Rockcorry club notes

October 14, 2014

Latton Memorial Tournament
Last Sunday 12th October our under 11 footballers made the short journey to Latton O'Rahilly's to take part in a Memorial Tournament for the Emily Coyle Cup. They played Cremartin in the first game and we got off to a great start and notched up an impressive 1-3 with some decent attacking football. However, the Cremartin side battled back hard and banged in some lovely scores to hold a two point advantage at the half-time interval leading Cremartin 3-3 Rockcorry 2-4. We found the going tough at the beginning of the second half and Cremartin quickly established a healthy six point lead when they scored 1-1. But fair play to the lads they kept at it and while Cremartin added a couple more points we managed to close the gap back to a single point. During the closing stages the team showed great determination and showed great desire to secure an equaliser but Cremartin's defending was top notch and we sadly ran out of time and the game finished Cremartin 4-6 Rockcorry 3-8. The team played Aughnamullen in the 3rd / 4th play-off and with the glorious sunshine beaming down across O'Rahilly Park the lads really shone and we started the game very strong and dominated the early exchanges with some great teamwork and played a quick passing game and racked up some nice scores. The second half continued along the same lines and the whole team played with a lot of confidence and were all looking to get involved and drove on and comfortably put the game beyond reach to secure the 3rd spot.  On behalf of the Rockcorry GAA club I would like to sincerely thank the Latton GAA club for their kind invitation to participate in the memorial tournament for the Emily Coyle Cup and we thank them for providing refreshments to the kids afterwards in the complex. A selection of action photographs can be viewed on our Facebook page or visit our Flickr page.
Charity Fun Run / Walk
I have to say, I have the utmost respect for anyone who takes on the challenge of running a marathon. Running 26.2 miles is an enormous challenge and a great accomplishment and that is why I have to take my hat off and applaud the efforts of Sheila Smyth, Louise Reilly and Conor McCarville who will be taking part in this year's Dublin City Marathon on the Bank Holiday Monday to raise money for the Cystic Fibrosis Charity. They are holding a family FUN RUN / WALK (5K and 10K) which takes place this Sunday 19th October and they promise lots of fun for the whole family. You can choose to run, jog or walk the route and this is a great opportunity for you to wish them well while at the same time supporting a worthy cause. It is open to everyone both young and old and registration talks place at St. Michael's Hall, Cootehill at 11am and the race will commence at 12.30pm and refreshments will be served after the event. It costs €5 for the 5K and €10 for the 10K. So dust off those runners and hopefully, we will see you ALL at the start line for what promises to be a great day.
Croke Park Activity Day
Last Saturday 11th October was Activity Day in Croke Park where kids from across the county got the chance to play on the famous turf. I imagine for most players the opportunity to play in Croke Park is no doubt a lifetime ambition! I mean, I'm sure every player, (including myself at one stage) daydreamed of playing on the 'hallow turf' and that dream, of running out onto the Croke Park pitch, came true for two of our up and coming stars namely Ryan Carroll and Gerry Larmer who were among a group of under 12 players from the county who were selected to train and play in the theatre of dreams. This was an amazing opportunity for the young lads and during the morning session they took part in some coaching sessions and played a match while in the afternoon they enjoyed an exclusive behind the scenes tour of the famous stadium and the GAA museum. This was a fantastic opportunity for the youngsters and a massive well done to the lads.
Monaghan Electrical Intermediate Football League
We have two remaining matches in the Monaghan Electrical intermediate football league but unfortunately the game against Corduff which is fixed for this Sunday 19th October we will not be in a position to field a team due to players being away. On Sunday 26th October we will travel to play Donaghmoyne for our last game in the intermediate division and the game has a throw-in time of 2pm.
Annual General Meeting
It's that time of year again and the date for our annual general meeting has been fixed for Wednesday 26th November in the clubrooms starting at 7.30pm. The annual general meeting is the most important meeting of the year and ALL club members are invited to attend in order to reflect on the last twelve months and to look ahead for the upcoming year. There are many challenges facing the club both on and off the field and one off our biggest challenges is the greater need for people to get involved. Unfortunately, not enough members are moving into committee / officer roles within the club or helping out which is a sad statistic. This is a serious challenge and one that requires members to get up and do something. The bottom line is that the future of the club is in OUR own hands, nobody else's and as members we have an important role in driving and improving the performance of OUR club. I want the message to be loud and clear for our upcoming Annual General Meeting that the club needs new faces, we need new blood on board to bring forward new ideas, new committee members with energy, people with fresh thoughts, workers with different concepts and members with different viewpoints…BE THAT PERSON…GET INVOLVED. Nomination forms will be circulated to all club members over the next week or so and should be returned to club secretary Martina McKeown before the required date.

Top 4 Lotto Results
The numbers drawn on Monday 13th October were 2, 5, 8 and 13. There was no jackpot winner of €10,300.00. The following won €15 each :-Melissa, Caoimhe & Claire McGorman, Aghabog, Tracey, Dwayne & Kyle Rooney, Rockcorry, Sean McGilly, Newbliss, Patrick Fitzpatrick, Rockcorry, Marlena Murtagh, Newry, Gerry & Andrea Coyle, Rockcorry, Tina & Tracey Rooney, Rockcorry, Noel Calvert, Rockcorry. Next week the jackpot will be an amazing €10,400.00 and the draw will take place in Thompson's, Newbliss. Thank you for supporting our Top 4 lotto draw.
Annual Top 4 Lotto Ticket
Don't forget, you can support the club's Top 4 lotto by entering for 12 months, 6 month or a 3 month period. To play simply select your four numbers between 1 and 28 complete the form and you need never miss a draw again! Tickets cost €90 for the 12 month option. Your continued support is always much appreciated and we wish you good luck in future draws.
Sympathy
On behalf of everyone at the Rockcorry GAA club I would like to offer our deepest condolences to the Murphy family, relatives and close friends on the passing of Patsy Murphy.  May his gentle soul rest in peace.
News
If anyone would like to have some news, events or anything at all included in the club notes or advertised on our website then just get in touch on 086-1041165 or email [email protected]

Most Read Stories