Popular Posts from MadgeKing

El Clasico 2020 Monaghan Vs Cavan - 10 Like(s)

Replying To lilypad:  "El classical bore hahaha :)"
The most interesting thing to happen in Kildare GAA in the last 10 years was a Cavan hurler. Now that's boring!

MadgeKing (National) - 28/10/2020 17:17:02

The Dubs, The Monies & The Prejudices - 7 Like(s)
The Dublin lads have convinced me that the central funding difference has nothing to do with Dublin's run of success. So surely it makes sense to bring their total down to €0 for a few years and give it to a county who might invest it more prudently?

MadgeKing (National) - 27/06/2019 20:11:04

Kerry V Tyrone. - 7 Like(s)
In fairness that red card has been comimg for a while. David dishes it out a lot himself, the 2 yellows routine backfired today.

MadgeKing (National) - 09/02/2020 18:28:35

Dublin V Roscommon - 5 Like(s)

Replying To s goldrick:  "how many times will Michael Daragh McCauley touch the ball with his feet Today. I will say a maximum of once in the whole game."
He will carry the ball for 200 steps with 4 to 6 bounces in total.

MadgeKing (National) - 20/07/2019 19:38:48

Kerry V Tyrone. - 5 Like(s)
Have a look at the All Ireland final replay 26:44 26:54 29:00 It will tell you a lot

MadgeKing (National) - 11/02/2020 19:43:37

Dublin V Cork Super 8S - 5 Like(s)
The blackest of black cards for cian o sullivan. Deliberate pull down in front of goal. But sure look....

MadgeKing (National) - 13/07/2019 20:09:27

Monaghan Vs Tyrone 2018 El-Clásico - 4 Like(s)
Hats off to Monaghan from across the hedge. Yesterday was probably the best display of football under Malachy O'Rourke, better than the 2013 final in terms of quality? Was there ever a better point scored in Ulster than the McManus one at the end? Maybe Damien O'Reilly or James McCartan but that would be it. I always held that Monaghan were really a case of 1 superstar plus 14 workhorses but now have to admit that's not the case anymore. There are some serious operators in the team now e.g. the likes of Karl O'Conell who for some reason never gets mentioned by the media. McManus and Beggan grabbed the headlines but it is Corey and Mone who deserve greatest credit for me. These lads have served their county for years and for the most part during times when no medals looked likely. We are tearing ourselves apart in Cavan at the minute about players dropping off county panels. The contrast with these two is stark. All that said, the path to another Ulster title is not straightforward. Fermanagh will be dogs to beat and Donegal showed some real class in their opening game. But if Monaghan can get to the pitch of yesterday it is there for them.

MadgeKing (Monaghan) - 21/05/2018 12:00:31

Cavan Vs Kerry - 4 Like(s)
Kerry played with a massed defence against a young Cavan team for 50 minutes and relied on frees from SOS to keep the scoreboard running. The 2 injuries to key Cavan men, resulting from robust tackles, gradually swung the game in their favour. Presenting this as a big win for a team of young lads is a bit much.

MadgeKing (National) - 03/02/2019 21:13:52

Donegal Vs Tyrone - 4 Like(s)

Replying To seanie_boy:  "I've posted already but don't see it on here so here goes. Well done to Donegal,they outplayed Tyrone all over the field from start to finish and once they got their noses a certain distance in front they never looked like they were gonna be anything other than easy winners on the day. Tyrone need to regroup and think about tactical changes when the game isn't goin their way. Tiernan Mc Cann was wrong to do what he did. Very dangerous and unsporting behaviour. He needs to ask some questions of himself as this type of action cannot be tolerated. If he is punished after the fact then he has only himself to blame. Not to mitigate what he's done but it's been done by others before him so we don't need any posters on here trying to make it out to be any worse than what's gone on before,and what will undoubtedly happen again. No need to make it about Tyrone either as I've seen it plenty from other county's players but won't name names as we've all discussed those incidents on here at the times they happened through the years."
Straight from the playbook of Northern politics.. 'This was bad but not unprecendented' 'there is blame on all sides' 'we need to look at the context' Blah blah blah. This guy has form. He is admired for his antics by his support base. Not by anyone who loves the sport however. I hope the GAA throw the book at him.

MadgeKing (National) - 09/06/2019 09:48:55

Gooch In A World Of His Own - 4 Like(s)
A nice player for the nice day

MadgeKing (National) - 03/08/2019 09:26:03

Derry vs Tyrone - 3 Like(s)
A big problem in this debate is that people don't distinguish between use legal tactics and illegal actions. Tyrone can be legitimately accused of employing a lot of unsavoury stuff- sledging, diving, time-wasting, gouging, intimidation of officials encroachment on the pitch etc. But those are disciplinary issues. The proper response, and much needed, is good refereeing and trained umpires that are mandated to call these things. The tactics question should be kept totally separate. Anyone who actually watches their game can Tyrone's methods have evolved from 'everyone back' to a seriously intense game based on pressing the weakest ball carrier (who is identified and targeted beforehand). An interesting feature is how many times they strip the ball from the man in possession by targeting the carrying arm when he's held up. The turnovers happen 40-50 metres from their own goal and then its all out attack. They bagged 3-14 yesterday yet people complain about negativity! They hit exactly the same score (3-12 of which was from play) in the rain against a heavily-favoured Dublin in 2008 and Joanne Cantwell's first post match question was about 'blanket defence' - lazy journalism then and 8 years later it is still being bleated by some sheep on here. Kerry innovated a few years back by going with big men on the inside line- they combined it with illegal tactics like throwing the ball in layoffs, early pushes on defenders, diving etc. and terrorized defences as a result. Nobody complained until Tyrone innovated by bring swarming and pace further out the field to cancel the effect. We are living with the fallout from one man's inability to take his beating for the last 13 years.

MadgeKing (National) - 23/05/2016 16:02:33

Monaghan Vs Tyrone - 3 Like(s)
Suddenly this looks like the most irrelevant semi-final of all time.

MadgeKing (National) - 11/08/2018 18:51:41

Donegal 2016. Coming in under the radar - 3 Like(s)
coming in under the radar. going to fly straight into a cliff.

MadgeKing (National) - 13/06/2016 22:16:02

Bitter rivalries - 2 Like(s)

Replying To hardcore:  "I'm sure I speak for many when I renew my pledge to strongly dislike all things monaghan. Apart from fermanagh, Armagh, Louth and Tyrone no other county has to deal with such an entity on their doorstep. We in cavan are currently building a unit that we hope shall regularly put our noisy neighbours back into Sam maguire less box. sceptical (Cavan) - Posts:442 - 01/01/2017 20:37:03 1 LOL................Must be awful having to watch your nearest neighbours be so successfull, while you's still have to rely on Grandaddy tales about winning titles over 60 years ago..............and now you's are in your 20th year without winning an Ulster senior title..........yous are that bad we dont rate you as a rival,Tyrone is our main rival............ Let me know when you's are finished building this Unit,seems to be taking along time im hearing this from 2011.............future blue and all that"
Happy new year Hardcore, We in Cavan will be generous to you Monaghan lads this year. First we will help send you back to Division 2 which is your rightful home in league football- your struggle to cling on in Div1 has never helped you later in the year. Then we will take care of Fermanagh for you in the championship, after you have softened them up for us in the 'Battle of the Minnows'. As far a rivalries go, it can get bitter between Cavan and Monaghan but rivalry is not the right word. Our big rivals in Ulster are Down, who we meet as equals, and Meath on the National stage. The Monaghan thing is just fighting across a ditch. See you on February 12th...

MadgeKing (National) - 03/01/2017 14:40:53

National League 2020 - 2 Like(s)

Replying To Cavan_Shambles:  "Stop telling the truth and talking sense Goonie, the red thumb brigade will be along any moment now to tell you you're too negative. Because if we just "get behind the lads" and "hope for the best", we're "not that far away"."
When we had 'the best' available in 2017... Cavan: R Galligan; P Faulkner, K Clarke, J McLoughlin; J McEnroe, N Murray, C Moynagh; G McKiernan, T Corr, C Mackey, M Reilly, C Brady; C O'Reilly, L Buchanan, D McVeety. Subs: N McDermott, R Connolly, T Galligan, J Dillon, S Johnston, N Clerkin Lost to Tipp at home in the championship When we had the best available after an Ulster final loss: Cavan: R Galligan; J McLoughlin, P Faulkner, C Moynagh; C Rehill, K Clarke, Ciaran Brady; Conor Brady, G McKiernan; N Murray, D McVeety, G Smith; O Kiernan, C Mackey, M Reilly. Subs: C Madden, O Kiernan , C O'Reilly, S Murray, T Galligan, K Brady Lost by 16 POINTS to Tyrone So, do you not think the question should be 'why do we put the players who walk away up on a pedestal?' I think there is a false narrative in Cavan that the problem is 'too many good players walking away'. It is a source of comfort, thinking 'if only we had them' sort of thing. The lads that have opted out did not really do much when they were available. No doubt that there is an issue with retention that must be solved, but it is most unfair to dismiss the efforts of the current players by constantly inflating the value of those who have left. Do we honestly believe that if Moynagh, Rehill, Clarke, and McVeety were available we would compete with Donegal and Tyrone for Ulster? Answer me that. It seems to me that the best way to gain a reputation in Cavan is to quit- then everyone in the pub and on the podcast will wax lyrical of what you could bring to the team 'if only'.

MadgeKing (Cavan) - 27/01/2020 10:21:59

National League - 2 Like(s)

Replying To Hardtimes:  "He showed when he could the other night, drew a few fouls, kicked a few scores. It'll inspire no songs but there were a lot worse than him out. Like him or not, other teams' defenses single him out cause he'll play if he's let and if they had the choice themselves they'd rather see him on the bench. I'd be a fan of Jack but is he even fit? And I'd agree, he's better suited inside and last year was finally starting to show something at senior. But it's still only potential, there's nothing to say for definite he's a big game player."
This post has me thinking, have we actually got any big game players at all?? Think about it, who in the current panel has consistently stood up and stamped their authority on top level games? OK there are isolated examples like Mackey against Armagh in 2013, Rory Dunne v Donaghy in the Kerry QF, and maybe Johnston against Wicklow in 2010 (if that counts). We also got 40 minutes from Argue against Monaghan in 2015. And whats more, we havent seen a solitary good performance in the Ulster club championship from any Cavan player in 15 years or more. Where is the evidence for all this quality that we have ourselves convinced about? I'm beginning to wonder! Hopefully someone will prove me wrong in Omagh

MadgeKing (Cavan) - 09/03/2017 23:44:58

NFL 2020 - 2 Like(s)

Replying To patmouse:  "its absolute disgrace that the intercounty is going ahead when the whole country is now gone to lockdown, the celebrations have been a massive driver in the virus spread, so much for the gaels and the community, that notion is long gone. Monaghan game against Kerry look like it had the highest attendances of fans in the whole Island and ny game in the premiership, it was the talk of social media, what where the stewards at . its no one wonder, we have one of the highest case in Ireland if not Europe by head of population."
Inniskeen was never great country for rules

MadgeKing (Monaghan) - 19/10/2020 22:38:56

Cavan v Armagh - 2 Like(s)

Replying To tenyearplan:  "very best of luck to Terry and the lads on Sunday - I have no doubt we can do it if we go in with the right attitude ie dont listen to the hype and go in to it as a fifty-fifty game which it is. We were both second division teams this year even if we went our separate ways. I just hope the management has a plan B which they didnt have against Tyrone and move players around if things are not going well. Tyrone completely nullified Givney and Mc Kiernan - our two most influential players - for most of the match and they were left in position when there were obvious changes that could have been made ."
Influential players do not allow themselves to marked out of the game. That's what makes them influential players! Givney and GMac have work to do in this respect.

MadgeKing (Cavan) - 25/05/2016 10:34:41

Allianz National Football League Div 2 2018 - 2 Like(s)
Very confused after Sunday- I don't know whether to be looking forward to the Donegal match or to be dreading it! I suppose we should stay positive and not let one result dampen the mood after a surprisingly excellent league. A few things to be worked on though. First, like many on here, has to be McKiernan's work rate. I have been saying this for a few years now. The solution is not moving him to full forward, the solution is moving him out of the starting 15. He is a fan favourite due to a few big scores on the run, but more is needed. Impact sub for the next one Mackey and McVeety were the only 2 capable of getting forward momentum for Cavan, but Mackey doesn't look to have the 70 minutes in him. For me he starts on the bench and comes in after half an hour. Definitely needed on the field late on. Donegal will be planning for him so no harm to have him to come in rather than marked out of it early on. Likewise SJ, in for the last 20 minutes and chained to the goalpost. His roaming days are over. Solving the Murphy/McBrearty problem? Murphy is a player for the ages but one thing he may struggle with is a mobile man-marker with a singular job to take him out of the game- Justin McMahon and Vinny Corey have done it in the past so its a job for a most physical player. Has to be Killian Clarke if that's the case. If Murphy roams it will only suit our man better. Who does that leave for Paddy? I think Faulkner is not the finished article yet and plays better as an organizer/sweeping defender so it would be better to go with someone else. A 60/40 split in favour of McBrearty would do. Jason McLoughlin with Conor Moynagh as a spare man in front could work. We are not blessed with options. That just leaves Odhran McNillais to worry about...

MadgeKing (Cavan) - 03/04/2018 10:53:45

Rte Missing A Trick ? - 2 Like(s)
Fair City Mrs Browns boys Marty and Bernards big adventure Dancing with the stars Daniel and Majellas Road Trip Munster hurling championship RTE producers know quality when they see it.

MadgeKing (National) - 04/06/2019 10:24:38