HL2A: good day for visiting sides

February 14, 2016

Derry's Tiarnan McCloskey and Antrim's Eddie McCloskey.
©INPHO/Presseye/Lorcan Doherty.

Westmeath, Antrim and Carlow all won on the road in the opening games in Division 2A of the Allianz League.

Last year's divisional runners-up Westmeath made light of their early morning flight to London by recording a comfortable 2-16 to 0-13 win over the home team at the Irish TV Grounds in Ruislip. Cormac Boyle's 16th minute goal helped Michael Ryan's charges to a 1-11 to 0-6 half-time lead, with points from Kevin O'Loughlin and Kevin Reid keeping London in touch.

Robbie Greville grabbed the Lake County's second goal before Brendan Murtagh had a late penalty saved by London goalkeeper Padraig Buckley.

Antrim, who were relegated from Division 1B last season, began life in the lower tier with a 1-21 to 2-12 comeback win over neighbours Derry in Celtic Park.

With Ruairi Convery accurate from frees, Shane Farren also on target and Gareth O'Kane firing home a 16th minute goal, the Oak Leafers held a 1-8 to 0-6 lead at the interval. But Antrim battled back after the break with points from Conor Johnston, Eddie McCloskey and Niall McKenna before Donal Nugent's 47th minute goal propelled them into a 1-9 to 1-8 lead.

They extended their advantage with scores from Ciaran Clarke and Kevin McKernan before Convery's goal with a minute of normal time remaining cut the gap to four points. But the Saffrons closed out the game with late points from debutant Saul McCaughan, Jackson McGreevy, McKernan and Clarke.

At Newbridge, goals in either half from Ross Smithers and Seamus Murphy proved decisive as Carlow defeated local rivals Kildare 2-13 to 0-14.

Kehoe Cup winners Kildare dominated the first half-hour to lead by 0-10 to 0-4 thanks to scores from Gerry Keegan, Jack Sheridan, Johnny Byrne and Martin Fitzgerald, but their good work was undone by Smithers' goal on the stroke of half-time.  

Having trailed by 1-6 to 0-10 at the break, Carlow took the lead in the 48th minute through a Craig Wall point before Murphy's goal three minutes later put them on the road to victory.

Westmeath - P Maloney; S Power, T Doyle, K Duncan; A Craig, G Greville, A McGrath; A Clarke, C Boyle (1-2); N O'Brien (0-1f), B Murtagh (0-5, 4f), L Varley (0-1); N Dowdall (0-3), R Greville (1-1), D Egerton (0-2). Subs: T Gallagher for K Duncan, A Devine for D Egerton, P Lynam (0-1) for C Boyle, K Murphy for B Murtagh.

London - P Buckley; T Lawrence, L Gaule, S Murphy; F Collins, B Regan, B Kelly; N McDonnell (0-1), D Brown; M O'Dwyer, K Reid (0-1), D Roberts; S O'Donnell (0-1), E Chawke, K O'Loughlin (0-10, 8f, 1'65). Subs: C McAlinden for S Murphy, S Lambert for M O'Dwyer, S Griffey for K Reid.

Referee - P Murphy.


Antrim - C O'Connell; O McFadden, N McAuley, C McKinley; S McCrory, Ciaran Johnston, B McFall; K McKernan (0-3), J Black (0-1); E McCloskey (0-3), D Nugent (1-1), L Watson; Conor Johnston (0-2), N McKenna (0-1), C Clarke (0-8, 6f). Subs: J McGreevy (0-1) for J Black, B Graham for B McFall, S McCaughan (0-1) for N McKenna, S McAfee for O McFadden.

Derry - D McDermott; E McGuckin, C McSorley, S McCullagh; D McCloskey, B Quigley (0-1), D O'Neill; O McCloskey, T McCloskey; J O'Dwyer, M McGuigan, G O'Kane (1-0); S Farren (0-2), R Convery (1-8, 0-8f), A Grant. Subs: M McGrath for C McSorley, P Kelly for T McCloskey, R Leonard for B Quigley, B Laverty (0-1) for G O'Kane.

Referee - J Keen.


Carlow - J Barron; R Nolan, S Kavanagh, A Corcoran; G Coady, D Byrne (0-1), R Kelly; J O'Hara, D English (0-1); C Wall (0-1), S Murphy (1-0), R Smithers (1-0); D Murphy (0-9, 7f, 1'65), C Lawlor, K McDonald (0-1). Subs: M Malone for R Kelly, M Ryan for A Corcoran, JM Nolan for C Lawlor.

Kildare - P McKenna; R Bergin, J Doran, C Gordon; S Gainey, M Moloney, P Divilly (0-1); P Ryan (0-1), N O Muineachain; G Keegan (0-2f), P Cocoman, J Byrne (0-2); J Sheridan (0-1), D Flaherty, M Fitzgerald (0-7, 6f). Subs: R Casey for D Flaherty, F O Muineachain for S Gainey.

Referee - G McGrath.

Most Read Stories