SH qualifier: proud Premier demolish dismal Dubs

July 08, 2017

Tipperary's Seamus Callanan scores a goal against Dublin.
©INPHO/Tommy Dickson.

Seamus Callanan weighed in with 3-11 as Tipperary defeated Dublin by 6-26 to 1-19 at Thurles to seal an All-Ireland quarter-final date.

Two goals apiece from the classy Callanan and John McGrath helped the winners take a commanding 4-11 to 1-10 interval advantage, with their full-forward line of Callanan, McGrath and John O'Dwyer registering 4-8 between them before the break and 5-17 in total

The Premier County started with real intent to lead by 1-4 to 0-2 after just eight minutes, with Callanan registering all but one point of that early tally, including his 25th championship goal. David Treacy's third and fourth points kept the Dubs ticking over but the visitors were level in the 15th minute when Cian O'Sullivan left James Barry in his wake and planted the ball in the net - 1-4 each.

McGrath's opportunistic goal against the run of play in the 18th minute restored Tipp's lead and corner man McGrath then collected a pass from Callanan to lob in his second major .. the All-Ireland champions led by seven points with eight minutes left before the break, 3-7 to 0-6.

Ryan O'Dwyer and Treacy (free) reduced the visitors' arrears but the game was settled as a contest in the 31st minute when Callanan plundered his second major to leave nine between them, 4-8 to 1-8. Conor Dooley's brilliant save temporarily denied Callanan his hat-trick but the Premier still led by ten at the short whistle.

Michael Breen supplied the fifth Tipp major within 20 seconds of the restart and they were 18 points ahead by the 40th minute, 5-16 to 1-10.

As Callanan's tally rose to 2-9, Tipp moved 5-29 to 1-13 ahead with 20 minutes left; Dooley denied O'Dwyer a sixth Tipp goal with the game long since over. Predictably, Callanan completed his hat-trick in the 70th minute as the Liam MacCarthy Cup holders easily kept their season alive.

They'll be in All-Ireland quarter-final action on July 23rd.

Tipperary - D Gleeson; D Maher, T Hamill, J Barry; Joe O'Dwyer, R Maher, Padraic Maher (0-1); B Maher (0-1), M Breen (1-0); J Forde (0-4), Patrick Maher, D McCormack (0-1); John O'Dwyer (0-4), S Callanan (3-11, 0-7f), J McGrath (2-2). Subs: S Kennedy for R Maher, N McGrath for B Maher, S O'Brien (0-2) for D McCormack, M Cahill for D Maher, T Fox for Padraic Maher.

Dublin - C Dooley; C O'Callaghan, E O'Donnell, F O Riain Broin; S Barrett, C Crummey (0-1), S Moran; B Quinn, N McMorrow; D Treacy (0-11, 8f), L Rushe (0-2), E Dillon; C O'Sullivan (1-1), R O'Dwyer (0-2), D Burke. Subs: J Madden for S Barrett, F Whitely for N McMorrow, D O'Callaghan (0-1) for D Burke, T Connolly for S Moran, R McBride (0-1) for D Treacy.

Referee - A Kelly.

Most Read Stories