Antrim Forum

Popular Posts from Offside_Rule

Dublin Results 2019 - 13 Like(s)
Probably Man City present is a more accurate comparison.

Offside_Rule (National) - 10/08/2019 19:58:30

Just in case you doubted the Anti Dublin felings.. - 9 Like(s)
You know what I didnt hear tho? Not once, not even a mention of it? The first team to win back to back All Ireland football titles in more or less 20 years! Not so much as a nod in the general direction. Nothing, nada. And no better person to highlight this injustice on Hoganstand. You should probably start a few threads on it just to be sure that we don't forget about it.

Offside_Rule (National) - 05/01/2017 13:09:17

Kennelly Salutes Egoless Dubs - 8 Like(s)
So I am a bit confused. Are Dublin the only team that approach things this way? Are other Counties full of egotistical selfish individuals which is the reason why they are all so far behind Dublin? Or why are Dublin being singled out? Is he saying this is why they are dominant. Anyone??? If this is what Kennelly is equating then I hope Antrim GAA are taking notes like I am of how to be successful going forward: 1 - Employ better volunteers 2 - Get rid of all the egotists 3 - Get rid of all the selfish players After that the game will be ours! 5 in a row, here we go...... Or is it a clever ploy by the AFL to blow smoke up the Dublin squads holes before they make the phone call and wave the air tickets and nice salary in front of their noses.

Offside_Rule (National) - 18/10/2019 14:01:50

Bringing Children To Games - 8 Like(s)
Instead of everyone thinking that the world should bow to accommodate their every need and when it doesn't going on to Social Media they should maybe have a good long hard look at themselves and the kind of choices they are making. Maybe if these people stopped focusing solely on themselves and their needs they would realise that there are more important things in life than for example the rights and wrongs of not being able to take you few month old child to a game for free. Seriously, what is wrong with people????

Offside_Rule (National) - 14/08/2018 12:32:51

Graham Geraghty Medals Stolen - 7 Like(s)

Replying To Jackeen:  "Anybody who refers to the term "financial doping" as a credible point of debate, cannot be debated with."
Oh look, there's a squirrel over there......

Offside_Rule (National) - 19/11/2019 10:41:49

Suppose at least he got the chance to win those medals and there is a chance he will hopefully get them back. However, plenty in Leinster have been robbed of the chance of a medal this last couple of decades by the GAA and their money driven agenda.... :-)

Offside_Rule (National) - 18/11/2019 10:22:21

Replying To DUBJOHN:  "Pathetic post!"
Tis true though.

Offside_Rule (National) - 18/11/2019 15:24:43

Ulster Championship Draw - 6 Like(s)
Should be an easy path for ourselves to the Final - happy days......

Offside_Rule (National) - 09/10/2019 12:08:17

Graham Geraghty Medals Stolen - 6 Like(s)

Replying To Jackeen:  "As the kids say, weak AF!"
Last 20 years Leinster Championships (2000 to 2019) 2000-2005: 5 different Leinster winners 2006-20019: 2 different Leinster winners, with all but one of those one by one of the teams GAA Financial Doping starts around the early 00's. Ergo, can be argued that in the last 15 years there have been players from Counties robbed of a chance to get a Leinster medal due to the way the GAA have operated their funding as it wasn't natural up until that point for one County to win all but one in the same time period. What have the kids to say about that?

Offside_Rule (National) - 19/11/2019 08:25:52

The Corona Virus And Possible Effects To GAA Matches - 6 Like(s)

Replying To OpenStand:  "It's one thing Waterford giving a walkover but the way they speak about Antrim and people in the NORTH is very insulting . Waterford county board big believers in our island been partitioned."
Nothing short of disgusting to try and pin this on Antrim with their statement. Waterford can fup right off with their self pity and partitionist attitude.

Offside_Rule (National) - 22/10/2020 13:22:35

Londonderry - will they ever learn? - 6 Like(s)
For those who think it was a slip of the tongue though - how naive.

Offside_Rule (National) - 30/01/2018 13:47:29

Has gaelic football become too cynical? - 6 Like(s)
Cynical play was invented in the North , but down south theyve just taken it to another level due to superior physicality. Right ye are then... lol Just go and have a wee google to yourself there, will give you the key search words Antrim Kerry 1912 semi final Antrim Kerry 1946 semi final Then come back and we can then delve a bit further in to your obvious underlying issues with the North.

Offside_Rule (National) - 29/09/2017 13:17:53

A truly historic weekend ahead for Dublin GAA - 6 Like(s)
Woo Hoo - how has this accomplishment went unannounced until this point?

Offside_Rule (National) - 14/03/2017 13:40:38

Changes Or Tweaks You'd Make To Your County Jersey. - 6 Like(s)

Replying To TheUsername:  "What's an away Jersey! ;)"
The one youse wear in Parnell Park.... ;-)

Offside_Rule (National) - 23/12/2020 11:07:06

We Are Fortunate To See It. - 5 Like(s)
Funny we might be looking in a few years time at the state of play and those of us of a certain age might be reminiscing about how fortunate we were to live and play through a time when there wasn't total domination like there now is. Suppose depends how one defines fortunate. :-)

Offside_Rule (National) - 20/01/2020 11:37:05

Failed drug test - 5 Like(s)
You know whats funny - when I saw a few of the people posting their opinions I laughed as I was able to remember the stance they took on a few controversial and high profile cases over the last few seasons which didn't involve their own County. In fact, I went a looking to make sure I remembered right and the hypocrisy is astounding from some. One minute they are happy to hound the amateur sportsman and for trial by media but in other cases it is just an innocent mistake and how dare anyone castigate them or tarnish their reputations. But carry on as you are - tis only an observation.

Offside_Rule (National) - 29/05/2017 09:52:31

Rule changes to counter negative tactics - 5 Like(s)
1 - Reduce the team size by say 4 per team 2 - Increase the half length by about 10-15 mins 3 - Have it that you can't handle the ball 4 - If it is a draw after extra time, have a penalty shoot out instead of a replay. 5 - Do away with points and have goals only 6 - If the ball goes out over the end line off a defending player, instead of taking a kick in from the 45, take the ball out to where the end line and sideline meet and hit it in from there.

Offside_Rule (National) - 19/07/2016 08:17:45

GAA Poll - 5 Like(s)
A hypothetical situation which is hard to answer. We are trying to predict a number of factors that we have no idea about - if in the context that I believe the comments refer to i.e. a Unified Ireland then we have to accept that there would be changes - it cannot be a repeat of when the Country was divided that the minority community are treated unequal. What I mean is that fast forward to the day that the country is unified - by that stage there will have been discussions, agreements etc put in place between the different communities etc and no doubt the flag and anthem will have been things that will have been debated and resolved. In that situation we could be looking at a new flag and anthem anyway which would make the whole point about flying the flag and playing the anthem a moot one as I presume that the comment is made on the assumption that it would be a United Ireland with the Tri-colour and Amhrán na bhFiann still in place but I don't think that would be the case. Not saying that I don't think it could or should be the case but realistically I think it wouldn't be if that day came. And to further add - personally if it meant that not flying the flag/playing the Anthem at GAA matches was a trade off required for there to be a truly peaceful United Ireland then I have no shame in saying that it is a trade off I would be willing to make. As I passed through my teens and in to my early 20's and then on in to 30s and beyond you begin to realise that your identity is YOUR identity. No one can tell you you are not Irish or not whatever. And while the Tri-colour and Anthem are symbols of that Identity, they are not crucial to defining it. And if my friends, neighbours etc of the other persuasion felt more comfortable in an Ireland that had a new flag and anthem, and playing GAA under that flag and anthem - if that is what it takes to get to that day then give me a pen and give me some cloth and a needle and thread.

Offside_Rule (National) - 02/12/2016 13:18:50

Londonderry - will they ever learn? - 5 Like(s)

Replying To Wally:  "Offside_Rule and Ulsterman You talk about narrow mindless yet you cant see the hypocrisy of your statements. People like you are so stuck in your own little world of hate. Always ready to be offended by the slightest little comment. It is actually embarrassing that a topic like this is getting so much traction, primarily due to the comments from you two. I am very comfortable in my own skin, I am a Nationalist Irish man but I work with and am friends with loads of unionists and it doesn't bother me in the slightest if they refer to the northern state as 'Northern Ireland' or if they refer to Derry as 'Londonderry'. These are only words. It doesn't bother them if I discuss Gaelic football or general nationalist life in the work environment and I can speak openly about being from the 'north of Ireland'. Only once we get rid of blinkered dinosaurs like you from both sides of our community will we finally evolve into a mature and proper functioning society."
Yep - I was kind before but you are a clueless Wally if you deduce all that from my two comments. Fact of the case is - written report given to presenter by BBC had Derry. Presenter decides that she will replace with Londonderry. Go figure! I've no problem with anyone calling it whatever they wish for the record nor am I bothered by it. But you somehow seem to have me profiled based on 2 posts. 1 saying someone as narrow minded as her who goes to this length should he pitied not hated. And 2 pointing out that it is naive to think this was a slip of the tongue. But hey, you knock yourself out.

Offside_Rule (National) - 30/01/2018 17:25:38

Club Championships - 5 Like(s)
Great to see St Mullins win in the Leinster Hurling Championship - a victory for the ordinary club. Huawei the lads!!!

Offside_Rule (National) - 04/11/2019 11:12:27