Email sent to all clubs - ridiculous!

So just when we thought the County Board couldnt do any worse, out comes an email to all clubs stating that the minors cant play
for their clubs, the County Board chairman denied any knowledge of it, theres then a turnaround, with all the minors been told to
make the choice themselves - no wonder Cavan Football is what it is today.

deanmartin (Cavan) - Posts: 643 - 21/04/2015 10:12:29    1715904

Dean martin, i take it you are over a senior team
there is a Full round of minor game tonight Tuesday, County minor game on saturday
The weekly programme for a county minor
saturday 11th county minor game v antrim which they won
Sunday 12th Senior game with clubs ????
Tuesday 14th Club minor games
Saturday 18th county minior game
4 games in 8 days
Just a snap shot of what is being asked of our best players

iheardthat (Cavan) - Posts: 89 - 21/04/2015 10:53:53    1715918

Ihearthat - no, Im not over a senior team, but I take issues with an email sent out late on Thurs night to all clubs, when theres fixtures on a Friday evening. If the Chairman knew nothing about it, who sent the email? and why was the decision then reversed, and then they go and leave the minors to make up their own minds - do I play with my club (who have nurtured me from underage) or County?

What about those clubs struggling with numbers, and who need their minors to fill their teams? In addition, how many minors were Sat on the bench against Antrim last Saturday didnt play, I know of 3 who have played in 2 weeks for the County.

You talk about player burnout, the county minor squad are more to blame than anyone.

deanmartin (Cavan) - Posts: 643 - 21/04/2015 12:48:36    1715989

deanmartin

Ihearthat - no, Im not over a senior team, but I take issues with an email sent out late on Thurs night to all clubs, when theres fixtures on a Friday evening. If the Chairman knew nothing about it, who sent the email? and why was the decision then reversed, and then they go and leave the minors to make up their own minds - do I play with my club (who have nurtured me from underage) or County?

What about those clubs struggling with numbers, and who need their minors to fill their teams? In addition, how many minors were Sat on the bench against Antrim last Saturday didnt play, I know of 3 who have played in 2 weeks for the County.

You talk about player burnout, the county minor squad are more to blame than anyone.

you'd be the very one giving out if we are not doing well at county level. It wasn't a directive it was merely a "best-practice" advice.

s goldrick (Cavan) - Posts: 5518 - 22/04/2015 14:19:02    1716408

what was worse was players who did not play a full game. including those subbed in last 10 mins of the game, were made run, do drills and sprint for nearly 40 after the game. They they dropped 7 or 8 of them, after running the crap out of them.

StirringIt (Cavan) - Posts: 374 - 22/04/2015 16:31:28    1716452

Deanmartin Tomsmith here

In relation to your grievance about the minor players on the County panel but not actually playing I do have some concerns about what you state.
I can say that star fixtures are an answer that is where a club that say has two players on the County panel play a club that has two players also on the panel.
But while I have sympathy for you your whinging is without merit as you know that if we got a minor player hurt in a club game and we lost the first round of the championship where would the face be with the egg on it
I can assure all that Deanmartin would be very quiite

tomsmith (Cavan) - Posts: 3855 - 26/04/2015 13:57:10    1717533

Deanmartin , when Tomsmith starts making more sense than you it might be time to get someone to proof read what you post .

Hardtimes (Cavan) - Posts: 1056 - 26/04/2015 14:14:37    1717536

The county minors are rightfully informed not to play adult football with their club! There are numerous reasons for this:

1. The obvious one - Burnout! The lads are playing club minor and training with the county minors. That is certainly enough! And to add to that half the squad have a Leaving Cert to focus on too! Give the lads a break and stop asking them to play adult club football

2. They will play club football for years to come, for some into their late 30s and maybe even 40s. Thats another 15-20 years! How many of them will get the opportunity to play county minor again? For some never and for other maybe one more year. Aswell as that how many will progress to senior football with Cavan probably about 8 or 9! So the fact of the matter is only 8/9 of the county minors will progress to senior football with Cavan and they will have plenty of time to play club football then.

3. Injury - What could be more devastating for a 17/18 year old getting the opportunity to play in the Breffni Blue on May 24 only to get injured a month/ a few weeks before championship in a game which they could have easily stood aside and not played!

If it was club championship we were talking about I would understand the argument but these lads will have plenty of time to play adult football for the club, leaving them be! Let them have their time in the limelight and lets cheer them on come May 24 and hope they can set the stage for the senior team with a win.

patman92 (Cavan) - Posts: 70 - 04/05/2015 16:30:09    1720172

patman92 (Cavan) - Posts: 70 - 04/05/2015 16:30:24    1720173

so Pat, you definitely don't believe in the old addage of club before county

wishfulthinkin (Cavan) - Posts: 1678 - 05/05/2015 08:52:50    1720246

Thanks for all the comments lads, but my main point wasnt addressed. An email was sent to all clubs purporting to be from the County Board instructing clubs not to play their County Minors, yet the chairman & the County Board denied any knowledge of that instruction.
In regards to not playing the minors, what happens with clubs who depend on 2/3 of their minors to be competitve - is it fair that they lose most of their matches and suffer relegation as a result?
Player Burnout is a wider issue and one that needs to be addressed by the County Board - if minors are doing leaving cert & college exams, why is there minor club fixtures midweek? why was there club league finals played in December 2014?
Tom Smith - On the point of whinging, no harm to you lad, but Id much rather listen to whinging than some of the ideas you keep coming up with. The County minors are training twice per week and a game at the weekend, players are also involved with the clubs midweek.
By the way, I made my senior club debut at 16yrs of age, I played a soccer match on a Saturday afternoon and Sunday Morning, and a junior & Senior Gaelic match on Sunday, that was in addition to training during the week, in addition to studying....best days of my life! No such thing as burnout back then! no strength/conditioning, no weights, none of this proper food melarkey, and there were very few injuries.....and most importantly, none of this blanket defence nonsense, and guess what, Cavan Football was on a high at the time....

deanmartin (Cavan) - Posts: 643 - 05/05/2015 10:00:35    1720257

dean martin
when did you finish playing Gaelic football?? age 30?? or before
Did you play county level?? at what level
Did you play schools football or 3rd level?
What injurys did you get?
Did your pitch have flood light for midweek training in winter? or was gaa a daylight sport?
In 95 to 97 when mchugh was over Cavan team they training in the equestrian center beside st pats as no club ground or even breffni had flood light, they erected street lighting on the track in killygarry to do running mid week as part of training.
Now every club in the county has flood lights, training on 356 days of the year on 3g pitches.
eg A minor player in our club last year player 4 club league games and 4 championship games. A total of 8 games over the year.
in the same club team another player played 54 game over the year and would of played more only for injury,he played for Club minor, Club u21, club junior, club senior Breffni league, AFl league and championship, county minor, Schools,and county u21.
see page 19 of the attached report
http://activategaa.sini.co.uk/wp-content/uploads/2014/01/Report-of-Gaelic-Groin-Think-Tank.pdf

Players should play a maximum of 38 games per season

iheardthat (Cavan) - Posts: 89 - 11/05/2015 09:41:06    1722306

a big problem is young lads are being trained by unqualified coaches.
In the Uk you have to have a coaching badge before you can train a team.
In most clubs here its a past player who has no coaching experience or training only what he himself was put through in his playing career.
Mostly its shouting and run the crap out of lads coupled with a bit of ignorance - eg hit him !!!

The training sessions for young developing bodies is different to that of adults who have developed. Most of the problem comes from over training young lads who are still growing mentally and physically.
The day of the minor game v Antrim anyone who did not play the full 60 min, including lads who were substituted near the end were subjected to an additional 45 min of drills and sprints.
Then had the indignity to drop 6 or 7 of them after that.
Then made the rest vote on whether they should play for their clubs that weekend. Of course the minority from small clubs voted to play while the ones from larger clubs who are not playing on their senior teams anyway, voted not to play.
Management had no right to make the young lads choose - it was unfair on their behalf.
They had no consideration for the clubs especially when they ran the crap out of the players after the game and then dropped lads before they went home.
Back to my ignorance point !!

StirringIt (Cavan) - Posts: 374 - 11/05/2015 11:17:04    1722357