Popular Posts from doratheexplorer

Return of attacking football - 6 Like(s)

Replying To tirawleybaron:  "I know it's early in the year but is it just me or are we beginning to see a return to attacking football particularly in the lower divisions of the league? Div 1 still has plenty of defensive teams ( Tyrone, Monaghan, Cavan) but the leading teams in the other divisions are certainly giving football a chance (Kildare and Clare ,tipp, Armagh and Sligo, Waterford and Westmeath). Even Donegal are playing a lot more football this year. Who knows, we might get back to the football of the late 90s and 2000's if we are lucky"
Cavan were a defensive team two, three years ago. They were one of the to scorers in last years league. The games Sunday wasn't about defensive football but rather awful shooting. Cavan had nearly 30 scoring chances but only converted 7. Creating 30 scoring chances is not defensive football. Cavan played Dublin and mirrored Dublin's set up yet everyone lauds Dublin as an attacking team despite the fact they had two sweepers.

doratheexplorer (National) - 14/02/2017 08:32:42

Meath v Cavan - 6 Like(s)

Replying To IamADragon:  "A lot of poor Meath fans very upset today, but lads honestly I don't think ye have anything to worry about, I'm almost certain ye won't be relegated ;)"
I hope you're not a fully grown adult going on to another county forum to be childish. I thought Meath by three or four because Cavan have their best players only back about a month training. A lot of talk about Meath adapting a running game. From observation today are your players not too big and physical and in some cases overweight for such a policy? Why not use the pace getting working off the kick pass and use that physicality?

doratheexplorer (Meath) - 18/02/2018 21:55:36

Dublin refusing to do one-on-one broadcast interviews - 5 Like(s)

Replying To Tirchonaill1:  "I think Jim Gavin was 100% correct, if Spillane and co hadn't made such a big thing of it there would have been no more said about it, the linesman didn't seem too worried, no word about the 3 men manhandling Connolly before he interacted with the linesman you'll find, I think this will just fuel Dublin's fire and the 3 in a row could be achieved with style and some more huge winning margins."
3 men manhandled him. So what. That's always going to happen. Brolly saying linesman should have protected him. Should Brannigan have went in and hit the Carlow players????

doratheexplorer (National) - 25/06/2017 21:53:57

Who said that the Dubs don't travel! - 4 Like(s)

Replying To fifty:  "The Dubs travelled in numbers yesterday, and added a carnival atmosphere with their music, wit and good football! It was a great occasion for football, pity that the ref didn't change his jersey!"
He actually changed it at half time. Dublin may have got couple frees handier but had no bearing on result. Far superior team. Great fans. Pleasure to be at game.

doratheexplorer (National) - 06/02/2017 21:27:44

Division 4 - National League - 4 Like(s)

Replying To Gaa_lover:  "Well done Leitrim great start and sign of things to come and to think so thought the new manager would bring dour low scoring football to Leitrim."
Terry when first over Cavan introduced a defensive game plan as we were leaking goals. Gradually evolved to being one of top scorers in country. I'd take him back tomorrow.

doratheexplorer (Leitrim) - 27/01/2019 21:42:47

National League - 4 Like(s)

Replying To Awwwwnow:  "He's been around in one form or another with the seniors for well over 10 years. He needs to give it a good rest now. He had his chance. Got us to Div 1. Never beat Tyrone at Senior level. Nor Monaghan. Got us to Div 1 but that took 5 years. He needs a good long rest away from Cavan football. Leitrim.. Carlow... Kilkenny .. London be very glad of his services because the only way they can go is up!!"
We beat Monaghan in the league but why worry about facts when you have an agenda.

doratheexplorer (Cavan) - 11/01/2017 08:06:09

Thank God for Ulster - 3 Like(s)
Longford bet Monagahan after a seven day turnaround. Not many teams beat that after Monaghan had two high intense games against Donegal. The two Ulster semis have being the two beat games of the year and Down are not a powerhouse in Ulster at moment. Cavan Tyrone had conditions as bad as today so that's no excuse. Roscommon wouldn't even shoot at end with a chance to win. Pathetic.

doratheexplorer (National) - 10/07/2016 15:50:00

Dublin refusing to do one-on-one broadcast interviews - 3 Like(s)

Replying To theborderfox:  "Absolutely fair play to Dublin. RTE are a joke. Just look at the nasty abuse Dunphy has given Ireland soccer managers this past 30 plus years. Connolly didn't push the linesman. It was so harmless. Paul Kerrigan for one should have been retrospectively suspended too. Jim Gavin is a class manager. He standing up for his man in public. Form like that is one reason why Dublin are so fit and hungry. RTE even were very begrudging towards Connolly when he appealed. And remember it was his right to appeal and he shouldn't have been sneered at for doing so. Fair play to Dublin and Tyrone if they blank RTE. They are fake news people in lots of areas to quote the Donald. And BTW, I would never be a dubs fan, I just think the pc brigade have it in for Connolly."
He did push him. He put his hands on him and moved him backwards. The very definition of a push. Kerrigan put his hand on referee but was just laying it on him. Did not interfere as rule states. It's all about context. Connolly was aggressive and then wagged his finger in his face. Context.

doratheexplorer (National) - 25/06/2017 22:07:06

Methods To Improve The Cavan Team - 3 Like(s)

Replying To IamADragon:  "Meath players show more pride. I don't see too many cavan players that would run through a wall for cavan. We have a lot of players who love to look the part. A big problem for Cavan is the goal for a lot of our men is to get on the county team, not what they do when they're in there. In other counties getting on a county panel is only the start."
Hyperbole. This Forum is descending into a farce.

doratheexplorer (Cavan) - 24/03/2019 19:03:16

Thank God for Ulster - 3 Like(s)
At least one province has delivered proper football, intensity and a provencial football championship. This Roscommon Galway game is as bad as I ever saw.

doratheexplorer (National) - 10/07/2016 15:31:50

Mattie Must Go! - 2 Like(s)

Replying To Awwwwnow:  "At least Mattie is not waiting to the 68 minute to put some subs on. And also he doesn't seem to have any favourites unlike some previous manager ... who never beat Tyrone at Senior level in any competition."
No but takes of players early even if playing well and leaves the defence wide open.

doratheexplorer (Cavan) - 19/01/2017 20:17:46

The Qualifiers - 2 Like(s)

Replying To Inaroundehouse:  "He didn't do much when he had all those players did he? Plus many more."
I remember winning an All Ireland junior title, being in All ireland u21 final and All Ireland QF. I'd take that now where in place we have hammerings at u20 level, can't field a team at junior level and our senior team is tactically inept.

doratheexplorer (Cavan) - 12/06/2018 20:29:57

National League - 2 Like(s)

Replying To Awwwwnow:  "He didn't beat any of them when it really mattered.. don't need a program .. just a memory."
Regardless you were still factually incorrect. You said he got nothing from Monaghan. He got a league win. Mattie got a draw and you praising him. Your agenda is turning you into hypocrite.

doratheexplorer (Cavan) - 12/02/2017 17:17:53

Cavan v Armagh - 2 Like(s)

Replying To ramor101:  "keep spreading the misery there lad, some people are never satisfied"
Some people just want to watch the world burn.

doratheexplorer (Cavan) - 30/05/2016 21:23:07

Qualifiers - 2 Like(s)
Is it not time to quit debating about Terry.

doratheexplorer (Cavan) - 20/07/2017 17:33:02

2019 NFL Division 2 final - 2 Like(s)

Replying To TheUsername:  "Bit of a hard analysis after that games lads. Today is only a token game, that's all league finals are really. The objective was to be in Div 1 and that was achieved. I enjoyed the game to be honest. Meath were great the first half, hungry and brought real intensity. Looked a good outfit, but very few teams can keep that intensity up in Croker for 70 mins. Maybe that is inexperience and learning curve Meath need to be on. I can't remember the last time they played in Croker in a showpiece, so I'm sure it's a new expierence for them. The expierence will benefit them, seems like lessons in managing their fitness for the whole game and game management need to be learned. It never seems to amaze me how many teams go to Croke Park and empty the tank in the first 35 mins, then struggle when they go reaching in the later stages. More expierenced teams then Meath have fallen for that one. I thought Meath put in a very component, credible performence and very worthy of admiration and respect. Looked like their is much pride in the team, togetherness and cohesion in the team, with head room to develop. That's a mighty score to put up in Croker against a quarter final team. Donegal are no mugs and really shouldn't be in Div 2, they are Ulster Champions. That expierence in self and big game management was there to see. Elsewise you can't legislate for a marquee player like Michael Murphy, he's probably the most complete well rounded skillful player in the country, he can do anything and boss everyone not just Meath. Meath will have to learn and learn quick because the margins of success and failure in Div 1 are very fine and unforgiving. But no better place to be. During today's game I was disappointed with the mark again, Murphy just made hay really and it takes away from the spectacle and excitement for me. I think Meath might have snuck it without the rule. While the call for the disallowed goal was borderline. So luck was out as well. But loads to be positive about, topping Div 1, promotion, represented Leinster well today and flying the flag generally with now two Leinster teams in Div 1. On the nice side of the draw for the championship were you could well meet our good selves in the Leinster final where I hope we smash yee of course, with a more then good chance of making the semi final. I hope we win Leinster this year as Group 1 is looking a group of death, conceivably based on form it could be Kerry, Tyrone, Galway/Mayo, Meath, I know that's all hypothetical of course. Congratulations to Donegal what s pleasure it is watching Michael Murphy, EBG and a few of your other lads play."
Disallowed goal boarderline call? It was an obvious square ball. Waiting in square before pass.

doratheexplorer (National) - 31/03/2019 11:10:40

Cavan Club Championship 2019 - 2 Like(s)

Replying To GallantJohnJoe:  "Cavan, Fermanagh, Leitrim, Waterford, Kilkenny, Wexford, Louth - the seven counties whose club scene has not produced a senior provincial championship winning side in Gaelic football. Says it all about the standards in the county."
List of counties that have: Antrim, Carlow, Limerick, Clare, Sligo, Westmeath, Offaly and Laois. It's almost like there's no correlation.

doratheexplorer (Cavan) - 08/11/2019 11:04:01

Galway V Sligo - 2 Like(s)

Replying To festinog:  "The Laois lad who does the GAA podcast made an interesting observation after he went and watched the game against Mayo in person. Up to that point he'd been on the "Galway are 100% defensive" bandwagon, but after the game confessed that what he'd seen bore no resemblance to that accusation, The fact that so many here are surprised that a top of Division 1 team playing at home, handily beat a bottom of Division 3 team would suggest that perhaps they should stop regurgitating trite and inaccurate "analysis" and use their own common sense. A team that was only beaten once in the league, and then by Dublin, is worthy of a little more respect than that. The game against Roscommon, who hopefully will have home advantage, is a truly 50/50 game with Galway hopefully shading it by 3-4 points."
Agree entirely. In the league final Dublin brought everyone back but Galway always had at least one or two forward and Dublin are called the attacking team. Galway are very athletic and powerful with some fine footballers and are a joy to watch.

doratheexplorer (National) - 03/06/2018 19:17:15

Dublin line ball - 2 Like(s)

Replying To ruanua:  "Any thoughts on Connolly wrestling the ball from Kilkenny - with some composure Dublin could have worked a score or killed the clock Instead Connolly tries a Hail Mary on a wet heavy day and gives Mayo possession Kilkenny clearly knew it was wrong thing to do but got bullied out of it He wanted his Maurice fitz moment and may have cost Dublin the game"
Kilkenny couldn't take it. Sure you can't fist pass a sideline

doratheexplorer (National) - 19/09/2016 09:16:43

Cavan v Dublin - 2 Like(s)

Replying To Fionn:  "Well said. Excellent atmosphere and the Cavan fans were top notch. Best of luck to them for the rest of the year."
It was announced over PA system and fans applauded Dublin.

doratheexplorer (National) - 05/02/2017 21:13:01