Celtic Challenge: Meath Kings rule

19 May 2017

BEST & FAIRNESS awards winners Conor Leavy, Conor Gorman and Tadhg McCann.

Meath Kings travelled to Granard to play Leitrim in the third round of the Celtic Challenge on Wednesday 17th May. On a bright sunny evening Meath ran out strong in the end, putting in an impressive second half performance to win 4-10 to Leitrim’s 1-11.

Playing into a strong breeze and a low evening sun, the Meath hurlers were first on the scoreboard with three points registered after eight minutes. Once Leitrim settled, they took advantage of the breeze a scored six points to a further two by Meath Kings leaving the halftime score Leitrim 0-6 to Meath Kings 0-5. Leitrim’s tactic of delivering high ball down on the Meath square was well covered by full back Conor Gorman who once again put in a brilliant performance.

Meath up the intensity in the second half opening with two points, before Darragh O Sullivan and Mikey Cole found the net in the 11th and 18th minute. Both sides kept the score board ticking over, before BEST & FAIRNESS player of the match Tadgh McCann found the net on 21 minutes followed by another by Andy Dinan two minutes later.

Leitrim got in for a late goal right at the end, but by thebn it was job done for the Meath Kings 4-10 to 1-11. The Meath hurlers next two games are at home, starting with Cavan on Saturday 27th May.

After the match BEST & FAIRNESS awards were appointed by ref and match officials for Round 1 – Conor Leavy, Round 2 – Conor Gorman and Round 3 – Tadgh McCann.

Meath: 1 Ciaran Briody (Ratoath); 2 Con Green ( Kilbride), 3 Conor Gorman 0-1 (Kilmessan), 4 Daniel Byrne (Kiltale); 5 Ruairi Coulter (Ratoath), 6 Stephen Slevin (Na Fianna), 7 Cian Harmon (Clann na Gael); 8 Niall McLarnon) (Curraha), 9 Dylan Farrell (Trim); 10 Conor Leavy (Dunderry), 11 Darragh O’ Sullivan 1-2(Donaghmore/Ashbourne), 12  Mikey Cole 1-3(Trim);  13 Tadhg McCann 1-0 (Ratoath), 14 Kevin Bawle (Drumree), 15 Andrew Dinan 1-2 (Trim)

Substitutes:  Jason Farrell (0-1)(Ratoath) for Conor Leavy (40 Minutes), Conor Ryan (0-1)(Kiltale) for Kevin Bawle (40 Minutes), Donagh O’ Leary (Dunderry) for Stephen Slevin  (50 minutes).


Most Read Stories