Popular Posts from ponger

Seamus Darby Goal - Poor Goalkeeping? - 11 Like(s)
How on earth is it bad goal keeping? its looped over him and while he dives at full stretch he gets nowhere near it... What more could he have done...

ponger (National) - 09/01/2019 15:15:07

Armagh Vs Galway - 7 Like(s)

Replying To Saynothing:  "A orange ( kicks with other foot )man on this morning on BBC radio Ulster stuck up for the GAA by saying this is not a GAA thing, it's a society thing. Gone are the days where two boys on a night took a swipe at each other and maybe got a black eye, nowadays it's turns into a full scale brawl. The separate tunnel thing is an non goer, what happens on field stays on field. Nothing but praise for the two lads that were sent off , took their cards, shuck hands and moved on."
Inclined to agree with a lot you are saying. The one thing i take issue with is this notion that its a society thing. In the same breath it was mentioned that some northern teams have grown up this way and some say its a toughness thing that's brought to the field. In solving any problem there is an important part to understand the causes but i think these sort of excuses are pure and utter red herrings. As some examples, take American football, boxing and even Rugby. Different societies across these sports with different upbringings take part and while they manage to kick the crap out of each other on the field (ring), they manage to leave it on the field and the utter respect that's shown in general at the end of these sports is to be admired. So why cant we have the same levels of respect. The reason is quite simple in that its accepted for far too long where aggression (vital part of our game) goes uncontrolled. This is effectively bringing the sport into disrepute... How far away were we from Comer loosing an eye and the Armagh lad subsequently taking a punch and ending up with a bleed on the brain. Some may think far fetched but all just a symptom of the problem

ponger (National) - 28/06/2022 18:02:04

Dublin Senior Football Team - 6 Like(s)

Replying To browncows:  "I think you need to relax. Far more serious incidents going on that is being swept under the carpet and nothing to do with the GAA. Guys jumping the Q with help of HSE and older people dying due to same, holding up vaccine for 10 days-very little reports from some of these journalists and no photographs either!"
Well lads and lassies i think there are some of you on here who don't take this Covid thing seriously at all and a typical GAA attitude. Maybe some of you haven't lost someone close or know anyone greatly affected by it and how easy its transmitted. The bones of outbreaks in counties like my own last summer were GAA matches and the GAA fraternity.. We had our time and we couldn't have manners and follow basic rules and here we go again..., but we are somehow different I really do have to laugh at "there only a few lads having a kick about", yeah from different parts of the county that have travelled... but thank god Covid knows this and it probably decided to leave these poor unfortunate lads alone, i'd say Covid doesn't wake up that early but even if it did it probably thought they'd be immune because they are county players ppfffff. I have a group of 40 kids that i would love to get back training but reality bites with Covid. Why would anyone let us back if this is the sort of crap that going on.. Its stuff like this that put the rest in jeopardy of getting back sooner rather than later

ponger (National) - 04/04/2021 06:18:05

Dublin Senior Football Team - 5 Like(s)

Replying To Dubh_linn:  "Exactly ,you see this is not a journalist who is over concerned about making any great contribution to the safety of the nation but more about an attention grabbing opportunity to sell newspapers and over sensationalise a relatively minor incident. All this talk of Jim Gavin as you say is just another way to kick Dessie Farrell. I'd imagine you're probably of a similar vintage to myself and have been around long enough to see that this acts as nothing more than a deflection from what is utter incompetence on the part of the authorities to carry out their responsibilities on anything close to a mediocre standard. Also, I will no longer be buying one of these newspapers as talk is cheap but the only language that counts with these publications is to stop buying their print."
Your completely missing the point here. Yes its targeted at Dublin and the Dublin players. Why? because they are the pinnacle of the GAA at the moment and the current all-Ireland champions. These ppl are trend setting and should be setting an example, because every other GAA player wants to be like them. That's the point and the issue here... The bit that annoys me is the absolute brazenness of it when two other teams have been caught and sanctioned. They knew what they were doing but maybe they taught they are above everyone else and do it early in the morning before anyone notices. But no lets blame the journalist

ponger (National) - 02/04/2021 22:10:46

Civil War Rows On Hogan Stand - 4 Like(s)
I though the league was going great with loads to talk about.. rather than stuff like this making topic.. :)

ponger (National) - 05/02/2018 18:20:06

Think Cavan Have A Great Chance - 4 Like(s)

Replying To TheUsername:  "I watched it on Sky and i found the commentary really disappointing, they just couldn't see what Cavan were trying to do and to quick to peddle the "football is gone so negative" narrative, every time Cavan worked a score after many good patient phases of play. I like watching football like that with intelligent purpose, it takes bravery to take under pressure, tactical nous in moving players around, game management skills wearing the opposition down and leadership to take you point on. The first half for me was a sign of a good team, the second half for me was a sign of a good manager. If you have both you can be confident."
I would have to agree with you username.. This game was a carbon copy of the league game with Kerry where Cavan were 7 points up at half time and lost the game to Kerry. This time round things were different. They slowed the game down recycled well, subbed at the right time, stuck to the plan and grabbed scores at crucial times. Monaghan were always going to come out hard in the second half and Cavan were always going to be a bit protecting, being 7 points up. This will stand to this team. While we played well there is loads to work on. Kick out strategy went astray at times, free taking from distance was poor and although we had a good conversion percentage we still left simple scores behind. We also tried to force the issue up front when the percentage chance of a score was low. These are times you need to recycle.... All in all it was Mullinalaghta phase 2... and Martin Reilly should have got MOTM....

ponger (National) - 19/05/2019 18:38:22

Kerry Vs Tyrone - 4 Like(s)
i think it was the second water break and o'Shea is on the ground getting his legs massaged. One of the team passes him a little/tiny bottle. Any guess or anyone know what's in that bottle at that would be beneficial at that stage of the game?

ponger (National) - 28/08/2021 19:01:03

Next Kerry Manager? - 4 Like(s)
i think Liam Kearns would be the best.. Not for what he has necessarily done with Tipperary but more his style of play, savagely well organised, fast and direct.. I think this would be a good fit. i'd have him in Cavan in the morning.. As an aside.... Cooper on the comments direct towards Fitzmarice, not being GAA... says the lad that had a testimonial

ponger (National) - 07/08/2018 12:23:59

Kerry V Tyrone. - 4 Like(s)
Argue what you want about previous times and games... A guy was sent on to do a job on a star forward and he done it. Its wrong in every sense of the word and not what GAA is about.. Its S**t like this that ends up in the likes of VAR in sport.. Lately no sub can seem to enter a game without having to try jossle every opposing player he meets... Same when players score, the first thing they wanna do is jeer or shoulder some opposing player in the back.. This is all a result and part of the sledging regime that has crept into our game... Yeah its a mans game, but not a thugs game

ponger (National) - 10/02/2020 18:31:28

Cavan V Donegal - 3 Like(s)
Nearly drunk already...and still shakin after that.. While self belief was massive today we also seemed to have a huge spring in our step. I don't know what they done after 6 weeks on the road , but whatever technique they employed during the week worked...

ponger (Cavan) - 22/11/2020 21:23:57

"I'M Finished With That Now, And Life Is Already Much Better" - 3 Like(s)
Waoh...... jaysus lads how about "Well Done".."thanks for the effort an time".."hope it works out".... But no...good auld pub talk , where you try to find every single negative possible.. "ya were sh** anyhow", "Only for your uncle"."Grown a pair", "rise above it" . And the funniest of all is to call him a whinger. Some would want to look in the mirror. Beginning to think some dont understand what GAA is actually about...

ponger (National) - 18/02/2018 18:33:14

Donegal V Cavan Ulster Semi Final - 3 Like(s)

Replying To Ulsterchamps_32:  "I recorded BBC and watched it when I got back from the match. I have to say it was very good. They were identifying the movement of players in and out and Mikey Harte did mention the space lynch was getting. Donegal were leaving mccole isolated and they did change it in the second half with McHugh dropping very deep. I didn't watch rte back. I knew BBC would be better because it is just better for the Ulster championship. The pundits are there and you pick up things that you just can't on the TV. You have to want to pick things up too mind you. The Sunday game are limited by time for analysis and the good podcasts are filling that gap. I'd much rather listen to them them. Mcconville was very good on the examiner podcast explaining Mickey Graham's coaching. (He seems to over his Armagh crusade, Eamon McGee found his Donegal conspiracy theories very amusing). I would though wish pundits would stop saying Donegal are inconsistent. That's just not true. They are remarkably consistent in getting to Ulster finals in the last 12 years. 10 out of 12 and winning about half. The other two years were semis! Over say the last 5 years they've just not pushed on to the next level."
Completely agree on the BBC coverage. i think they've been brilliant for even admitting to a bit of bias to showing an understanding of structures of the GAA within the different counties. Even the knowledge shown of some of the periphery players and clubs has be good. Martin Clarke knows his stuff

ponger (National) - 11/05/2022 13:12:23

Do Cavan Hold The Record Of The County With The Most All-Stars Relegated To Div 4? - 3 Like(s)

Replying To Tirchonaill1:  "Has to be a record that nobody would want, the other teams in div 4 will enjoy playing the Cavan All Stars next season for sure."
And here comes Tirchonaill1, the wind up merchant... Well, a worse title would be "As a div1 team loosing an ulster final to a Div 3 team who subsequently became a div4 team, when all you had to do was turn up" pffffftt

ponger (National) - 24/06/2021 12:02:22

Ulster Final Donegal V Cavan - 3 Like(s)
I stood beside mckiernan and others after last years ulster final. With tears rolling down his face he still turned to sign my young lads flag as did others. I wish I could have been there today but more importantly those lads were there and by hell did they turn up.. it's a victory for confidence and self belief an a non panic attitude.. my young lad has a smile of his face as will all the young kids in cavan..

ponger (National) - 22/11/2020 18:33:58

Well Done Cork! - 3 Like(s)

Replying To Furlong1949:  "That was so like 1983. kerry will be back, the genius of kerry is when they get beaten they always come back. I do think there is one issue with this kerry team. Kerry have huge talent from 8 to 15, huge talent upfront and one genius in Clifford. But every great kerry team always has an all time great defender. Kerry had a great team in 50s, Sean Murphy was wing back, he was wing back in team of the century and team of millenium. Kerry had great team in 80s and 70s. They had an all time great defender in footballer of the year John O Keefe, one of the greatest full backs ever. They also had Paudi O Se one of the most legendary defenders ever. Also good defenders like Jimmy Denihan, Tommy Doyle, Paudi Lynch and Tom Spillane. In late 90s and 00s another great kerry team had 3 footballer of the year defenders eg Seamus Moyihan, Tomas O Se and Marc O Se. Only two teams in history have more then one defender of the footballer of the year , they are Meath 87 88 with Martin O Connell and Robbie O Malley and kerry in 00s with Seamus Moynihan, ( best defender I ever saw play) Tomas O Se ( one of the greatest wing backs of last 50 years) and Marc O Se( along with Meath Robbie O Malley the only footballer of the year corner back, two best right corner backs of the last 50 years) . look at other quality defenders kerry had in 90s like Liam O Flaherty, Eamon Breen, Barry O Shea, Mike Hassett. At look at quality defenders kerry had in 00s like Mike McCarthy Tom Sullivan Killian Young Aiden O Mahoney and of course Seamus Moyihan and Tomas and Marc O Se. I cannot think of one team in last 60 years that won multiple All Ireland without have an all time great defender. Kerry need a Tom Spillane, Aiden O Mahoney or Mike McCarthy quality defenders but they also need a Sean Murphy , John O Keefe, Seamus Moynihan, Tomas or Marc or Paudi O Se. Kerry have awesome talent upfront. But for me I have always admired the great kerry defenders. I do think this is an area kerry need to improve on. Dublin had the best defenders in the country in last ten years. The reason Mayo were able to go toe to toe with Dublin was they had great defenders. Blanket defences and sweepers have made defenders lazy and destroyed art of defending nationwide. You compare great defenders of 90s and 00s to now. Defender like Tony Scullion Martin O Connell Darren Fay Sean Marty lockard Kieran McGeeney Anthony lynch Seamus Moynihan Tomas O Se Marc O Se Ryan McMenamin Philip Jordan Paul Curran Kieth Barr Glen Ryan Karl lacey and compare to now. I think if kerry could find a young Tom Spillane or young John O Keefe there is multiple All Irelands in this kerry team. They will win Sam but to be a great kerry team you need an all time great defender and other qualty defenders. Kerry will be back, the greatness of kerry the genius of kerry is they always come back. They are 2 or 3 defenders away from being a great team. kerry will be back. But Corks win is good for Munster football and football in general. We need a strong Cork, kerry also need a strong Cork."
Jaysus you went for the full Furlong there

ponger (National) - 08/11/2020 21:49:49

Why Are We Changing Our Game?! - 3 Like(s)
Why??? because any game constantly need to evolved whether by rules or other means. I don't see an issue with them personally and it good to see a shake up. The truth is our game has been changing, not necessarily by rules but by new norms.. here's just a few norms over the past years... - The is no place for a traditional midfielder in our game.. - We now have a new sweeper position on teams. - Player bulk and upper-body strength (hipflexer issues along with that) - Blanket defenses (Can argue that Jimmy changed the rules) - Attackers defend and defenders attack - Lateral and back passing Now you may say they are not rules and that would be right. But players and managers have been changing the norm of the game over the past years. Whats so wrong with a few rule changes...

ponger (National) - 27/11/2018 20:40:10

Diarmuid Connolly - 3 Like(s)
Up there with the best!! I'm trying to coach a group of young lads atm.. I want them to kick ball like................................... Diarmuid Connolly.

ponger (National) - 02/10/2020 11:56:21

Dubs V Mayo - 3 Like(s)

Replying To Joxer:  "Thank God for that. The millstone that has been weighing heavily around our necks of having been "financially doped", population excuses, GPO advantages, home advantages…. is well and truly smashed. Heaven knows what our correspondent in Brazil and other begrudgers will talk about now. A shocking performance from the champs from the second half on but Mayo were brilliant and thoroughly deserved their win. So much hunger from them and so much tiredness and lack of creativity in in Dublin. Happy for Yew Tree and any other genuine Mayo supporters on here. Well done lads. We've had our fill of accolades. It's a good result for the game in general. For Mayo, the task remains uphill. This Kerry team are decent assuming Tyrone are dismissed, and I hope they aren't. Should be a cracking final."
Joxer, it doesn't change a thing in that regard. When you have 1-2 GPO per club and the rest of the country hasn't doesn't take long to figure it out. Anyhow, the bit i liked about today was that football won and its not that someone finally beat the dubs. It means that Mayo have to go for it . f**k system, defense and all that football won, Take the point the the Coen sub kick from under the stand on the far side in the middle of the second half. If he had asked the manager, he'd have be told to recycle etc. Instead he went for it and over it went. GAA is about giving players a base to allow them the best that they can be. Mayo were that and they went for the jugular. At the same time my thoughts are that if they don't go on an win it... It will probably mean f**k all...

ponger (National) - 15/08/2021 00:45:46

The pinnacle of cute Kerry h***r*sm - 2 Like(s)
It might have been more helpful to wheel Micko out to sell a few more washing machines... btw great tele Anyhow its amazing about the attitude of catchup with the Dubs, what about the areas of the country with no dedicated School coaches, clubs that are in trouble etc.. nah go for centres of excellence, 7m a pop It should be about enabling the lower tier to catch up, not push the upper tier further and further ahead. To be honest i think we really need to go back to Hayes' Hotel in Thurles and look at our roots because we are loosing the run of ourselves

ponger (National) - 17/01/2018 21:46:55

Dublin Senior Football Team - 2 Like(s)
I would agree that there are probably clubs and other counties at it (training). This is the part of the GAA that i don't particularly like which the brazenness and arrogance in the face or rules that have been laid down. But maybe i shouldn't be surprised as it seems to be inherent tin the GAA. Who do we think we are? and don't say elite sport men and women

ponger (National) - 08/04/2021 12:18:12