Castleblayney Faughs Club Notes

November 25, 2014

Senior team - After an absence of a number of years, the senior team make a welcome return to a Senior Final on Saturday night, when they take on Scotstown in this year's League Final in Emyvale at 6pm. The lads will enter the match as firm underdogs but a steady flow of improved performance have given the Faughs supporters some confidence that the team is heading in the right direction, but the real acid test will take place this Saturday night. The game will also represent Eddie Kelly's last time involved with the Senior Team and the Club would like to acknowledge all the work by Eddie over the last number of years. We would like to wish him well in his new role as principle of Our Lady's Secondary School. We would like to encourage as many supporters as possible to travel to the match and get behind the team. Best of luck to the players and management on the night.
Mc Mahon Supervalu 5K - The time has finally arrived. After weeks of preparation, the Club are all set to hold the McMahons Supervalu 5K on Sunday at 2pm. The last few weeks has seen lots of people running up and down the Monaghan road in an effort to get themselves fit to compete in the 5K. We are anticipating a good crowd on the day and are calling on every club member to play their part in one of the best days in Castleblayney. This year our special guest is Pat Divilly from Divilly Fitness and he will be joined once again by Gerry Duffy from 32 Marathons in 32 days. The TV cameras will also be making a welcome appearance as the GAA National Health and Wellness Committee set about developing a video on how local GAA Clubs can improve local peoples health. The McMahon Supervalu 5K was highlighted at a National Level as being a great example of how a GAA Club can have such a positive effect on the local community. You can register to walk or run on the day by logging onto www.castleblayneyfaughs.com  or www.Runireland.com or you can give your money to any committee member.
Operation TransFAUGHSmation - Sadly this week we reach the end of this year's OPTFM programme. Last Friday night saw us finish in style as Marese Heavin took us through Damsha agus Craic, only for us to be totally entertained by the instructors doing the "Brush Song". This year has been yet another unbelievable success, with the effort by all participants and coaches being exceptional, the programme just seems to get better every year. The Club would like to thank everyone involved, from participants to coaches and the organising committee, who have put in an unbelievable effort into making the twelve weeks such a success. We have two major hurdles to cross before we can pull down the curtain on this year programme.  On Sunday we have the McMahons Supervalu 5K which has been everyone's target, whether you walk, run or crawl the event, crossing that finish line is such a huge achievement for everyone. Friday the 5th of December is the OPTFM awards night, which takes place in the Spinning Wheel from 9pm. This is the perfect opportunity to go out and let your hair down after all the hard work and is always a brilliant night. Remember everyone enjoy Sunday, you've done a great job just to get to the start of the race, never mind finishing the 5K, be proud of yourselves. Finally we are asking all transFAUGHSmationers and club members to help us out on Sunday by bringing some sandwiches, cakes or buns to the Glencarn Hotel before 1pm as last year we had approximately 1000 people sat down after the race which is a lot of eating.

Faughs Juvenile Winter Programme - Thursday night sees the end of the this block of training, we have seen huge numbers attending but more importantly have seen huge improvements in the skills and attitude of our young players. We would like to thank you, the parents for your continued support right throughout the year and our coaches who give up the significant personal time required to provide such a brilliant environment for our children to learn. Training will return in early 2015, so let's keep practicing so we ensure we have many great Green and Gold days ahead of us all.
Coaching Course - The Monaghan Games & Coaching Development Committee in conjunction with the Ulster GAA have released dates of a number of workshops that will take place during November, December and January. First up is 'Review to Plan Ahead' which takes place on Tuesday 25th November in Cloghan at 7.30pm. Next up is 'Activate GAA Warm Up' which takes place on Thursday 4th December at Cremartin GAA at 7.30pm. A workshop entitled 'Fitness Testing & Developing a Programme' is scheduled for Tuesday 6th January at Cloghan at 7.30pm and finally 'Planning the Pre-Season' will take place on Tuesday 13th January in Cloghan at 7.30pm. Please visit www.monaghangaa.ie for a brief description of the workshops and names of the workshop tutors. For further information you can contact Brian Sherry 086 2334287 or Keith Hanratty 086 822 5982.  We would like as many coaches as possible to attend these excellent workshops.
Well done - This week's well done goes out to Scoil Mhuire na mBuchaillí who registered over 50 Boys for the 5K, together along with a further seven staff members. We would like to say a huge thank you to the teachers who undertook to organise  the registration process and for training the boys each Monday. Think the Boys School could be front runners for the fastest club prize. Well done to all.

Most Read Stories