise money for the county At Dheis De a Brendan

Shannonview (Leitrim) - 21/01/2020 14:33:03

PACKY MCGARTY RIP - 4 Like(s)
Nuacht brónach ar maidin ó Liatroim nuair a tháinig an nuacht chun cinnNuacht brónach ar maidin ó Liatroim nuair a tháinig an nuacht chun cinn faoi bhás an pheileadóra is mó i Liatroim agus ceann de na cinn is fearr sa tír PACKY MCGARTY Go bhfanfaidh a anam i suaimhneas In the 1958 Connaught final against Galway which the tribesmen won by 2 points. The IrishPress reported- 'Oh what a wonderful hour of football glory for 15 gallant Leitrim men'. Galway were good but had no one to match the brilliance of McGarty' Packy McGarty will live long in the memory of the 12,000 spectators fortunate enough to be present. I have never witnessed nor can I ever hope to witness a better individual performance than that turned in by the wonderful Leitrim player. It was indeed a fitting tribute that he should be carried off the field shoulder high at the end of a brilliant game". Packy was honoured in been selected on the Sunday Independent Team of the Century for players who never won an All-Ireland, the Connacht Team of the Millennium and of course the Leitrim Team of the Millennium. Leitrims greatest and indeed one of Ireland greatest footballers has today gone to his eternal rest. RIP

Shannonview (National) - 06/04/2021 15:49:12

The Corona Virus And Possible Effects To GAA Matches - 3 Like(s)
Looking at posts on this topic. What are some of ye at? Is it that pubs are not open for in-house drinking thus a lot of time on yer hands. Could I ask all to kindly refrain from taking the forum to drift from the subject of the GAA and COVID19 consequences for the sport. Why are there so many using what they think are "smart"!! vendettas on their agenda. To conclude please respect users on this forum and kindly keep comments re all GAA related matters including covid19. If some are unaware, please note this is a GAA forum. I am sure you can browse and find another forum to discuss other matters WISHING ALL USERS GOOD HEALTH IN THE CURRENT CLIMATE AND IN THE POST COVID19 ERA.

Shannonview (National) - 16/10/2020 18:41:52

Leitrim GAA thread - 3 Like(s)
My mind boggles wondering why there are posters on this thread giving so much criticism to the County Board. Going by what I'm reading you'd think that Enda and Declan were paid officials and haven't a clue about fundraising. As you know the committee of the County Board are all giving hours upon hours voluntary for the running of the GAA in Leitrim. These positions will be available at the next AGM. It you are not satisfied with the work of these people and you have a positive vision of the Gaa in Leitrim, for the love of your county get your club to nominate you and get elected to the committee of the Co Board. The Co Board would welcome you with open arms. I wonder why people anonymously post criticism about the Co Board. If you are a supporter of Leitrim GAA and have constructive suggestions in relation to fundraising which the Co Board would welcome. . EiTHER 1 Get you club to bring your suggestions to a Co Board meeting which they can under AOB (any other business). OR 2 Get your club to write to the Co Board secretary with your suggestion. Come on stop your criticism and give your suggestions to the Co Board. My presumption is that similar to the Co Board you wish the GAA in the county the best. I've a feeling this post won't be popular with the some of the people who post on this Leitrim page. I wish your ideas will be forwarded to the Co Board and they will be of financially beneficial to Leitrim Gaa. I thank you for reading this post and I wish you good health. Thank you. ****************************************************************************************************** WE ALL CAN CRITICISE HOWEVER CONSTRUCTIVE CRITICISM is always welcome. *************************************************** **'**********************'************************** UNITED WE STAND DIVIDED WE FALL. ****************************************************************************************************** ****************

Shannonview (National) - 20/02/2024 20:42:14

Cavan V Donegal - 3 Like(s)
CONGRATULATIONS CAVAN This is a little piece I am after creating . Poor is it however its an effort!!!! From Blacklion to Virginia Folks hearts are filled with joy Glory days of yore they have always in store. Breffni Park, Croker and New York soil always etch with glory in the Cavan mind. Now on the green grass of Armagh. they broke the hearts of the lads from the hills Oh for Cavan folk their hearts were filled with trills Crossing the border was not permitted. The underdog fought Donegal and arrived first on the Tír Chonaill Hills summit Doors locked in the Kilmore Regrets no screens erected in Belturbet, Lavey and many more. On TV the game was watched Cheers and cries tears in their eyes. they jumped with joy. All Ireland final day is at Christmas. Santa will arrive in his usual attire. Will he wrap a special prezzie for Cavan the Sam Maguire John Joe Reilly watched from above, With excitement viewing the team with whom he was in love. His heart with joy did melt when his thoughts of his Killeshandra home greet the cup of fame the Anglo celt. is however its a try!!!

Shannonview (Cavan) - 23/11/2020 17:02:15

Leitrim Supporters Fundraising - 3 Like(s)
A word of thanks to the Leitrim supporters who in their recent fundraising for Pieta House, North West stop which are amazing charities for people with mental health problems. Sláinte 2020 also received money from the fundraiser. Sláinte 2020 is helping the irish in New York during the current pandemic. 21000 euro has been raised for these 3 charities. This is an incredible figure when the population of the county is taken into consideration. The Leitrim supporters have done this county proud

Shannonview (National) - 27/05/2020 18:30:18

NFL Division 4 - 2 Like(s)

Replying To katser:  "Looks like a straight swap with your neighbours..... Leitrim promotion and Sligo relegation!"
Round 5 for us against London in pairc Sean. Going by Saturday afternoon results one draw from our 3 games left and we are up. Mathematical wise we are so far ahead on the plus/minus score difference there is actually a fair chance that we have enough done, but one more point will confirm Croke Park awaits. Your reference to Sligo relegation. I admit they are in serious problem,but as our neighbour I hope they somehow can avoid relegation.

Shannonview (National) - 02/03/2019 18:52:34

Wexford Inter County Football - 1 Like(s)
Been from Leitrim a county that have had more that their share of bad luck today's result in Carrick on Shannon must of twisted the knife on ye in relation to the infamous Injury team goal in Carrick on Shannon. I didn't see that result coming from yer game. I predicted the match winner would be 60/40 for a Longford win. We think the Connaught Championship is tough. My word the Leinster Championship is a minefield. Just looked at the Leinster draw. Get these 2 wins and your in the semi. That's Carlow and then Louth I'm genuinely wishing ye make a semi and after today's result it should be a reachable target Hard luck so far in 2024

Shannonview (National) - 24/03/2024 16:32:37

The Corona Virus And Possible Effects To GAA Matches - 1 Like(s)

Replying To Lockjaw:  "Sounds intriguing, must check that out. I read a great one last Christmas called The Accidental Spy. All about an American truck driver/chancer who ends up in the Real IRA Army Council. Fascinating stuff. He was a bit of a cowboy and a bluffer and ends up an informant for the FBI and MI5."
I read that book as well. Knew most of the people. He was about 6'7". He was heavy and wore shorts during the winter. I got some shock when this because public.what a surprise is was. Now you know where I am from. Let's say there is a tourist resort in another province not far from me Anyway this is a GAA forum. Derry got a surprise from us in the league. We have a cruel draw in Connacht need to take on paper Galway Mayo and Roscommon out. The last time we had this draw. We done OK!! No back door then. We played the dubs in all Ireland semi. Hopes spring eternal. Back door has to go this year. I note a bookie is offering no Gaa championship at a very tight 2/1.crazy price, however you never know

Shannonview (National) - 06/04/2020 15:27:23

Monaghan GAA thread - 1 Like(s)
I haven't placed a bet for 4 years. They dangled a carrot at me by sending me a free 20 euro about5 years ago. I turned that 20 into 19500. They stopped taking bets from me. I talked to Joe on liveline about this. The sad stories that people rang Joe about suicides because of betting was so heartbreaking and thought provoking When your losing they would stop you betting. Anything in relation to betting I'm writing this. The same bookies are now excepting bets for naming the ulster championship finalists. One bet they have is MONAGHAN V CAVAN At 150/1. I doubt this will be the two in the final. 30 mins ago they were taking bets on. this. I think that bet will be a winner !!!!!!!!!!!!!

Shannonview (National) - 01/04/2024 18:04:41

Division 4 - National League - 1 Like(s)
Leitrim gaa football team. Affectionately known as the Cinderella county (never got to the ball) Only 3 county's have a 100% success rate in the national league. Leitrim population 32000 We have defeated Antrim population 618000 Limerick population 195000 Wexford population 149000 Wicklow population 142000 Other results were favourable for LEITRIM on Sunday. Bookies are not taking bets on Leitrim been promoted. Cinderella is going to the ball From Tullaghan to Dromod hall Hill 16 awaits, we ain't go to stall. Must check me car Change the exhaust Get a NCT test Mind you I will only drive to Dromod as someone told me they have them traffic lights up there. Sure what I do if I came across one of them. I have seen them on the telly Remember in case your looking for Nelson's pillar its gone. I have been told to bring that sat nav yoke whatever the it with me. Their filling me head about about it. I am bringing no mug I hear on the wireless that their is too many mugging in Dublin No mug for me I will bring a cup for the tae. I hear on the wireless that there is drugs in the big smoke that cos problems. I get drugs from the doctors and it gives me no problem. Thank God for the wireless that keeps me safe. Up LEITRIM

Shannonview (Leitrim) - 26/02/2019 08:41:17

Well I think championship and conclusion of league are not going to happen . Nepht has asked gov. again for level 5 restrictions for 6 weeks. Government said no a fortnight ago which I thought was risky. I would very surprised if they were to say no again.

Shannonview (National) - 16/10/2020 13:13:18

Replying To Tirchonaill1:  "Maybe you should just pull the plug in Leitrim and let the rest of us get on with it."
Well well well. Your reply was ironic. My presumption is that you wouldn't say those comments re Leitrim if you realised an ex County player for Leitrim is now on the donegal County team. Would you have a method of your madness telling us to pull the plug. Would you be from the extreme south of Donegal near the Drowes (the river on the county border the counties) who would be looking for more Leitrim players for you county team which are beginning to look like an United nations outfit. My mind is now just thinking of years ago when a Brogan man played for the hills. A true Donegal man, was it Mountcharles he was born and reared in? Oh I remember now. I have a memory like a sive. Sorry. He was working in South Donegal thus he transferred from the green and red of another Connaught MAYO. If I am not right with my facts re those players, I humbly apologise and would welcome you to mend my accuracy.

Shannonview (National) - 19/10/2020 21:06:26