Leitrim Forum

Popular Posts from SeanMacDiarmada

Connacht More Biased Than Leinster - 3 Like(s)

Replying To Whestofthewest:  "Jaysis wept. The draw in the west is a joke, another final for Galway, Id love to beat london and sligo at a chance of silverware or wicklow or louth. Thank christ for ulster (usually) but Armagh were given another final next year ffs. Even the rugger lads admitted to a draw mishap this year, teams need to be seeded properly"
"Meanwhile, Clare await the winners of Tipperary and Waterford"

SeanMacDiarmada (National) - 28/10/2023 14:13:21

Connacht Championship - 2 Like(s)
Sick of players walking off the panel. Just don't bother starting the season if you're not fully committed or likely to get annoyed if management go with other players

SeanMacDiarmada (Leitrim) - 16/05/2019 07:46:12

Leitrim GAA thread - 2 Like(s)
Must be the only club or county team in the country who don't have a short kick out. Lump everything down the middle and generally give up possession. No chance with doing that. Think it's best for all concerned if Andy moves in after this campaign.

SeanMacDiarmada (National) - 21/05/2023 10:37:18

Division 4 - National League - 2 Like(s)
When have we not?

SeanMacDiarmada (Leitrim) - 26/03/2019 12:55:10

Leitrim U20s - 2 Like(s)

Replying To ispeakwisdom:  "The fact of the matter is Leitrim were an 6 point better team but by poor officiating, lack of cuteness and game time we managed to lose it. Robroy1 (Leitrim) Not sure what game you were at but it seems you weren't at the U20 game last Wednesday in Carrick on Shannon. Leitrim had a very flattering 5 point lead at half time thanks in no small part to poor officiating with a very dubious looking penalty given. From the 30th to 60 minute plus the first 10 minutes of extra time we outscored Leitrim 2-11 to 1-5. Its hard to close out a game with the opposition is on top. You outscored us 4-1 in the 2nd period of extra time to make the margin of defeat less than one point and at that stage a number of our key players were watching from the sideline due to injury or cramp. Those are all the real facts, hard luck on Wednesday and you can be proud of the effort Leitrim put in."
The real fact is that we were a point up when the ref/linesman awarded ye an equaliser that was clearly wide

SeanMacDiarmada (Leitrim) - 29/06/2019 17:12:30

Leitrim Senior Team - 2 Like(s)

Replying To leitrim4sam:  "Posted this on another section but its relevant here too- Is there no moderators on hoganstand? Surely this above account should be suspended. Talking absolute nonsense about leitrim and doing pretty much everything to be elitist and patronizing towards us. Yes roscommon are going through a great spell lately competing in connacht finals and division 1 but it is no need to rub salt in the wounds of Leitrim. Multiple accounts and multiple split personalities talking to each other all from the one user. The rubbish being spouted is unbelievable. His posts are nothing other than mean spirited and sh1 t stirring. His constant barrage of comments on the leitrim forum are ruining what was a good honest forum full of insights, fun and good natured banter around GAA in leitrim. It's certainly ruining this page for me and I'm sure for others. This guy is a total loser and I know he doesnt represent the vast majority of roscommon people. Ignore him guys"
Just ignore him and his many alter egos

SeanMacDiarmada (Leitrim) - 28/10/2020 07:27:46

Leitrim GAA thread - 2 Like(s)
Why did Manor concede their game to Ballinamore last month that ended up getting them relegated?

SeanMacDiarmada (National) - 23/07/2023 10:51:02

Division 4 - National League - 2 Like(s)
Not sure why you went through all the permutations ABV. We need one point from our last 3 games. If we don't manage that, we don't deserve to go up

SeanMacDiarmada (Leitrim) - 03/03/2019 00:03:19

Connacht Club Football Championship - 2 Like(s)
So you want a ref banned for a year for getting one call wrong. Should a player who kicks a wide be banned for a year also? What about missing a penalty? Lifetime ban?

SeanMacDiarmada (National) - 12/01/2022 12:43:24

Leitrim GAA thread - 1 Like(s)

Replying To Tacaí Liatroma:  "I see the men are playing Wexford on Sunday Feb 18 at 2 while the women are playing Limerick in Ballinamore at the same time. Why couldn't it have been a double header?"
Pairc Sean would struggle to hold one game these days

SeanMacDiarmada (National) - 09/02/2024 07:59:48

The final round games on Division 4 have been played all at 1pm on the Sunday on numerous occasions when London have been playing away so that they could get home in the past (we've been in this division for long enough to know this). It should have been set for that time the same as every other year so that all games are played at the same time. We had to play away in Waterford at 1pm last game of the league a few years ago because of it. If they feel playing at 1 doesn't give them enough time to get a flight play the games at midday. It's not that big of a country. That was when our game against them in Carrick was due to be played.

SeanMacDiarmada (National) - 24/03/2022 17:46:32

If the game was in Annaduff more people would have attended though. The only reason it was played was so that London didn't have to travel over again. Otherwise like all the other games that were postponed it would be replayed in a couple of weeks. The pitch was fine, conditions awful and we only have ourselves to blame for losing it. Onto Dungarvan……

SeanMacDiarmada (National) - 23/02/2022 12:56:57

Connacht Championship - 1 Like(s)

Replying To williesboy:  "Couldn't agree more with what you have said. Terry Hyland on the Sunday game says we are 4/5 years behind in strength and conditioning (whatever that means) but weeks ago praises how the team are fitter than ever. There should be no excuse for an inter county team not to be fit when the exposure the coach has with them."
Great post above and agree with pretty much it all. The lack of a sweeper was baffling especially after Roscommon doing pretty much exactly the same to us there 2 years ago as well when they just ran through the middle. Their conditioning is way ahead of us but this has been the case for the last 4 years and unfortunately we don't seem to be closing the gap. At no stage did I think we would be winning yesterday but certainly expected the margin of defeat to be less then the last few years. Terry seemed like he was trying to detract the blame from himself a lot in his post game interviews. Way too much talk of "Leitrim" rather then "We". We had a relatively good qualifier campaign last year so hopefully we can do the same and restore the confidence gained earlier on in the year.

SeanMacDiarmada (Leitrim) - 13/05/2019 15:15:35

Replying To eslinchickenmaryland:  "There's no concession for children or pensioners into the stand so they have to pay full whack to avoid getting a potential ducking from the elements. So if you're a family of 5 you'll have to pay 150 quid for the pleasure of half avoiding the rain in order to watch two div 4 standard teams playing each other in a game that will involve progressing to another game that will involve a heavy beating for either teams. And sure pensioners have lots of money and don't mind getting soaked. Connacht Council need to do better in future I think."
The stand Carrick doesn't really shield you from the elements. Rain generally goes in on top of you.

SeanMacDiarmada (National) - 06/04/2024 07:09:07

Division 4 - National League - 1 Like(s)

Replying To bananapublican:  "Congrats to the team and management on gaining promotion to div 3 with 2 games to spare. While yesterday was celebrated like it was 1994 again if I was to be honest yesterday the team were poor. Just like Limerick only Aiden Flynn and Ray Mulvey played near their best with Paddy McGuire, Michael McWeeney and Seán McWeeney all coming into it well. Gary scored 2 points but 1-3 from play from our backs against 0-4 from our forwards is not a team that is progressing. Nerves and weather conditions yesterday played their part and to be fair with 15 minutes to go the team did look solid and good enough to see it out. It's been a great campaign but one has to worry about Ryan's lack of scoring, Darragh's lack of form and in general lack of goal chances since Jack went off against Antrim. We need to remedy this. Derry are beatable and for momentum we should try to win both remaining games giving a few fringe players experience. Let's all get behind the team in the remaining games and see you all in Croke Park."
I don't think anyone really celebrated like it was 1994. The players were delighted to go up but there was a much greater "buzz" from the crowd leaving the other 4 games which was due to the performance. No one is getting too carried away and fully appreciative that a performance like that against Derry will not suffice at all.

SeanMacDiarmada (Leitrim) - 05/03/2019 13:37:49

We've played once in Croke Park since 2006 and I don't think we've ever won a game there. Course it's a big deal to potentially be playing a semi final there. Do you think any of the players who played in the lower hurling finals recently cared that there wasn't 82k there? It's a lot better then taking hammering from the likes of Mayo or Armagh in the qualifiers.

SeanMacDiarmada (National) - 02/06/2022 14:33:52

Footballers 2017 - 1 Like(s)
Based on the league game it could go either way. Was an excellent game that we just edged in the end. Not sure how badly our confidence will have been hit by the hammering in the hyde. Mulligan a huge loss since that game in Carrick as well.

SeanMacDiarmada (Carlow) - 26/06/2017 15:32:24

Division 4 - National League - 1 Like(s)
Shane Quinn deserved a second yellow however how no action was taken against the Wexford player, who when they were on the ground had his knee in his chest, was laughable. Ref poor in general mind.

SeanMacDiarmada (Leitrim) - 29/01/2019 12:54:44

We just cannot handle runners from deep. Its been the same story for many years.

SeanMacDiarmada (National) - 19/02/2024 17:01:14

We only have ourselves to blame for the defeat yesterday. The first goal was the most ridiculous I've seen in years and we really should have dropped someone in front of their full forward for the second half as he was their big danger and then he goes and scores the goal that won the game. London managed to go a whole half playing with a storm and not managing to score a point from play. We are giving away too many scoreable frees. Cost us against Cavan and also yesterday. Mark Plunkett had an awful first half and really can't have any complaints about being substituted at half time. The only point I would make about the change of venue is that there is no way they should have been telling people to buy a ticket to go and stand out in a storm with absolutely no protection from the elements for any spectators.

SeanMacDiarmada (National) - 21/02/2022 14:31:19