Carlow Forum

Popular Posts from fergie

Club Championchips - 3 Like(s)

Replying To Horsebox77:  "Learn something new, it always confuses me when districts overlap. For example Bsllymac play in Tralee town league but are St. Kieran' s as do say Castleisland and Brosna, but they both play in the North Kerry Championship. Pats I think play West Kerry and Brendans League but only Brendans C'ship. I'd love if the county board actually divided the county fairly as some divisions say Kenmare District compared to say East or South Kerry are seriously imbalanced"
Don't think Pat's play in West Kerry. Ye I was trying to explain it to someone recently & they couldn't understand how a St Kierans team progress could hold up both the NK & EK championship.

fergie (Kerry) - 02/11/2019 19:43:58

Carlow Ifc - 2 Like(s)
There is extra time to be played. If level after that I don't know. I know it's a hard job looking after the fixtures but there was weekends in August & September where there were "rest" weekends with no senior game on. Nobody wants rest weekends in August. Just play the games off!!

fergie (Carlow) - 10/10/2019 14:43:36

Club Championchips - 2 Like(s)

Replying To Horsebox77:  "Brendans aren't bad and have a good collective and work rate, lacking a bit of killer in the inside forward line, Parker and Callaghan are tidy as is Barrett. Where is the hurler that plays with St, Pats his name alludes me anyway, I agree I expect Brendans to take Legion. A lot will depend on how the average players account themselves, I often notice that the marquee players often nullify themselves and it's the average Joe that makes the difference when he steps up. I haven't seen Dingle this year much but still I think this game will be hard to call, the club side may be more knitted and clinical in every aspect of the game and may just prevail but not by much, put it this way I'd hate to live off the difference. Either way I want a team to challenge Crokes, I don't think they are as good as previous years and think the winners of the west and east will be the main threat to the killarney side. I've never really thought of a county final on a Saturday night, it's not something I'd normally consider but if it was a good spectacle like the Dublin and the Mayo fixtures earlier in the year then why not, it may be a novelty worth exploring."
Is it Jordan Conway you're thinking of?

fergie (Kerry) - 16/10/2019 09:44:12

Senior football fixtures - 2 Like(s)
Fair play MLR, in the last 10 years they've won two SFL Division 1 titles & have beaten every senior team in Championship, tonight was some win for them though. Not bad considering Hurling will always be number 1.

fergie (Carlow) - 17/09/2016 22:28:49

Off Season Discussions Thread - 2 Like(s)

Replying To traleegerry:  "Lads am I correct in saying the county semis will be on the weekend of 2/3 Nov and the final still on the weekend of the 10 Nov"
Final definitely 10th. According to paper this week semi finals on weekend of 26/27

fergie (Kerry) - 11/10/2019 20:57:36

Footballers 2018 Season - 2 Like(s)
I think on the Carlow forum here we are actually good enough compared to some counties for posting. Suppose we have to share our years of heartbreak somewhere!!

fergie (Carlow) - 16/03/2018 17:23:23

County Hurling Team 2020 - 2 Like(s)
The last 13/14 years have given me some of the greatest days of my life following Carlow hurlers. The last 4 years under Bonnar have been great, anyone saying anything else then I duno. Two league finals, winning one. Two trophies lifted in Croke Park, days never to be forgotten. Playing division 1 hurling for two years ,& drawing with Galway while there. Running them to 6 points in Salthill was a brilliant performance. Realistically where we've been last few years Is as high as we can go probably but no matter who is in charge for next year I can't wait to start the journey again to getting out of division 2 again & the Joe Mc. Thanks for your time Colm & best of luck to the next man in.

fergie (Carlow) - 29/11/2020 11:52:16

Club Championchips - 2 Like(s)

Replying To 37sowhat:  "Currow who play in East Kerry were due to play Firies also East Kerry Firies have tow of their key players on EST Kerry first 15 and 3 more on the panel maybe therein lies the reason"
Ye I knew the reason. I was trying to explain the whole district thing to another person

fergie (Kerry) - 03/11/2019 09:14:35

Off Season Discussions Thread - 1 Like(s)

Replying To traleegerry:  "Lads what date are the quarter finals and semi finals on. I know the county final is down for Nov 10th"
Quarter finals for weekend of 20th. I think semis are on first week in November with final following week. I'm nearly sure that's the way

fergie (Kerry) - 09/10/2019 11:55:52

Footballers 2019 Season - 1 Like(s)

Replying To Carlow12345:  "Agreed.. same lads same problems. No threat up front ever. Plenty of scorers on the bench and a defender brought on. Lads there since start of the year and a lad brought in few weeks ago gets on ahead of them. They will struggle next year to fill a team. Fair play to the usual lads on the pitch that gave their all."
Obviously the management can never win. You're saying that a lad only brought in recently got game time ahead of others while another poster says that he should have been brought in to the game earlier, otherwise what was the point of bringing him in to the panel. To be fair I do see both sides when it comes to something like that.

fergie (Carlow) - 10/06/2019 10:51:18

2019 Club Championship. - 1 Like(s)
Will Simonstown win tomorrow night?

fergie (Meath) - 17/04/2019 22:33:12

Buses for Sunday - 1 Like(s)
Got sorted!

fergie (Kerry) - 14/09/2016 22:38:47

Club Championchips - 1 Like(s)

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Have you a problem with Peter Keane 37? I can remember the 2015 final where fitz dropped our captain and spiritual leader star Donaghy only to bring him on to try and save our bacon which he nearly did, then big Tommy warming up for 10 minutes Tommy was exactly what we needed at the time as Star was causing the dubs big trouble but NO fitz sends on Galvin , a guy who hadn't played for his club for over a year, fitz did that against the prodestations of Diarmuid Murphy. Also its strange your teacher "friend" didn't tell you why tony was dropped from the panel as everyone knows ;-)"
Ye Tommy should have been brought on that day. The general feeling I got before that game though was that Galvin was always gonna be brought on. Considering he came out of retirement & it was his last ever game while Tommy had few years left. Always hard when you're managing family or relations to not let emotion get in the way.

fergie (Kerry) - 23/09/2019 14:33:17

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Have you a problem with Peter Keane 37? I can remember the 2015 final where fitz dropped our captain and spiritual leader star Donaghy only to bring him on to try and save our bacon which he nearly did, then big Tommy warming up for 10 minutes Tommy was exactly what we needed at the time as Star was causing the dubs big trouble but NO fitz sends on Galvin , a guy who hadn't played for his club for over a year, fitz did that against the prodestations of Diarmuid Murphy. Also its strange your teacher "friend" didn't tell you why tony was dropped from the panel as everyone knows ;-)"
Also, was Tony Brosnan in with Kerry at all? He's only young too isn't he.

fergie (Kerry) - 23/09/2019 14:34:20

Replying To GreenAndGold74:  "First Sunday in November i think."
November 10th.

fergie (Kerry) - 26/09/2019 10:25:40

Cavan v Carlow - 1 Like(s)
Coming up for the game this Sat lads & just wondering where can i park up around Breffni? Will be my first visit to Cavan Town. Thanks in advance.

fergie (Cavan) - 04/07/2016 17:48:34

Why Not Allow Divisional Teams Represent Their County? - 1 Like(s)

Replying To Aibrean:  "You are not quite right about Kerry: Austin Stacks will represent Kerry in the Munster Club Championship as they won the Senior Club Football Championship beating Crokes in April."
Stacks will only play in Munster if Crokes don't win county champ. The point of the club champ is to find a representative IF a divisional team wins county champ

fergie (National) - 22/10/2019 14:44:08

County Senior Football Team - 1 Like(s)
According to Paddy power we are favourites to beat Westmeath Sunday & also to beat Sligo in our opening NFL game. Mighty times indeed!!

fergie (Carlow) - 07/12/2018 14:13:33

Footballers 2017 - 1 Like(s)
I got a stand ticket in DCP yesterday evening, worth checking out.

fergie (Carlow) - 23/05/2017 12:27:50

GAA Books. - 1 Like(s)

Replying To woops:  "Fergie beware what you wish for. Just because they are a grat sports star doesnt mean their book will be good. Loads of examples from the 00's Kerry team, their books are awful and a good few soccer players have been dirt poor too. Good ones I have been pleasantly surprised about was Dan Shanahan and Jamie Carragher, alongside the greats of Paul Mcgrath and Tony Adams. I think a good GAA book the player needs to go in depth about their personal lives rather than bore us about having issues not starting a game. The Dublin sub keeper and Phily Mcmahon's are books on my to read list."
Ye Dub Sub confidential by John Leonard was a fantastic read. Think it won book of the year.

fergie (National) - 12/09/2019 15:11:51