Antrim Forum

Popular Posts from Glensboy

Antrim; Bottle Merchants Supreme. - 4 Like(s)

Replying To Ulsterman:  "There are fellas in both football and hurling squads who think that JUST being selected for the county teams means 'they have made it' and that 'they are the bees knees'. They then swan about the county with undeserved arrogance and the 'don't you know who I am' mindset. I could name them now but obviously won't. They are charlatans and frauds and should **** away off for all the good they do. I know the Antrim club and county scene well and it's been like this for years. At inter county level we are a total disgrace."
Utter nonsense, as usual. I sometimes think that you just post this drivel for a bit of attention. You choose to single out the players all of the time. No set up is perfect. no individual is perfect. Do you get that? Do you honestly believe that the players who sacrifice a personal life to represent our county playing our National games do so for some sort of pseudo celebrity status. Wise up. Do yo honestly believe that they go out to intentionally lose matches? I know lots of the lads involved in both codes and they are the most committed, genuine bunch you could meet. They do the hard yards over the winter, week in and week out to hit the standards required. Yes we don't have the most talented players in either code playing for the County. I know there are some lads who cannot give the commitment required at County level these days and others who prefer to concentrate on their clubs. We should all be doing what we can to get the best infrastructure in place across the county to ensure our clubs can flourish, and that our county teams are the best they can be. Our hurlers were as competitive this year, so far, as they have been in recent times. The footballers are still involved and are work in progress. All of us who care should be doing what we can to improve things. Continually criticising players is not the way to go.

Glensboy (National) - 19/03/2018 10:36:03

GAA on TV - 4 Like(s)

Replying To DUALSUPPORT:  "My apologies you'll have to forgive the predictive text on my phones keyboard my sentence should have read "I'll use the term in debate and conversation when its applicable""
Terms like Snowflake and Woke are intended to be offensive and are used randomly in an attempt belittle people. Their use, and the issues you use to describe a snowflake, ultimately show a distinct lack of self awareness. No debate necessary.

Glensboy (National) - 06/10/2020 22:15:14

The Laois Rising. - 4 Like(s)

Replying To Ulsterman:  "Very well done to Laois. This is what you get when you put the hard work in, have no fear and believe. The Antrim players should look at this and hang their heads in shame."
You just can't resist having a dig at your own county men. Clueless and classless.

Glensboy (National) - 07/07/2019 21:40:18

Meath vs Antrim - 3 Like(s)
Some real nonsense being posted here, not worth responding to. Replay was the only sensible decision. Let's get it on and may the best team win.

Glensboy (National) - 07/06/2016 16:28:18

Ulster Team Allege Sectarian Abuse. - 3 Like(s)

Replying To PeggyShippen:  "Yeah a few thoughts spring straight into my mind. One the 'abuse' if it happened is not sectarian. Both teams were more than likely predominantly catholic and Irish and one of the 2 teams could reasonably be called both Irish and British if we go by facts. Who says there aren't kids on the team who consider themselves British.. 3 its always striking how thin skinned our Northern Brethern are. Why are Northern Irish teams so thin skinned.Is it pure insecurity ? I thought we were beyond this , apparantly not. Being continuously a victim is in no way empowering."
If this did happen your response is disappointing, naive and ignorant.

Glensboy (National) - 14/06/2018 21:42:53

Leinster Football The Reality - 3 Like(s)
"Dublin received almost €18m in game development grants between 2007 and 2018, significantly more than Cork in second place with €1.4m. Last year Dublin received 22% of the Games Development Fund and in commercial revenue, earned €1.46m in 2017, more than twice that of their closest rival in the financial stakes." Followed by:- "Review of funding not on the GAA agenda - Horan" Sorry John. Unless the GAA looks closely at the funding of Games development across the Association, we could be looking at the end of games, particularly hurling, in weaker Counties. And once that sets in, it will be hard to stop.. Compare the investment in Dublin to that of our next biggest City, Belfast, and its like night and day. Sorry, the figures don't lie.

Glensboy (National) - 24/06/2019 11:41:51

Antrim hurling RIP - 2 Like(s)
Can't let you away with this Ulsterman and OSO. I pay tribute to all of the Antrim panel, managers, selectors and tireless volunteers who give of their time to further our national games and be competitive on an All Ireland stage. Undoubtedly we have issues, as do all counties, and some that are particular to this part of the country. But that is a discussion for another post. What I totally refute is some of the language that is used here to describe our players and officials. It is unworthy of the people who use it. The management team will have mixed views about the success of the season. Promotion gained in an excellent league campaign will be balanced against the failure to secure the Christy Ring. The gamble to select 2 players barely returned from injury failed, but I understand why they took the chance. Anyway, dust down, back to clubs and look forward to a competitive league and championship. I already posted my congratulations to a magnificent Carlow team on their forum and genuinely hope they put it up Laois in their next game.

Glensboy (National) - 11/06/2017 11:21:25

Kildare V Mayo - 2 Like(s)
Finished earlier this year than normal. Tipp would have bate youse last day but for a flukey goal. Perennial underachievers and probably the County most of Ireland root for each year. Nothing to do with injuries. Can't put me finger on it but the lapses over the decades are telling a story. And saying 'great Dublin, Kerry, Meath teams ba'te us just doesn't cut it. Something has to change or expect more of the same. Great football but...........................

Glensboy (National) - 01/07/2018 11:32:31

Rte Missing A Trick ? - 2 Like(s)
Dublin's dominance appears to be affecting many neutrals, who realistically will never see their county in an All Ireland final. No criticism of Dublin, fair play to them but not sure this is the base the GAA was built on and close analysis may show that if the present trend continues, the current model may not be sustainable. If RTE covered enough games, both hurling and football, it should not be beyond the wit of a producer to show more of the best, most exciting games. This of course puts lots of sponsors noses out of joint and there is a lot snobbery attached to both codes where focus has to be given to the top teams, regardless of the one sided games, as was displayed in the hurling yesterday. Back in the day if when Antrim were beaten by those type of scores there was almost a queue of people pushing for Antrim to be downgraded. The Antrim/Offaly hurling match on Saturday was as good a game as I have witnessed in a long long time. All credit to GAANOW for their excellent coverage and commentary. Yes, RTE are missing a trick.

Glensboy (National) - 03/06/2019 10:24:58

Gaanow - 2 Like(s)
All credit to GAANOW. Fantastic coverage, perfect picture, knowledgeable analysis and great commentary. I will be watching next week.

Glensboy (National) - 03/06/2019 11:18:41

Slaughtneil on the march again - 2 Like(s)

Replying To theweanling:  "I respect your opinion and I understand that there are problems in Antrim but slaughneil never got any help in Derry in developing their teams and talents in either code. What they had was a work ethic and desire likes of which are really special. Antrim clubs (and a lot of counties the same including my own) need to take the bull by the horns and make things happen like slaughneil did. The county boards might not be perfect but they're not solely responsible for success at club level"
Ulsterman-As per usual, completely exaggerating the 'state' of club hurling in Antrim. Why can you not just congratulate a very talented and determined Slaughtneil team on their success, for the second year in a row. Be gracious, Just check the records again, and think before your post.

Glensboy (National) - 23/10/2017 16:06:59

The GAA And "Northern Ireland" - 2 Like(s)
This country is 20 years at least past Civil War politics-even at the moment their in power together and you could argue Varadakar is more Republican in his statements than Martin ever is. As for the animosity of certain poster's here to Northern Nationalist it's easy to see this people sitting in their comfy house's looking up at the 'animal's' inthe North killing each other and tut tutting about how terrible they all are up there. I don't think people in the South are in any position to criticise the behaviour of people unless they have lived through these situations and environments-who knows how we would react if we were put in similar situations. As for a Border poll the correct ground work hasn't been done from the South yet to convince Unionists but hopefully over the next 10 years it will be done because a Border poll at the moment is too hasty and would feel slightly forced. I believe if it was rejected in the future we should have a poll every 25 years thereafter to see if it changes or if support for the Union grows. Correct. I would add that before anyone criticises people in the North. They should fully immerse themselves in what actually happened there from partition through to what is recognised as 'the troubles'. It is also mildly difficult to fully understand 'the conflict' from 1968 through to the present day because many of the lead protagonists are not interested in the truth being known. The full truth would render any notion of the British State being an honest broker as the lie that many know it to be. The truth will also not set many unionist people free. Their faith in the UK state will be shaken to its core. Many republicans will also shake their heads and say 'what was all that for'. When the good Friday agreement was signed, victims and survivors were not central to the agreement. Their was no 'Truth' clause in the agreement. This was intentional and to its detriment. Until the full truth is written and understood. There will be no proper reconciliation. We will lurch from crisis to crisis and never be able to move forward in a spirit of respect and understanding. There was no glory in killing. It was wrong. All of it!

Glensboy (National) - 29/05/2021 16:11:10

Meath V Antrim "The Replay" - 2 Like(s)
Congratulations to Meath, a deserved win. Shame it wasn't on the TV. One of the games of the year.

Glensboy (National) - 25/06/2016 20:38:40

Wexford Intercounty Hurling 2023 - 2 Like(s)

Replying To festinog:  "Some shocking wides there from Wexford when the game was in the cauldron. But as a neutral can I ask who the hell were the commentators on GAAGO? That Dublin lad's bias was absolutely shocking and even as a neutral he almost had me cheering for Wexford. A 50/50 decision went Wexford's way and he was deriding the ref, and minutes later when even by his own admission a Dublin player went to ground with barely a touch and he was hailing the resulting free as 'great game management'. It was tiresome."
I listened to one of your commentator on South East Radio last weekend, because the game wasn't televised and thats another discussion, and quite frankly, he was embarrassing. We had a number of clear goal chances we did not take. Only for them Wexford were bate. No recognition what so ever from your commentator for the Antrim skill, fitness and determination. Dublin got away with a win against us by the skin of their teeth the week before. Without Chin youse are struggling and if you didn't see this coming well.....

Glensboy (National) - 06/05/2023 20:28:26

Congrats Tipp!! - 2 Like(s)
Best game of football I watched this year. Well done Tipp. Unlucky Derry

Glensboy (National) - 23/07/2016 19:28:07

Antrim Hurlers 2020 - 2 Like(s)

Replying To M Lyster:  "Bit late in the year to be starting this thread but the hurlers have been in excellent form this year. Unbeaten in the league including a thumping win over recent nemesis Meath, beating Kerry in Munster and again last week in the final. Now we've hammered another good side in Westmeath who have beaten us regularly in the last few years. With Div 1 hurling secured next year we now have the chance to get ourselves back into the Liam McCarthy by winning the McDonagh cup. Come on Aontroim"
What's not to like. A deep, united county panel buying into the management strategy and style. They toughed it out against Kerry and showed an exciting brand of hurling against Westmeath yesterday that had me very excited for the next year or two. I probably wasn't the only one who was apprehensive before yesterday's game but credit to every single member of the panel and backroom staff. They showed any amount of skill, determination and kept to their game plan. There will be bumps in the road but wow after yesterday! Lets get Casement built!

Glensboy (Antrim) - 26/10/2020 13:54:35

All Ireland Club Hurling Championship - 2 Like(s)

Replying To Brian_Coyote:  "Cushendall are a long way short of what they were when they got to the All Ireland Final. Although I want to see the Cushendall Ruairi Orgs win I do believe whoever comes out of Galway will walk into the final by 10-15 points. Antrim and Ulster hurling has gone backwards this past ten years."
Nonsense

Glensboy (National) - 16/11/2018 20:36:52

Joe Mcdonagh Cup 2022 - 2 Like(s)

Replying To legendzxix:  "How is a player falling over himself a reason to award the free to win a championship?? The Kerry goalkeeper should not start our next match. Goals conceded yesterday were a repeat of what happened in Tralee in the cracking game against Offaly. The number of puck outs then to go out over the sideline, terrible."
Not much between teams at this level but Antrim have earned their spurs. I see what you're saying about the free. I raise you your penalty that wasn't! See where this goes? We have had many disappointing days and understand how you feel and best I say nothing about the commentary yesterday. We are used to it. We will be gracious winners and learn every day we are out. Good luck for the rest of the season and next.

Glensboy (National) - 05/06/2022 16:39:49

Media Mayo Mourning - 2 Like(s)
I will say what many posters are feeling. Very sorry for Mayo that they have not been able to get across the line for many many years and their resilience in coming back, year after year is admirable. Some fantastic players and teams that given their supporters, and many others, great enjoyment. No one would begrudge them a title. However, Dublin should be getting all the plaudits here. 3 in a row is a monumental achievement. It is clearly no coincidence that Mayo have not been able to win an All Ireland. So close so many times but always falling short. Sport at the top level is about winners and losers and the truth is, in sporting terms, they are the losers. This is in no way is critical of their place at the very top of the GAA rankings or their love and passion for the game. Its just a fact.

Glensboy (National) - 19/09/2017 10:43:37

All Ireland Club Hurling Series - 2 Like(s)

Replying To ChasingShadows:  "You're right. When they are struggling to beat Antrim opposition they needn't fretting about the Munster contingent."
Put all of your knowledge of hurling on the back of a postage stamp and post it some where.

Glensboy (National) - 05/11/2023 18:53:10