Castleblayney Faughs Club Notes

November 18, 2014

Senior team - Last Sunday saw the senior team take to the field to play Ballybay in the semi-final of this year's senior league in Aughnamullen. With a poor record against the Pearse Brothers for  a number of years, there was a steely resolve among all the players to get the Faughs back to winning ways and it wasn't very long before their work showed some good  dividends  with the McElroy boys Marty and Benny, Ciaran Hanratty and  Captain Dermot Malone scoring points to open up a five point advantage after fifteen minutes.  Ciaran Hanratty then found the net to extend our lead to eight points, but our lads never do things the easy way and when Paul Finlay struck a free on the 30th minute, there was only three in it. David McMahon whose free taking was impressive added a further point before half time leaving the score at half time Faughs 1-7 Ballybay 0-6. One wondered had the Faughs made the most of the strong breeze in the first half, but it didn't take them long for them to extend their lead with McMahon kicking three further frees before a Niall Duffy point, from distance, opened up a five point advantage with ten minutes to go. Ballybay as you would expect kept plugging away and started to reduce the deficit but points by the Malone boys Dermot and young brother Fergal kept the Faughs in front. Final Score Faughs 1-14 Ballybay 0-16. Well done to all the players and management, we have crossed another hurdle on our development road, over the last few months the lads have shown great physical and mental toughness, the traits of all great Faughs teams, let's keep the work going as we prepare for a final against either Clontibret or Scotstown.
Under 14 Boys - The Boys rounded off their season with an impressive win in a challenge game against Na Fianna from Dublin on Saturday, we would like to thank the lads from the Na Fianna who organised the game, and we hope to have a return fixture with them in 2015.
Coaching Course - The Monaghan Games & Coaching Development Committee in conjunction with the Ulster GAA have released dates for a number of workshops that will take place during November, December and January. First up is 'Review to Plan Ahead' which takes place on Tuesday 25th November in Cloghan at 7.30pm. Next up is 'Activate GAA Warm Up' which takes place on Thursday 4th December at Cremartin GAA at 7.30pm. A workshop entitled 'Fitness Testing & Developing a Programme' is scheduled for Tuesday 6th January in Cloghan at 7.30pm and finally 'Planning the Pre-Season' will take place on Tuesday 13th January in Cloghan at 7.30pm. Please visit www.monaghangaa.ie for a brief description of the workshops and names of the workshop tutors. For further information you can contact Brian Sherry 086 2334287 or Keith Hanratty 086 822 5982, we would like as many coaches as possible to attend these excellent workshops.
Faughs Juvenile Winter Programme -Last Thursday evening saw the Astro Turf packed to capacity as the boys came in huge numbers to training. We have been very unfortunate with the rain over the last couple of weeks but as previously stated it doesn't seem to bother the young players. Training is at the usual times this week again and we encourage all new parents and children to attend. Further details on training times and locations can be found on our web site www.CastleblayneyFaughs.com or on the Club Facebook www.facebook.com/BlayneyFaughs.
Mc Mahon Supervalu 5 K - With only a week and a half to go to the McMahons Supervalu Castleblayney 5K, the town has become a wash with high vis running jackets at night time with lots of people out practicing on the route. We would encourage the whole community to get involved, you don't need to run to participate as we are looking for people to walk and support as much as we are looking for runners. The event which has now become part of the calendar of the Castleblayney area has developed each year, with an increased number of people competing in the event. This year we will have fitness guru Pat Divilly from Galway joining us for the very popular "question and answer" sessions directly after the race in the Glencarn Hotel. Pat who is one of Ireland's leading fitness and nutrition experts will be on hand to discuss fitness programmes as well as signing copies of his new nutrition book the Naked Paleo which looks at the impact of food on weight loss and longer living. Pat who had heard about our 5K through the National media is really excited about the event and indeed is taking a bus full of runners from Galway for the day. So dust down those runners and let's get walking, running.  Registration is available online at www.castleblayneyfaughs.com or www.Runireland.com or you can give your money to any committee member.
Operation TransFAUGHSmation - The countdown is on as the finishing line is starting to appear for all the people in Operation TransFAUGHSmation. Last Friday we had a great Boxercise class with Orla McCarthy, followed by a great crowd for Sunday's first trial of the race route. Well done to everyone who participated, the atmosphere was really fantastic as each participant got clapped home by the remainder of the group. Tuesday night sees the group complete circuits before Marese Heavin puts everyone through their steps with Damsha agus Craic which was extremely popular last year. Then we have our final run out on the course on Sunday morning. Can we ask each participant to take somebody along on the day of the run or take part as we would like to get as many people to participate as possible. Finally can we ask that all participants keep Friday 5th of December free for the annual OPTFM awards night, more details over the next few days but we wanted to give you plenty of notice to get the baby sitters organised for the best night of Operation TransFAUGHSmation yet.
Well done - This week's well done goes out to Sally Maloney , Aoibhean Fitzsimons and Nicole Maguire who were selected on the County Under 14 Ladies football panel, this is a real sign of the progress been made by the Club at Ladies Football.  We should remember that we had no ladies football three years ago. Well done Girls, no doubt we would have a very proud Dev smiling down on us when she heard the great news.

Most Read Stories