Fermanagh Forum

Popular Posts from gotmilk

Pat on Jim - 12 Like(s)
I see spillane is questioning McGuinesses credentials as a gaa coach due to Donegal suffering a heavy defeat against Galway under Rory Gallaghers tutelage. What an insane, ridiculous comment. In 4 years he won 3 Ulster titles, 2 All Ireland finals and one Sam Maguire. How can he say a heavy loss under another managers is McGuinesses fault. How can you question the methods of any coach that delivers trophies and success? Would the county of Donegal give up the McGuiness years if it meant they were competitive in this years championship? I'd imagine not.

gotmilk (National) - 31/07/2017 14:18:13

Martin McGuinness RIP - 11 Like(s)
I share the thoughts of a lot of you on this thread. Driving into work this morning a sense of fear and sadness came over me. I'm afraid of the direction the Republican movement in the North will head. Will it follow the way of the DUP and watch the principles disappear for greed. I hope it doesn't. Will republicanism have a leadership that will be willing to bend as much as Martin was for the greater good. There is no doubt that Martin McGuiness was willing to look at the bigger picture and the broader community. It may not seem it to some in the south but the moves he made in relation to policing had a lot of people who would have been supporters of his in the past vying for his blood. What may have seemed like simple gestures were actually quite massive when you consider the backwards nature of a lot of people in Northern Ireland. Shaking the Queens hand and going to a NI soccer game were massive step forwards.

For a man that I never met I am actually quite upset. Martin McGuiness did not know any of my family members but he had a massive impact on our lives and the lives of Catholics up and down the country. At a time when we were been treated as second class citizens in our own country, a time when we could not get a job, we could not vote, we could not get an education, we couldn't even be christened what we wanted to be (my father is known as Sean but on his birth cert his name is John because those over the birth cert refused to accept Sean as a legitimate name.), he fought back. He stood up for the people who were being punished, he fought back for those that were being discriminated against, he fought back for those that were being burned from their homes, he fought back for those who were considered legitimate targets by security forces and loyalist paramilitaries based on where they went on a Sunday morning. He also had the vision to realise that you could only fight back so much before you had to talk to your enemy and work out your differences from there.

There are only two politicians this island has produced that I feel cared about it's citizens. Both are now deceased, one was David Ervine, the other Martin McGuiness. This island is definitely the poorer for both being deceased. It is now time for those with the capabilities to stand up and deliver like both of these men did.

gotmilk (National) - 21/03/2017 16:32:22

The end is no longer nigh - 11 Like(s)
After every bad game of football we usually get a plethora of posts talking about the demise of Gaelic football. Well having spent yesterday plonked on the sofa watching the Sunday Game, I can say without any doubt that Gaelic Football is alive and well. Using the tried and tested formula of basing the future of the game on the most recent game (there are enough threads on this site without having to list them all) it has to be said that Gaelic Football has never been healthier. Two great games televised yesterday, hard hitting, great scores and everything put on the line played in awful conditions. The posters on this site have been quick of the block in recent years to lambaste the quality of football on offer, perhaps it's time that they gave credit to two great games of football.

gotmilk (National) - 12/06/2017 14:59:44

Martin McGuinness RIP - 9 Like(s)
Genuinely bemused here. Not one single negative comment on Martin McGuiness yet plenty of people willing to downvote posts that speak positively of the man. It's quite clear that those that are down voting wouldn't be fit to tie the shoe laces of McGuiness. You may not agree with his politics, you may not agree with his actions in his earlier years or even those in his later years. But one thing is for sure is that McGuiness has done more for the people of this Island, no matter of their creed, sex or colour. Can the same be said of a lot more of our politicians. Without a shadow of a doubt the IRA would have went to war, anyone who says differently is a fool. Would someone other than McGuiness have been capable of getting the provisional movement to decommission their weapons and move forward for the greater good of the community? I would ask those that are downvoting posts to at least have the balls to put your name to it.

gotmilk (National) - 21/03/2017 17:37:32

Ballyragget - 8 Like(s)
Have to say fair play to the lads, they let their hair (among other things) down. Some of the reaction is ridiculous! Lads win trophy, lads go on a bender, lads have the craic. To those who question them or criticise them I say dry your eyes and grow up.

gotmilk (National) - 26/10/2017 12:07:56

County you least want to see win in football? - 8 Like(s)

Replying To BlastCalyle:  "For 2016 it would have to be Dublin, Kerry, Tyrone, Galway, Westmeath, Cork, Donegal, Claire, Tipperary. I'll be very happy if none of them win it in 2016."
I always thought Claire was a lovely girl

gotmilk (National) - 28/07/2016 14:38:01

Defence clap clap clap.. Defence clap clap clap - 7 Like(s)

Replying To Triple H:  "No blinkers here, I'm from Meath and if ever there was somebody who would like to pick holes and give out about the Dubs it is me. But Donegal after claiming they would not play defensive initiated that bile today. And my God that was just disgusting to watch. Derry got stick a few years back for defending against Dublin but that was every bit as bad.

I await the whole 'talk when Meath can do this, that and the other' crap, and I admit Meath are trying to play defensive themselves and are just not good enough to do it, but seriously you cannot sit by and think that was not a horrible game of football, if you do it's you that has blinkers on. Football is gone to sh**e and ye boys have a lot to do with that.

I have no interest in making this into a whole Meath v Donegal thing, I'm just saying how that there today was desperate."
First thing you do tomorrow is take a trip into town, visit your local specsavers and get your eyes checked. I only saw the last 20 minutes but the dubs had everyone back. Last attack from Donegal was there anyone in a dublin shirt in the opposition half?

gotmilk (National) - 26/02/2017 18:41:00

Patrick McBrearty - 7 Like(s)
Take a bow son! What a performance by him today. He has been threatening to do that for years but what a performance today.

gotmilk (National) - 30/07/2016 17:35:09

Joanne Cantwell - 6 Like(s)
Was very impressed with her on Sunday night. Didn't let Brolly off topic and actually added to the debate. Cant understand the negative reaction online to her, the games were actually discussed as a result. Anyway I hope to see more of Joanne on the TV in the anchor chair.

gotmilk (National) - 30/01/2019 12:41:22

2Nd Tier Championship....Catch Yourself On - 6 Like(s)
Take a look at the results from the weekend. Division 4 Derry winning with just over 5 minutes left on the clock. Division 3 Offaly leading for a considerable length of time against Meath, Meath falling over the line. Wicklow running Kildare close. Division 4 Limerick (who lost 5 on the bounce) trouncing Tipperary and Clare scrapping over the line against Waterford. So where are all these hammerings that suggest we need a second-tier championship? Even go back to last weekend and London gave Galway a serious game. The only game from the weekend that could be used to argue for a second tier championship was the Roscommon v Leitrim game.

gotmilk (National) - 13/05/2019 10:50:19

Rules - Here We Go Again ! - 6 Like(s)

Replying To MillerX:  "Quality is in the eye of the beholder. The game has football in its name so the foot must play some part in the game. I know you can reply that the actual goal must be kicked but this is not entirely true as a loose ball may be flicked or punched to the net. In essence what you want could mean that once the ball is kicked out a goal can result in several handpasses and a flick to the net......hard to describe that as football."
Have you watched any game with the rules yet? The ball is still kicked though. The bast majority of scores are kicked over the bar so I don't buy this line of 'theres no kicking in football anymore'. Self promoting arseholes are the reason this rule was brought in who are pining for a golden era that did not exist.

gotmilk (National) - 07/01/2019 15:33:13

Why have League Finals? - 5 Like(s)
Chance for me to hit Coppers.

gotmilk (National) - 28/03/2018 11:57:51

It Just Doesn't Feel Right - 5 Like(s)
I don't know about the rest of you but to me the build up to this years All Ireland feels very mute and lethargic. I don't know if it's the fact that in most peoples eyes the result is all but sewn up or if it's the new format with all the games being played sooner than before but it's just not the same. There seems to be no enthusiasm or talk of the match in general. Has anyone else noticed this or is it just me that thinks it doesn't feel like an All Ireland final week?

gotmilk (National) - 29/08/2018 14:45:04

Aidan O'Shea Diving - 5 Like(s)
I've had a night and a copious amount of pints to think about it. I don't blame aos. He done what anyone would have, if Quigley had done it o would be building a statue of him in the middle of Enniskillen. It was instinct from ose. Felt he could get a penalty, he went down, Mayo win. It's in the past now and all Fermanagh can do is try and build for next year. Best of luck to Mayo for the rest of the championship. Fermanagh for Sam 2017

gotmilk (National) - 10/07/2016 11:58:53

Can't handpass backwards? - 5 Like(s)

Replying To Sindar:  "I know there's so much talk over the years about the handpassing to death in football. Not everyone is against it and just feel that it is how the game evolves. I respect that but still disagree and think something needs to be done. There have been several suggestions over recent years such as limiting the number of handpasses in succession. Personally, I don't think that's refereeable. It's hard enough to spot overcarrying and double bounces without having to start counting handpasses. I don't think Joe Brolly's suggestion is workabale either, at least not at lower levels where getting the ball past the 45m from the kickout might be tricky for some if playing against strong wind and rain. Here's a suggestion. You can't handpass backwards inside your own half. That's it. Simple and refereeable and keeps the game moving forward out of defence. Eureka or am I missing something?"
You're missing one major thing There is nothing wrong with the game.

gotmilk (National) - 24/03/2017 19:47:06

Michael Duignan on Sky coverage and the GAA - 5 Like(s)
Ive been saying it since the deal was signed and i'm glad someone with a profile has finally spoken out against it. There are zero benefits to this deal. No extra money, TV3 offered the same, smaller viewing audiences. Whats the benefits? Sky got more subscriptions? Only people I can see benefiting from it.

gotmilk (National) - 09/07/2017 23:52:59

Derry vs Tyrone - 5 Like(s)

Replying To GGdub:  "Haha so dublin use the blanket defence in practically every game we play..as you say in ulster - catch yourself on..dublin defend well we dont play a blanket defence...think your the one whos new to gaa."
Seriously when was the last time you watched a Dublin game? Cian O'Sullivan sweeps, half forward line drops deep. Usually only 1/2 dubs inside opposition half when not in possession. What the hell would you call that?

gotmilk (National) - 22/05/2016 18:05:35

6 Nations 2018 - 5 Like(s)

Replying To ormondbannerman:  "Ormand you are like a politician. You never give a straight answer. France away is the toughest fixture that Ireland could get. OLLIE (Louth) - 21/01/2018 03:10:35Allie no it isnt because french side are in midst of one of the worst run of poor performances etc in their history. England away is far more difficult on current form of the sides and welsh, scottish are more difficult than the french at the moment Ormond we are going to have to agree to disagree here. Cliched or not france when they click are mercurial and unplayable. The fact that they are not in a good place in my eyes makes them even more dangerous as we are ripe for an ambush. You know what you're going to get with wales, Scotland and the English. However you never know which France is going to turn up. I hope we march into Paris and give them a thorough beating, but as previously mentioned Paris is not a happy hunting ground for us. tribeinbrum (Galway) - 21/01/2018 10:45:05 You say that but it isnt really true. Just look at how french have changed and transformed in recent years. That simply isnt the case any more. You dont know at all what you're going to get with the others. You saying that you dont know which french side will turn up shows you up to be a rugby novice and half arsed supporter which i know isnt the case. We've had a draw, win and defeat against the french on last three trips to Paris and we've only lost once in last 7 games against the french so for"
Jesus that's a fairly self righteous post.

gotmilk (OtherSports) - 21/01/2018 14:38:06

Should The GAA Introduce A Shot Clock In Gaelic Football? - 5 Like(s)
Jesus christ hasn't the average scores gone up in the game. What do people actually want?

gotmilk (National) - 24/08/2018 12:29:27

Street brawl or football? - 5 Like(s)

Replying To cjx:  "Seems clear Dublin were knocked off their stride by the brawl in the tunnel and with Keegan hauling down Connolly behind the play after less than 10 minutes. MacAuley should have gone twice. A hard physical game is one thing destroying a final with a series of thinly disguised street fights allowed by a clueless set of officials is another thing and a real pity. Couple that with playing on a skating rink made for soft shoe American football leading to farcical scores and wild ill considered Hail Mary kicks is threatening to make a farce of the whole occasion. All this disguised by fanciful media hype. Is the media the only message here? Is it media that now obscures all the defects and media rather than merit that decides Croke Park matches? GAA needs to get organised take control of the game and demand consistency of treatment and reffing or It will lose all those brilliant minors who played the only real football match yesterday"
What???

gotmilk (National) - 19/09/2016 10:21:39