Clare Forum

Popular Posts from Buachaillbui

Maradona - 5 Like(s)

Replying To Offside_Rule:  "Both scored dodgy goals that were allowed to stand?"
I remember Joe Sheridans but can't recall any dodgy Maradona goals ;-) Flawed genius , he was a joy to watch. Sad to see him pass so young, i guess his lifestyle caught up with him.

Buachaillbui (National) - 26/11/2020 17:53:52

It Will Be 21 Years Since Meath Won Sam - 4 Like(s)
Just because

Buachaillbui (National) - 03/09/2019 15:38:40

Wexford V Tipperary - 4 Like(s)
I fancy Wex as they seem to be getting better and better whereas Tipp seem to be going the opposite way . Last performance will surely bring out the lash by Sheedy in training. Will it be enough not sure. Think Davy will suffocate the Tipp centre. The only points I'd make against Wex are; Can they handle the playing gap. Tipp are always their bogie team on the big stage. Small point , a lot of talk has been about Lim/Tipp rnd 3 not a lot about Wex/KK rnd3(i dont see it but it would be funny as a few over the top munster supporters here would be put in their place)

Buachaillbui (National) - 17/07/2019 10:17:12

All Ireland Senior Hurling Championship 2023 - 3 Like(s)
Could they not have shown the last 10mins of Wex/Kil since there was a lot at stake instead of talking. Ridiculous we couldn't watch it but the panelists were.

Buachaillbui (National) - 28/05/2023 15:49:11

Should The Rebel Flag Be Banned At Cork Matches? - 3 Like(s)
20 pages and not a single Corkman has replied(can't see first page of this topic).

Buachaillbui (National) - 27/06/2020 21:58:58

The Team You LOVE To Beat The Most In Hurling And Football - 3 Like(s)
Cork cos you've never beaten them. It's just that you've scored more than them at the final whistle.

Buachaillbui (National) - 30/06/2020 13:34:25

Kilkenny GAA Confirms One Club Player Has Contracted Covid-19 - 3 Like(s)

Replying To Cockney_Cat:  "[quote=zinny:  "[quote=Cockney_Cat:  ""Rumours have been circulating about outbreaks with multiple cases at local clubs." What now? Does he(?) , and all the players he has been in contact with have to self-isolate for 14 days? KCLR link"
The HSE in conjunction with the help of the person involved will determine who the close contacts are and will ask them to isolate for 14 days accordingly. This is a process that is applicable for anyone who is tested positive regardless of if the are a GAA player or not. If people stick to the guidelines the amount of close contacts will be minimized."]So he, and all his fellow team mates, club officials, will isolate for 14 days. No going to work. Their immediate family, wifes, partners, children and parents also isolating for 14 days?"]Only those he's had contact with. But yea cos it's the responsible thing to do. We've been taking the Pandemic seriously over here. Youse should try it over there.

Buachaillbui (National) - 30/06/2020 21:22:33

Championship Predictions - 2 Like(s)
God's gift of Hurling : Leinster - Galway Munster - heart says Clare to finally break the cork hoodoo/head says Limerick All- ire Galway Basketball ;-) Leinster- dubs Munster Kerry Ulster Tyrone Connacht Galway Champions - Kerry

Buachaillbui (National) - 29/06/2020 17:29:07

Kilkenny and Tipp Give Us A Traditional All Ireland Hurling Final - 2 Like(s)

Replying To slayer:  "...cause every night I lie in bed The brightest colours fill my head A million dreams are keeping me awake .... The day of the all Ireland hurling final is the greatest day in Irish sport. Those who have played in it have shed tears recalling memories; those of us who are fans recall days of heroism or heartbreak. All star awards have been won on the day and single acts of genius have sent the Liam MacCarthy cup all over the country. On Sunday two of hurling's traditional 'big three' face each other for their sixth final of this decade. The first, where Tipperary stopped Kilkenny's 'drive for five' was arguably the greatest game of hurling ever played. In between those two finals at opposite ends of the decade have been amazing days. We have seen three replays, Clare Galway and Limerick end absences at the top table and a new format seeing more games, bigger squads and shocks galore. But the decade ends as it began, with these two great opponents doing battle for the biggest trophy of all. Croke Park on all Ireland final day is special. The colour, the atmosphere, the pre match parade. It can be a surreal experience even when supporting a team not to mind playing or mentoring. There is that adrenaline rush when your team comes out onto the field followed by the nervousness of the warm up. But when they get behind the band there is that unique feeling of pride that is hard to beat. People you know, care about, down there as Gladiators in the Coliseum. There is the singing of the National anthem complete with the last line 'C'Mon your_county' and that joy in the heart right before throw in. Hurling is a game that has changed over the last forty years. The ground game, overhead pulling and wild swings have been replaced by possession, control and repeated hits to the body. Yet the game has retained that unique trait that lifts the hearts, ignites passion and offers belief. Hurling is bred into us. It has always been. All week both sides will prepare as best they can. These have been the most consistent sides in Championship this year and rightly take their places in the final. Tactics will be ran through and statistics will be analysed. Yet there is something about Kilkenny and Tipperary that suggests all those things will go out the window at throw in time and hell will be unleashed. Cody Brian Cody is known to those of us who are older as a fine Kilkenny player. Captain of the all Ireland minor winners in 1972, he won Senior All Irelands in the 1970's and 1980's in a dominant Kilkenny outfit again captaining the '82 side. As a Manager he is the greatest ever at Inter County level. Seventeen all Ireland finals, eleven wins, two draws, four defeats. His ability to regenerate the Kilkenny hurling machine is unquestionable. Many times he has made the call to end a player's career in the Black and Amber. The more his teams win, the more he earns the right to make those calls. His current team are not of the same class as teams with Delaney, Tyrell, Carey, Shefflin or Brennan. He has taken a group of under 21 players who were beaten by Westmeath in Leinster in 2016, outclassed in the all Ireland final of 2017 and moulded them into Senior finalists. He trusts the players and the Kilkenny system to deliver. The intensity shown when beating Limerick in the semi final was vintage Cody. A bit of know how mixed with ferocity and the fuse was lit. Sheedy Liam Sheedy represents all that is good in Tipperary hurling. When Wexford dumped Tipp out at the quarter final stage in 2007 there were clear problems in the camp. Brendan Cummins and Eoin Kelly hadn't started the game. Damien Fitzhenry had finished them. There is a sort of honour in Tipperary that means they will not withdraw their playing services or cause division as has been seen in other counties. Instead Sheedy was put forward as Manager. In his first year Tipperary were Munster Champions. In his second year they retained Munster and lost the All Ireland final to Kilkenny. In his third year they lost to Cork in Munster and took a scenic route to end the Cat's five in a row quest. Sheedy returned to the helm at the end of the 2018 campaign. Two points from four games in Munster 2018 became the maximum in 2019. When Limerick broke down Tipp's puck out strategy in the Munster Final heads dropped and the home side took the spoils. But to the credit of all connected to the panel they overcame Laois and then a superb Wexford team in the semi final. Sheedy has brought them to within seventy minutes of the promised land. Match ups Tipperary's launchpad has been their half back line. From the opening game against Cork this line has been strong in aerial duels with the ability to pick out forwards for scores. At times their full forward line has been lethal. Sheedy has got the players extremely fit and in Seamus Callinan they have hurling's finest goal grabber since Dan Shanahan in 2007. Tipperary have recovered very well from the loss of Patrick Maher a proven ball winner. TJ Reid was magnificent in the semi final. His experience in getting on the ball and setting up runners for scores was vital to Cody's men. Walter Walsh is always a threat and in Richie Hogan Kilkenny have a magician even if he is not fit to play seventy minutes. Adrian Mullen chipped in with a fine haul in the semi final and whilst this Kilkenny team are not the goal merchants of a decade ago, Colin Fennelly is capable of raising at least one green flag. Up for the match This is always an entertaining program to watch in advance of finals between these teams. In 2014 Joe Hayes and Fan Larkin traded verbal jousts. We have seen the legendary 'Rattler' Byrne (RIP) speak about his days in the Tipp colours. There will be no shortage of All Ireland medals regardless of what guests emerge and with both counties sharing a border the one thing they won't want to share is Liam MacCarthy. Where it could be won Perhaps if Tipperary study Kilkenny's semi final win lessons could be learned. If Tipperary keep their full forward line moving close to goal they could cause Kilkenny trouble. Kilkenny are able to upset any team and once in a war they are superb at moulding a victory from the ashes of battle. In the Munster Final Tipperary scored two excellent goals by running at the opposition. They can find space and punish teams with their movement. Kilkenny conceded a semi final goal to Shane Dowling where the ball was ran from deep. However their aerial prowess means if Tipperary go long scores could be harder to come by. All the more reason for manic intensity from the Cat's forwards to stop the ball being worked upfield. In 2016 Seamus Callinan ran riot in the final. Many people asked why Cody didn't play a 'sweeper' in front of him. Cody's strength is the ability to adapt. If Kilkenny need to play with extra players in defence on Sunday he might just do that to win. Bring on the day It has been difficult (more difficult as time has gone on since July 27) to be from Limerick and watch the day draw nearer. It must be the same for Wexford folk who saw their team lose just one championship game all year and who are not there on hurling's greatest day. As Sunday draws closer though there is the realisation that we are living in great hurling times. Four different counties have won each of the last four finals. One of those sides will win it again in 2019 but they will deserve it. The current format is punishing with Management teams wondering when is best to peak or how to maintain a level that gives them the best chance of winning the final. Both of these teams have found their way to the final. Good luck to them, either will make great champions. Croker will be a see of colour. Blue and Gold, Black and Amber. We should see a frantic game and bar a draw there will be a group of people, their friends, their families, devastated. We have to realise that no matter how much financial assistance these counties put into their game, behind it all are a group of human beings giving hours towards our entertainment. Relatives will be stressed just hoping for the best for their loved ones. There will be thrills and spills and above all else there will be THE greatest occasion in Irish sport. Aftermath Brian Cody versus Liam Sheedy. Cody's record will hardly be bettered in the next fifty years. But given how rarely he loses to the same opposition Manager, Sheedy could steal a march on his great rival on Sunday. One of these Managers has the chance to become the greatest showman even if just for a year and young children in both counties will go to bed on Saturday night imagining themselves playing in a final one day. We have all been there in our dreams. Some are lucky enough to get there. This is indeed the greatest show. Good luck to all, safe travels. Prediction Having seen both sides up close in 2019, the gut feeling is that Tipp will shade this."
That's the shot. Now we're rolling. Great summation there Slayer. The parade is like nothing else. The anticipation rising, the anthem, the hairs on your neck tingle when it's played. The pots boiling now, you're so close to it, everyone's dreams are still intact at that very moment, it's like the whole ground is as one. Waiting, waiting. The ball is thrown in and we're all swept away. It is the greatest day.

Buachaillbui (National) - 14/08/2019 11:39:43

When Your Team Is Out Who Do You Most Root For? - 2 Like(s)
In Hurling it would be Waterford or Galway and in Football Galway, Mayo and Armagh. Usually it's the underdogs I root for. Maybe it's strange but I could never shout for Cork in Hurling but would like to see them do well in Football. Equally I could never shout for the Dubs or Kerry in Football but would in Hurling.

Buachaillbui (National) - 20/07/2020 15:01:04

Hurling Quarter Finals - 2 Like(s)
Some great fixtures there. We will definitely fancy our chances against Waterford but I suppose so would they. We showed great fight, heart and will to win last Saturday. This had been lacking against Limerick and to a lesser extent against Laois. We do need others to step forward in attack in a big way. If we do then i reckon we can drive on. Tipp /Galway jumps out to the neutrals I guess. I'd say Galway are raging after losing to KK so they'll want to right those wrongs. You'd have to be impressed by how Tipp ground out the win last Saturday.they showed why they're champions. I suppose whoever turns up on the day will win. If they both do, then it's Galway for me by a pt or two.

Buachaillbui (National) - 16/11/2020 12:53:03

Hurling Quarter Finals - 2 Like(s)

Replying To Canuck:  "May the best team win on the day. More than half the Waterford team are from the west and will relish a jog across the Youghal bridge. Hopefully everyone will continue to make us underdogs as it suits us."
Absolutely. If it doesnt go our way I'll be cheering you on against KK. I think you've got yourselves a great manager there in Cahill. He seems to have yee going again .I liked that Cahill hooked off Austin Gleeson as he wasn't contributing at all in open play as much as he should be. Not every manager would do it. I know he scored 3points but he seemed to dissapear after each score for what seemed like ages. You put it up to Limerick in a big way and I'd argue the water breaks both came at times when Limerick were looking troubled. Your free taker is quality and will punish us anywhere from 80yds. So all in all we're under no illusions that it will be tough. It's quite an even match up. Looking forward to it .

Buachaillbui (National) - 16/11/2020 20:12:50

Greatest Hurling Upsets Of All Time - 2 Like(s)
Offaly beating Kilkenny in 1980 for me stands out. It really sent shockwaves through the hurling world.

Buachaillbui (National) - 30/05/2023 13:56:49

Eoin Murphy's Tackle - Wexford V Kilkenny - 2 Like(s)
I'd disagree with some people calling it cowardly, that's just ridiculous. He comes out to meet a guy coming at his goal nothing cowardly about that. I think some folk are projecting 'intent to hurt' on E.M., which again is ridiculous. Similar with Tuohy, it was mistimed alright, but like any mistimed tackle it will look bad. I also saw that 'hurl in the neck' incident with T.J. nothing too great about that but again I think the Wexford player isn't trying to hurt T.J. just get in front. I did get annoyed at him screaming at T.J. afterwards like a lunatic. (that part of Hurling I hate to see). Clare men have been doing it a lot(Brendan Buglar in particular, although retired) and I take as much issue with my own county doing it as anyone else. No part in any game.

Buachaillbui (National) - 19/06/2019 10:22:26

All Ireland Senior Hurling Championship 2023 - 2 Like(s)
Well it's the hope that kills you. The life of a Clare man. I'm proud of the team. We turned up and gave it our all. Came up short and left it all out there. Thought we had them twice in the 2nd half but those KK boys just don't do panic do they? Good luck to em against one of the best teams I've seen play the game. One thing I'll say is, this constant moaning about refs is weak stuff. Refs don't loose matches, player's and manager's decisions do. Can't stand managers crying about refs decisions. Is this gonna be the narrative everytime we lose? We lost and that's it.

Buachaillbui (National) - 10/07/2023 21:21:52

It Will Be 21 Years Since Meath Won Sam - 2 Like(s)

Replying To royaldunne:  "It was 20 years before in 1987. Meath have put down a marker this year, mcentee given another 3 years. Rome wasn't built in a day, think the aim next year will be for division 1 retention and seeing can we make last 4 in championship, getting closer to Dublin has also to be up there. We getting there and threads like this will only make it sweeter when we destroy teams again. Hon the royal."
This silly thread was created as a joke. It's in reference to another ridiculous thread which was created by a guy who happens to be from Meath. Nothing to see here. Best of luck to you.

Buachaillbui (National) - 03/09/2019 21:56:14

Change To Hurling Throw In - 1 Like(s)
Personally, I love the throw in. The band still playing as it disappears down the tunnel, opposing players shake hands (the soft ones) or use their shoulders to greet each other. The noise, expectancy and excitement levels rise to boiling point. One, two or all of em throw a sly dig here and there, raising the cries of blood from the opposing fans. Shouts of 'give it back to him ', send that 'insert county' f***er back into the ground, C'mon da 'insert county nickname' . The man in darkened green walks up to the four opposing players who are trying to push each other off an imagined cliff. Says something the players can't hear or choose to ignore. Blows the whistle, throws the ball in. Hurls move, ash flies, legs /arms/ bodies become tangled. Ball trickles slowly missing the first two who are pulling on air. The second pair tangle and the ball moves 3 inches forward, half the stadium erupts with joy but its sent back the other way causing the other half to counter erupt. And on it goes..... That's what i love.

Buachaillbui (National) - 18/06/2019 11:15:42

Hurling Qualifiers - 1 Like(s)
Can't see us beating wexford this wknd. Yes we've players missing but I just dont think we're playing well enough. I don't think Wexford will play as bad as they did v Galway again not with Davey in charge. Sadly I think the Wexford match will be a comfortable win. Still though as a Clareman if you'd told me at the start of the year we'd still be in the Championship by Nov I'd have taken it ;-) Tipp/Cork match I fancy Tipp. I just think they're a better team in every way. Cork will be up for it but I think Tipp will keep Cork at arms length and see it out. As a side note I think the script is already written, Tipp v KK in the QF. KK win. But I can't see past a lim/gal final at this stage .

Buachaillbui (National) - 12/11/2020 09:38:00

Eddie Gone - What Now For Laois Hurling? - 1 Like(s)

Replying To daytona11:  "Yeh hugely so. My point is that lads are quick to run down CB officials without knowing the politics and red tape they have to deal with themselves. I'd fully think that Eddie knew the conversation was being recorded and that's why he was so praising of the Kilkenny CB and backers. He obviously wants to leave himself with a chance of getting the KK managers role after Coody and Shefflin."
That's a huge stretch and frankly a ridiculous thing to say.

Buachaillbui (National) - 24/11/2020 16:32:11

Hurling Will Have A New Champion Again - 1 Like(s)

Replying To Oldtourman:  "Well in fairness, and I am no fan of Tipp, they did prove that KK can be heavily beaten in '10, '16 and '19."
Tipp can't seem to beat KK by a small margin can they, it was always a hammering.

Buachaillbui (National) - 24/11/2020 16:36:46