Killeeshil club notes

July 29, 2015

Alphalot for Monday 27th was F O Q S U. Sellers prize = Patrick McGinn. Lucky dip winners were Kieran Holland & Grainne McKenna. Congratulations to all our winners & thanks everyone for your continued support of this vital fundraiser. Next week's jackpot = £6000.

Well done to the U12 girls on a great performance last Thursday (23rd) at home against Ardboe. Unfortunately, the result didn't go our way but the girls worked hard throughout the whole game and showed great promise. Training again on Wednesday 6pm to 7pm then a game away to Errigal Ciaran this Thursday (30th). All support much appreciated.  We hope to see as many as possible out at training this week.

The U12 boys played the Moy at home on Tuesday evening (28th) and were able to field 2 teams with 20 lads togged out.  Both teams played great attacking football and ran out comfortable winners. No training this week due to summer camp being on, next game is Eglish away on Monday or Tuesday evening next week, more details will follow……

Our under 16 lads recorded another good, home win against neighbours Galbally last Friday night to maintain their unbeaten record and status at the summit of the Division 1 League Table. The young hoops started brightly and early scores from Louis Conlon, Jason Doyle and a Conzy Donaghy goal set the lads on their way to forage a comfortable first half lead. With Matthew McCusker and Daniel Millar dominant thought the 1st half they laid a platform for Tomas Hoy to showcase his full array of talents and Tomas duly helped himself to five points in the 1st half alone to leave the lads 1-10 to 0-4 in front at the short whistle. Matthew McKenna, Shea Skeffington and Jude Cunningham continued producing a master-class in defending throughout to keep Galbally at bay and present opportunities for the forward players to pick off scores at will in the 2nd half. Liam Hughes, Niall Loughran, Jason Doyle, Daniel Miller and Tomas Hoy all helped themselves to scores as Cilliseal ran out comfortable winners on a score line of 4-21 to 1-7. Next up for the young hoops is an away game to Dungannon on Wednesday (29th) at 7:30 followed by another away game to Coalisland on Friday (31st) again at 7:30. Please go along support this talented team!

Our senior men team travelled to Kildress on Sunday short a few regular starters and our cause wasn't helped when we lost Eoghan Donaghy to injury during the warm-up! The game started in the pouring rain with Darren Harte scoring a super point but then we conceded a bad goal and lost our inspirational captain Packie McMullan to injury and after that Kildress showed why they are top of Division 2 as they raced away with the game running out easy winners! Get well soon to Eoghan Donaghy and Packie McMullan who were both injured in Kildress. Training this week is on Tuesday & Friday at 730pm as we prepare to visit Aghyaran on Sunday - Reserves 2.15 pm and Seniors 3.45 pm. Please go support our men.

The Club are in talks about starting up Gaelic for Mothers and Others - this will be a fun based way of keeping (or getting ) fit and a way of showing your kids that you too can dawn the Hoops Jersey. It's also a way of getting yourself out of the house and joining in a bit of craic with other Mums in the Club. It doesn't matter if you have never kicked a ball in anger before, it's all about the enjoyment.  Already, if we have enough interest, we are invited to take part in a Blitz this Friday (31st) in Rock, so no time like the present to step up to the mark. If your interested please call or text 07760432620.

On Thursday (30th) we host an U21 Championship semi-final at 730pm between Donaghmore and Errigal Ciaran so we would appreciate if any club members are available to come and help out!

Please check our facebook page for updates on all events!

Congratulations to the lucky winners in our recent raffle -  1st prize 2 Premier Level tickets to Ed Sheeran in Croke Park went to Louise McGoldrick, Drumfad and 2nd prize IPad Mini went to Paddy Donnelly, Beragh. Thanks to all those who supported the raffle.

Keep free Saturday 22nd August when our Senior Ladies bring Internet Sensation "Rory's Stories" to the Club for an evening of GAA craic and banter. There will be a bar and dance after Rory struts his stuff so this promises to be an entertaining evening. Tickets out soon.

The club wishes the Tyrone Senior Men's team goodluck in their All-Ireland Qualifier v Sligo in Croke Park on 1st August.

Our thoughts and prayers are with any families in the area who are dealing with illness in their family at this time.

Most Read Stories