Ulster MHC final: Antrim come good in the end

July 13, 2014

Antrim's Dara Rocks in action against Derry's Dara McPeake
Antrim 0-17
Derry 0-9

Antrim produced a strong finish to trump Derry in today's Ulster MHC final at Owenbeg.

The sides were level on 0-6 apiece at half-time, but Derry missed two goal-scoring opportunities at the start of the second half and were made to pay as the visitors pulled clear for an eight-point win which secures their place in the All-Ireland quarter-finals.

With Christy McNaughton, James Carey and Caolon McCaughan in fine scoring form, the winners led by 0-5 to 0-2 after 18 minutes. However, Derry replied with scores from Dara Rocks, Corey O'Reilly and Eamonn McGill to go into the break level.

The Saffrons struggled to shake off a determined Derry challenge after the restart. The Oak Leafers were still in it with six minutes to go when Rocks pointed to make it 0-9 to 0-14. But three late scores from Jude McCurdy and McNaughton (two) clinched the silverware for Antrim.

Antrim - C Butler; S Gaskin, R McNulty, HP McNeill; G Walsh, E Conlan, C McCaughan (0-2); C McMullan, R Rooney (0-1); C Patterson, J McNaughton, C McNaughton (0-6, 4f); J McCurry (0-2), D Rocks (0-4), J Carey (0-1). Subs: A Burke for C Patterson, D McLaughlin (0-1) for J Carey, R Irvine for C McMullan, D Carey for A Burke, J Daniels for G Walsh.

Derry - C Owens; M Glass, P Turner, J Mullan; G Farren, C Quinn, D McPeake; T Magee, E McGill (0-1); C Steele (0-2), P Burke (0-3f), C O'Reilly (0-2); F McGurk (0-1), B Laverty, D Cartin. Subs: C McReynolds for G Farren, S O'Neill for T Magee, J Grant for D Cartin, SF Quinn for B Laverty.

Referee - J McAndrew.

Most Read Stories